Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show - 13th. February 2016

• 13-02-2016 6:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,598 ✭✭✭✭

208v7uo.gif

6b624bf3658f247ba7d04e882ffe1533.gif

Spend Saturday night in with RTE's overpaid golden boy.

But enough about Nicky Byrne, Ray's here too. :pac:

45263_121512034564867_100001182127982_122752_3327901_n.jpg

Nicky Byrne will perform Ireland's Eurovision entry Sunlight for the first time on the Ray D'Arcy Show on RTÉ One on Saturday night. The 2fm presenter and former Westlife star co-wrote the song with songwriter Wayne Hector and award-winning composer Ronan Hardiman. He has been in Eurovision rehearsals in recent weeks ahead of his Ray D'Arcy Show appearance on Saturday at 10:05pm.

"I can't wait to perform in front of Ray's live studio audience and everyone watching at home," he said.

"I'm so thrilled to be representing Ireland at Eurovision in Stockholm this year. I'm looking forward to seeing how people react to the song - the feedback so far has been overwhelmingly positive and the good luck wishes have been flooding in."

"We're delighted to have Nicky in studio with us this Saturday," said host D'Arcy. "I'm a big fan of Eurovision and Nicky's song. I'm looking forward to chatting with Nicky, meeting his band and hearing all about their preparations ahead of Stockholm. I wish them all the very best of luck."

Byrne will perform in the second Eurovision Song Contest Semi-Final in the Globe Arena in Stockholm on Thursday May 12. The final takes place on Saturday May 14.

Byrne's creative team for the Eurovision is led by Tim Byrne who worked on The X Factor and Britain's Got Talent in his former role as Creative Director of Syco Entertainment at Sony Music. Another member of the team is Lee Lodge, whose production credits include the Oscars and MTV Music Video Awards. RTÉ's Head of Delegation for the Eurovision, Michael Kealy, will collaborate with the production team on the performance of Sunlight in Stockholm.

Songwriter Hector's clients include One Direction, Britney Spears and Nikki Minaj, while composer Hardiman's credits include the soundtracks to Michael Flatley's Lord of the Dance and Feet of Flames.

Hardiman produced Sunlight in Dublin and the track was mixed in Los Angeles by Serban Ghenea. He has worked on Taylor Swift's Shake It Off and Uptown Funk from Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars, among many other hit singles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

FFS.. Who else is on that Ray can make a bags of interviews with?

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Warped Hyperdriver

Long live Nicky Byrne!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

jimmynokia wrote: »
    FFS.. Who else is on that Ray can make a bags of interviews with?

"Ruth Fitzmaurice joins Ray to speak about how her film-maker husband's life with motor neurone disease inspired her to write, and Belfast Cereal Killer twins Alan and Gary Keery explain why their Shoreditch cafe only sells cereal"

Two annoying hipsters and someone talking about her Husband's crippling degenerative disease.

Happy Saturday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Johnny Logan wasn't very complimentary about the way RTE get the Eurovision song these days, he'd like a return to the old days of a National Song Contest.

Ryan laughed nervously and panicked inside as it sounded like Johnny was going off script. He managed to shut him up fairly quickly.

I was looking at the puppy GIF. Jayzus, but I'd love to give him a hand out of that bowl. It's driving me nuts looking at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Long live Nicky Byrne!

Ah Nicky seems like a decent lad. Here he is with the other Westlife members, when they recently went to visit Shane Filan's "Shopping centre and apartment complex" in Sligo Town.

377730.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Meow, saucer of milk for Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I really enjoyed the lls and the lls thread last night. Come on Ray this is your chance! Do it for the boardsies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭Heckler

Skid X wrote: »
    "Ruth Fitzmaurice joins Ray to speak about how her film-maker husband's life with motor neurone disease inspired her to write, and Belfast Cereal Killer twins Alan and Gary Keery explain why their Shoreditch cafe only sells cereal"

Two annoying hipsters and someone talking about her Husband's crippling degenerative disease.

Happy Saturday!

are you serious ? a misery slot and those two wanker hipsters who charge 4 quid for a bowl of rice krispies to the bigger **** who'll pay for it....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I think the cereal lads could be interesting, well not boring anyway.

They do have a story to tell anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭Heckler

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I think the cereal lads could be interesting, well not boring anyway.

They do have a story to tell anyway.

Had an idea. Got a loan. Hardly the most enthralling.

Grew the same beards and got the same tattoos like thats not at all odd.

Spend the day serving shoreditch brick lane hipsters overpriced food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,855 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

amdublin wrote: »
    I really enjoyed the lls and the lls thread last night. Come on Ray this is your chance! Do it for the boardsies!

He should track down Dean from LLS last night and interview him for 20 minutes or until he stops being funny.

That gobshite David McSavage is also on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,598 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

I remember him being quite funny at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,712 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Okay, well that's one great achievement for the Ray D'Arcy show.

Making fellas who make breakfast cereal the most interesting guests on the show. Did you ever think that was possible? I didn't.

Uncomfortable viewing ahoy!

M

Perfect, I hope he makes it pure car crash, won't be much of a challenge :D

amdublin wrote: »

I suspect whoever it is that sells restraining orders enjoyed it too.

(I know, I know...)

I predict a rambling unfunny anecdote about Ray writing Valentine's Days cards for his kids.

Or his kids writing Valentines cards for him.

Or another whammy about a wardrobe falling on someone in Ikea.

Who riots because of a shop that sells cereal?

Weeta-pricks, if you ask me.

*cough*

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

Ol' Donie wrote: »

I'd say there were some repeat offenders involved...

wait, no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Happy Saturday!

Mother of god,im out.. Although I might hang about for the folk working up a lather for Nicky Sh1te pedal pushing crap from RTE

Weeta-pricks, if you ask me.

*cough*

Donie, I'm not shreddie for all these cereal puns.

*thud*

Donie, I'm not shreddie for all these cereal puns.

*thud*

Ah come on, they're pretty sweet.

Or should I say

*ahem*

Sweetos?

Dare I say it, but Ireland's Eurovision 2016 song is...not bad :eek:

I think it'll actually do well in the contest.

And, of course - I will edit this post after Ireland fail to reach the final. :D

Okay, I'm working on the perfect Saturday lead up to watching The Ray D'Arcy Show. Here's what I've come up with so far. Now bear with me, cos this is only a shower's worth of material. :pac:
    HOW TO PREPARE FOR THE RAY D'ARCY SHOW. Rev 1.0.

- Fix some porridge, loads of fruit. ABSOLUTELY NO SUGAR ALLOWED IN ANY FORM. Especially not those imitation sugars, which are really just as bad as normal sugar and I dont know how they are allowed to advertise that they are not ... etc etc.

- **bonus points** If a neighbour should call in at any stage, introduce him to your Jenny missus as Jack Nicholson, while laughing like a hyiena. When she's not impressed, blame somebody else.

- Go for a run. While running play Paulo Nutini on the ipod. Play the wrong song. Say "aaah.. No not that one". Find the right song eventually. Blame Apple for the f**k up

- **bonus points** If you bump in to the local priest while running, bawl him out of it for having to get Tom baptised to get in to the local school. (improvise by mentioning Kate, or Tom & Kate)

- When home turn on the TV in preparation for the show, switch it to the wrong channel. Say something like "haaaa.. where is that one now". Blame it on the TV. Finally, pour yourself a glass of beer, then *SIGH* and pour it down the sink. .

I dont know what it is, but I cant take Gerry Ryan Junior seriously when he's reading the sport.

Jaysus could he at least PRETEND that he enjoys the job.

Jesus. Ray's tie doesn't even reach his belt.

Is it a kids tie?

''Did you watch the rugby?''

I sure did :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

No Ray, didn't watch the rugby, gave up watching a good while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Jesus. Ray's tie doesn't even reach his belt.

Is it a kids tie?

He borrowed it from Tom. It's his school tie.

I haven't heard the song. Looking forward to hearing it.

Imagine if he was singing in front of a dead audience...

Has Nicky had hair transplants at the front do you think???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭sudzs

He borrowed it from Tom. It's his school tie.

Who's Tom??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Nicky Byrne....... You know when youv'e been Tangoe'd

18o3iea8vaoeijpg.jpg

it's my first time singing on my own without westlife.

No, that's not right, try this.

No, that's just not right either.

That makes much more sense. :D

One suspects that yes, Nicky has spent some time in front of a mirror with a hairbrush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Ray is a gimp.

Wow, Ray is able to add 7+1 and know it is 8.

He is so clever.

We won it 7 times. And if you win it, it'll be 8.

You and your fancy maths sums. No one likes a show off Ray.

testicle wrote: »
    Ray is a gimp.

Ah, leave our little Raydar alone.

M

Could RTÉ afford to stage it again?

Lads, is it not time to accept this stupid ship has sailed?

And while I'm at it, is it not time to admit winning a competition for crap songs isn't that great?

Yeah, I said it.

When Nicky left Westlife he wanted to get in to presenting.
    When Filan left Westlife it was all about getting in to........ another country so that he could declare bankruptcy.

I remember Johnny Logan winning the first time, even though I was only 4.