Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016 - Mod Warning link in OP 20/3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

jayo26 wrote: »

Quite attacking line up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Quite attacking line up.

Hopefully a 3 man midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭dubmick

Jaysus Arsenal 2-0 down at home to Watford. Have to win today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

FA cup is there for the taking. Only thing is, we suck.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Surely thats an attack of
    Lingard - Herrera - Martial
    Rashford

Carrick and mop top dont fill me with confidence together in midfield.

Quite attacking line up.

I hope Fellaini is playing deep and ander is the number 10 instead of the other way around.

This is the first game of our next four game win streak come on united.

I hope Fellaini is playing deep and ander is the number 10 instead of the other way around.

This is the first game of our next four game win streak come on united.

I'm hoping we see Carrick playing deep with both Herrera and Fellaini further forward but still in contact with. Him, like we did earlier in the season.

Hopefully Rashford up top too. Can do a job out wide but there's already too many players playing out of position week in week out. Would like to see him in his natural position if he's going to be given a bit of a run in the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Can't remember Jones being so injury prone before he joined us. What would it say about the club and the medical staff/training methods in particular if Jones left and had a long successful career at another club.
    He had such potential when he joined. Really thought he and Smalling were going to be our defensive pairing for years to come.

He was a teenager joining us in fairness, and he does seem to injure himself alot by throwing himself in to tackles and stuff in a very haphazard and wreckless way a lot of time

Edit: He did do his cruciate at Blackburn which may be a factor in his injury problems since you know

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Not a fan of that team tbh, ah well heres hoping!

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

adox wrote: »
    I'm hoping we see Carrick playing deep with both Herrera and Fellaini further forward but still in contact with. Him, like we did earlier in the season.

Yes that would make sense but lvg won't see it that way.

Not in the slightest bit confident or optimisitic last time I felt like this was the Arsenal game.

Given our record against top and lower teams the FA cup just got harder with Arsenal about to go out (Arsenal score just as I post :D)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,755 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Welbeck scores :pac:

Someone mentioned Welbeck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,226 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

And that's exactly why we sold him.

This finish in the Arsenal/Watford game is like the Cork v Kilkenny hurling game last night.

Best and worst of Welbeck cameo

Someone mentioned Welbeck?

Me haha i knew it would come back on me but thankfully he also showed why he is such an average player too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

We're going to win today. It's realistically our best chance of a trophy and we're at home. If the players aren't up for a game like this then sell them all in the summer.

Korat wrote: »
    We're going to win today. It's realistically our best chance of a trophy and we're at home. If the players aren't up for a game like this then sell them all in the summer.

If they weren't up for the game last Thursday...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

West Ham are a better team than Pool right now, and arguably in way better form than Arsenal. And with Carrick and Fellaini as our midfield duo, which has never worked well, I'd not be surprised to see him beat us handily enough.

Be interesting to see what sort of a reaction follows if/when they do knock us out at OT...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Jesus H Christ Carrick AND Fellaini in a midfield holding two. ****ing hell.

I'm absolutely bricking it now.

So many slow players in the middle at least Ander is there instead of Mata.. Love Mata but he is painfully slow and weak..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,388 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

TheDoc wrote: »
    Jesus H Christ Carrick AND Fellaini in a midfield holding two. ****ing hell.

I'm absolutely bricking it now.

When has Fellaini ever played in a holding role?

Andy Carroll vs Blind

Watching from behind the couch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

Me haha i knew it would come back on me but thankfully he also showed why he is such an average player too.
    You could also say judging a player based on one missed chance shows why someone is an average poster.

Welbeck has been excellent for Arsenal recently considering he was out for 10 months with injury. Bagged another goal for them today and was unlucky not to score the equaliser too. It was hardly an open goal. He just didn't wrap his foot around it enough. Poor miss. Show me any striker in history who hasn't missed similar opportunities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Andy Carroll vs Blind

Watching from behind the couch.

Apparently Blind has been warming up at LB with Rojo in the centre.

Emineke vs Blind

Still watching from behind the couch.

Jaysus. Really poor challenge on Martial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Jaysus. Really poor challenge on Martial.

Yeah but it's early so it's apparently grand.

And here we go into "Lets forget how to defend" mode.

Yeah but it's early so it's apparently grand.

BT say he got booked.

Yep he did..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

BT say he got booked.

Martin Tyler said on my stream that there was no card, looks like there was.

That was a dive by Reid there.

Center backs always get away with them sort of dives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

Atkinson is an awful pain in the arse sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

We are playing so bloody deep, it was the same the other night. The few times we actually got an attack going Thursday it ended up with Martial completely isolated.

• Ander Herrera wrecking my head on Sunday

0-0 draw here, get knocked out on a probably rainy Tuesday evening 1-0 in the replay.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Shouldn't be on the f*cking pitch.

Would rather lose this than draw and replay. Just want this season done with.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

The pain goes on

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Anto to the rescue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭dubmick

Depay would drive you insane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

dubmick wrote: »
    Depay would drive you insane

He'll happily shoot skywards from 30 yards out but won't have a crack from inside the box. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭KH25

Think we deserved the draw at least. Crap first half as always. Atkinson must have had money on West Ham, he was disgraceful.

Probably a fair result.

Thought Schweinsteiger was good on his return.

Lol. Owen thought it was a brilliant game.

Better performance than Thursday but that's not saying much.

I though it was another disappointing performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

If he wins a cup he might keep his job so I'm in two minds on today's resist tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

**** the replay, West Ham away is a tough place and with our away form there is not a hope we will qualify. Should have made the home tie count.

Also this means still there are reasons for not sacking Van Gaal which is a big shame.