Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016 - Mod Warning link in OP 20/3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Cech is out of the derby

Really poor for the second goal just there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Blind better at the DM role then Herrera was the thinking I guess.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

adox wrote: »
    Really poor for the second goal just there.

Didn't watch their game, will be relying on the ****fest of highlights that is MOTD as long as I don't fall asleep by then!

Who is their back up now? Think Cech has made a positive difference to them this year, but still same old Arsenal tbh, and same problems every year. Mourhino, I can't say I agree with a lot of the time, but his comment about Wenger being a specialist in failure is not that wide of the mark tbh

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Didn't watch their game, will be relying on the ****fest of highlights that is MOTD as long as I don't fall asleep by then!

Who is their back up now? Think Cech has made a positive difference to them this year, but still same old Arsenal tbh, and same problems every year. Mourhino, I can't say I agree with a lot of the time, but his comment about Wenger being a specialist in failure is not that wide of the mark tbh

Not sure who their back up is.

Watching motd at the moment. Liverpool vs City just started. It's on an hour earlier on the English region BBC1s than NI if you can get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭greedygoblin

adox wrote: »
    Not sure who their back up is.

Watching motd at the moment. Liverpool vs City just started. It's on an hour earlier on the English region BBC1s than NI if you can get them.

Ospina?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Sand wrote: »
    A guy who Adox says can impose himself on a game, but not often enough is not at least a "good" central midfielder?

What is a "very good" central midfielder by that standard?

You are misquoting what Adox said, so I'll just speak for myself in response to your questions.

A central midfielder's job is to dictate the flow of the game, both in and out of possession. At the level that United should be at (considering the money spent) a good central midfielder would do that consistently - Schneiderlin certainly doesn't do that. A very good one (or a world class one if you prefer that terminology) would dominate the play frequently.

For the money spent Schneiderlin has been poor, there's no denying that. Although pretty much every outfield player has been struggling under LVG, so we can't draw too many conclusions based on what he's shown for United.

Teams should never announce a manager leaving at the end of a season mid season.. We fell apart when Fergie was retiring and City looking to do the same..
    I cant see any fight in that bunch of players with a dude who is gone in the summer.

Kinda like in school when you had a sub teacher and you'd act the bolix just because

He has played within himself all season imo, disappointing overall, hopefully he kicks on but he has been underwhelming so far, and may be another to add to the pile of players who looked great until you took them out of the Southampton team.

He was always just a Carrick Mk II imo. Better physically than Carrick, less precise in his defending and passing, but overall just nothing special for the level we want to be at.

But this is a player playing under a manager doing a poor job. So he'll get a fresh crack at it when LVG is replaced.

Feb 13th 6 points off 4th and a game behind

Mar 2nd 0 points off 4th and a game behind :eek:

I have always agreed with your assessment regarding Schneiderlin, but it still leaves room for him to be under performing this year, as he has imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Just watching MOTD, jaysus lads Blind looks as if they just pulled a drunk fan out of the stands to play.

So bad

I have always agreed with your assessment regarding Schneiderlin, but it still leaves room for him to be under performing this year, as he has imo.

Yeah you are right. He has been less than he was at Southampton since the move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I think our best bet of getting 4th is actually and dare I say it, get beat in next round of El

*runs, very quick

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

I think our best bet of getting 4th is actually and dare I say it, get beat in next round of El

*runs, very quick

And give the Liverpool supporters something to crow on about, madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Can Utd win the title?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

Can Utd win the title?

It would be hilarious if it happened! Crazy season this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Kew don't really mean that ...
    Sometimes kew say the cruellest things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Can Utd win the title?

Yes. It's not going to happen but it's possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭macslash

Have we any injuries back soon?

Looking at the fixtures, we have 2 a week for the next while between league, europa and West Ham in the cup. Busy busy!

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

Can Utd win the title?

It's just frustrating looking back at all them the stupid points thrown away, even the Chelsea and Sunderland games and what we could have been looking at now. But a great night and I can't wait till the weekend now, I hope wer not brought back down to reality though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Great result but a reminder why Van Gaal needs to go in the summer if anything, let's hope he goes out with CL football.

Top 4 is there, the players need to want it more than City. If we win our next two league games we'll be level with 4th at least.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

macslash wrote: »
    Have we any injuries back soon?

Looking at the fixtures, we have 2 a week for the next while between league, europa and West Ham in the cup. Busy busy!

You gotta ask yourself Do we actually want these players back?'

LVG has stumbled (again) on a winning formula of lots of pace and flair, and if we get all the injured players back we're likely to go back to the crap football we were playing.

• My best M8 Phil got some good footage of the goal from the stands last night, he forgot to send me the link though.

Anyone got it?

• FYI Stats for Morgan last night:

88% Pass Accuracy
    4 Clearances
    4 Interceptions
    1 Shot on Target

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

4 wins in a row 4 wins in a row :):):)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,755 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    My best M8 Phil got some good footage of the goal from the stands last night, he forgot to send me the link though.

Anyone got it?

https://twitter.com/PhilJones4/status/705157787861577728

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭beno619

I wouldn't worry too much about keeping Carrick to be honest, he will be 35 in the summer and has started missing plenty of games through injury, we need to be looking for his replacement now anyway. Instead of having him hanging about as the proverbial "experienced squad option" lets just replace him and start improving this squad a bit.

Considering how poor our squad building has been id rather keep Carrick and sign his replacement, I think/hope Morgan will kick on next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

edgecutter wrote: »
    You gotta ask yourself Do we actually want these players back?'

LVG has stumbled (again) on a winning formula of lots of pace and flair, and if we get all the injured players back we're likely to go back to the crap football we were playing.

You obviously didn't see the game last night? We were awful. Worst performance of the season in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Nunu wrote: »
    You obviously didn't see the game last night? We were awful. Worst performance of the season in my book.

Ah Jesus the hyperbole is phenomenal. It wasn't even in the top 10 worst performances of the season. Did you watch the games between November and Jan? Rashford / Mata / Memphis / Martial produced plenty of moments where they ran at defenders and caused problems.

You're calling this the worst performance of the season where we had 14 attempts. There have been games where we've failed to have 14 attempts spread over 3 games.

You're asking a "YOUNG" team who were playing their 4th game in 10 days and with added travel to go out and be fresh as daisies.

It wasn't a great performance but it was a great ****ing win. I had Liverpool on the phone, United on the TV and Arsenal on the tablet. Made for one entertaining night of football.

Pro. F wrote: »
    He was always just a Carrick Mk II imo. Better physically than Carrick, less precise in his defending and passing, but overall just nothing special for the level we want to be at.

But this is a player playing under a manager doing a poor job. So he'll get a fresh crack at it when LVG is replaced.

Couldn't disagree more if I tried. He's showed under Southampton a far inferior team that he has the ability to dictate and command games. One game in particular springs to mind when he dominated a midfield of YaYa and Fernandinho against City. I'll try and find the stats of it soon.

Last night I thought he was exceptional, he was always in the right place at the right time. He's covering a lot of ground and with Herrera being more of an attacking player its not your traditional 2 DM's that we're used to seeing so he has far more defending to do. It should be Herrera who takes on the mantle of dictating games. Very rarely was it Keane when he played with Scholes who dictated the flow of games.

He will prove to be a very good signing and an integral part of the 1st team for many years to come, IMO. I also think that LVG is asking him to sit too much and that with a more adventurous manager and the reigns taken off we could see a world class player emerge.

NLjl6m.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 33,755 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Southampton's results would fall off a cliff when Schneiderlin was injured or suspended.
    He also has a good record (overall result) for United when he plays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Ah Jesus the hyperbole is phenomenal.

I notice you didn't come in with that argument in response to those talking about great wins and title challenges?

Or and this is not a massive stretch......I didn't read them yet......but anyone talking about a title challenge after last night should be put in the same boat.

Only looking at MOTD highlights now, the liverpool/city game is on. The utter scutter of Hart for that first goal! :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

The title talk was obviously tongue in cheek fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

At this rate Man United v West Ham is title decider

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Or and this is not a massive stretch......I didn't read them yet......but anyone talking about a title challenge after last night should be put in the same boat.

Someone asked can United win the title, there were no confident yes replies.

Brilliant run by Martial last night too to get that free that Mata sexed into the back of the net, don't think I commented on it at the time, it was brilliant.

Of course there wasn't.

Edit:

You know what, forget the rest. Probably not the thread for it in fairness.

You must not have read the thread either. No surprise there.

I'm not saying the thread was all gung ho proclaiming a title charge, but there were plenty of posts relating to a brilliant night and that we could have a title challenge, but when somebody points out that we were poor and should really have lost 2 or 3-0 then the word hyperbole gets thrown in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Only looking at MOTD highlights now, the liverpool/city game is on. The utter scutter of Hart for that first goal! :):)

Did you see him schoo'ing away the camera man at the start? I don't think I'd like this boy.

Of course there wasn't.

Yeah, course there wasn't.
    another few of them and we could be back in the hunt for more than that!!
    Stuff of champions.
    We've still to play everyone ahead of us apart from Arsenal. It's ON
    Lads stop talking about 4th. There's not much of a gap to the title considering it's Leicester. We beat them at home then it's only 7 points we need to pull back.

I'm not saying the thread was all gung ho proclaiming a title charge, but there were plenty of posts relating to a brilliant night and that we could have a title challenge, but when somebody points out that we were poor and should really have lost 2 or 3-0 then the word hyperbole gets thrown in.

Someone asked if we could win the title. There were no confident yes replies.

That was 10 hours ago...

Of course there wasn't.

Edit:

You know what, forget the rest. Probably not the thread for it in fairness.

Nice edit. If you're going to make personal remarks then just own your ****ing words and leave them there, it reflects more on you than me.

Yeah, course there wasn't.

Sarcasm and humour are not your strong point. No surprise there.

Somebody actually said it was the worst performance of the season, you are actually ridiculous at times you know. You know thats what he said, you know thats hyperbolic, but your love of an argument forces you to take an issue with someone pointing out that is hyperbole, couldn't make that **** up.

Why bother trying to play it down as if he just said we were poor?

Ridiculous.

As stated. I haven't seen the replies past a certain time....and as also stated in my post, I acknowledge it wasn't a great performance. I think you should take your own advice and read the replies. My hyperbole comment was in relation to "Worst performance of the season" which it clearly wasn't. If i had commented on any post about a title challenge you'd have a leg to stand on. Don't know where you're bringing in a title challenge to the post, but hey, each to their own.

Guy 1 "worst performance of the year"
    Guy 2 "hyperbole personified, we've been worse"
    Guy 3 "Hyperbole......what about those aliens........."

Context is a fantastic tool, it should really be used more often.

Nice edit. If you're going to make personal remarks then just own your ****ing words and leave them there, it reflects more on you than me.

Nothing personal in it Ted, this thread is not the place to point out your ridiculous posts in another thread.

As stated. I haven't seen the replies past a certain time....and as also stated in my post, I acknowledge it wasn't a great performance. I think you should take your own advice and read the replies. My hyperbole comment was in relation to "Worst performance of the season" which it clearly wasn't. If i had commented on any post about a title challenge you'd have a leg to stand on. Don't know where you're bringing in a title challenge to the post, but hey, each to their own.

Guy 1 "worst performance of the year"
    Guy 2 "hyperbole personified, we've been worse"
    Guy 3 "Hyperbole......what about those aliens........."

Context is a fantastic tool, it should really be used more often.

My response to you was perfectly polite and reasonable. You began your post by calling the hyperbole phenomenal, its perfectly reasonable to note that the hyperbole only gets called out when it relates to negativity.

its perfectly reasonable to note that the hyperbole only gets called out when it relates to negativity.

This is gas coming from you. You spend your time in this thread trying to shout down anybody with anything remotely positive to say.