Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anxiety and depression thread (Please read OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,355 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Have a doctors appointment made for tomorrow and dreading it. First time going about it and don't know what to expect.

I was called into an office by manager and said you look very sad, Is everything okay with you. Another person higher up called me in as well and said the same thing. Work isn't affected at all.

Other random friends and relatives have said the same thing and after a couple of drinks i nearly start crying.

Anxiety and depression are killing me. I can see why people are saying it to me. You can actually see it in my face that I am not well at all.

I never have anxiety about work. It could be about making lists what I am going to buy in the supermarket for the week, lists about what I am going to wear, anxiety about money, saving, making lists about it even though I am not in debt, Anxiety that people don't like me, Anxiety about some social events, making lists of what I am going to watch on tv for the week. I could make 20 lists some days, just basically anxiety about the stupidest things to the point I feel nauseated.

Also depression, just very down in the dumps. Feel Tired and brain fogged all the time. I have no emotion, not happy, not sad. I just feel blank and don't want to do anything except lie in bed starting at the wall which happens some days. I have lost interest in anything I once found enjoyable.

Hopefully tomorrow will be the start of something new. Willing to try any medication at this stage as getting very bed lately.

A freudian slip at the end, but I think it was very telling.

It's intriguing, as you said, that there's no apparent change in your work, but obviously people are worried about you.
    Illness, physical or mental, can take a serious toll on us physically-and it often shows outwardly. So if folks are worried about you, that's a good thing.

There's been instances where I've been missing, or sick, for a few days due to my depression, or OCD or anxiety, or even down to a flu or a bug...and only a scant few checked I was alright.
    It shows someone cares when people check up on you.

Hope the GP visit goes well-and just let them know exactly how you've been feeling..

• Good luck tomorrow Henry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Does anyone have any tips for developing an appetite? I've been eating next to nothing lately and losing weight

Watch the cooking shows not the baking ones.

Also just put butter in a pan and let it heat up.

Smell has a Hugh effect on apatite.

I have dinner at the same time every day even if I done want to.
    I put the food in the oven while not hungry and im still not sure if I want it but when it's done I may wait a while.
    You got to eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Shpud2

I used to not eat for days on end and was losing some weight and the thing that got me to eat was praise from doctors or counsellors when i went to them because they would always ask how my eating was. So maybe give yourself a reward or just a pat on the back for eating. It doesn't have to be huge steps. I went from not eating for 3 or so days to eating almost everyday now. So yeah maybe try praising yourself for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

On the subject of not eating, when my anxiety's acting up, I find sometimes that I have an appetite, but can't eat. Like my stomach will be rumbling, but the thoughts of most food make me feel sick. It feels as if my stomach wants food, but if I were to eat, something in my throat wouldn't let me swallow it. I don't know if any of that makes any sense at all, but that's how I feel. Anyway, I find things like apples, pears and raw carrots are the things I can eat when I feel this way, usually helps.

• Kitty6277 wrote: »
    On the subject of not eating, when my anxiety's acting up, I find sometimes that I have an appetite, but can't eat. Like my stomach will be rumbling, but the thoughts of most food make me feel sick. It feels as if my stomach wants food, but if I were to eat, something in my throat wouldn't let me swallow it. I don't know if any of that makes any sense at all, but that's how I feel. Anyway, I find things like apples, pears and raw carrots are the things I can eat when I feel this way, usually helps.

Makes complete sense to me anyway. I sometimes get that way where I’m literally weak with the hunger but the thought of eating make me want to throw up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Mandown

I get like that aswell, you're not alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭aluminium

So I'm on week 6 and a half or 7 weeks of Escitalopram. (20mg). Worst part is over most of the side effects have abated. Things are leveling out a bit.

A couple of weeks ago I phoned a client who is a Psychotherapist who works for the HSE. I asked her if she were to go to a Therapist herself who would she go to. After explaining that as part of her job she has to attend mandatory sessions herself, she recommended someone who practices close to me.

I've now had three sessions. This morning I was finally definitively diagnosed with PTSD. The guy Im seeing is younger than me but he is a fully trained and accredited Therapist who by coincidence specializes in PTSD. Im told that its severe and ingrained and will require a lot of work.

In a way its a relief, but in another its bloody annoying that I have been displaying the symptoms, seeing specialists and not getting a proper diagnosis. I have spent a couple of grand on medication, therapist, GP etc.

aluminium wrote: »
    So I'm on week 6 and a half or 7 weeks of Escitalopram. (20mg). Worst part is over most of the side effects have abated. Things are leveling out a bit.

A couple of weeks ago I phoned a client who is a Psychotherapist who works for the HSE. I asked her if she were to go to a Therapist herself who would she go to. After explaining that as part of her job she has to attend mandatory sessions herself, she recommended someone who practices close to me.

I've now had three sessions. This morning I was finally definitively diagnosed with PTSD. The guy Im seeing is younger than me but he is a fully trained and accredited Therapist who by coincidence specializes in PTSD. Im told that its severe and ingrained and will require a lot of work.

In a way its a relief, but in another its bloody annoying that I have been displaying the symptoms, seeing specialists and not getting a proper diagnosis. I have spent a couple of grand on medication, therapist, GP etc.

Fair play to you getting past the start with that drug.
    I was always knowing the time within minutes and day.
    Alwas know what was going on.
    Took that and I didn't know day from night.
    Didn't know if I had eaten food.

Then stopped and got a flu of my lift, that was only after a few days on it.

Why is mental stability so unattainable for me?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 63 ✭✭Hhugedick

Shpud2 wrote: »

I have a good idea.

Hhugedick wrote: »
    I have a good idea.

What is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,909 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Hhugedick wrote:
    I have a good idea.

Be nice. People come here for support.
    Shpud2 wrote:

Not being smart, but why do you think it might be unattainable?

And what level of stability would be acceptable for you?

Not being smart, but why do you think it might be unattainable?

And what level of stability would be acceptable for you?

I feel like no matter what supports I have had in place I've never been able to achieve stability.

I just want to be at a level which would be considered normal with the highs and lows everyone experiences as opposed to now where I can go from "ok this is good" to "I'm losing my mind" about 10 times a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,909 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Shpud2 wrote:
    I feel like no matter what supports I have had in place I've never been able to achieve stability.

Have you always felt that you are unstable or has it emerged recently?

Can you identify a trigger to any if the mood swings?

Have you always felt that you are unstable or has it emerged recently?

Can you identify a trigger to any if the mood swings?

It's been an on going thing for a while but especially in the past year it's been pretty much daily.

I don't know if there is a trigger. It seems to mostly be when I'm feeling down or worried or stressed like when I think about the past or the future.

What is it?

Hhh

What is it?

Your chasing something that your not.

Hhh

What?

Your chasing something that your not.

I'm chasing something that i want to be because what I am now is not good enough.

It's been an on going thing for a while but especially in the past year it's been pretty much daily.

I don't know if there is a trigger. It seems to mostly be when I'm feeling down or worried or stressed like when I think about the past or the future.

I know the feeling Shpud2- I have these moments where I feel like utter crap. It can be triggered by something in the news, something I read online, some article I read, or even something online.

It's a combo of the past, the present, and the future that can suddenly trigger these moods. I have gone to counselling to discuss these issues, and in some respects, it's been even scarier to speak these issues out, because the counsellor has noticed things in me. And in some respects, confronted me with some horrible beliefs I hold. (About myself, not about anyone else-the negative beliefs I hold are largely me-the least of them are me feeling like a burden).

Stress can trigger it-I've even noticed that I cut back on alcohol because of it too. (Not a heavy drinker either, just some times have a glass of wine before or a whiskey before bed or while up late).

I know the feeling Shpud2- I have these moments where I feel like utter crap. It can be triggered by something in the news, something I read online, some article I read, or even something online.

It's a combo of the past, the present, and the future that can suddenly trigger these moods. I have gone to counselling to discuss these issues, and in some respects, it's been even scarier to speak these issues out, because the counsellor has noticed things in me. And in some respects, confronted me with some horrible beliefs I hold. (About myself, not about anyone else-the negative beliefs I hold are largely me-the least of them are me feeling like a burden).

Stress can trigger it-I've even noticed that I cut back on alcohol because of it too. (Not a heavy drinker either, just some times have a glass of wine before or a whiskey before bed or while up late).
    I'd be the same when I talk to counsellors. I'm very very hard on myself and don't hold myself in high regard.

Yeah, same. The other beliefs are even worse. I can't share them, as they are dark, and I don't want to trigger anyone else.

I mean, I've a had a pretty decent life, so to speak-I didn't suffer the horrors many others did, in life. But I still have this horrible view of myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

Mind is just racing tonight. Thought I was making progress the last week or so but actually feel worse than ever tonight. I am at the point where I actually feel sick because my brain won't stop. Hopefully this will pass soon.

TG1 wrote: »
    Mind is just racing tonight. Thought I was making progress the last week or so but actually feel worse than ever tonight. I am at the point where I actually feel sick because my brain won't stop. Hopefully this will pass soon.

Might be worth talking to your GP. I had to make a trip to mine, on advice of my therapist.
    Have had to make changes to my meds.

A slight increase. Ugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

Might be worth talking to your GP. I had to make a trip to mine, on advice of my therapist.
    Have had to make changes to my meds.

A slight increase. Ugh.

Yeh due back in about ten days anyway but I might see can I move it up a bit... We will see how the weekend goes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

TG1 wrote: »

But don't beat yourself up for having a bad day if the rest of the week has been good, even if it's only been somewhat okay. It's all too easy to look at where (you think) you need to go and get discouraged because it's still so far.
    Instead try to look at where you were and see how far you've come already.

It was explained to me once in the context of the Dichotomy paradox (part of Zeno's paradoxes if you want to read it)

The basic gist of it is as follows :

In order to walk to the end of a path you would need to first get halfway down the path? Right?
    In order to get halfway down the path you would need to first get a quarter way down the path.
    In order to get a quarter way down the path you would first need to get an eighth down the path.
    And if you keep thinking like that....it would turn out there would be an infinite amount of steps needed in order to get down to the end of the path making it a logical impossibility to get to the end!!!.....

02ea66ea6ee1580aeb96de307d55a7cb078b79f6

But you know it's possible to walk to the end of a path...you've probably done it many times.....

So the moral of the story is (and I'm sure most of us have heard this many times) : don't think, do

Ps1bgmSS_400x400.png

(and believe me I'm struggling with this, but I do think it's the way forward)

• Feeling particularly bad today.. meds not working. So I’m trying captain Morgan :pac:

Feeling particularly bad today.. meds not working. So I’m trying captain Morgan

Me too but unfortunately can't self medicate with the captain because of my liver. Hoping the fog lifts before the wedding on Monday.

It's weird. I'm so happy to be getting married and apart from the aul self inflicted liver issue, I've a good life. Just can't stop the mind racing or clear the head from the "noises".

Going to chalk this one down to just a bad day. Tomorrow will be better.