Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal v Barcelona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

great game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

CSF wrote: »
    11 men behind the ball every time Barca have the ball does not make for a pretty watch. It has worked out quite well for Arsenal seeing as they're not behind but it has been a pretty horrible game to watch for the neutral. Arsenal quite content to sit back let Barca have the ball, and hope to catch them on the break. Those breaks coincidentally the only interesting things that have happened in this match. Messi, Neymar and Suarez have not been at it at all.

How else would you play against them? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

You just get the sense Barca are relaxed, a game of four quarters for them. They'll be happy enough with that one and will increase the intensity as it goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

These match threads are absolutely pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,055 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Poor game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,114 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

And you're an Irish lad who acts like your Premiership team's ground is just across the road. The difference is the football I watch each week is the best football there is.

and Chelsea.

Don't forget you watch Chelsea too,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Fakman87

Were you actually being serious when you say it's different for an Irish man to support a Spanish side than to support an English side?
    Cause that's just idiotic.

Of course it's different. Supporting the prem is culturally prevalent in Ireland. Supporting la liga isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,561 ✭✭✭✭CSF

cson wrote: »
    Did I criticise Wenger for setting up that way? That doesn't change the fact that Arsenal setting up that way and Messi, Neymar and Suarez all being way off their best has led to a pretty below-par 45 minutes of football watching.

Fakman87 wrote: »
    Of course it's different. Supporting the prem is culturally prevalent in Ireland. Supporting la liga isn't.
    Ah here, gway out of that. It is exactly the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Ol' Donie wrote:
    Im watching on f***in German tv where they keep flicking between this and the other game. So f***in annoying.
    Ah the old Konferenz is great! Fox Soccer do one too! It was unreal craic the night with the record amount of goals in one Champions League night. If they have one game on and there's a goal in another, there will be a notification with 'GOOOOAAAAAAAAALLLLL' over the commentary. Savage craic!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,408 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Lets drop the who supports who and why stuff please.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Anyway moving away from one posters devotion to our former Anglo overlords and other posters devotion to discussing Andersonisgod, and onto the football match. That was interesting, as the half went on and Arsenal tired, spaces started to open up and the screw was being turned on the half time whistle. Busquets is in third gear and yet he's been the best player on the pitch, his ability to break lines is unrivalled, his decision making is pitch-perfect, there's no finer midfielder on this planet.

This result is fine to take back to the Camp Nou but just wait and Arsenal will tire further and when the chances come, Barcelona are equipped with killers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Fakman87 wrote: »
    Not really. Supporting a prem team from a young age is culturally prevalent in Ireland. Choosing to support a continental team is a fairly conscious, "against the grain" decision.

Dont tell me your one of these people that says everytime anyone does something different that its against the grain hahaha the man likes to watch the best team in the world, its like when jordan was with the bulls everyone wanted to watch them, also im pretty sure anderson supports chelsea as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Fakman87

CSF wrote: »
    Ah here, gway out of that. It is exactly the same.

From the time you're 5 years old in Ireland you're surrounded by kids who support United, Liverpool, Arsenal, etc. You start to support an English club before you can even consciously analyse that decision.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

cson wrote: »

Like Atletico and Malaga did very effectively recently. By pressurising Busquets further forward, but this is more standard attack v defence stuff of old, dropping deep.

Very costly miss by Suarez there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,310 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Very disappointing first half.
    Barcelona havent got out of second gear and seem to be reluctant to commit players forward as they are wary of Arsenal on the break.
    Messi looks disinterested ,he hardly broke a sweat in that half.

Arsenal should be pressing them up higher however they will be happy with 0-0

Probably key to us staying in it over 2 legs that we get one in the 15 mins after half time tbh.

If we don't I'd have to agree (as much as it pains me) with our resident Barcelona fanboi in that the gaps will open and we'll tire.

Definitely will not be 0-0 after 90mins.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,609 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Looks like a matter o time for Barca to score as they began to get on top there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Half time came at the right time for Arsenal. For all his goals, Suarez does really mess a fair few sitters. Two at the weekend, and one tonight.

Arsenal needed to score on one of those breaks.

Surprised Chamberlain is back on, looked goosed after that collision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,977 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Drexel wrote: »
    Bellerin having an audition. Playing very well
    I had the very same thought. He is playing very well and he would be the perfect replacement for Dani Alves.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,408 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Cech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Martial would have buried that

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Great save, I was sure they were in.

Best £10m quid we've spent since Henry?

I'd say so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Can't be giving possession away like that

Stupid flicks and awful passing when there's a chance to break.

That is incredible football out from the back from them.

Really have to win the ball if we press that high up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Barca lorrying the pressure on now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

What was Neymar at then.

Sanchez thinks if he runs at a player then he deserves to get by them. When he does that he looks like an idiot.

Where is the red card for Alba?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Arsenal can't get out....Barça are going through gears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Some strange decisions being made by Barca players. Almost like they know they can make them and it won't matter

Jesus jordi alba is some little bitch

Giroud could have gone down. Alba would have.

Alba is a reprehensible play actor. Really lets himself down.

And that's why players dive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,507 ✭✭✭Underground

Something tells me Alba wouldn't have stayed on his feet had the roles been reversed there..

Bellerin has been excellent in particular. Has played a large role in making Neymar look awfully poor tonight so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Great football, but Barcelona are such a shower of moaning ***** that I can never warm to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Alba is lucky to be still on. If that position was reversed he would have hit the deck to get Giroud sent off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Embarrassing by alba

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Too honest from Giroud. Typical referee decision for Barca

• Registered Users Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭me89

Typical Alba

Second half has certainly been a different animal alright. Unfortunately all Barca's play seems to have come from Iniesta with nobody making the most of it

Busquets still in 3rd? Moved to 4th? How many gears does he have? How many do Barca have?

And that's why players dive.

This is it.

Roles reversed, Alba most certainly hits the deck and its a likely red for Giroud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Alves cry-baby

Two players go in the very same way for the ball and Barca get a free. Dani Alves is an embarrassment.

Basil3 wrote: »
    Busquets still in 3rd? Moved to 4th? How many gears does he have? How many do Barca have?

Are they even driving a stick shift? Only messi and the gods know.