Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post a picture of your vehicle here Part 5 (don't quote pictures, 24h ban!)

bazz26 wrote: »
    .....just not what I hoped to be cruising around Texas in.

That's the speel I gave them about the Prius.
    I usually find US rental folk sooooo helpful TBH (as in being open to giving you lots for little cash).... I'd a Hyundai accent offered to me once but they gave me a Ford edge instead as I needed a sat nav and they'd no portable one for the accent & the edge was available with built in nav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Washed and sealed yesterday in preparation for the 2CM of snow :pac:

n9rnwYV.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭dryadssaddle

1971 Ford Escort Dormobile
    1.jpg

2.jpg

1995 Toyota Stalet
    3.jpg

1980 Honda C90
    4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,592 ✭✭✭tossy

Class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Now that is cool! Savage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,843 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The pictures even look like they were taken in the 70s :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭pjmn

Are they hybrids? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭dryadssaddle

Pretty sure a hybrid wouldn't be close to the economy of the honda =) 150mpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

qM5GbO2.jpg

I love snow. Well, bits of it anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,381 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Me too :pac:

ezgif-com-crop.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

^me for the last two days.

I should probably stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I see vintage vrs the dog was the pace maker.....

Plenty of runs around...

I see vintage vrs the dog was the pace maker.....

Plenty of runs around...

Dogz luvz skidz :>

e92.gif

ezgif-com-crop-2.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Dogz luvz skidz :>

Do they love getting knocked down!!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Vintage - do you still have the E46? If so you need to slide that to complete the set!

No it's gone, it sat parked for ages not getting used, so stuck it up on DD.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭hooch-85

Nice shed. What was the E92? I've tried in vain to catch the badge above

320d. Was a great car, I put 150k miles on it when I owned it and usually got 55mpg out of it. Interior wasn't for everyone though...

IMG-5552.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭tc20

1971 Ford Escort Dormobile

I knew I'd seen that Escort before - spotted in Greystones last summer (and posted here or in the classics forum)
    Great collection you have there! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

Collected on Monday and driven all week, but didn't get a chance to actually properly look at, and clean it, until today!

Very clean car for being 5 years old - one minor paint scuff on the nose, between the grills that I will get fixed up.

All in all, very happy with it.

39998530513_b5a8bb41e1_c.jpg

39998530363_fd076d6301_c.jpg

39998530403_d0cc2684a4_c.jpg

33087589198_f3b47908de_c.jpg

39998530433_39ebfa4ee0_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,338 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Very nice, reminds me of my car when it was last clean. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Looks a bit better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,719 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Considering my car history, buying a GTI is a bit of a strange one for me :O Original Irish, two owner car with actual full service history for sub €2500 :cool::D

50703205_299441110769379_3502513602346456030_n.jpg?_nc_ht=instagram.fdub4-1.fna.fbcdn.net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

As a MK5 owner for the last 6 years, that pains me!

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭Hebegeebee

A great price to buy a Mk5 GTi at but what likely puts people off, to drive the price that low, is the €710 annual car tax cost. Most people can’t see beyond “chape tax”.
    It looks in great nick, a great car; well wear!

Hebegeebee wrote: »
    A great price to buy a Mk5 GTi at but what likely puts people off, to drive the price that low, is the €710 annual car tax cost. Most people can’t see beyond “chape tax”.
    It looks in great nick, a great car; well wear!

Don't think that's it, tax has always been that way but prices have nosedived over the last 2 years. IMO it's insurance, mine went from 250 4 years ago up to 900 now. No accidents/points etc. in the mean time.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭Hebegeebee

Don't think that's it, tax has always been that way but prices have nosedived over the last 2 years. IMO it's insurance, mine went from 250 4 years ago up to 900 now. No accidents/points etc. in the mean time.

That’s a very good point. The insurance on older cars has gone crazy regardless of them having passed an NCT. It’s a joke. I suppose the increase in insurance combined with the high tax on certain models has really battered their used prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,351 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

If I was going back to a golf I'd prefer a mk4 R32...but that's a lovely mk5 gti.

ELM327 wrote: »
    If I was going back to a golf I'd prefer a mk4 R32...but that's a lovely mk5 gti.

Jesus I can't stand Mk4's, would love a mk5 r32 but hard to stomach that tax for such a small power gain, despite how good they sound. Pretty sure my next purchase will be an R.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Killinator

Jesus I can't stand Mk4's, would love a mk5 r32 but hard to stomach that tax for such a small power gain, despite how good they sound. Pretty sure my next purchase will be an R.

Went from a Mk5 GTI to a Mk5 R32(current car). Even though it's a relatively small power gain of 50hp it certainly feels much much more sprightly.
    Also was a change from a manual to a DSG and that makes a huge difference.
    And the sound...good Lord the sound!!!!

Killinator wrote: »
    Went from a Mk5 GTI to a Mk5 R32(current car). Even though it's a relatively small power gain of 50hp it certainly feels much much more sprightly.
    Also was a change from a manual to a DSG and that makes a huge difference.
    And the sound...good Lord the sound!!!!

The power band of the Vr lump is impressive, the torque comes in low and there's a lovely push on when the second stage of the inlet manifold opens up when up the revs and gears.

Mk4 R32 is one of VWs finest cars - 250 bhp in a 4wd hothatch with an option of DSG ? Who else was at that party in 2003 - game changer. The R is the sweet spot though, more power - less tax - more petrol :D

Considering my car history, buying a GTI is a bit of a strange one for me :O Original Irish, two owner car with actual full service history for sub €2500 :cool::D

Love it. I've been looking at a lot of mk5 GTI's recently, lots of value out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭gearoidol

New jeep for the wife and kids and an upgrade from my MK5 Gti to a 2015 R for me

g2_zpsidiimhvc.jpeg

v1_zpsquqxwody.jpeg
    v2_zpsh8cjloak.jpeg

Now that's a lovely combo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Killinator

That R (drool)!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

gearoidol wrote: »
    New jeep for the wife and kids and an upgrade from my MK5 Gti to a 2015 R for me

472537.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I don't know why I bothered washing it...it was dirty by the time I got home.

472540.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

New jeep for the wife and kids and an upgrade from my MK5 Gti to a 2015 R
    That’s a nice garage to have :cool:

I think I’m going mad..... every time I look at your Range Rover pics I think they are computer generated like you might get out of the car configurator.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

h3000 wrote: »
    That’s a nice garage to have :cool:

I think I’m going mad..... every time I look at your Range Rover pics I think they are computer generated like you might get out of the car configurator.

Thank you

I have a transit connect as my daily driver which I spend nearly all of my time in :) and its actually one of my favourite purchases , honest to goodness great value and the 120 bhp model is fairly fun to drive

I actually think the velar doesn’t photograph very well , there is a nice depth to those wheels that doesn’t come across in the pics , it’s a nice car so far anyway , it replaced an fpace which was a big let down.

The RR looks like a lovely motor. Spotted one the other day and watched the door handles retract as they drove off. Stick up some interior photos if you get a chance and anything that you find different/cool/unusual with it.

Best of luck with it too

vintagevrs wrote: »
    The RR looks like a lovely motor. Spotted one the other day and watched the door handles retract as they drove off. Stick up some interior photos if you get a chance and anything that you find different/cool/unusual with it.

Best of luck with it too

Will do , it’s off getting ceramic coated today .
    They come in basic,s,se and Hse. I went for the s with the r dynamic. The S brings a few options that I didn’t really expect like a velar emblem projected onto the ground in the puddle lights and a few little things like that . First car with memory seats as well which is a great job .landrover just brought car play a few weeks ago to the velar so it’s nice to get that update as well .

We are both in our 30s and the nicest thing about the velar and fpace is the insurance is for nothing on them for some reason ... €480 fully comp not sure is it all the safety equip like the lane departure and front crash avoidance stuff but it’s a nice bonus .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

Gearoid do you notice much of a performance difference between the R and GTI?

There is no comparison between the two in performance . The R is a beast for pickup and acceleration. I’ve owned a few fast cars from new ,240 bHp rx8, dsg 200bhp TT, it is quicker by a country mile than anything else .
    The big issue I find with it though is it is very soft on the limit on country roads . There was only 22k miles on it so you would imagine it couldn’t be wear and tear but it was bottoming out constantly. I’ve fitted Koni yellows(set 50% full hard) and updated eibach springs and it’s much better but I’d still prefer it a touch harder

I’m not sure is it that I’m now going into every corner 20-30km faster than I would have been in the fwd gti and that’s why I’m noticing the bumps more or is it a case the R is setup more for the better roads , the 19s don’t help either I’d say .

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bloody nice car(s) G. Well may you wear. I'd say herself is well chuffed with her choice of steed too. :)

I've found that kinda thing with a few of the later marque Golfs I've driven. They're set "softer", I suppose because they're made and aimed at more than just the crazy feckers hooning down the road? :D They're very much a true daily performance car, even if someone rarely uses the performance. Beautifully bolted together. Like a mini Merc as it were. That could be part of it too G, the weight. They've not been a particularly light car for a while now, though to be fair cars have gotten a lot heavier in general over the last 20 years, but you can feel that weight at times if pressing on.

As you say 19s don't help. Big wheels and low profiles make a big difference. A while back I read an review of an early sixties Ferrari 250 Lusso and at one point the driver had lost his "chase" and camera bod car. He was driving a very nice Beemer and had slowed down because the road got really crap and he was starting to feel the bumps. The guy in the old yoke didn't even notice. As he noted, when it was built many of the "roads" in Italy were dirt roads and it still had to be able to go like the clappers on them. Big sidewalls and long travel suspension. The latter you notice on rally cars. Car design these days is all about short travel suspension and low profiles. Great for 'Ring times, but I"m not so sure for everyday "amateur" use, even when pressing on. Though like most everything else in modern cars suspension is really impressive, real engineering magic.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

There is no comparison between the two in performance . The R is a beast for pickup and acceleration. I’ve owned a few fast cars from new ,240 bHp rx8, dsg 200bhp TT, it is quicker by a country mile than anything else .
    The big issue I find with it though is it is very soft on the limit on country roads . There was only 22k miles on it so you would imagine it couldn’t be wear and tear but it was bottoming out constantly. I’ve fitted Koni yellows(set 50% full hard) and updated eibach springs and it’s much better but I’d still prefer it a touch harder

I’m not sure is it that I’m now going into every corner 20-30km faster than I would have been in the fwd gti and that’s why I’m noticing the bumps more or is it a case the R is setup more for the better roads , the 19s don’t help either I’d say .

Well wear with the R, i find DCC makes some difference between the different set ups, i couldn't describe it as soft when in race mode. In fact there aren't many backroads around me where i can even put it in race mode.

Make sure you join one of the R forums , loads of good info to be had. The first thing i discovered was there's a little bag of silica gel in the coolant expansion tank (apparently lots of manufacturers are at this now - it's meant to extend the life of the coolant) there are reports of these bags breaking and the silica gel getting into the system and clogging it up resulting in big bills! Never heard such codology in my life. Anyway i fished mine out last night.

I made sure to disconnect the bottom coolant pipe from the bottle before doing it - as if it breaks while it's coming out you're screwed.

IMG-1552.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Off topic but not really, did you replace the S3 with an R tossy?

I did indeed, have it about a month now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

tossy wrote: »
    I did indeed, have it about a month now.

Congrats, well wear. I have one my maybe list, any pics?

Will have to wait till it’s clean :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Got the wheels refurbished by Wheel Wizards during the week and I'm honestly gobsmacked at the quality of the finish, no wonder they've got such a good reputation.

7xwVxTB.jpg