Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unfair Dismissal?

Options
  • 22-02-2016 1:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys, sorry for the length below but I have wrote this in as great a detail as possible to give you the full story. It’s been on my mind for quite some time and feel hesitant writing it but it feels like a burden has been lifted even writing it.

I had been working for an IT company for 12 months and this was my first job after graduating from college. The job was a junior position and I joined the ranks of the director of the company, 1 production manager, 1 designer, 1 digital marker, 1 sales executive and 2 other junior developers and 2 students on placement. Although a growing company, the operation was small and a lot of work had fallen on us in the junior department to churn out projects to a given time frame and budget. This type of job was results based, complete a project, move on. Each project had a different valuation depending on the project specifications, and the total price of projects complete throughout the year was a reflection on your work rate. Being my first job in the industry, I was in zero position to negotiate on the salary, which was minimum wage, due to my lack of experience, which the director had directly indicated. I had asked if there would be any wiggle room on this, and he had stated after my 6 month probationary period it will be reviewed.