Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anxiety and depression thread (Please read OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Always read your posts boh (and everyone else's), are you still self medicating?

I do to a certain extent but that's a different issue :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭One More Toy

petes wrote: »
    Always read your posts boh (and everyone else's), are you still self medicating?

With drink is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

I'm trying to stop. I have prescribed medication for depression and some from the off licence lol. I really need to stop as i know it's killing me. Today so far i've had about 3 cans of bulmers just to try and relax me.

Still not good.

My GP gave me librium to stop drinking but i haven't used it yet, i just keep putting it off as i'm afraid of stopping drinking and feeling crap.

I need a good woman in my life to put me straight. My last one drove me to drink, and that's true.

BohsCeltic wrote: »
    I'm trying to stop. I have prescribed medication for depression and some from the off licence lol. I really need to stop as i know it's killing me. Today so far i've had about 3 cans of bulmers just to try and relax me.

Still not good.

My GP gave me librium to stop drinking but i haven't used it yet, i just keep putting it off as i'm afraid of stopping drinking and feeling crap.

I need a good woman in my life to put me straight. My last one drove me to drink, and that's true.

Nothing to do with a good woman :)

Librium doesn't stop you drinking, it's for when you stop, you would also need something like xanax, prevents seizures.

Still, three today isn't too bad. Self medicated for years until one thing made me snap and spent three weeks solid drinking. I don't mean going out at night for a few, mean waiting for the offy to open just to get a naggin of vodka to sort me out before I could drink all day long again.

It's a very slippery slope and I don't mind telling ye, the good folk here.

Stopped, went through withdrawals which was horrendous. Okay for a few years and still am. I still drink but left to my own devices I'd be like Nick Cage in leaving last Vegas.

It's the relief for a few hours, you know it's going to be ten times worse but for a few hours it's.. fantastic and that's the draw.

I suffer from GAD, sometimes depression but mostly severe anxiety.

I'm on sertraline 100mg and Xanax. Also an app. for a psychiatrist end of the month.

Just wanted to put that out there so ye know I'm not commenting for no reason (overthinking and all that :))

Pete

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,447 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

I drink as an unhealthy reaction to stuff. It's terrible but I've cut it way down now.

I've often had to stop myself getting a naggin of vodka

Nothing to do with a good woman :)

Librium doesn't stop you drinking, it's for when you stop, you would also need something like xanax, prevents seizures.

Still, three today isn't too bad. Self medicated for years until one thing made me snap and spent three weeks solid drinking. I don't mean going out at night for a few, mean waiting for the offy to open just to get a naggin of vodka to sort me out before I could drink all day long again.

It's a very slippery slope and I don't mind telling ye, the good folk here.

Stopped, went through withdrawals which was horrendous. Okay for a few years and still am. I still drink but left to my own devices I'd be like Nick Cage in leaving last Vegas.

It's the relief for a few hours, you know it's going to be ten times worse but for a few hours it's.. fantastic and that's the draw.

I suffer from GAD, sometimes depression but mostly severe anxiety.

I'm on sertraline 100mg and Xanax. Also an app. for a psychiatrist end of the month.

Just wanted to put that out there so ye know I'm not commenting for no reason (overthinking and all that :))

Pete

I know librium is for withdrawal. I have valium too but find it doesn't work for me. Might go see doctor but she is very reluctant to prescribe me Xanax. It works wonders for me.

I mean only 0.25mg 2 times a day and I'm fine and won't drink either.

BohsCeltic wrote:

Librium is very poxy addictive. Careful with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭Red Lightning

Got chatting a girl a few months ago at the gym. Started to like her as we got on great but she had a bf. She's single two weeks now so started getting hopeful. She asked me to go to yoga with her but the intital attempt feel through. I messaged her two days ago and still no reply (still hasn't seen it) which leads me to believe she isn't interested. That sort of stuff brings my mood down. It's the hope that kills ya.

Lucky escape buddy. You don't want to be a rebound fling. That's **** you up even worse. Take it slow

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭SMC92Ian

WWE is this Thursday and then I found out the Manics are in the Olympia Sunday... gonna spend all week to talk myself into going as I've now nobody to go with so it'll be alone. **** anxiety and depression. It's made me miss so much so I need to try find the will to go.

SMC92Ian wrote: »
    WWE is this Thursday and then I found out the Manics are in the Olympia Sunday... gonna spend all week to talk myself into going as I've now nobody to go with so it'll be alone. **** anxiety and depression. It's made me miss so much so I need to try find the will to go.

Just try and go. Have you thought about joining a social club or something that you are interested in ?
    I can't give much advice as i'm never alone, but sometimes even having great family and friends i can still feel very alone.

Brutal weather outside today too but soon my Sister is calling and i've to babysit my 7 Month old Nephew. Looking forward to it though.

I know librium is for withdrawal. I have valium too but find it doesn't work for me. Might go see doctor but she is very reluctant to prescribe me Xanax. It works wonders for me.

I mean only 0.25mg 2 times a day and I'm fine and won't drink either.

I think my doc might be a bit too liberal with the prescription of xanax. But I put my case to him and he prescribes them to me, luckily I haven't become dependant on them, there's another withdrawal I could do without :)

• Registered Users Posts: 48 123sheepdip

First time mature Anxiety sufferer, it was brought on by a toxic work environment and fuelled by concerns for an ailing parent. I've gone down the SSRI road since February which has proved extremely challenging due to side effects. On a new med for the last 6 weeks but anxiety levels are still acute. Xanex is the only thing that makes me feel like my old normal self but obviously I can't take it every day. At the moment I'm taking a half of .25mg when I feel I need it once a day. Praying that the SSRI will kick in to the correct dose soon. I feel so alone at times going through this even though I have a loving family and supportive friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Skybirdjb

First time mature Anxiety sufferer, it was brought on by a toxic work environment and fuelled by concerns for an ailing parent. I've gone down the SSRI road since February which has proved extremely challenging due to side effects. On a new med for the last 6 weeks but anxiety levels are still acute. Xanex is the only thing that makes me feel like my old normal self but obviously I can't take it every day. At the moment I'm taking a half of .25mg when I feel I need it once a day. Praying that the SSRI will kick in to the correct dose soon. I feel so alone at times going through this even though I have a loving family and supportive friends.
    Hi welcome !!
    Don't deel alone you can always come here for a rant or chat we all know what you are going through

Well i got my letter from my job and Irish life. They deemed me fit for work so claim dismissed. Fecking knew this would happen and now has just put me more down. Going to just try sleep it off and think of my comeback plan.

Apparently i don't have a disability as mentioned by another poster. I've been out sick from work for over 1 year ffs.

I'm going to fight this.

Skybirdjb wrote: »
    Hi welcome !!
    Don't deel alone you can always come here for a rant or chat we all know what you are going through

Thanks for your kind thoughts.

Well i got my letter from my job and Irish life. They deemed me fit for work so claim dismissed. Fecking knew this would happen and now has just put me more down. Going to just try sleep it off and think of my comeback plan.

Apparently i don't have a disability as mentioned by another poster. I've been out sick from work for over 1 year ffs.

I'm going to fight this.

Give them hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,915 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I'm going to fight this.

If you have any specialist or treating doctors opinion to the contrary submit it in support.
    Irish Life should be forwarding the medical rationale for their decision.
    When that's received, if you can have a treating doctor refute it you will win.

One thing to keep in mind is how strict they are on timelines.

banie01 wrote: »
    If you have any specialist or treating doctors opinion to the contrary submit it in support.

Complete shower of wasters, I'm expecting my claim will also be denied

banie01 wrote: »

Thank you, i am going to make appointment with my GP and let her write a letter for me. Timeline is within 3 Months.

How do they think i am i fit to work, i'm sitting at home crying now ffs.

Thank you, i am going to make appointment with my GP and let her write a letter for me. Timeline is within 3 Months.

So sorry they have done that
    Fight it with your doctors help . How they think that people with mental health issues are fit for work is beyond me like so unfair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,915 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Check that appeal time frame just to be certain.
    They are usually much tighter, so it's a good thing if you have that long.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

Hold tight, I didn't reach a good level of my snri for nearly 7 months, it's a slow process of tweaking to get to where you need to be.

It will be worth it though when you get there, I'm currently at the best I've been in about 30 years, but it took a while.

Just have patience and make sure you have a good relationship with your healthcare provider, I switched my gp because I wasn't convinced about my first one and genuinely haven't looked back since. It will be worth the hardship of this process with the meds when you get to a level that works for you.

Many thanks for posting TG1. I am losing confidence with my doc, she seems to have run out of ideas as I've not settled into the positive pattern she was expecting. She has referred me to a Pysch, I'm hoping they will have a better insight. I've gone for a 'can do' person into a quivering shadow of myself. Everyone is telling me it's only temporary but I'm losing hope.

It's really tough when you think back to they way you were . I used to be a happy , joker full of confidence. Now I'm a scared quiet girl with no confidence whatsoever and can't go out that much cause of anxiety but I have to say that cbt therapy really is helping me . It might be worth looking into cbt too

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭alanzo27

Hi all. Hope everyone is having a good day.

I have been all over the place recently. I have been neglecting my work/studies in my current apprenticeship and I have not attended this week so far. I have been isolating myself and have lost interest in everything. My tutor from college and mentor/boss from work are aware of my issues and I have had meetings with both. I just feel that I am at breaking point and that I am going to have a breakdown. I also feel that I am letting myself and others down. I am going to speak with a GP tomorrow. I don't want to attend my own GP as I feel they will not listen to me. I have written down everything that I want to discuss, and was meant to go today but instead I slept in. I am going tomorrow. I am now having a drink which is something I would never normally do but I am trying to just calm myself down. I know that this is a terrible decision but I am just lost.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,447 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Alanzo, college should have support services or a doctor affiliated with the place. Would be well worth looking in to.. Writing stuff down is great, it's how I finally managed to communicate to my doctor how bad things were, best of luck tomorrow..

Skybirdjb wrote: »
    It's really tough when you think back to they way you were . I used to be a happy , joker full of confidence. Now I'm a scared quiet girl with no confidence whatsoever and can't go out that much cause of anxiety but I have to say that cbt therapy really is helping me . It might be worth looking into cbt too

CBT is def on the cards. I found a good local therapist whose fees are very reasonable. But first I want to try and stabilise on the meds and will them have the concentration to move forward with the CBT. Thanks for taking the time to post.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

I am still seeing a psychologist as well as my gp and find that fantastic. My gp takes a very broad view of treatment and has me doing yoga, meditation and has made me really up my excercise and it has all helped hugely.

I was so lacking in confidence at work I couldn't even send out a report to be reviewed due to things going on in there, my anxiety was through the roof and I was in an awful place. I was sobbing to my gp one day just asking him to make me me again. I understand completely sheepdip.

The combination of getting out of that job, the meds, the psychologist, the lifestyle changes in general, it all made such a difference.

I've started a new job and ten days in I've been told it's like I've always been there I've settled so quick.

There is hope, it just takes a hell of a lot of hard work and patience to get there. I will have fingers and toes crossed for you every day.