Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2006 Dl650 Vstrom ~ Opinons?.

• 25-02-2016 7:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Any opinions on this one lads?.

I know I must be driving you all nuts at this stage, sorry :o

Just sitting on the bike and its taller and a hell of a lot more comfortable than my BMW R1100S is, but I'm dropping from an 1100cc to a 650cc ~ I haven't rode an engine this small in years so I'm sort of afraid I'll be disappointed with performance.

Other than that just sitting on it and its sooo fecking comfy compared to the R1100S and any sports tourers I'm rode.

Opinions?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭goodlad

Like you said. Very comfortable and its a miser on juice but your gonna be bored with it.
    Go for a strom 1000 if possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

goodlad wrote: »
    Like you said. Very comfortable and its a miser on juice but your gonna be bored with it.
    Go for a strom 1000 if possible

Is there much difference is size compared with the 1000?.. Miser on juice sounds great after four years with this thing spitting most of its tank out the back in lovely looking and sounding flames lol.

Seriously the R1100S with the Laser exhaust is a fooking guzzler.

I drove a 650 for about 2 hours before I took the 1000 out for a test drive.
    Tbh i didnt find any massive difference in size or weight tbh but rhe 650 had absolutely no fun factor in my opinion. But the 1000 was just as comfortable but way more fun and still very good on juice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

I'm averaging just under 40 mpg on my 2005 DL1000. Mostly short trips commuting in Dublin. Gets about 49/50 mpg on boring motorway runs.

Can't say much about the 650 but you're welcome to take a look at my 1000 if you want a closer look at one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I'm in the minority here but the 650 is a nicer engine, its a lot newer design than the 1000 which was the old TL lump.
    Saying this I must qualify that I actually prefer middleweight bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,086 ✭✭✭✭listermint

getting about 65-70 mpg on the 650. Cant comment on the 1000 but he 650 is a lovely engine specifically in traffic its not lumpy great commuter.

I havent heard the same of the 1000 without making modifications to tps amongst other things to smooth it out. That said it eats up the motorway miles. However the DL650 wouldnt be a slouch. Have had mine 2 up fully loaded and it still goes.

The only thing to do in these situations is ride them all. .... ;)

Sorry I didn't get back to the thread sooner.

I done a deal on a black DL650 VStorm and picking it up Tuesday (hopefully). I was supposed to collect it today but some prick decided to bite me in work last night and now my shoulder/arm is out of commission for a few days.

I was pleasantly surprised how big and comfy it is given its only a 650.

I was more surprised at its reviews, and now I can hardly wait.

Photos to follow :D

Thanks for the replies lads.. And 'Vikings' thanks for offer.

Anyone know any good Vstrom forum's?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

You wont be dissapointed Makki, you really wont. They are a great bike in either engine, no difference in size but with a bigger engine I imagine a weight difference. Really depends what you want from the bike in trying to ascertain if you will bore of it. You will notice the power difference off the bat over the BMW but after a short while you will get around to it.

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    You wont be dissapointed Makki, you really wont. They are a great bike in either engine, no difference in size but with a bigger engine I imagine a weight difference. Really depends what you want from the bike in trying to ascertain if you will bore of it. You will notice the power difference off the bat over the BMW but after a short while you will get around to it.

Cheers.

The BMW was getting pretty uncomfortable for me with its rear sets and clip on's and although not radical my shoulders and elbows aren't what they used to be.

I also detest dealing with BMW, in particular Joe Duffys in Finglas. I hate them.

I'd never even considered a Vstrom but passing a bike dealers during the week I seen the Vstrom and decided it wouldn't do any harm to try it for size, the moment I sat on it I knew the Beemer was a goner ~ and I've only just installed a new rear shock and battery in it, plus I serviced it three weeks ago.

As regards the power, I'd imagine I'll adjust quickly enough.

Tbh I've slowed down and stopped acting the sack after the deaths of a few friends last year, in particular Aidan Lynam ~ since Aidan's death not once have I gotten on the bike and not remembered Aidan (I almost gave up biking the week of his death).

I'm really looking forward to a little comfort and a bike with a decent tank range.

You won't be disappointed, just spent a few hours polishing mine and oiling the chain. They are a lovely bike

IMG_20141129_132747898_HDR_zpswn7xexdt.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭two wheels good

I've not ridden a DL1000 but I've often ridden the DL650 and really like it. As well as economical, it's comfortable and quick enough. Great headlights too.
    The front suspension is a bit budget but I suppose it could be upgraded. Rear brakes are a bit weak; I think it's only single piston.
    They're popular enough that if you decide it's not for you and sell it on you should find a buyer easily. There is an ABS model available too - post 2007 I think.

PS There are alternatives to dealing with a main dealer you don't like? Independent parts suppliers (UK) and a few specialist workshop here.

Thanks for all the replies lads, all very helpful.

Back brake won't be an issue since I probably haven't used one in over twenty years.

Economy, comfort and reliability are my main concerns these days and it would appear as thought the Vstrom has 'em all in bulk.

I've read that the original windshield causes terrible buffeting at motorway speeds, as anyone found the same and did you replace the screen? (where did you purchase the replacement?).

Thanks for all the replies lads, all very helpful.

Back brake won't be an issue since I probably haven't used one in over twenty years.

Economy, comfort and reliability are my main concerns these days and it would appear as thought the Vstrom has 'em all in bulk.

I've read that the original windshield causes terrible buffeting at motorway speeds, as anyone found the same and did you replace the screen? (where did you purchase the replacement?).

I purchased the MadStad bracket second hand from a lad on Vstrom.co.uk and used it for a while with the existing suzuki screen , marginal improvement.

I then purchased a givi Airflow from here (https://www.rad.eu/fr/c/p/28754-givi-pare-brise-airflow-af260.htm) cheapest i could find it new (by far)

I now have all the options front back tilt (madstad) and Up Down etc with Airflow.

I think the Airflow on its own will work wonders. The madstad just gives extra flexibility.

For me the Airflow should be number one on your list.

Yeah the buffeting is awful. For me the stock mirrors were causing 90% of it

I switched the screen to a MRA vario instead if the Givi screen as the MRA is smoked.

But once i changed to mirrors to Tuono mirrors all the buffeting went away

Yeah the buffeting is awful. For me the stock mirrors were causing 90% of it

I switched the screen to a MRA vario instead if the Givi screen as the MRA is smoked.

But once i changed to mirrors to Tuono mirrors all the buffeting went away

That makes sense since the mirrors are so bloody big.

If I experience buffeting I'll try the mirrors first as they're way cheaper than a replacement screen.

I wonder if rider height will have an influence?.. I'm 6'1'' but my posture on a bike is sh*t so I wouldn't be sitting up too tall.

Yeah your height will be a factor. For me the air was coming around the screen, hitting the mirrors and then swirling around the very top of my head. I had awful headaches and blurred vision after about 15 minutes. I could literally duck down about 5 inches and it completely stopped.

The test for me was putting ons hand up on the inside of the mirror to stop the wind. Once i did the buffeting stopped so i knew the mirrors were the problem for me.

If you are taller the mirrors may not help but a screen will. Sure its handy enough to suss out

Yeah your height will be a factor. For me the air was coming around the screen, hitting the mirrors and then swirling around the very top of my head. I had awful headaches and blurred vision after about 15 minutes. I could literally duck down about 5 inches and it completely stopped.

The test for me was putting ons hand up on the inside of the mirror to stop the wind. Once i did the buffeting stopped so i knew the mirrors were the problem for me.

If you are taller the mirrors may not help but a screen will. Sure its handy enough to suss out

Just on that, after putting in a almost two hundred kms I'm not experiencing any more buffeting than any other bike I've owned so I'm sticking with the stock screen and mirrors.

I've bought crash bars (Heed) so I'm waiting for those to arrive, are there any more mods you've found useful for your VSTROM?.

I've been missing the heated grips which I had on my old bike, I can see myself getting some.

And just a tiny review after a few days..

The mirrors are the best I've found on any bike, they're bloody brilliant.

The bike is probably the most comfortable bike I've ever owned, I haven't carried a pillion yet but one up its fantastic.

The back brake, which I don't use anyway, is crap. The front are well up to the job.

The stock exhaust is really quiet, which is a lovely change from the fire breathing Laser race system on the last bike, I'm keeping it but I'll get the heat guard fiber dipped.

With the wide bars and 19 inch front wheel its sooo lazy to corner, its really nice that the front isn't falling into corners and there's a fantastic tight lock on the steering ~ brilliant in traffic.

Power is down on the R1100S, a lot and I can imagine I'll struggle if I'm riding with the few of the lads on a longer trip but the huge tank range will make up for that time lost I suspect.

I don't have honeymoon periods with cars or bikes, but this is fast becoming one of my fav bikes to own to date and in over 25 years biking I've owned more than I can remember.

379620.jpg

379621.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭ifah

Front brakes are absolute crap - I put 4 pot calipers off a CBR600 on mine a few years ago - difference is immense - there's a mod you'll find listed on stromtroopers.

Also - check your fuel flow - the high pressure (fine mesh) fuel filter is built in as part of the fuel pump - I installed an external in-line one and bypassed the one in fuel pump and am getting much higher fuel flow / much better go.

ifah wrote: »
    Front brakes are absolute crap - I put 4 pot calipers off a CBR600 on mine a few years ago - difference is immense - there's a mod you'll find listed on stromtroopers..

My son has an SV650 and I find his front brakes dire, they're the same set up but these are grand ~ that might be down to the brand spanking new discs and pads fitted.

At the moment I don't think the cost of replacing the Vstrom calipers with CBR600 calipers would be very cost effective.

Oh, 'tis grand moving away from the BMW gearbox back to a Jap ~ gear changes are clutchless and silky smooth again :)

Rather than dipping the Heat Shield i painted mine with a rattle can of Truck Bed Paint (the contoured kind. Might sound crazy but it really fits in well with the rest of the system. And also the finish of it make it incredibly durable for my saddle bags. Il post a pic if i have one.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Deliberator

I rode a 2005 DL650 Vstrom for one year, before upgrading last month to a Kawasaki Zephyr 1000. I also founf the mirrors to be grand, but they had rusted at the joint and wouldn't lend themselves to easy adjustment. I had read about an 'upgrade' to Tuono mirrors, and I ended up buying a pair for £20Stg through Amazon and used Parcel Motel for a 'UK' address and convenience.

These were an easy on the wallet and I feel also improved the look of the bike - http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00W9EGF9K?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I've bought crash bars (Heed) so I'm waiting for those to arrive, are there any more mods you've found useful for your VSTROM?.

I have a '14 DL650 and although they came out with a new model in 2012, there is very little difference between it and the previous model years.

First mod I got was a givi airflow, as the new model had the same buffeting problem with the stock windscreen.
    Then the next thing on my list was a skid plate, as that oil filter is so exposed sticking out behind the front wheel. One misplaced stone kicked up from the road and you're stranded if it gets penetrated.

Happy riding!

Stephen wrote: »
    I have a '14 DL650 and although they came out with a new model in 2012, there is very little difference between it and the previous model years.

First mod I got was a givi airflow, as the new model had the same buffeting problem with the stock windscreen.
    Then the next thing on my list was a skid plate, as that oil filter is so exposed sticking out behind the front wheel. One misplaced stone kicked up from the road and you're stranded if it gets penetrated.

Happy riding!

Cheers, thanks for that.

Maybe its my height or because I've rode naked bikes for years but I'm really not finding a problem with buffeting.

I've fit engine bars yesterday, and I've a sump guard coming from the same company (HEED).

380106.jpg

I'll buy a radiator guard too (there's a few dents from pebble strikes in the rad).

Other than that I guess there'll be a few small things I'll add as I see them.

Something to note is the incredible fuel consumption I'm getting.

I've done 190km since my last fill up and its still showing 3/4 tank on the fuel gauge. I'd have filled up 40km ago on my last bike (BMW R1100S).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

The v-stroms look like savage bikes. I'd love a shot of one, if we had a suzuki dealer willing to do test rides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

Wow, somehow I missed this thread. I’ve always heard positive reviews when it comes to the Vstrom.

Even though it’s been available in Europe for awhile we just got the Honda VFR1200X a few months ago in the States. This would have been a serious contender when I made the decision to buy the GS Adventure.

http://powersports.honda.com/2016/vfr1200x.aspx

Maki, we need more pics :)

I've got a sump guard/bash plate in the post, as soon as that's on I'll take a ride somewhere nice for a few photos :D

Thats a mint looking bike Maki. Seriously clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭Fabio

Wow, somehow I missed this thread. I’ve always heard positive reviews when it comes to the Vstrom.

Even though it’s been available in Europe for awhile we just got the Honda VFR1200X a few months ago in the States. This would have been a serious contender when I made the decision to buy the GS Adventure.

http://powersports.honda.com/2016/vfr1200x.aspx

Beautiful bikes those VFR12x.....

I've got a sump guard/bash plate in the post, as soon as that's on I'll take a ride somewhere nice for a few photos :D

Woops, I forgot I said I'd post more pix with the bash plate.

Well here it is;

382554.jpg

Only other thing fitted and hardly worth mentioning is a GoPro mount on the rightside engine bars.