Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

someone really mustn't like their liver.
    Stopped a vehicle travelling in the bus lane with the below stolen goods. No tax or insurance

CbbPtDNWIAA4VYx.jpg

CbbPWKZXEAQv2d1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

bazz26 wrote: »
    More:

168 in a 120 zone, -2c and icy.

There was one that was like 160 in an 80 zone. 19 years old, madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

esforum wrote: »
    how much time does it take to review 10 hours of cctv footage and then obtain a reg number? CCTV isnt very effective at moving numbers

" 23 FCPN issued in 1/2 hour!!. failing to turn left at roundabout as indicated on road markings.1 point and e60 fine "

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/695015697919950850/photo/1

1300 euro for 1/2 hours work - have a camera paid for in no time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

If that many people are making the same mistake at the same junction

There is something wrong with the road markings.

In the picture shown it looks like there is a glitch in the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

the_syco wrote: »
    Can't see someone's dims and parking lights both failing at the same time, tbh.

I always have a spare set of bulbs with me however the above has happened to me. Everything on the front except the full beams. Disaster.

Edit:to clarify, it wasn't fuses, it was the bulbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

There is something wrong with the junction.

The picture looks up Mallow street in Limerick and behind the camera is a bridge over the Shannon.

Getting onto the roundabout coming out of the city can be very difficult at times and people regularly take the lane for the dock road and just keep going straight through the roundabout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Any roundabout in Limerick city is 60/40 chance whether it is marked "left lane left turn only, right lane straight ahead" or the default "left lane for left and straight, right lane for 12oclock and beyond or whatever common sense dictates"

Of course no one can see these markings when traffic is busy so every busy roundabout is New Delhi at rush hour.

In this case, that roundabout is a complete bottleneck and I'd say people know full well which lane is which but it's a case of "who dares, wins"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

the unsecured heavy plant is terrifying

arrows there - what dya want ? indians with bows too ?

https://www.google.ie/maps/@52.6608918,-8.6324679,3a,75y,270h,91.31t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sP8TY-tjwYM0LuhpsAB8dlw!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

from : https://twitter.com/jpdiggins/status/695017217893728256

I don't know the road but agree there is a serious lack of roadside signs

Issuing tickets at almost 1 a minute, the gardai must have had a team of administrators with them to fill out the tickets.

Great twitter link though to see whats going on out there, unsecured loads...yikes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭theShire

I'm pretty sure the left lane on that roundabout wasn't originally marked at all(no arrows) for left & straight ahead but the left only was added in recent years when the pedestrian crossings were added at the roundabout exits.
    I remember plenty of cars cutting across from the inside lane on the bridge exit.
    At least it's marked out now on which lane to use.
    Don't think the fines are very fair though - a warning would be better - just a moneymaker really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

They'd make a fortune at the roundabout at Blanchardstown Centre beside liberty insurance.
    Left lane is left only now but there's no signs apart from the markings on the road which are useless in the heavy traffic which is nearly always there.
    It would be very unfair to fine people that don't know of the change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

theShire wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure the left lane on that roundabout wasn't originally marked at all(no arrows) for left & straight ahead but the left only was added in recent years when the pedestrian crossings were added at the roundabout exits.
    I remember plenty of cars cutting across from the inside lane on the bridge exit.
    At least it's marked out now on which lane to use.
    Don't think the fines are very fair though - a warning would be better - just a moneymaker really!

Those markings have always been there. It is the same on the other side of the roundabout, people on the left hand lane and then go right around for the three o'clock exit.

If you caught one or two in the time there where there, I would sympathise, but all the people that got caught are regular users of the roundabout, especially professional drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

blah wrote: »

2760e per hour, better rate than from GreedSafe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,111 ✭✭✭✭ted1

gctest50 wrote: »
    1300 euro for 1/2 hours work - have a camera paid for in no time

It'll cost them about 3000 to collect and process the fines.
    Garda vehicle + Garda time+ calibrated speddo+ issuing fine costs + website costs to allow payment + court time + barrister fees, etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,111 ✭✭✭✭ted1

With regards bulbs the sooner they replace them sleigh LED the better , that way they should out live the car and skdo provide more rooms in the engine bay

ted1 wrote: »
    It'll cost them about 3000 to collect and process the fines.
    Garda vehicle + Garda time+ calibrated speddo+ issuing fine costs + website costs to allow payment + court time + barrister fees, etc etc

that's what i meant - have an automated camera system instead

no need for garda vehicle

no need for calibrated speedo - it was failing to turn left :
    23 FCPN issued in 1/2 hour!!. failing to turn left at roundabout as indicated on road markings.1 point and e60 fine

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/695015697919950850/photo/1

then it could send out tickets and paste all the videos clips to a website something like this :

https://www.photonotice.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭St. Leibowitz

Great Twitter feed. And they tweet very frequently. It always amazes me how people draw attention to themselves when they are in various forms of non compliance. It seems to be a complete mindset of not giving a damn with some people.

Stopped for driving in a bus lane, then no tax, no insurance and no seat belt.

Stopped for coloured head lamps, then driving on learners permit unaccompanied, no tax.

Stopped for speeding, then kids unrestrained, no insurance and driver banned.

So many of this type of thing every day. Some people have no sense.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

pred racer wrote: »
    Yeah, because there is never, ever a time when a headlight blows while you're driving and you got to wait till you get home (or in my case to a garage) to get it changed :rolleyes:

Absolutely not acceptable for a taxi to be operating with defective lights and I believe that particular Garda operation targeted taxis, (picture in the OP was of a taxi)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭Vic_08

How many years does the sign need to be there before you think it should be obeyed?

Why should everything be a "sure don't do it again lad" in Ireland?

Considering how often such checks are made here it is extremely unlikely the same motorist would ever be stopped again for the same offense even if they repeated it daily.

A fine is a warning, get caught doing it again should be a dangerous driving prosecution.

I would wager the vast majority caught use that road regularly, if they are truly so unobservant or ignorant not to have ever seen or understood the meaning of a left arrow or are fully aware but choose not to abide by it I don't know, either way they are dangerous gobshytes.

There are countless roundabouts where a ridiculously high % of motorists do this constantly, my favourite has to be the ball at Naas going towards Dublin from Naas town. You could make an absolute fortune putting a camera there to catch them. And the "no sign" excuse is not on here either as there are 2 signs on approach as well as painted road markings, makes no difference, the muppets still use the wrong lane, even the google streetview car has caught one doing it behind them.

Vic_08 wrote: »
    How many years does the sign need to be there before you think it should be obeyed?

Considering how often such checks are made here it is extremely unlikely the same motorist would ever be stopped again for the same offense even if they repeated it daily.

A fine is a warning, get caught doing it again should be a dangerous driving prosecution.

I would wager the vast majority caught use that road regularly, if they are truly so unobservant or ignorant not to have ever seen or understood the meaning of a left arrow or are fully aware but choose not to abide by it I don't know, either way they are dangerous gobshytes.

There are countless roundabouts where a ridiculously high % of motorists do this constantly, my favourite has to be the ball at Naas going towards Dublin from Naas town. You could make an absolute fortune putting a camera there to catch them. And the "no sign" excuse is not on here either as there are 2 signs on approach as well as painted road markings, makes no difference, the muppets still use the wrong lane, even the google streetview car has caught one doing it behind them.
    The flaw in the plan is the signs can't be seen once there are cars on the road, as they are painted on the road.

Is this a local road for local people? you are the second person at least to say "the locals know it, sure be grand"

Maybe put a sign up "local road, not for outsider gob****es?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,701 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

someone really mustn't like their liver.
    Stopped a vehicle travelling in the bus lane with the below stolen goods. No tax or insurance
    Hmm, I've no tax or insurance and stolen goods in the back...I should keep a low profile. Nah **** it i'll drive in the bus lane, the mind boggles :rolleyes:

Not always the case. Try getting to the M50 from Dundrum in the mornings, the small roundabout at Wesley college, right lane is right turn only. Every 2nd prick either skips the queue and tries to bully their way straight on or else just does a lap of the roundabout and blocks the whole thing up. The guards used to be up there the odd morning a couple of years back and the difference in traffic flow was incredible...along with the satisfaction of seeing the aforementioned self-entitled bullies pulled over for going straight from the right turn lane. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

fullstop wrote: »
    Hmm, I've no tax or insurance and stolen goods in the back...I should keep a low profile. Nah **** it i'll drive in the bus lane, the mind boggles :rolleyes:

Not always the case. Try getting to the M50 from Dundrum in the mornings, the small roundabout at Wesley college, right lane is right turn only. Every 2nd prick either skips the queue and tries to bully their way straight on or else just does a lap of the roundabout and blocks the whole thing up. The guards used to be up there the odd morning a couple of years back and the difference in traffic flow was incredible...along with the satisfaction of seeing the aforementioned self-entitled bullies pulled over for going straight from the right turn lane. :D

Is doing a lap of the roundabout actually illegal? As long as you go in the correct lane to do it, where is crime in taking the 6th exit (out of 4)

Have been really tempted to this a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭cletus

ezra_ wrote: »
    Is doing a lap of the roundabout actually illegal? As long as you go in the correct lane to do it, where is crime in taking the 6th exit (out of 4)

Its better than just cutting lanes on the roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,562 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Always feel a bit cheeky when I do this but nothing wrong with it!

As far as I'm concerned depending on the situation you're potentially making more efficient use of the road available and reducing traffic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

The flaw in the plan is the signs can't be seen once there are cars on the road, as they are painted on the road.

Is this a local road for local people? you are the second person at least to say "the locals know it, sure be grand"

The signs are only on the road and not on a signpost. The four lanes into the roundabout have inconsistent rules. Two have conventional "left or straight on" lanes and two have "left only" lanes. I'm pretty sure the last time I was in Limerick I got stuck in the wrong lane here and ended up taking a scenic route to get back on track. I was lucky to see the arrow on the road in lighter traffic, but with heavier traffic I would not have seen them.

I think if they are catching so many people here they need to rethink their road signage rather than continuing to catch people out. If you are going to implement a non-standard layout for a roundabout you'd better make it crystal clear.

I think the bolded part is the foundation of all road signage in Ireland haha.

That Limerick roundabout is one of the main egress points from the city in evening rush hour.
    It is set up to cause complete chaos. Too small for the volume of traffic. Priority for traffic entering the city to avoid using the tolled tunnel bypass and zebra crossings 2 metres away from the exits. Farcical traffic system on Mallow street forcing almost everyone to swap lanes.

If the main point of the 50kph limit on the wide safe Condell road is to persuade people to use the tunnel instead, they could achieve a much better result by increasing that limit to 60kph and putting some intelligent traffic control in for morning and evening rush hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I'd say the Garda running the twitter account is also the official cannibis tester

BMJD wrote: »
    I'd say the Garda running the twitter account is also the official cannibis tester
    04_onenight_11_superbad.nocrop.w670.h375.jpg

No it's not illegal, it's still c*ntish though if you're just sitting blocking up the roundabout preventing the people in the correct lane getting onto the roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

fullstop wrote: »
    No it's not illegal, it's still c*ntish though if you're just sitting blocking up the roundabout preventing the people in the correct lane getting onto the roundabout.

That entire roundabout is a right mess. Going towards Dundrum, you have two lanes on the approach, the exit for Dundrum is slightly off the 12 position if you are at 6 when approaching, the off road is also is very wide and almost has two lanes as the Bus lane starts almost immediately. Net result is a lucky dip of which lane goes to Dundrum. I hate using it, all for the sake of two sets of road markings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭HiGlo

ironclaw wrote: »
    the off road is also is very wide and almost has two lanes as the Bus lane starts almost immediately. Net result is a lucky dip of which lane goes to Dundrum. I hate using it, all for the sake of two sets of road markings.

The bus lane there is not in use (is it not??), hasn't been for years and years. It's 2 lanes of traffic.:confused:

That entire roundabout is a right mess. Going towards Dundrum, you have two lanes on the approach, the exit for Dundrum is slightly off the 12 position if you are at 6 when approaching, the off road is also is very wide and almost has two lanes as the Bus lane starts almost immediately. Net result is a lucky dip of which lane goes to Dundrum. I hate using it, all for the sake of two sets of road markings.

Yeah coming down from the M50 is stupid, the 2nd lane shouldn't really be there and nobody seems to know which lane to use, but it doesn't make too much difference as that lane only appears 50 yards before the roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭xabi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

damn Gardai not looking for a legal parking space when responding to calls. What next? Abandoning their cars to chase suspects!

Substitute "reporting using a mobile while driving" and "driving fierce fasht" for reporting parking on footpath and it's just as hilarious. Or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Actually, programming ANPR to highlight or detect lighting issues would be fairly trivial. Would drastically reduce your time spent checking hours of footage. Wouldn't be 100%, but could easily be added to the static speed cameras pictures workload (Yes, every last photo is manually reviewed before a fine is issued)

the poster didnt suggest anpr though did he? He said a dash cam. Dash cam requires rewatching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Did you even read my post? The exact same behaviour happens at roundabouts with clear signage, I could post up dozens of them from across the country.

Yes there should be a roadside sign at the above roundabout but are you honestly suggesting that the vast majority who were caught were new to the area and were driving so close to the car in front they couldn't see the road markings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭mackerski

xabi wrote: »

That's wonderful - this is a really common occurrence outside Blanchardstown station, taking up the entire footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

esforum wrote: »
    the poster didnt suggest anpr though did he? He said a dash cam. Dash cam requires rewatching.

If the poster was suggesting a dash cam, then they were not suitable qualified to be commenting on such matters in the first place :rolleyes:

That roundabout is a joke

All roundabouts should have the same rules
    Left lane for taking the first exit or second exit, if it's less than 180 degrees
    Right lane for taking any exit after 180 degrees
    And if going straight ahead, right or left lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,524 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

That roundabout is a joke

All roundabouts should have the same rules
    Left lane for taking the first exit or second exit, if it's less than 180 degrees
    Right lane for taking any exit after 180 degrees
    And if going straight ahead, right or left lane

What if two cars in separate lanes arrive at the 'straight ahead' exit (which could be only one lane) at the same time.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭duffman3833

What if two cars in separate lanes arrive at the 'straight ahead' exit (which could be only one lane) at the same time.......

it really depends on the location and size of roundabout and how many exits. I generally stay left if taking the first or second exit and right hand lane for other exits after that

Car on the left has right of way
    Car in right hand lane has to let car in left lane exit first

Unless he's faster :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭theShire

Vic_08 wrote: »

http://rsa.ie/RSA/Road-Safety/Education/Road-safety-tips/Using-roundabouts/
    Basic rules of the road say you should be in the left lane for the second exit. Imagine the annoyance/horns with people trying to merge in from the left if someone genuinely made the mistake of being in the wrong lane and tried to correct their road position, and then blocking traffic behind them trying to turn left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,620 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

I do this frequently at the N20/N72 roundabout in Mallow. Really does save a few minutes

Something like this, on the 'green' at Parnell St/Lord Edward St near the bus station

v7FxdOR.jpg