Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lambing essentials

• 06-02-2016 10:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭

What do you consider as an essential at lambing time other than the obvious. (Colostrum, marking spray, hurdles, lube)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,227 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Little pens. Lots of little pens.
    And good light. Feck that tripping about in the dark......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Prolapse harness, antibiotic for after difficult lambing, Oxytocin for milk let down, also might be some help for ewes that don't break down to lamb, ropes, gloves, rings ,bottles ,teats. navel disinfectant, calcium, lectade,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Here's an old thread that might be of use to some here

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057145542/1/#post88931184

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,763 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

If the predictions for a cold, wintry spring come to pass , lambing jackets will be getting a good run out in many parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,190 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Pens, colostrum, heat box, lambing gloves, good light and the quad for the outdoor ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

plenty of sleep prior to the start of lambing to charge the battery. and the main lambing tool time and good set up prior to the start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

And plenty of baling cord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

Being ready is esstial ha
    Spectrum scour halt
    Alimicen spray
    Lube
    The lambing aid
    A red lamb
    powered beastings
    Good waterproofs for myself
    Stomack tubes and bottles ready for week lambs probably way more in the shed but i cant think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,343 ✭✭✭arctictree

How do you use a lambing aid? Have lambed lots of lambs and never used one??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

arctictree wrote: »
    How do you use a lambing aid? Have lambed lots of lambs and never used one??

Helpfull when the ewe is tight and lambs head is big.
    Put the fork into his mouth and rioe behind his ears. Tightn up and use the aid to pull it out.
    It takes some practice but very hand when you get used to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

A small little radio For the lambing shed, for some music. Does nothing for the sheep, but helps to keep you sane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Dickie10

+1 on the radio lets you know what day of the week it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭jmrc

Iodine spray,
    soap-lube....
    rope...Lidl have a good offer on at the moment 30mtr for 5€ always handy...
    bundle of rags.
    ear clippers/tip tags. to mark the difficult ones for "the Gap"
    buckets a plenty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Just as you say buckets running water is a lot handier than carrying buckets of water around to ewes all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭razor8

Haven't running water around all individual pens yet but I find a big barrel filled makes it a lot quicker than waiting to fill each bucket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭jmrc

yea a big barrel is the way to go if it isnt in each pen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭Sami23

rangler1 wrote: »
    Prolapse harness, antibiotic for after difficult lambing, Oxytocin for milk let down, also might be some help for ewes that don't break down to lamb, ropes, gloves, rings ,bottles ,teats. navel disinfectant, calcium, lectade,

Just wondering do ye actually use the long (ai) gloves for pulling difficult lambs or just use your hands.
    New enough to lambing myself but thought you would get a better feel of things with just bare hands ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Sami23 wrote: »
    Just wondering do ye actually use the long (ai) gloves for pulling difficult lambs or just use your hands.
    New enough to lambing myself but thought you would get a better feel of things with just bare hands ?

Bare hands usually, but something looks very suspicious, I would use gloves...

Would be very conscious of washing me hands before and after...

Got some of that alcohol hand sterilizer in Lidl a while back, and would use that too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭White Clover

rangler1 wrote: »

Wrangler, what antibiotic do you keep on hand to give to a ewe after a difficult lambing ? A week to go here, just putting the few bits together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Wrangler, what antibiotic do you keep on hand to give to a ewe after a difficult lambing ? A week to go here, just putting the few bits together!

Betamox is grand for in a shed. If your letting them out ,something LA would be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭razor8

Metacam after a hard lambing solves a lot of problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,258 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Engemycin LA, We also use something for pain after a hard lambing, it seems to really perk them up, might be worth asking your vet for.
    Just seen razors post, metacam is good for pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,190 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Stomach tube is very handy. For anyone who’s not sure about tubing a lamb a simple test is to put the tube down its throat. Attach the syringe and pull it backwards as if your filling it. If the syringe returns to its previous position (no air in the the stomach) then you are in the stomach. If it draws air you are in the lambs lungs. Simple way of knowing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,343 ✭✭✭arctictree

Most useful thing for me is my gas kettle. Nearly always on the go!