Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Gamebred wrote: »
    The police probably have a strong suspicion of who was involved in the shooting I'd hazard a guess and say the faces will be recognizable to them,even the body type of the guy on the right,all he has is a cap on it appears so he should be handy enough to identify.

true , i don't disagree
    but knowing who they are and proving it in court are two different things.
    I'd say unless it was an outside crowd hired for this, the gardai would probably have only a handful of suspects anyway with the skill and professionalism to do this in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Apparently all suspects have already left the country.
    Has anyone mentioned of moles within the guards?
    The fact the attackers could brazenly carry this off without a sniff of garda knowledge makes me think they are one step ahead.
    Even having garda equipment!

And surely if the garda intelligence sniffed any trouble at Saturday's fight they should have increased security at the weigh in?

These guys really seem untouchable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

Something really not adding up here. If the gardai were aware of possible problems with these boxing events this weekend..and the media were also aware.. Where the hell were the gardai ..and why are the media not asking these questions. One shot dead and two others shot and the way its being reported by certain sections of the media is interesting..it should be headline stuff but by Saturday morning it was well down the news..indo excepted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Independent.ie The second man makes no attempt to conceal his face. He is clearly pictured wearing a flat cap as he runs from the hotel

It just doesn't make sense running out of the place still holding a gun not using a mask as if he wanted to be seen, strange one that.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/regency-hotel-murder-astonishing-photos-emerge-of-transvestite-gunman-fleeing-the-scene-34430698.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I presume they didnt expect a member of the public to be standing outside taking pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

It's been asked already but worth emphasising: Who the hell was mad enough to take those photos. That last one that bongalong posted - it looks like the guy in the cap is looking directly at the camera and is his gun pointed in same direction?

Were they staged and taken by one of the gang as some kind of ill-advised propaganda/bravado? A brave if slightly stupid member of the public. A journo hellbent on winning a Pulitzer?

I presume they didnt expect a member of the public to be standing outside taking pictures.

But what about CCTV and visual identity by the public. This person wanted to be seen as strange as that sounds imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭flanzer

hardCopy wrote: »
    Maybe there is no feud, maybe all these killings are being preformed by some secret vigilante force and blamed on rival gangs...

That theory is quite plausible in fact! Like what sort of idiot(s) does a hit on several people at a press conference with the media present? Do they not think there'd be cameras at it? Do they not think the hotel wouldn't have CCTV?

I can guarantee the guards know the 4 involved. But can they get to them before their own lives are taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Why are their faces pixilated?

To avoid being identified by witnesses :pac:

The weird thing is hotel receptions have panic buttons, never mind the phone calls. Given the gardai were meant to have expected trouble at this event you'd have thought they'd be all over it.

The only crazy thing I can think of is that the persons wanted to be seen as proof they carried it out to collect the €350.000 or such payment. Yep I know, crazy indeed.

It's extremely crazy but also possible. I can't think why anyone would put themselves in such a position to get a photo like that. They could if course be hidden behind a car or a wall but the one of the two lads entering the building doesn't really look like it.

Off topic, the European use of commas where there should be decimal points and vice versa in numbers is one if those little things that disproportionately annoys me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

or they are now laughing their ass off because 2016 :

There is not a hope in hell they let their face be seen ffs and risked a murder charge,it was just bad work on their behalf slipping up nothing else,it looked well planned and it was executed well but they left very incriminating evidence ie their faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

I was surprised that witnesses including a journalist agreed to be interviewed on national tv. Would you not want to keep your head down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I was surprised that witnesses including a journalist agreed to be interviewed on national tv. Would you not want to keep your head down?

That journalist was from the bbc....he's unlikely to be around for a while anyways

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/dramatic-picture-dublin-boxing-weigh-7325721

Theres the pictures there,already indentified Id say enjoy the life sentence lads.

Is it just more or does anyone else think they look like members of the travelling community?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

The guards know no more than anyone with a good hour of googling knows, unfortunately.

The relationship between guards and working class communities has been destroyed by their policing of water meter installations. It was a seriously bad strategic move by the government to have our gardai police these, and trust me, it reverberates.

Let there be no doubt, many communities across Dublin have been absolutely disenfranchised from any sense of decency, equity, and fairness. If you know anything about sociological impact, this has massive affects on the world our kids see and grow up in and what they are aclimitised to.

Our current set up has limited sight of what social justice means and what some young people are facing when they meet this world. Inequality. Corruption. Poverty. Depression. Suicide. Poor public services.

If you were born in the Amazon, they say it's likely you'd grow up to be a headhunter. If you were born into Nazi Germany, you may well have grown up to become a Nazi. And if you're born into an Ireland where you can't get a fair shake, it's very likely a different animal develops.

25% or so of your path is determined by your own effort, courage, strength, and self efficacy. There are many of you on boards here who believe you are where you as of your own doing. You're not.

Many people landed into this socio economic disadvantage and you'd have crumbled, and you'd have seen your kids crumble in front of you. And there isn't a flying f*ck given by anyone else as long as it doesn't cross their door.

gctest50 wrote: »
    or they are now laughing their ass off because 2016 :

That is crazy indeed but quite possible come to think of it. We are getting closer to the answer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

The pictures were taken by Sunday world reporters staking out the hotel to capture some main players from the kinahan gang entering, thought the Garda should be doing the same , anyway, it's my belief that the shooters are people not from this country or even continent and couldn't give a **** whether there seen or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Looks like a girl on the right pulling the balaclava over the face. The nose, eye lashes and the way of standing all look like a girl

Can we rule out the possibility of it being a man dressed as a woman dressed as a man though?

The old double bluff

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

myshirt wrote: »
    The guards know no more than anyone with a good hour of googling knows, unfortunately.

The relationship between guards and working class communities has been destroyed by their policing of water meter installations. It was a seriously bad strategic move by the government to have our gardai police these, and trust me, it reverberates.

Let there be no doubt, many communities across Dublin have been absolutely disenfranchised from any sense of decency, equity, and fairness. If you know anything about sociological impact, this has massive affects on the world our kids see and grow up in and what they are aclimitised to.

Our current set up has limited sight of what social justice means and what some young people are facing when they meet this world. Inequality. Corruption. Poverty. Depression. Suicide. Poor public services.

If you were born in the Amazon, they say it's likely you'd grow up to be a headhunter. If you were born into Nazi Germany, you may well have grown up to become a Nazi. And if you're born into an Ireland where you can't get a fair shake, it's very likely a different animal develops.

25% or so of your path is determined by your own effort, courage, strength, and self efficacy. There are many of you on boards here who believe you are where you as of your own doing. You're not.

Many people landed into this socio economic disadvantage and you'd have crumbled, and you'd have seen your kids crumble in front of you. And there isn't a flying f*ck given by anyone else as long as it doesn't cross their door.

Thats a very lazy self pitying poor me sentiment.
    I know many many people who far surpassed the expectations of their peer groups. Im sure many posters here are in the same boat.

In Ireland today there are a lot of opportunities presented to those coming from challenging backgrounds.
    Grants, free schooling, specialist schooling housing dole back to school back to work allowances.
    People have to make some sort of effort to better themselves or they lose the entitlement to moan about being 35 year old dole monkey who has never worked living in a crappy council flat . All the while a fella who grew up two doors down the street in the same estate in moyross or tallaght or where ever gets off his arse and gets a education a job and paid for a better life .

I was in a collage course with guys and girls who came from all sorts of backgrounds and my own life varied massively from where i came from and where my family came from. Its about personal responsibility. If you want something work for it dont expect to have it handed to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

Logged on just to say, well said to myshirt!! The relationship between the gardai and working class communities has always been somewhat strained but it is probably at an all time low which is a very dangerous situation for all of us to be in. Everyone needs to feel confident in talking to the guards regarding crime, that is currently not the case.

What went on in that hotel was both bizarre and horrific. I would like to see a reconstruction done on it as with the time it took for the gardai to arrive, unanswered 999 calls and these "staged" looking photos something does not add up. Would someone actually take photos of armed gardai entering a hotel? And civilians with pistols? Maybe people are crazier than I thought.

Looks like a girl on the right pulling the balaclava over the face. The nose, eye lashes and the way of standing all look like a girl

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭ghostfacekilla

A poster commenting on the independent.ie article claimed a foreign media outlet are carrying an unpixellated version of the photograph but I can't find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

using prosthetics would explain not caring about who saw them

realies wrote: »
    The pictures were taken by Sunday world reporters staking out the hotel to capture some main players from the kinahan gang entering, thought the Garda should be doing the same , anyway, it's my belief that the shooters are people not from this country or even continent and couldn't give a **** whether there seen or not.

but witnesses said gunmen were shouting in thick dublin accents so it would suggest they be local(ish)

arayess wrote: »
    but witnesses said gunmen were shouting in thick dublin accents so it would suggest they be local(ish)

I forgot about that, we'll then them to lads be caught so, unless they had on very good real face masks ?

It won't take a week before everyone knows who done it or who is the main suspect for the actual shooting are.

As far as the actual shooting attack it was a big failure and the only thing that came out of it was the inflated ego of some of them,the serious lads involved will know it was a failure,trying to get 2/3 men in a room of 100/300 people was impossible, they should have tried to get them as they travelled in there well known and very noticeable big jeeps, them ak would rip one apart.

Says the armchair realies smoking his pipe.

I forgot about that, we'll then them to lads be caught so, unless they had on very good real face masks ?

It won't take a week before everyone knows who done it or who is the main suspect for the actual shooting are.

As far as the actual shooting attack it was a big failure and the only thing that came out of it was the inflated ego of some of them,the serious lads involved will know it was a failure,trying to get 2/3 men in a room of 100/300 people was impossible, they should have tried to get them as they travelled in there we'll known big jeeps, them ak would rip one apart.

I'd say the plan was to wipe out a few people if they were standing together using the machine guns but couldnt find more than the victim,the amount of hitmen involved confirms this imo,if the target was the only one they wanted one gunman could've done the job,im sure they deem it a failure now for the simple fact their I.d's have been comprimised.

As far as the actual shooting attack it was a big failure and the only thing that came out of it was the inflated ego of some of them,the serious lads involved will know it was a failure,trying to get 2/3 men in a room of 100/300 people was impossible, they should have tried to get them as they travelled in there we'll known big jeeps, them ak would rip one apart.

true but maybe the public attack sent a statement also. I'm not an expert on combat of this kind but maybe blasting into a crowd like that will only yield a few kills max. I dunno

Another thing is the supposed targets also run a boxing gym with pro boxers fighting out of it.
    They'll have a hard job getting anybody hosting their promotions and fights in the future. Maybe that was the aim of it also . who knows?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Would someone actually take photos of armed gardai entering a hotel? And civilians with pistols? Maybe people are crazier than I thought.

Of course. I'd be surprised if they didn't upload it to FB before giving it to the garda or the press. In fact, I'm surprised the photographer didn't make it a selfie and put it as their profile pic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

There was a bloke shot dead in Clonsilla awhile back by a gunman dressed as a woman.

Are there many Trannies in the Dublin Crime Scene?

But there was 6 of them so maybe those two on the pic were foreigners and the rest were Dubliners, but who knows really.

true but maybe the public attack sent a statement also. I'm not an expert on combat of this kind but maybe blasting into a crowd like that will only yield a few kills max. I dunno

Another thing is the supposed targets also run a boxing gym with pro boxers fighting out of it.
    They'll have a hard job getting anybody hosting their promotions and fights in the future. Maybe that was the aim of it also . who knows?

All correct, I know expert either, but by killing one and then trying to sending a statement was a foolish thing to do,

Re the gym I would agree also,the attack ruined any chance of MGM getting a stronger foothold here , how any boxers in Ireland will stay with them is hard to see, the uk Spain be a different story.

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    There was a bloke shot dead in Clonsilla awhile back by a gunman dressed as a woman.

Are there many Trannies in the Dublin Crime Scene?

I think since the equality vote they more forthcoming :-)

All correct, I know expert either, but by killing one and then trying to sending a statement was a foolish thing to do,

Re the gym I would agree also,the attack ruined any chance of MGM getting a stronger foothold here , how any boxers in Ireland will stay with them is hard to see, the uk Spain be a different story.

The boxers signed to them know exactly where the funds are coming from and have no problem being involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭dakid

That's not a crazy thought it's a stupid thought.

You don't think the fact that the arrived there in a van with 4 other people was enough proof of them being there?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

A poster commenting on the independent.ie article claimed a foreign media outlet are carrying an unpixellated version of the photograph but I can't find it.

Confirmed now as Big Dermo and The Lobster being the two men in the picture; I wouldn't like to be in their shoes right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭FionnK86

I want to wish the Gardai good luck finding the thugs involved in this murder. No one should be allowed commit a crime in this country with such high-powered weaponry, such as the AK-47 assault rifles two of the hitmen seemingly possessed.

I thought the 'Troubles' were over, I thought this country had moved on...but I'd rather have a Nationalist movement who kept violence at a clear target, then a bunch of nutjobs shooting indiscriminately at a man who wronged them in the past. These are Ireland's real 'Troubles' and I hope the Guards have the resources needed to make life a living hell for these criminal gangs.

My little brother boxes in a local club, and my mam won't let him out the door anymore for a weigh-in. It's sad to see athletics and sport being blighted by thugs. All the Olympic Success with the likes of Katie Taylor that really improved the image of Boxing is now abating with thugs associating with the sport. I only hope as we become more a more advance society they can be caught, no doubt some of them have already been caught using Facebook.

Sorry but Im extremely annoyed about these people associated with boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭FionnK86

I want to wish the Gardai good luck finding the thugs involved in this murder. No one should be allowed commit a crime in this country with such high-powered weaponry, such as the AK-47 assault rifles two of the hitmen seemingly possessed.

I thought the 'Troubles' were over, I thought this country had moved on...but I'd rather have a Nationalist movement who kept violence at a clear target, then a bunch of nutjobs shooting indiscriminately at a man who wronged them in the past. These are Ireland's real 'Troubles' and I hope the Guards have the resources needed to make life a living hell for these criminal gangs.

My little brother boxes in a local club, and my mam won't let him out the door anymore for a weigh-in. It's sad to see athletics and sport being blighted by thugs. All the Olympic Success with the likes of Katie Taylor that really improved the image of Boxing is now abating with thugs associating with the sport. I only hope as we become more a more advance society they can be caught, no doubt some of them have already been caught using Facebook.

Sorry but Im extremely annoyed about these people associated with boxing.

sabat wrote: »
    Confirmed now as Big Dermo and The Lobster being the two men in the picture; I wouldn't like to be in their shoes right now

With all the silly gangland nicknames I'm genuinely unsure of whether you're joking or not

The boxers signed to them know exactly where the funds are coming from and have no problem being involved.

and you have proof of this ?

Well I've not sat down and asked every fighter signed do they know where their contract money is coming from but anyone who gets into bed with the crew funding the MGM gym knows the Kinahans are suspected of serious gangland activity,its no secret in the boxing world.

Anyone that has even a slight interest in boxing would know who funds and backs up MGM.

try reading it again :
    Originally Posted by gctest50

you either do have proof or you don't have proof

Talking to a wall,im out.

try reading it again :

You're asking him to give proof for something he possibly couldn't prove. You may as well ask him to prove that everyone knows what the capital of France is. It can't be done but you could safely assume it's close to being accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Sorry but Im extremely annoyed about these people associated with boxing.[/QUOTE]

its not as if there are shootings at every weigh in, your mother needs to put this into perspective in all fairness, these shootings usually happen in a pub and people don't think Diageo have anything to do with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

try reading it again :

Well after this incident, I'm sure any lingering doubts the boxers had will be clarified as to who they are working with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Do you have proof that MGM aren't being funded by criminals? You can either prove it or you can't.

Use your head.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Do you have proof that MGM aren't being funded by criminals? You can either prove it or you can't.

Use your head.

I'm not making any claims - i've nothing to prove

unlike this post :