Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Activities for 6 lads?

• 23-02-2016 12:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭

Hi, looking for ideas for activities in and around Galway city for 6 lads, have tried search function but all I see are years old posts.

End of march is when we be down

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭fearruanua

Pure skill in knocknacarra

http://www.pureskill.ie/

little bit expensive i think but good craic for a few hours

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Pureskill
    Gokarting
    Museum
    Aquarium
    Whiskey tasting

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

biko wrote: »
    Whiskey tasting
    Where's that?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,096 ✭✭✭✭beertons

How about kayaking? Check out www.giveitago.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

snubbleste wrote: »
    Where's that?
    Garavans Bar, An Pucan and Freeneys. Perhaps more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Garavans Bar, An Pucan and Freeneys. Perhaps more.
    Oh. I thought a new distillery had opened up :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

Whiskey tasting
    snubbleste wrote: »
    Where's that?

Looks like Garavans? http://www.irelandwhiskeytrail.com/?pg=Garavans_bar_pub_Galway.php

Oslo also has a decent selection with prices clearly posted (albeit not a cheap experience).

This could be a good laugh, even if you know Galway reasonably well: http://www.segwayadventures.ie/segway-tour-galway-history-a/4578859554

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

There's actually a whiskey trail:

http://www.galwaywhiskeytrail.ie/the-trail

Haha. I wonder how much more vomit is now cleaned up on that path than before.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭littlevillage

There's a decent Bowling Alley/Arcade/pool tables place in the Headford road shopping center. (10 minutes walk from Eyre sq.)

The name of the place evades me. But you cannot miss it. They have a small bar inside the place as well (or at least they did the last time I was there)... so you can have a beer whilest Bowling or playing pool.

Heard good things about Pureskill as well...but you will maybe need to book in advance, if you are planning to go of a peak time like Saturday afternoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭Cheshire Cat

Paintball, Zorbing, Archery

http://eilemental.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭CarefulNow!

Thank you all this has been a great help and given me plenty to research 😊

• Registered Users Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

There's a decent Bowling Alley/Arcade/pool tables place in the Headford road shopping center. (10 minutes walk from Eyre sq.)

The name of the place evades me. But you cannot miss it. They have a small bar inside the place as well (or at least they did the last time I was there)... so you can have a beer whilest Bowling or playing pool

It's called The Planet.

Thanks to you all for the suggestions, we settled on kayaking. Never done it so should be a bit of craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,887 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

It's called The Planet.

It is? Does anyone else still call it Leisure World?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Yip.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,952 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Yip.

You probably still shop in Moons, too :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭Hoki

Mars Bar wrote: »

Will always be the Leisure Dome to me!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Probably everyone else in the county that hasn't been there for the past 20 years. Which would include me.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

There's probably a young tourist wandering around Woodquay since I gave her directions to Sleepzone last week. "You can't miss Roche's Stores" I sez 😕

• Registered Users Posts: 31,887 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

When did Moons become Brown Thomas?
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Probably everyone else in the county that hasn't been there for the past 20 years. Which would include me.

I'm only 26!

The great escape, lower abbeygate street, highly recommended, a great laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 705 ✭✭✭chuky_r_law

hop on the free bikes and cycle around galway. walk the prom and dont forget to kick the wall

jump off black rock tower...you aint galway til you done that. it'll freeze the bollix off ya but you'll be better for it. especially if you're hungover

go to oslo bar in salthill after (just a short walk away). play some pool - you should get the table to your selves. good place to watch a match and an excellent choice of beers.

salthills a good spot to wile away a few hours. not an activity as such, but good if you want to relax a little

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm only 26!
    You still should have stopped going to "whatever it's called now" 20 years ago. :P

Where will we eat folks? Steak