Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Post a picture of your vehicle here Part 5 (don't quote pictures, 24h ban!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Bet you returned to a micra or something parked between the two of you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

This was a couple of hundred metres away at Dundalk C&C, probably would have fitted!

eJ1MqGq.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Funny and sad at the same time, I parked beside this sorry state of a 7 series today. It was the flagship equivalent of a battered farmers Avensis you'd see parked inside a cattleshed.

It was absolutely destroyed all over with dents, scuffs, the right side banged in, a broken headlight and the interior jammed with junk.
    Funny thing is he was parked the same way I was, way over to the side of the space to avoid dings. :D

Even aside from the condition of the other car, it's amazing how much fresher the LCI models look at the front! Seems to be a common feature with LCIs from the Bangle era - the E46 and E60 were the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

This was a couple of hundred metres away at Dundalk C&C, probably would have fitted!

https://i.imgur.com/eJ1MqGq.jpg
    Hillman Imp...my first car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,479 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Uh oh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,505 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I hear the sound of mods in the distance.

Enjoy your 60 lashes and the shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Pretty sure that's my first of 2018. A bit slow off the mark this year :pac:

Sure it's a rite of passage in the motors forum really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Pretty sure Colm banned me before for quoting a pic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Pretty sure Colm banned me before for quoting a pic :)

You're just waiting patiently to get him back aren't you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,826 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Colm is like the motors guru, you will in your hole catch him quoting a picture :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,483 ✭✭✭✭blade1

A bit slow off the mark this year :pac:

Indeed!
    You missed one from me the other day!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭how.gareth

Picked up a focus zetec s, it’s only a 1.5 but is actually nippy enough and does 40mpg around the city no problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Ryano87

My newest purchase inspired by a thread on boards a few weeks ago.

It's my fourth mx5 - I've owned an

- NC
    - NB
    - NA (still own)
    And now the ND.

Wouldn't have been my first choice of colour but I got a good deal on it.

So far loving it - spent 6 hours prepping paint and polishing it yesterday!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Looks great, enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I think it looks fantastic in white, the black wheels set it off nicely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

new Mx5 looks great. Every time I see one I admire it. The new Aston Martin Vanquish store the front end too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Ryano87 wrote: »
    My newest purchase inspired by a thread on boards a few weeks ago.

It's my fourth mx5 - I've owned an

- NC
    - NB
    - NA (still own)
    And now the ND.

Wouldn't have been my first choice of colour but I got a good deal on it.

So far loving it - spent 6 hours prepping paint and polishing it yesterday!

White looks great, assume that is the Pearl one too? Had a Mazda 6 with the same paint... Looked great, when I kept it clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Ryano87

mloc123 wrote: »
    White looks great, assume that is the Pearl one too? Had a Mazda 6 with the same paint... Looked great, when I kept it clean.

It's called "ceramic" I think there is actually a standard white, a pearl white and ceramic - it's an unusual colour - sometimes it looks almost silver depending on the light.

And yeah I couldn't get over the amount of tar on it considering it has been on the road less than two months.

I like keeping a car clean though so I can see this one is going to keep me busy!

What's the squarish part on the wheel arch?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Looks like where the reflector would be fitted in other markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

bear1 wrote: »
    What's the squarish part on the wheel arch?

Spot for a reflector for the US market maybe?

Ah could well be.
    You'd think it would be flushed over for the European market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,592 ✭✭✭tossy

That MX5 is perfect, love that colour. Any interior shots?

tossy wrote: »
    That MX5 is perfect, love that colour. Any interior shots?

Mazda of late are producing some cracking looking cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭BHP

Have this a few weeks. Over 3,000km on it now.

447172.jpg

447173.jpg

447174.jpg

447175.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Lovely to see another Merc joining the group :D Gorgeous car btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Looks like a very nice cabin to be sitting in.

Autosport wrote: »
    Lovely to see another Merc joining the group :D Gorgeous car btw

Thanks, I think it does look pretty good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,687 ✭✭✭OmegaGene

Love the wheels bhp
    What’s the model ?
    I got a c220 recently myself and I’d love those wheels

Nice camera work too

The internet isn’t for everyone

Looks like a very nice cabin to be sitting in.

Yep the seats are one of the highlights for me. Better than the seats in the G30 5er.
    OmegaGene wrote: »
    Love the wheels bhp
    What’s the model ?
    I got a c220 recently myself and I’d love those wheels

Nice camera work too

It's an e220d AMG Line, with the Night Pack adding those dual tone black gloss/silver painted wheels.

Wait till you all see the cracker I've been given while my Alfa gets assessed or more than likely written off.
    An American import 2.0 147bhp focus automatic.
    I'll post up a picture in the morning. No matter what I do it's averaging around 12 per 100km.
    Alcoholic of a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

bear1 wrote: »
    Wait till you all see the cracker I've been given while my Alfa gets assessed or more than likely written off.
    An American import 2.0 147bhp focus automatic.
    I'll post up a picture in the morning. No matter what I do it's averaging around 12 per 100km.
    Alcoholic of a car.

That I would like to see :)

How did they come up with it as a replacement car... Keep the fuel receipts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

BHP wrote: »
    It's an e220d AMG Line, with the Night Pack adding those dual tone black gloss/silver painted wheels.

I've driven a few of the regular e220d's over the last few years in the U.K. and they are a stunning car to be inside and drive in my opinion.

I'd be seriously considering trying to pick one of these up over the next few years from the U.K.

wonski wrote: »
    That I would like to see :)

How did they come up with it as a replacement car... Keep the fuel receipts :)

Originally it was supposed to be an auris.
    Then it got changed to a Lancer.
    I show up and they hand me the keys to the focus with 41km of fuel in it.
    At least I'm not walking but the kick back when you accelerate would give you whiplash it's that archaic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Wheres the spruce?

1200px-Picea_abies1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Picked this up over the weekend in London. 520d M Sport with 82k on the clock, full BMW service history and not a mark on the body. Might be auld as the hills to some of you, but she's brand new to me :p

https://imgur.com/a/A7DKE

Edit: Won't let me embed it for some reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭m17

Took her for a test drive this morning
    IMAG3175_zps1tedoojc.jpg
    2IMAG3176_zps8pvdj4hj.jpg
    3IMAG3177_zps5ubq4yhp.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭Wailin

m17 wrote: »
    Took her for a test drive this morning

190bhp? Do you work in a car dealers m17? You get to drive some tasty motors :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭m17

Wailin wrote: »
    190bhp? Do you work in a car dealers m17? You get to drive some tasty motors :)

Thats a 190 bhp automatic,I used to work with a car dealership I still keep in touch with them as its always nice to test drive the good stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

After 10 years without a Beemer I finally convinced the wife..

20180404_183930.jpg

20180404_183946.jpg

20180404_182402.jpg

20180404_184002.jpg

20180329_111313.jpg

Love it so far had a good drive in it this evening its my first auto car thought it would take some getting used to but not a bother on it love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,297 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

My new arrival today:

20180404_195815.jpg

20180404_195909.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Very nice bazz! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭Wailin

Well wear bazz. Is the colour growing on you? Always felt the F10 m sport looks best in a dark colour and carbon black is one of the better ones.

Cheers fellas. Carbon Black is a stunning colour when the sun is shining and it's clean. Keeping it that way is the tricky bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,295 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

I'm pretty neutral on BMW, don't like or dislike them much but there's some bloody fine examples of them on this forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Well wear Bazz.
    Looks lovely. Carbon black is gorgeous when the sun shines showing off the blue tinge. Definitely get paint protection for it to keep it looking so well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

That m sport is just stunning.

The sports box feels much more lively too when it shifts, I always though the only difference between the non sports box and sports box was the paddle shifts but it looks like the gear ratios are tweaked also. The engine soundtrack at low speed (even though it's still a diesel) is very nice.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Fecking Motors BMW forum. *grumble* :D Nah only joking, like DD said Beemers were never really on my Petrolhead radar*, but over the years this thread has made me go "fair play" more than a few times. Nice one Bazz and Jayo. Well may ye both wear. Very nice cars both. A mate of mine has a similar Beemer to yourselves and the addled brained eejit let me of all gobsh1tes have a go a couple of times. Very nice, remarkably planted and feels like a much smaller car when pressing on(a compliment in my eyes), though I fear I'd lose my licence in a week. :D

Though Bazz, WTF were you thinking you crazy mad bastid you? Carbon Black?

wax+on+wax+off.jpg

*E30 M3 aside. Fcuking fantastic car. Though in fairness I've always been a sucker for rev happy engines you have to work, over all torque and powah. That and neutral well sorted analogue chassis that reward pressing on.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.