Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How safe do you now feel in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Lived in Dublin a while ago, Cork, Galway and a short time in Limerick. I know you can find trouble in all of them. Depends where you go when how you keep a look about you who you mix with etc. Knew a lad stabbed in Limerick on a night out another beaten to death outside a nightclub in Dublin and a lad left for dead after a random attack on a Galway street, another robbed in Cork. I would say this makes no difference really to the ordinary man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

The debate about Dublin being safe is just so subjective. O' Connell St is a kip, but you could walk down there 100 nights in a row and not be attacked. Another person could walk down O' Connell St just once and be stabbed by some trackie with a knife.

Same goes for other parts of the city. Some of my gay friends say that Dame St is grand and they've never had any trouble. Other gay friends said that they wouldn't go near Dame St on a weekend after midnight because there are gangs that go around gay bashing.

Like, it's fairly easy to be safe in Dublin. The problem is that some scumbags go looking for trouble, and even though it's a tiny chance, there still is a chance that their path might cross with yours. Overall however, I can't remember not feeling safe in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Ridiculous ad on the Indo today loudly proclaiming that "the city is living in fear...."

Eh....no, we're not mate.

You'd think they'd have a bit more kop on, when there own journalists are supposed to be under threat.

I don't have anything to do with people who traffic in drugs, or their friends or families. Nor do I frequent the neighbourhoods, pubs or dodgy sporting events that have been flagged well in advance of attracting a certain kind of participant and fan. (Yes, I know that boxing has a lot of 'normal' fans too. I'm not tarring everyone with the same brush, but my basic point still stands.)

So to answer the OP's question - no, I'm not remotely worried.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Ridiculous ad for the Indo's weekend editions on the radio today, loudly proclaiming that "the city is living in fear...."

Eh....no, we're not mate.

You'd think they'd have a bit more kop on, when there own journalists are supposed to be under threat.

I don't have anything to do with people who traffic in drugs, or their friends or families. Nor do I frequent the neighbourhoods, pubs or dodgy sporting events that have been flagged well in advance of attracting a certain kind of participant and fan. (Yes, I know that boxing has a lot of 'normal' fans too. I'm not tarring everyone with the same brush, but my basic point still stands.)

So to answer the OP's question - no, I don't feel any more worried than I did a week ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

Doesn't bother me in the slightest, wasn't Dublin the gun murder capital of Europe in 2009? It's all blown way out of proportion by the scare-mongering media so they'll sell more papers, pay no heed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,032 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

Given recent events particularly in the Regency Hotel I was wondering has it changed people's attitudes to socialising in Dublin? I am on the road a lot and stop off wherever I am for lunch etc. This week I found myself being a lot more picky about where I stopped off. Friends and I have decided not to meet up in the city centre this weekend with the way things are at the moment. Are other boardsies thinking like this or do you feel it's as safe here as you did a couple of weeks ago.

Do you really feel that way? Why, it's not like you're a target in this feud. Or are you?

Personally, I dont feel any different at all, I feel as safe as at any other time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

OleRodrigo wrote: »
    Any supporting links for this?

Links for what? thats theres crime in Dublin? That theres violent crime in Dublin? I could fill your cache with links to show this.

So you really doubt that Dublin has a crime problem? Or that its globally not a very safe place?

Well I could individually compare it too every single city in the world but that might take a bit of time. I can cite a few though

Madrid, Barcelona, Bilbao, Porto, Edinburgh, Stockholm, Hamburg, Perth, Okinawa, Galway, Bordeaux, Lille, Venice,

Remember, we are not talking about just gangland killings. Im sure Italy, Spain, USA Mexico the UK and many places beat us hands down on that score but random assaults? Needless mindless violence? We are actually very bad on that score. Despite opinion, if you arent a drug dealer. you are pretty safe in South America. Jesus wept, go to any town or city thats not full of drunken English / Irish stags and they probable wont even have people on the door of the pub. Go to Lanzarote or Ibiza or Benidorm or Dublin and voila, 20 bouncers needed.

and I dont need to ask Brazilians how they feel, I have spoken to the ones that were shocked that little auld Ireland produces violent little ****s that roam Dublin like feral animals.

Or the Italian who couldnt comprehend why even after he handed over his wallet they proceeded to smash his fingers.

Or the Irish woman sitting on Wicklow street chatting when some drunk asshole stuck a bottle into her face.

A foreign national who doesnt know a city or the good or bad areas will very often not be able to give you an accurate reflection of the host city. I spent two weeks in Rio, three weeks in Durban and Joburg. For my Honeymoon I went to Egypt and when I got engaged it was in a cruise in the Caribbean, never have I been the victim of crime when abroad, beggers and rip of salesmen yeah but no violence. That doesnt mean that this tourist can accurately state that these places are safe just that I wasnt targeted.

By the same token you could say I am making Dublin out to be worse than it is based on my own personal experience but I dont believe I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

esforum wrote: »

and I dont need to ask Brazilians how they feel, I have spoken to the ones that were shocked that little auld Ireland produces violent little ****s that roam Dublin like feral animals.

Or the Italian who couldnt comprehend why even after he handed over his wallet they proceeded to smash his fingers.

Or the Irish woman sitting on Wicklow street chatting when some drunk asshole stuck a bottle into her face.

A foreign national who doesnt know a city or the good or bad areas will very often not be able to give you an accurate reflection of the host city. I spent two weeks in Rio, three weeks in Durban and Joburg. For my Honeymoon I went to Egypt and when I got engaged it was in a cruise in the Caribbean, never have I been the victim of crime when abroad, beggers and rip of salesmen yeah but no violence. That doesnt mean that this tourist can accurately state that these places are safe just that I wasnt targeted.

By the same token you could say I am making Dublin out to be worse than it is based on my own personal experience but I dont believe I am.

The Brazilians over here will never really tell you how they live in Brazil. They will moan about Dublin being unsafe. Yet they will leave out they live in house with 20 foot walls with dog in a gated community. Or how they have a gun for protection. Or they will leave out they only go to a fraction of their city. Brazilians are like rich people living in LA. They only work/socialise/live in the rich parts of the city and never see the real parties of the city where a majority of Brazilians live. If we all lived and worked in Foxrock, we would think Dublin is the safest city in the world.

Naples has to be the biggest kip in Western Europe. I dont think any Italian can comment on crime with the state of italian legal system eg Amanda Knox.

Did you go to the other parts of South Africa, where people cant walk on the streets as it is dangerous? Did you get to see the houses where locals have to live as SA is so unsafe? Wealthy South Africans nearly always live in gated communities for safety. A few safe tourist towns is not a reflection of SA as a whole

Tourist cities outside the western world, are sterlised as third world Government know they are important for revenue. They are not a reflection of living in those countries. Eg Cabo in Mexico is super safe. Under your logic the whole of Mexico is safe. But nearly 100k people are missing or killed by cartels in the last decade.

Ignore observational bias and you will see Dublin is safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

I do fear a possible return of FF to government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

esforum wrote: »

The Brazilians over here will never really tell you how they live in Brazil. They will moan about Dublin being unsafe. Yet they will leave out they live in house with 20 foot walls with dog in a gated community. Or how they have a gun for protection. Or they will leave out they only go to a fraction of their city. Brazilians are like rich people living in LA. They only work/socialise/live in the rich parts of the city and never see the real parties of the city where a majority of Brazilians live. If we all lived and worked in Foxrock, we would think Dublin is the safest city in the world.

Naples has to be the biggest kip in Western Europe. I dont think any Italian can comment on crime with the state of italian legal system eg Amanda Knox.

Did you go to the other parts of South Africa, where people cant walk on the streets as it is dangerous? Did you get to see the houses where locals have to live as SA is so unsafe? Wealthy South Africans nearly always live in gated communities for safety. A few safe tourist towns is not a reflection of SA as a whole

Tourist cities outside the western world, are sterlised as third world Government know they are important for revenue. They are not a reflection of living in those countries. Eg Cabo in Mexico is super safe. Under your logic the whole of Mexico is safe. But nearly 100k people are missing or killed by cartels in the last decade.

Ignore observational bias and you will see Dublin is safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

That even one person feels less safe is more down to ridiculous media than anything else

On Thursday night Primetime, the flagship RTE serious news programme, used words like 'people living in gangland are gripped by fear' and 'parts of Dublin are on lockdown'

They're not the only ones. It's absolute nonsense. And worse it's dangerous scare mongering

Shameful

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭JakeArmitage

Dublin has known Darker times, believe you me. Don't take my word for it

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Given recent events particularly in the Regency Hotel I was wondering has it changed people's attitudes to socialising in Dublin? I am on the road a lot and stop off wherever I am for lunch etc. This week I found myself being a lot more picky about where I stopped off. Friends and I have decided not to meet up in the city centre this weekend with the way things are at the moment. Are other boardsies thinking like this or do you feel it's as safe here as you did a couple of weeks ago.
    Im grand, I bring my Glock with me.

Jesus Christ you'd swear Dublin was Damascas or Detroit FFS.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

A few weeks ago I sat inside my house having a cup of tea. Now I'm out my back having another cup of tea. It must be safer seeing that I have ventured out doors. (Might also be that it was probably teeming rain then)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Dodge wrote: »
    That even one person feels less safe is more down to ridiculous media than anything else

On Thursday night Primetime, the flagship RTE serious news programme, used words like 'people living in gangland are gripped by fear' and 'parts of Dublin are on lockdown'

They're not the only ones. It's absolute nonsense. And worse it's dangerous scare mongering

Shameful

Media love a bit of drama & the OP is getting well carried away there. Never have felt unsafe in Dublin in the 10 years i've been here. All these shootings has done is brought armed guards etc out, so right now it's the safest it's ever been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

As a woman I'm more concerned about the increase in sex attacks than any gangland incident. Still won't stop me going out but will make me more vigilant.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,106 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Friends and I have decided not to meet up in the city centre this weekend with the way things are at the moment.

I find this absolutely bizarre. The chances of being murdered in Ireland are minuscule, and the chances of being murdered at random, I mean does that happen once a year even?

I live in the city centre, I absolutely feel as safe as I ever did (which is very safe).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭OleRodrigo

Ask any Brazilian what they like about Dublin. One of the things they will tell you is how safe they feel here.

Just to elaborate on this, there is quite a large community of South Americans ( among other foreign nationals )living in and around the Dublin inner city. They aren't tourists, they come to work and study on student visas, (which they can renew for up to 7 years I believe), so they are quite seasoned, many having been here for a while, as opposed to being fleeting visitors.

I'm always interested to hear what they have to say about their experiences here, especially when some from Irish citizens are so negative. Occasionally there is substance to that negativity - junkies, obnoxious kids, rampant and very visible homelessness etc. But predominantly they find Dubin friendly, safe and culturally interesting. This is also how I find it, most of the time, along with friends and associates who live in the area. Every city will have its social problems, Malmo in Sweden has seen a lot of immigration-related unrest, we don't see that in Dublin - even during the worst years of the recession. Football violence is traditionally a problem across many European cities, we don't have that here. Oslo and Helsinki have bigger problems with booze and drugs than Dublin, by many accounts.

The biggest vote for the safety of Dublin, though, is the presence of so many startups and American multinationals, establishing their EMEA base here. They recruit from all over Europe, which wouldn't be possible if Dublin wasn't a safe place.

Our sensationalist media along with a real disconnect between suburban and urban life contributes to the negative perception. That, and I would say, a general unworldliness among some Irish people.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,106 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Oslo and Helsinki have bigger problems with booze and drugs than Dublin, by many accounts.

Sorry for picking a single point out of what is a very decent post, but just on this, I used to work with a lot of Scandinavians and they mentioned this about Norway too. That alcoholism and heroin use are massive problems in some areas. I was quite surprised, probably because I'm conditioned to thinking Scandinavia is some utopia by people who insist the grass is always greener.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

esforum wrote:
    Theres plenty of worse capitals and theres plenty that are better however one thing that Ireland / UK appear to have in common is the random violence. You dont see the same level of random assaults in other countries and when you do, its always English speaking ones.

Wtf? Have you been anywhere apart from Ireland or the uk? Random violence only happens in English speaking countries. Oh holy flipping lols.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Anyone cancelling their social plans because of a little spat between criminals needs a reality check. This is not Bogota or Johannesburg, this is one of the safest cities in the world to go out in.

The biggest vote for the safety of Dublin, though, is the presence of so many startups and American multinationals, establishing their EMEA base here. They recruit from all over Europe, which wouldn't be possible if Dublin wasn't a safe place.
    That would be of no benefit to the OP as she's probably too afraid to go to work in the mornings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Irish people can't handle their drink, other than that - I feel pretty safe. The only time I feel things are getting a bit leary is around that small minority of people that get violent when they're drunk.

Im in work here and there are Gardai helicopters flying overhead at the funeral in Francis Street.

Its really scary and the atmosphere is tense.

Im so scared I might ask my boss can I go home and hide under my bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Stojkovic wrote: »
    Im in work here and there are Gardai helicopters flying overhead at the funeral in Francis Street.

Its really scary and the atmosphere is tense.

Im so scared I might ask my boss can I go home and hide under my bed.

DO NOT LEAVE YOUR WORKPLACE, I REPEAT, DO NOT LEAVE YOUR WORKPLACE. YOU ARE SAFE WHERE YOU ARE.

Birneybau wrote: »
    DO NOT LEAVE YOUR WORKPLACE, I REPEAT, DO NOT LEAVE YOUR WORKPLACE. YOU ARE SAFE WHERE YOU ARE.

Remain indoors!

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Our sensationalist media along with a real disconnect between suburban and urban life contributes to the negative perception.
    Coming home on Friday there was an ad on the radio for one of the weekend rags that went along the lines of, "A city FROZEN IN TERROR".

And here I was enjoying a nice sunny drive through Dublin, witnessing plenty of people out enjoying life.

I wonder do these people not laugh at themselves when they come up with copy like it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Asmooh

actually very safe

From the Viz
    "I don't feel that Dublin is a very safe city at all! Only yesterday I punched a random stranger in the face"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭JakeArmitage

Irish people can't handle their drink, other than that - I feel pretty safe. The only time I feel things are getting a bit leary is around that small minority of people that get violent when they're drunk.

I think its more a case that Irish people drink too much