Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cycling in county Meath - dogs outside gates- MOD WARNING post #45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

JBokeh wrote: »
    My dog chases cyclists, but he stays on the ditch and just runs alongs it and barks, and goes into our field along side the house, but he is as big as a dinosaur as he is a newfoundland cross. It is hilarious to see the face on anyone cycling past when they hear him. If anyone comes in the gate he won't be long turning them around. Can't be without a dog in the countryside, they let you know when the boys selling gates and power tools are coming round, and hunt them off just as quick.

Most dogs just want to either chase, or bite the spinny things, like tyres or feet, if you stop pedaling they won't go for you feet, I've never come across a dog that was genuinely hostile, most of the time I just use it as a test to see how fast the dog can run. Puppies will probably bite you,but that doesn't really hurt

But your dog is presumably well treated and shown a good degree of affection. Which fosters their natural inclination towards organised play (if you want to go into more detail you can read a lot about the play bow) but their is always the exception that proves the rule.

There was a misanthropic old farmer on one of the lanes near where I grew up whose three dogs were truly vicious and hostile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Koobcam

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Isn't this eastern Europe somewhere ?

This 'only in Ireland' bull**** really is tiresome. Just because you have seen something in Ireland but not in another country does not mean it only happens in Ireland.

Think it's Greece. I'd agree with the sentiment that 'only in Ireland' is pretty tiresome. I think your comment though was in response to a poster in Slovakia, which is not Greece. I'd say lumping all former Soviet-bloc countries (and some non-aligned ones, like Greece) together is also a bit tiresome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Koobcam wrote: »
    Think it's Greece. I'd agree with the sentiment that 'only in Ireland' is pretty tiresome. I think your comment though was in response to a poster in Slovakia, which is not Greece. I'd say lumping all former Soviet-bloc countries (and some non-aligned ones, like Greece) together is also a bit tiresome.

My point was simply to show that things like this happen outside of Ireland, and, shock horror, on the eastern side of Europe which is where the poster is.

It wasn't a geopolitical commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

You will seriously annoy dog wardens with this kind of complaint . Not on !

Dog wardens take uncontrolled dogs harassing pedestrians, cyclists, and other passing traffic on the public road very seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭sushmita

I'm not sure my message has been seen... has anybody used a silent dog whistle or another similar dog deterrent?
    I see they are sold online, although I don't know anybody yet who has used them.

By the way, I have nothing against having guarding dogs. If I lived isolated, I'd probably take a dog myself. However, here I'm talking about houses with fences and gates. I understand when dogs are kept in and they guard the private property, but I don't accept that they open their gates and they let their dogs go out on the road. Fine with me if the dogs are harmless, but the ones I've seen outside don't look very friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,420 ✭✭✭✭josip

I think there are circumstances where it's ok for a dog to bite you if you're on (their) private property.

It's never ok for a dog off the leash to be aggressive to you off the leash on the public road. And the dog doesn't have to bite to be aggressive. Our local dog warden takes this seriously and the only people annoyed by it were the owners.

Most dogs that chased me would chase the wheel and bark at it. Some however would bark and bare teeth at the pedal and my foot. I would usually have shaken my foot at any dog that came that close. Anyone that describes that action as "kicking" a dog or "cruelty" to a dog has never ridden a bike that's been chased by a dog. It's not physically possible to make any sort of contact while trying to maintain balance and speed. The stopping pedalling was probably more effective than any risk the dog perceived from my uncoordinated flailing foot.

I was bitten once on the leg when I was a kid and it was unpleasant enough that ever since I prefer to stop and snarl at Fido than try to outrun him. If I stop the dog always stops and keeps their distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

07Lapierre wrote: »
    last time I came across a dog was near Bellewstown. It was standing outside a house watching me approach. As I got closer it ran towards me barking. I stopped, got off my bike and barked back! The dog stopped and tilted its head in that confused dog look. I then got back on my bike and started to cycle towards the dog (while "barking" at it!). the dog turned and ran back into a garden. I stopped at the garden and continued to Bark at the dog, which was by now trying to hide under a car parked in the driveway. At this point another group of cyclists came along the road and saw me standing at the side of the road barking like a dog! :p

I hope you didn't chase them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

sushmita wrote: »
    I'm not sure my message has been seen... has anybody used a silent dog whistle or another similar dog deterrent?
    I see they are sold online, although I don't know anybody yet who has used them.

By the way, I have nothing against having guarding dogs. If I lived isolated, I'd probably take a dog myself. However, here I'm talking about houses with fences and gates. I understand when dogs are kept in and they guard the private property, but I don't accept that they open their gates and they let their dogs go out on the road. Fine with me if the dogs are harmless, but the ones I've seen outside don't look very friendly.

Never heard (no pun intended) anyone using a dog whistle while cycling. A squirt of a water bottle is the weapon of choice for most cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭Zelda247

I had a similiar experience but walking instead of cycling. I reported it to the Dog Warden and he called to the house and told the owner that he as the owner would be responsible for any injuries caused by the dog and all medical and legal costs etc. It seem to do the trick and the dog is now kept behind a gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Buzwaldo

Over reaction! The dogs were probably in this area long before you started cycling around their front doors ! Best advice is ignore them, if you act afraid dogs pick this up. Or spray them from water bottle.

You will seriously annoy dog wardens with this kind of complaint . Not on !

Allow me to elaborate - I'm not advocating reporting every dog that barks from a gateway, rather in those instances where one is chased by a dog in an aggressive manner (subjective I know, but if you're not that used to dogs, can be difficult), particularly if it happens regularly.
    The dog may have been there before you, but every cyclist / jogger / walker is entitled to use the public road unmolested.
    Easy to say ignore them, (- ok if just barking from a splayed entrance), or show no fear - not so easy if afraid of dogs, and one comes at you very aggressively.
    I do agree with the comments about a squirt from a water bottle - I have serious issue with some previous posts (now deleted) involving steel toecaps or running them over (I thought that was somebody pulling the p1ss, but maybe they were serious!!!).
    I have contact with our local dog warden on a weekly basis, and he has no problem acting on these type of complaints (I'm sure he uses some discretion assessing if the complaint is vexatious or frivolous, or somebody over-reacting) - in fact he sees it as one of his core functions.
    Zelda247 wrote: »
    I had a similiar experience but walking instead of cycling. I reported it to the Dog Warden and he called to the house and told the owner that he as the owner would be responsible for any injuries caused by the dog and all medical and legal costs etc. It seem to do the trick and the dog is now kept behind a gate.

This is the type of scenario relayed to me by our local warden - occurs on a somewhat regular basis

The simple fact is..no responsible dog owner would/should allow their dog access to the public road unsupervised. It's all well and good saying "my dog wouldn't hurt a fly", but only YOU know this. You can't expect members of the public to know that! As others have already said..some people are nervous around dogs, and a large dog running towards you can be very intimidating.

Also, dogs running onto the road to chase a cyclist could be knocked down by a car! or Shot by a Sheep farmer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

last time I came across a dog was near Bellewstown. It was standing outside a house watching me approach. As I got closer it ran towards me barking. I stopped, got off my bike and barked back! The dog stopped and tilted its head in that confused dog look. I then got back on my bike and started to cycle towards the dog (while "barking" at it!). the dog turned and ran back into a garden. I stopped at the garden and continued to Bark at the dog, which was by now trying to hide under a car parked in the driveway. At this point another group of cyclists came along the road and saw me standing at the side of the road barking like a dog! :p

Neutering is often the best method of reducing male canine aggression; I think it's the only solution in this case...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Never had one chase me for any length of time, it's the dumb little ones that want to run under your wheels that are the problem for me. On a club spin I had one run straight across the middle of the group (in front of me). Even if your dog is harmless, it may still be thick.

Alternatively, there's this - https://www.instagram.com/p/BBHzmdihEW5/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Domane wrote: »
    As a cyclist, motorist and owner of two dogs, I'm pretty taken aback at the vitriol here. I don't agree with dogs running loose as they're a hazard to all road users but kicking them? Just keep cycling and they'll give up. However if they bite you, then all bets are off. If either of my two dogs chased a cyclist or car, then they'd get locked in the dog run. If they bit someone, then they'd be put down.

It all comes down to personal responsibility and having consideration for others, no matter if you're a dog owner, a motorist or a cyclist. We all have to live on this rock so just keep your dogs under control, drive safely and don't cycle so you block a car behind you. Problem solved

I think the vitriol you get on Boards is not representative of how people would behave in real life, otherwise there would be mass brawls on every street corner. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Titanucd

Howdy Lads and ladies. Not a cyclist but am a dog owner in rural Co. Meath. I have a Red Setter who is usually in the house. When she is out she will run after cyclists, other dogs joggers and somtimes tractors. She does it to be friendly. One lad got off his bike the other day and said hello to her. She was lying on her back thumping her tail like the big jessie she is. The lad told me a couple of stories of cyclists getting knocked off their bikes by dogs trying to say hello! In rural Ireland you need a dog. Theres too many robberies and general skulduggery to be without one.

Having said all that you have to remember that as far as the dog is concerned you are on their patch and will either come and investigate or try to get you away from their patch. Maybe if you know there is a dog that constantly chases you on a route do what the lad I spoke to did.. Stop the bike and say hello. The dog will either leg it or recognise you as a 'friendly' and not chase you anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,223 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Titanucd wrote:
    Not a cyclist but am a dog owner in rural Co. Meath. I have a Red Setter who is usually in the house. When she is out she will run after cyclists, other dogs joggers and somtimes tractors. She does it to be friendly. In rural Ireland you need a dog. Theres too many robberies and general skulduggery to be without one.

I lived in rural Ireland with three dogs for years and I can tell you here and now that I wouldn't in a fit have left them outside unsupervised and unsecured. It's just asking for trouble, either from a car or a trigger-happy farmer.

Titanucd wrote: »
    Howdy Lads and ladies. Not a cyclist but am a dog owner in rural Co. Meath. I have a Red Setter who is usually in the house. When she is out she will run after cyclists, other dogs joggers and somtimes tractors. She does it to be friendly. One lad got off his bike the other day and said hello to her. She was lying on her back thumping her tail like the big jessie she is. The lad told me a couple of stories of cyclists getting knocked off their bikes by dogs trying to say hello! In rural Ireland you need a dog. Theres too many robberies and general skulduggery to be without one.

Having said all that you have to remember that as far as the dog is concerned you are on their patch and will either come and investigate or try to get you away from their patch. Maybe if you know there is a dog that constantly chases you on a route do what the lad I spoke to did.. Stop the bike and say hello. The dog will either leg it or recognise you as a 'friendly' and not chase you anymore!

I'm sure your dog is nice and friendly etc. but expecting people to stop and say hello to every dog they meet while walking/cycling is a bit OTT. Are you not worried that your dog could be run over by a car? Surely you should either train the dog not to run after people or keep the dog on your own property?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Thanks for posting, but I really don't think that's a viable option. Stopping to say hello to every dog on 100+km cycle just isn't going to happen - and having your dog loose and potentially on the road seems like a huge risk. Not everyone is as comfortable around dogs as you might think - and there's always the potential that one dog could wipe out a whole group of cyclists. The road is there for everyone to use - not according to the needs of your dog.

My dog is scared of cars. runs into the garden when she hears one. Its a grand straight road without much vehicular traffic. The only livestock around is a field with Bullocks the odd time. They dont bother her and she doesnt go near them.

cjt156 wrote: »
    Neutering is often the best method of reducing male canine aggression; I think it's the only solution in this case...

Woff Woff! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭buffalo

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    If a dog chases you get off your bike and place the bike in front of you.

One of the lads in our club tried that - he reasoned that the dog was only chasing him because he was moving. So he got off and put the bike inbetween himself and the dog. The dog ran around the bike and bit him. :pac:

Thanks for posting, but I really don't think that's a viable option. Stopping to say hello to every dog on 100+km cycle just isn't going to happen - and having your dog loose and potentially on the road seems like a huge risk. Not everyone is as comfortable around dogs as you might think - and there's always the potential that one dog could wipe out a whole group of cyclists. The road is there for everyone to use - not according to the needs of your dog.

Fair enough hadnt thought about the length of a cycle!

Well in 8 years she hasnt caused any trouble to anyone. I've never seen a group of cyclists on that road (I'ts quite long and narrow) I'd say at this stage if she saw a group she would run back inside out of fear and shock.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Having said all that you have to remember that as far as the dog is concerned you are on their patch and will either come and investigate or try to get you away from their patch.

Thing is though, the public road is not their patch, and you shouldn't let your dog out off lead unsupervised on the road. I hit a dog many moons ago that ran out in front of me from behind a high hedge. I picked up a couple of stitches, a couple of hundred quids worth of damage to my motorbike, and later learned the dog got put down due to its injuries. I don't doubt that the poor animal was just guarding its patch but it shouldn't have been there. Whatever anyone else, if you care about your dog at all, don't let it out on the toad.

FWIW, my sister in-law has a dog and lives in a place with poor boundaries in sheep country in Carlow. She got a collar for it that gives it a mild shock if leaves the garden. Seems to do the trick, and lets the dog know the extent of its territory.

smacl wrote: »
    FWIW, my sister in-law has a dog and lives in a place with poor boundaries in sheep country in Carlow. She got a collar for it that gives it a mild shock if leaves the garden. Seems to do the trick, and lets the dog know the extent of its territory.

That's incredibly cruel to your poor sister in-law's dog.
    The local framers should bring over their sheep so that they can become friends with the dog.
    Once the sheep know the dog is just defending it's patch they won't go near it.
    The farmers should also tell their sheep to stop running away from the dog if it chases them; it's either just being friendly or only running after them because it thinks they're scared.

josip wrote: »
    The farmers should also tell their sheep to stop running away from the dog if it chases them

What if the farmer doesn't speak sheep? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Domane

What if the farmer doesn't speak sheep? :pac:

I thought all farmers knew how to "speak sheep"......baaaaa, oh I love it when you moan😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

It's the responsibility of the dog owner to have a dog under control in a public place.

Your dog knocks someone off their bike or causes injury, or even if the dog gets hit by a car can claim and are well within their rights to claim off your house or farm insurance for any loss incurred.

Now what happens when a cyclist comes to your door with a broken bike and says your dog knocked them off their bike....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭Zelda247

You must remember that outside your gate is not your dogs patch and therefore any damage caused by it is your responsibility. It is very irresponsible of you to allow your dog outside of your gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭brocbrocach

Zelda247 wrote: »
    You must remember that outside your gate is not your dogs patch and therefore any damage caused by it is your responsibility. It is very irresponsible of you to allow your dog outside of your gate.

No its not. It's the custom of the country and most people are happy to let their dogs run free.
    Frankly I can't believe some people want to impose their rules on areas where they only pass through for a minute on a Sunday afternoon. Maybe we should get a few German policemen over to put a stop to this epidemic of irresponsible jaywalking I see on city streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Taxuser1

No its not. It's the custom of the country and most people are happy to let their dogs run free.
    Frankly I can't believe some people want to impose their rules on areas where they only pass through for a minute on a Sunday afternoon. Maybe we should get a few German policemen over to put a stop to this epidemic of irresponsible jaywalking I see on city streets.

this is pure nonsense. custom of the country in my parts is to shoot a dog that enters onto livestock inhabited land. no questions asked. accepted rule as well in the more recent past. loose dog gets together with other loose dog and either fights it or forms a pack which goes hunting. farmers aren't too pleased with dog owners generally and everyone knows the neighbour with the dog loose up the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Fian

Well in 8 years she hasnt caused any trouble to anyone.

I have a Red Setter who is usually in the house. When she is out she will run after cyclists, other dogs joggers and somtimes tractors.

Sorry but only one of these statements can be true, not both. I'm sure your dog is friendly, but those she is chasing don't know that.

I have an 8 month old lab and a 12 week old lab, they are both very friendly, the younger pup obviously more excitable than the older, but both extremely gentle. That doesn't mean I would let them off the lead when they are straining to run over ans say hello/play with children they see while we walk through a park. I know they won't bite but the kids or their parents could be terrified to see two dogs racing at them.

No its not. It's the custom of the country and most people Dog owners are happy to let their dogs run free.

FYP

P.s. I'm in favour of Police enforcing Jaywalking laws, and all other Road Traffic laws too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭benneca1

As has been said before there is a problem with unsupervised dogs in rural Meath. This is IMO due to two things, firstly the high incidence of folk of urban origin who live there and secondly the low density of sheep.

Urban folk have no idea how dangerous dogs can be unsupervised and sheep farmers wont tolerate loose dogs. A loose dog in front of or near a sheep farm runs at a pretty high risk of being shot if it enters a field. You may have seen the signs in Glendalough "Unsupervised dogs will be shot" that's pretty clear. This approach tends to make owners more careful to ensure dogs stay on the property.

BTW the owner is fully responsible for any damage done by a loose dog. If I am chased by a dog I always go back to the owner and tell them what happened at least for the next time you have established that they are definitely liable.

We had a case a few years ago when our sheep dog bit a jogger. In due course we got a pretty massive compensation claim. Fair enough he was bitten but the damages for loss of work etc. was a tad OTT. Our solicitor and insurers were clear - pay up. No contest a dog on public road unsupervised is owners fault.

Lesson Learnt !!!

Taxuser1 wrote: »
    this is pure nonsense. custom of the country in my parts is to shoot a dog that enters onto livestock inhabited land. no questions asked. accepted rule as well in the more recent past. loose dog gets together with other loose dog and either fights it or forms a pack which goes hunting. farmers aren't too pleased with dog owners generally and everyone knows the neighbour with the dog loose up the road.

Tell me how what you say contradicts what i say if it's so nonsensical.

Maybe we disagree on what loose means. I mean that they're trained to wander their own territory around a house rather than being tied up or locked in a shed/pen/house. That home territory is where the issue with passing cyclists comes up.

Yeah of course dogs are liable for shooting if they go onto farming land or near livestock. Thats why cyclists encounter them around houses. Dogs are generally let roam around a house and environs which mostly includes the gate and road outside.

Farmers aren't too pleased with dog owners but they're never pleased with anything. Most of the most troublesome dogs are sheep-dogs for Gods sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

It's the custom of the country and most people are happy to let their dogs run free.
    benneca1 wrote: »
    This is IMO due to two things, firstly the high incidence of folk of urban origin who live there.

Sorry lads, maybe folk of rural origin need to draw up a 'custom of the country' charter so folk of urban origin know the rules.

Or could it be that some dog owners are irresponsible while others aren't, no matter where you go?

FYP

P.s. I'm in favour of Police enforcing Jaywalking laws, and all other Road Traffic laws too!

Fair enough, although happy or not, the people who live in the countryside put up with dogs on the road all the time. The dog warden is not kept busy.

As for the jaywalking ... come on ... surely you've strayed across a quiet junction once or twice ;)

Yep...but its ok...i'm a cyclist! I wear a helmet! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭sheroman01

...I hate dogs myself...

Ironic username :P

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0112225/?ref_=nv_sr_1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭benneca1

cjt156 wrote: »
    Sorry lads, maybe folk of rural origin need to draw up a 'custom of the country' charter so folk of urban origin know the rules.

Or could it be that some dog owners are irresponsible while others aren't, no matter where you go?
    Definitely seems worse in Meath I have moved here from the Midlands and while I haven't done a count I am sure the number of near misses in the last years is a lot worse than before Though could also be due to the number of individual houses. Here in Meath every road has ribbon development.

Fair enough, although happy or not, the people who live in the countryside put up with dogs on the road all the time. The dog warden is not kept busy.

Please speak for yourself.
    Due to a loose dog on the road, my mother was unable to cycle to town for 2 years.
    She cycled for 60 years so she's not easily put off.
    But the loose dog was very intimidating for her on the bike and really affected her quality of life during that time.

Dogs are generally let roam around a house and environs which mostly includes the gate and road outside.

Not really. The vast majority of dogs you encounter cycling in rural areas are behind closed gates, as the owners have both the good sense and common courtesy to realise that the public road cannot reasonably be considered part of the dogs territory. It is realistically only a few inconsiderate types that leave the dog roam the roads. At a guess, I'd pass ten dogs behind closed gates for every one that is allowed on the road unaccompanied.

As you say, sheep dogs are an issue, as they hide and jump out at you. Terriers and jack russels are also often an accident in the making as they rush out in front of the bike from nowhere. Most other dogs, if you see them before they see you aren't so much of a problem, but they still shouldn't be there.

Not really. The vast majority of dogs you encounter cycling in rural areas are behind closed gates, as the owners have both the good sense and common courtesy to realise that the public road cannot reasonably be considered part of the dogs territory. It is realistically only a few inconsiderate types that leave the dog roam the roads. At a guess, I'd pass ten dogs behind closed gates for every one that is allowed on the road unaccompanied.

As you say, sheep dogs are an issue, as they hide and jump out at you. Terriers and jack russels are also often an accident in the making as they rush out in front of the bike from nowhere. Most other dogs, if you see them before they see you aren't so much of a problem, but they still shouldn't be there.

In my experience most houses in rural areas don't have closing gates and most of those that do have them open during the day. Or else they have lowish walls that are no trouble to a dog.
    I accept thatk, as benecca above says, Meath may be a bit different to most rural areas because of influx of outsiders.

I'm sorry for your mother josip but what you're saying is exactly what i mean. She put up with the dog on the road for 2 years, even if she wasn't happy with it. Personally i'd have talked to the owner of that dog.

Yep...but its ok...i'm a cyclist! I wear a helmet! :P

I'd have thought you'd have a grá for the hi-vis too :D

I'm sorry for your mother josip but what you're saying is exactly what i mean. She put up with the dog on the road for 2 years, even if she wasn't happy with it. Personally i'd have talked to the owner of that dog.

She stopped her daily cycle to town for 2 years because of it.
    I don't know what part of the country you're from, but where I'm from that's not considered "putting up with it".
    She asked the dog owner, more than once to keep it tied up but to little effect. The dog warden also visited.
    Loose dogs significantly affect others.

josip wrote: »
    She stopped her daily cycle to town for 2 years because of it.
    I don't know what part of the country you're from, but where I'm from that's not considered "putting up with it".
    She asked the dog owner, more than once to keep it tied up but to little effect. The dog warden also visited.
    Loose dogs significantly affect others.

Well ...
    If the dog was vicious, the owner was informed and then the warden showed up then what more do you want? That's the law in operation.

Well ...
    If the dog was vicious, the owner was informed and then the warden showed up then what more do you want? That's the law in operation.

I would like responsible dog owners who would not allow their dogs unsupervised access to the public road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

My own rule of thumb is that the steeper the hill the more vicious and aggressive the dog that lives just before the summit!

Hmmm some interesting points there. Every house bar 1 has a dog on the road I live on. None are locked up and I dont think anyone has a gate closed during the day.

I'm pretty sure most dog owners know that if their dog does something to a human then the owner is at fault. Humans are far more important than dogs. The same goes for livestock. If your dog interferes with livestock and the farmer shoots it then thats the owners fault.

As I said before 8 years with my dog and no issues. The amount of traffic on my road, be it vehicular pedestrian or cyclist is very small. If you think that I'm going to lock my dog up on the offchance that something happens then good luck to you! That said if something does happen then I know I'm responsible.

Also the inferences that I am not a responsible dog owner are laughable.

If I were to lock the dog up on the very slight chance that something might happen then I might as well not have a dog!

Well ...

Dog owners to obey the laws of the land, specifically
    9.—(1) The owner or any other person in charge of a dog shall not permit the dog to be in any place other than—

(a) the premises of the owner, or

(b) the premises of such other person in charge of the dog, or

(c) the premises of any other person, with the consent of that person,

unless such owner or such other person in charge of the dog accompanies it and keeps it under effectual control.

Where an uncontrolled nuisance dog has been reported as troubling an elderly cyclist on multiple occasions, and the owner fails to stop this, I'd expect the dog warden to seize the dog and have it re-homed or destroyed. I don't buy the 'no gates' argument either, as many dog owners with no gates manage to train their dogs not to leave the property.

If I were to lock the dog up on the very slight chance that something might happen then I might as well not have a dog!

You don't have to lock the dog in! Just close the gate! I've yet to meet a dog that can pick a lock! :P