Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anyone ever made friends with another Boards member?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

There have been Boards relationships, Boards marriages, Boards babies. I should know - I have a two year old as a direct result of a Boards relationship!

But you're only here a month :eek:

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

kfallon wrote: »

And only 15 posts kfallon. You've over 20,000 - you must have some brood of offspring out there :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

What can I say. I work fast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Bulbous Salutation

No. I've met a few 'boardsies' over the years but I've yet to warm to any of them. Oddballs and weirdos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

What can I say. I work fast!

Or you re reg fast.

maudgonner wrote: »
    And only 15 posts kfallon. You've over 20,000 - you must have some brood of offspring out there :eek:

I pity the poor bastards if they're my offspring......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

I pity the poor bastards if they're my offspring......

Dad? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I've had no desire to tbh ;)

(Said Ms. Popular)

The more I post on here the more I'm finding it a little odd that I'm chatting with people in a very anonymous way. "Odd" might not be the right word. Jarring perhaps? It's not everytime I post or anything like that. I guess connections really matter to me and I'm naturally very curious.
    That probably makes me seem a bit stalkery or something.

It does, yes :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Here nearly 7 years and have only met 2 Boardsies. Never been to a Beers event either.

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    It does, yes :)

Well you can all sleep easy tonight :p

I'm reminded a little of when you meet someone you know on the street and you both say "how are you" and keep walking. When maybe what you'd really like to say is "you look lovely today or" I hope such and such is working out for you because I know how much it means to you" or "you mean something to me". Or people who sit on trains with their faces glued to their phones for fear of making eye contact or having someone actually speak to them.

Sometimes we are scared to go beyond the superficial. There is nothing wrong with wanting to connect.

I'm rambling. I'm going to stop now :p

Well you can all sleep easy tonight :p

I'm reminded a little of when you meet someone you know on the street and you both say "how are you" and keep walking. When maybe what you'd really like to say is "you look lovely today or" I hope such and such is working out for you because I know how much it means to you" or "you mean something to me". Or people who sit on trains with their faces glued to their phones for fear of making eye contact or having someone actually speak to them.

Sometimes we are scared to go beyond the superficial. There is nothing wrong with wanting to connect.

I'm rambling. I'm going to stop now :p

I'm often like 'I hate being looked at by this shower of...'

Maybe I need therapy.

But god bless your little cotton socks.

Kenjataimu wrote: »
    Dad? :(

I told you to stop calling me that in public ffs......"sperm donor" is the correct term :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »
    In this day and age, my first thought about anyone saying anything like that to me is that they're going to rob me or chop me up. God bless phones!

I think that's a little sad :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Yep, in the past. Probably the nicest person I ever met was a boardsie and we were good friends for quite a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I'm good friends with the "Ryu from Street Fighter II" icon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Itzy wrote: »
    Here nearly 7 years and have only met 2 Boardsies. Never been to a Beers event either.

Glad you said that because I haven't either.

Never been to a Boards Beers and living in the back of beyond in the Wesht not really likely to :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I met my wife on Boards. She has a neckbeard, hates Sinn Fein, is a militant atheist and loves Game of Thrones.

Does she blast you with Atari Jaguars?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Is there still a boards beers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Stinicker wrote: »
    Is there still a boards beers?

No its called the great boards piss up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

No its called the great boards piss up.

A gathering of craft beer snobs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I bought something off a guy from boards once. He looked exactly like I imagined someone from the internet would. He was a big, tall, bald guy with an awful goatee, long leather jacket down to his ankles and sunglasses like Neo from the matrix. He called me "dude" the whole time. We did not become friends.
    Look dude, you got a bargain off me at the time, plus it was the last blow up woman that I had for sale!

Talk to people? In real life????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Yep, in the past. Probably the nicest person I ever met was a boardsie and we were good friends for quite a while.

And now you're not? What happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Yes based on the fact I have been here since it's inception I would count a number of boardsies as friends.

I've been to boardsies weddings, I know of kids born to boardsies.

Unfortunately I have also gone to the funeral of a boardsie who was a friend as well.

Far from the cliches being spouted here boardsies are a pretty diverse bunch and what I love about Boards is I met people who I never would have known if I have stayed in my own social circles and my life has been enriched because of knowing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

I once met a Lady from Clare

Not really met her - so there,

But I did meet her Beau

"Hey Maurice! How goes?

How's Chucken, your lady so fair?" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Tom_Barry

No. I dont mix well with people :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Yes, quite a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

An accolade for Donegal boardies.. Back in the bad winter, 2012/3, I was stranded up in the Blue Stacks... None of my neighbours would bring me coal and gas...I am old ,disabled and my car is small...A kind kind man from boards came up with supplies.. THEN they got a working party and a team came up and cut logs...a wonderful deed... Smashey and co; you are stars! Any takers here in Kerry would be similarly feasted on home made potato salad and many goodies. It was literally a life saver.. Caring matters

More than I can count! My best friend is a Boardsie and I know quite a few others. May have even slept with one. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Met a lot of people drom the shooting forum who are now good friends and iv me a lot of thw lads in the motorbike section from going on the sunday spins.

My missus used to think it was weird i made friends online but id make friends anywhere and none of my usual friends were into shooting so it was a good place to meet people with the same interest

Karsini wrote: »
    More than I can count! My best friend is a Boardsie and I know quite a few others. May have even slept with one. :pac:

I hate when someone only tells half of what sounds like a good story!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I've never knowingly met anyone who posts on these message boards, never mind striking up a friendship based on the fact.

I do suspect one poster may have been a fellow student in Trinity when I was studying there. He's as pig ignorant, deluded and jealous now as was then if indeed they are one and the same. If he had spent less time attending Socialist Party meetings, sitting around drinking coffee and smoking rollies, and trying to get his band going then he might be less bitter and more successful today.

As for attending a beers, I'd have very little interest in going. I'm sure there are lovely people who go, but I've an image of awkwardness, long silences, discussions on computer games, bootcut jeans; the stench of Lynx deodorant, moronic Boards 'jokes' about coke and hookers and the like, and lots of uncomfortable staring.

That could be an incorrect assessment, but if the calibre of 'beers' is the same as the calibre of debate around here then I'm pretty sure it's not. Glad to see people have formed friendships from it though. That's nice.

I'd definately love being friends with Aongus. We could go about setting fire to weed for fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I'd definately love being friends with Aongus. We could go about setting fire to weed for fun.

That was hopefully a one time occurrence to teach my brother a harsh lesson. I don't keep company with cannabis smokers, and I've little desire to make a hobby of burning their stash, or whatever the drug user terminology is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Yeah, I've met people from boards in real life, and I'd like to think we are proper friends now.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Yep. Ended up going out with 3 of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

anna080 wrote: »
    No and don't think I'd want to. Boards is my break away from my real life. Mixing the two would be weird

This! I never really meet people from the Internet. There are a few people on boards that I know anyway outside of boards, but that's different.

I hate when someone only tells half of what sounds like a good story!!!!! :D
    Nah, I might have made a sex life from Boards but it doesn't mean I'll share it on Boards! :p :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

antodeco wrote: »
    Yep. Ended up going out with 3 of them!

Was it a good night?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

i married one.

does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Admitting here a dread of accidentally meeting someone from boards I have,, shall we say argued with! There would be that moment of sudden open mouthed realisation.... YOU ARE ********;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,738 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Yeah I made a few friends through the gigs and events forum, mainly on festival threads and a general agreement on certain music tastes and having the craic. I've met some boardsies at Life festivals, Body & Soul Festivals and Electric Picnic festivals.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Was it a good night?

Haha! One I with for about 3 months, the other about 5 months, can't really remember the other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Yes.I have met one person from boards. She a lovely person and we had a grand Auld chat. That's it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I've run nude down a country road with some boardsies... Couple of fairly close friends who post here, but I knew them before I knew they were on here. Fair few who I've met from beers over the years that I'd have a chat with now and again but not really close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

I'd love to but I am afraid that they would wear my dismembered body like a hat