Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sooo fed up....

• 24-02-2016 7:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭

.....with people round here and the unattended dog scenario...get a dog, because, you know, it's our God given right to have a dog, then let's just leave it outside, sure it won't need a walk we live in the country it can go anywhere sure it's grand, what kind of eejit has time to be walking a fecking dog.....and letting it in the house...??!! Sure that's filthy and dogs need to be left roaming...etc
    Yet another incident today with a dog left outside, gates open, electric shock collar on, came out anyway, it was only a pup but a big dog, thankfully I had my older calmer dog with me (I now walk my dogs separately as I can't physically handle 2 of them in these situations), the puppy was bigger than him and completely in his face, overstepping the boundaries, probably born in a shed and never socialised cos he couldn't read my dog's signals that he was coming on too strong, couldn't get away from him because he kept circling us, no-one home at his house of course, complete flippin nightmare!!!
    That is all....and breath.....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,337 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

So tell us how you REALLY feel about it Trancey :P

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭awanderer

I feel exactely the same :( .

There was a lovely walk from a pier near my house to a nearby beach. I did that walk everyday and mainly met the same people each time: mothers with their babies or toddlers, dog walkers, whole families on week-ends... Except sometimes on week-ends, during festivals or even for weeks in May/june when a camper van appears. Then everyone stops doing that walk because the owner of the camper van lets her dogs (between 6 and 9 of them depending on whether a car arrives with the camper van) roam around the camper van parked on the sand just at the begining of the walk. That camper van appeared again for the first time this year about 3 weeks ago. Some people are afraid of dogs. I love dogs. Even so I would never bring my dog on the lead anywhere he can meet so many dogs off the lead and that do not obey their owner (which last year was barely able to walk with crutches!).
    In addition to that, for the past few weeks, anyone who, having checked that the camper van is not there, decides to do that walk, will be met midway by a little brown terrier and a medium size black dogs which both have great fun barking at people/dogs and pretending to chase them. From time to time those dogs run accross field to their homes.
    My dog is put on the lead everytime we meet people or other dogs on lead. A week ago, we met the medium size black dog, off the lead of course, with one of his owners and her children. The dog did what it always does, run within feet of my dog and run away as soon as my dog reacts. After a few times, I told the owner that my dog was starting to get angry, the owner called her dog, of course without result, and said " she is becoming a bit cheeky" . I told her," I'll have to let my own dog of the lead" and seeing she didn't do/say anything, I finally did let my dog off the lead. Sure enough, the other dog did what it always does in that case: run away and as soon as my dog catches up, fall on its back and yelp as if in pain/fear (my dog never touches that dog). The owner of the dog and the elder child were very upset and told me I should keep my dog under control!
    It is so frustrating :( ! It should be easy: dogs on the lead (or under perfect voice control) when in public places, unless the people met agree for the dog to be off the lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭sm213

In my area I'm actually afraid to bring my dog for a walk as so many dogs just walk around the roads. I don't know how they will react to my dog and wouldn't be able to deal with any confrontation. I have two small kids and would rather not chance the dog being attacked in front of them never mind the risk to them and me.
    There is a group of 3/4 dogs belonging to the halting site up the road that go everywhere together and a pack on a small dog she'd have no chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

Good to know it's not just me, it's sooo bloody frustrating, I must admit if there's an owner around (which in my case there never is) I'd have no hesitation giving them a mouthful, why do some people have to ruin it for everyone!!

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭awanderer

Tranceypoo wrote: »
    Good to know it's not just me, it's sooo bloody frustrating, I must admit if there's an owner around (which in my case there never is) I'd have no hesitation giving them a mouthful, why do some people have to ruin it for everyone!!

I am afraid giving out to the owners doesn't make any difference.
    I gave out to the woman with so many dogs in the camper van ( and those dogs are all IN the camper van when she is away!). Her reply : " they are all rescue and they wouldn't do any harm". When I see a yappy terrier running towards my dog and that yappy terrier is followed by 5 medium to big dogs, am I ready to take the risk that none of those dogs is going to attack my dog if, being on the lead, he ends up reacting to that yappy terrier ? Are parents supposed to take that same risk with their babies? I asked but she only repeated that her dogs were not dangerous.
    As for the medium sized black dog that teases other dogs, its owners previously owned another bigger dog that bit my dog when its owner was walking with him. I got very angry and shouted "Your dog should be on the lead" the owner replied, " No my dog, no my dog ".:rolleyes: . English is not my first language, not even my second language so I am able to recognise a fake "me not speak English":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

Yes you're right actually, they insist that their dogs are ok, 'friendly' etc, soooo not the point!!!!