Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,671 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Shevchenko could be a value underdog here. Nunes is rounded but prefers to strike. Shevchenko should dominate in a stand up fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

I still get sleepy when I think of Elkins fight against Robert Whiteford in Dublin. Expecting more of the same here if Elkins gets the upper hand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

lougal88 wrote: »
    Or name drops Eddie Bravo

Yeah guarantee anyone near getting a tap rogan will blow his load early as usual and your man escapes 90% of the time

''ITS OVER HES GOT HIM THE CHOKE IS ON''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Mellor wrote: »
    Shevchenko could be a value underdog here. Nunes is rounded but prefers to strike. Shevchenko should dominate in a stand up fight.

Agreed big time. Nunes is a brawler.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Skelly not having a good time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭quainy

1st round either way..
    2nd round Elkins..

Skelly needs to win this last round convincingly to even have a half chance at a W.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Decided to watch the fights in bed but the missus is here and wasn't interested so I'm in the spare room tonight, I've just discovered that my spare bed is more comfortable than my master bedroom bed... I may never leave...

Ufc 197 is on soon, might not be worth leaving lol

quainy wrote: »
    Ufc 197 is on soon, might not be worth leaving lol

I can work from home, so it's not completely unrealistic to just make a fort in here and only leave for food, showers and peepee poopoos

Elkins dominating him after the first, some man for grinding someone down! Thought Skelly was going to take it when he got his leg early on.

Elkins was pretty impressive there. I'm going 30-27.

I can work from home, so it's not completely unrealistic to just make a fort in here and only leave for food, showers and peepee poopoos

Buy a mini fridge and get Tesco groceries delivered through the window... That's the food situation sorted too!

Elkins will probably take that 30-27 unanimously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Elkins very impressive there. I have him winning 29-27 anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭14murphy

Similar situation on holidays in Paris with herself. Have made base camp on hotel floor and have raided the mini bar. Her card not mine.:D

Lights On wrote:
    Elkins dominating him after the first, some man for grinding someone down! Thought Skelly was going to take it when he got his leg early on.

So did Joe Rogan lol!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

How many fights have there been so far ?

Bret Hart wrote: »
    How many fights have there been so far ?

This is the fifth.

KO on the way here shortly for miranda surely.

John_D80 wrote: »
    KO on the way here shortly for miranda surely.

Timing!!

Lights On wrote: »
    Timing!!

LOL my stream must be a bit behind yours I think!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Nice finish from Patrick Stewart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

Nice head kick there from Jonjo Shelvey.

Thank God for that Ko.. That fight got stale quickly...

The way Joe says bowoooom! gas

Vicious elbows. Shades of McGregor v Mendes (except on the feet). Great head kick and combo afterwards. Gorgeous technique.

This is the fifth.

Elkins v Skelly the last of the Prelims ?

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭lougal88

Paully D wrote: »
    Nice finish from Patrick Stewart.

KO... Make it so

"I've already seen everything"

His translator looks like he could throw a few digs himself!

14murphy wrote: »
    Similar situation on holidays in Paris with herself. Have made base camp on hotel floor and have raided the mini bar. Her card not mine.:D

Fúck it, go full hog and get yourself a UFC 200 ticket. If you're gonna get dumped, do it in style my man. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭tinpib

So Joe asks a question in English, which isn't translated, and yer man says what he wants in Portuguese?

An innovative approach.

EDIT: TBF most interviews in English follow the same pattern.

As do interviews with politicians, I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭14murphy

That_Guy wrote: »
    Fúck it, go full hog and get yourself a UFC 200 ticket. If you're gonna get dumped, do it in style my man. :pac:

That could be a plan. Anyone need half price tickets ?

tinpib wrote:
    So Joe asks a question in English, which isn't translated, and yer man says what he wants in Portuguese?

tinpib wrote:
    An innovative approach.

The best ones are when the translator messes up and answers something entirely different to what was asked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Dat flinch doe
    Screen_Shot_2016_03_06_at_00_27_32.jpg

Frankie is visibly seething while talking about the McGregor fight for Fox Sports. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭lougal88

Should be another good fight. Silva usually comes out of the blocks like a greyhound. Watch for a quick takedown and possible sub win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Dat flinch doe
    Screen_Shot_2016_03_06_at_00_27_32.jpg

Flinching means nothing in a stare down. Just cause Conor jumped doesn't mean he was scared.

Supposedly Leo Di Caprio is in attendance. Imagine that after party if Conor wins.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I can't stay awake any longer, off to bed. Enjoy the fights lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

i see that pain in the hole MGM security guy is on tonight

Davei141 wrote:
    Flinching means nothing in a stare down. Just cause Conor jumped doesn't mean he was scared.

Yeah, besides, Nate done that magic trick, "Coca cola is a drink......"

Davei141 wrote: »

He tried the same thing in another thread. Just looking for a reaction I reckon.

Ha don't give me that - he's lucky Diaz was held back. Hard streets of Crumlin me arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Should be another good fight. Silva usually comes out of the blocks like a greyhound. Watch for a quick takedown and possible sub win

Get off Boards, Erick. You have a fight to prep for.

Ha don't give me that - he's lucky the Diaz was held back. Hard streets of Crumlin me arse

Why is he lucky? Diaz would have hit him? Lost his license and all the money in his bank?... Pretty sure they held Nate back for his own sake... You know.. A professional fighter like McGregor could take a punch..... Bankruptcy would hit Diaz much harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

McGregor shows very little respect to people by having his fights on so late. I know his Irish fans probably don't care, but I'm surprised the US followers don't complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,671 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Canadel wrote: »
    McGregor shows very little respect to people by having his fights on so late. I know his Irish fans probably don't care, but I'm surprised the US followers don't complain.

Time to learn about timezones

Sneaky prick. That was a dirty move.

I might have too down a few more cans of red bull,eyes are getting very heavy.

quainy wrote: »
    Why is he lucky? Diaz would have hit him? Lost his license and all the money in his bank?... Pretty sure they held Nate back for his own sake... You know.. A professional fighter like McGregor could take a punch..... Bankruptcy would hit Diaz much harder.
    What has money got to do with it?