Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'didn't vote' thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

jive wrote: »
    One thing about our voting system is it's archaic. I had to travel abroad for 2 days for work and I can't vote in the general election, really mental shît when you think about the technology we have at our disposal in this day and age. We have robot dogs doing backflips and I can't even poke in a few digits on an electronic voting sheet of some form, mad.

It happens once every 5 years, and there's enough time in advance to know if you're going to be out of the country or not during the vote in order for you to prepare.

Patww79 wrote: »

You completely missed the point, which leads me to believe that it's a good thing that you probably didn't vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Of course you don't have to, but you still should. Even if you're determined to believe that all politicians are liars and nothing changes at a national level, you could easily research which candidate will advocate for your area most strongly.

I'm assuming you don't think all politicians are of exactly the same level of ability; so you could have chosen the one(s) with the strongest work ethic. Or voted against the ones you dislike the most.

Apathy, laziness and cynicism- not a good combination.

Champion Socialists. No voting and let the far right in like Le Pen in France than do an abrupt turn and start voting for est candidates.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Sheeps wrote:
    Given that the 40% of the country that don't vote could swing which party gets elected one way or another, the outcome to those who don't vote could be the exact same as the scenario I described above.

I suspect that the established parties are secretly rubbing their hands with glee about that. The #HometoVote crowd may have seriously upset the political apple cart.

I just don't understand why people have no interest in the country they live in, how it's run and indeed who runs it. Take a look at North Korea and see exactly what happens when you have no say. Truly baffled by that line of thinking.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Patww79 wrote:

Actually the point is that there is NO voting in North Korea. It's run by a maniacal dictator. Although I expect that wouldn't bother you

Hahah nice try, troll. Nobody says things that dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I don't think you know much about how North Korea works.

Patww79 wrote:

I'm actually glad you didn't vote if that's your mindset.

Digging to China so he is.

5 years of you not giving out about the government, because you cant, because you didn't vote. Going to enjoy this peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Can't see why people won't make the effort. You can't really complain about how the country is run if you don't vote. I wouldn't make it compulsory though but a charge should apply say 50 euro or a % of what you are paid..? Those who are vote elect the policy makers so this should pass...

Well that's not true. The process involves voting different people into office one of the benefits is that new candidates can bring skills and experience and replace the tired haggard [EMAIL="TD@s"]TD's[/EMAIL]. We also have a PR system that puts us near the top in the world in terms of democracy by allowing us selecting a range of potential politicians from across the country. Other countries have a party list and are put forward automatically. Others require delegates or Congress to decide on candidates. This dilutes the choice of eligible candidates to a small number of highly positioned people within the major parties.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Zaph wrote: »
    If someone can't vote because of circumstances then that's fair enough. But if you choose not to vote then please excuse me if I tell you I couldn't give a rat's arse about your opinions on the government and what a crap job they're doing.

Is that really fair though? A lot of people are disillusioned with all of the parties. They are all promising jobs, growth, lower taxes and better services. Some offer more growth, or to tax people who arent you so that you dont oay any tax, but the formula is more or less the same.

Then its hard to believe that they will stick to their promises, and hrd to believe they wont go on the same carry on of appointing their wives as parliamentary assistants and thei election agents as judges.

What I would like is an honest choice between a party that will reduce tax and spending and a aparty that will increase tax and spending. Or a politician that would be genuinely embarrased and resign if they were caught using parliamentary expenses for party purposes, or encourage the prosecution of tds/councillors who commit criminal offences.

I cant think of any party thats offering anything like that, bar maybe the social democrats. Even they face the problem of growing too quickly and not having enough viable candidates or local support. And to be honest, other than Donnelly, Im not convinced that they wouldnt be up to the same old tricks if they actually got into power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

You just hate politics which is fine. The system has let you down and that should not be allowed to happen to other citizens. It is incredible arrogant to believe that all politicians are liars. That is a broad generalisation. Like saying all bankers are corrupt, all post officer workers are lazy and all priests are scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

Cant vote because I am in the UK at the moment but I would certainly have voted had I been home. I will always vote where ever and whenever I can.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭shugy

Didn't vote but hope to SF win the election just to throw a spanner in the works in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

shugy wrote: »
    Didn't vote but hope to SF win the election just to throw a spanner in the works in this country

We'd certainly be in for an interesting next 5 years, that's for sure.

They'd either turn the country into a utopian paradise, or a wasteland, depending on who you listen to.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I did vote but it matters little for general elections.

At some point over the weekend we'll find out which flavour of FG/FF won this time and nothing will subsequently get better or get worse either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

jimgoose wrote: »
    Adolescent, pseudo-intellectual, half-educated foolery is what it is.

Oh be gorrah and begin :) is it yourself indeed jimgoose :) and if everything you say ishnt half a jolk then wud ya be talking at all at all at all ya wee diveleen ya. :)

Ah I'm only joking ya Jim. I think your great. Ya big auld goose ya!!! :):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

People can form an opinion on the government as much as they wish, regardless of their choice to vote or not. They can also complain all they want too, voting doesn't give your opinion anymore validation that those people who didn't vote, whatever that reason may be.

Some posters here have said that there was nobody they deemed worthy enough of receiving their vote, yet they are still chastised.

Some people are abroad and others just haven't the slightest interest in voting. If they decide not to vote, then so be it. I don't blame them either, politics is a load of arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    All politicians are liars. All bankers are corrupt, all post officer workers are lazy and all priests are scum.

A near perfect summation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Elessar wrote: »
    Anyone else not vote in this general election? I honestly have no interest in politics at all and haven't the foggiest about any of the candidates in my area, never even heard of half of them. I do vote in general, with issues I care about i.e. constitutional changes, but politics? Nope. No interest.

I got a stern talking to from family earlier and put on a guilt trip about it, but I'm sticking to my guns. Anyone else not bothered?

No interest on something that will probably have a massive effect on you?

Music + Literature > Politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

People who do not vote, because they are genuinely apathetic, should be regarded as silly individuals. Perhaps pitied.

People who do not vote because they feel alienated from politics - "it's all crap, man" - and who feel their lack of engagement contributes in any way to a change in the aspects of political life or culture that they don't find engaging in the first place - not to mention their own credibility - are a class of moron that are only worthy of disdain. I hate these clowns.

Well done lads on having a political position that means precisely nothing and takes zero effort. You do realise that every other vote counts double next to you?

Arghus wrote: »
    People who do not vote, because they are genuinely apathetic, should be regarded as silly individuals. Perhaps pitied.

People who do not vote because they feel alienated from politics - "it's all crap, man" - and who feel their lack of engagement contributes in any way to a change in the aspects of political life or culture that they don't find engaging in the first place - not to mention their own credibility - are a class of moron that are only worthy of disdain. I hate these clowns.

Well done lads on having a political position that means precisely nothing and takes zero effort. You do realise that every other vote counts double next to you?

And you voted for Michael Lowry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

I don't understand if people don't vote, how can they not complain? They didn't vote them in.

Couldn't vote, I didn't move my address from my home county to where I am now.

But even if I could, I wouldn't know what to vote for. Vote for the top four, you're screwed anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Time for a 50 euro fine for anyone who does not vote without a valid reason. Having only a 60% voting turnout is disgraceful. They should also extend the voting period for atleast over the weekend so everyone has a good chance to get there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

I do have a valid reason, I would not vote for the lying scum if you paid me 50 quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Not allowed to vote this time, no longer resident in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,968 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

[MM]I'll say it again one more time:

I. don't. vote. because. I. don't. think. anything. will. change. even. if. I. do.

You want to vote? Fair play, knock yourself out. I'm only sorry I couldn't sell mine to someone that is of such a view.[/MM

That's. Because. People. Like. You. Don't. Vote.

Change can't happen unless we make it happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

it looks like 35% of the population didn't vote in the end.

Imagine if all of those voted? It could change things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

NIMAN wrote: »
    it looks like 35% of the population didn't vote in the end.

Imagine if all of those voted? It could change things.

For the worse, People make out the alternatives are going to change things They're just as bad, that is the state of Irish politics and I refuse to support it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

Benteke wrote: »
    For the worse, People make out the alternatives are going to change things They're just as bad, that is the state of Irish politics and I refuse to support it

I completely with you. You're only voting for lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Wow. Some of the reactions on this thread are ranging between over-reaction and extreme! Some of you really need to calm down about voting. I'm not sure what there is to be gained by being a condescending, insulting narc about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Oh be gorrah and begin :) is it yourself indeed jimgoose :) and if everything you say ishnt half a jolk then wud ya be talking at all at all at all ya wee diveleen ya. :)

Ah I'm only joking ya Jim. I think your great. Ya big auld goose ya!!! :):):)

Er, quite. Thank you indeed. I hope you got off your arse in the finish and voted. Like many people this time there weren't many I could credibly vote for, but a few to vote against. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

The sooner AI takes over the better. Our political system is cringe inducing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Benteke wrote: »

That's fair enough but what about issues you do care about?

Do you not think it'd help to have people in the Dáil who might be sympathetic to your views?

I know a lot of people who were only voting for people who wanted to repeal the 8th amendment for instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,239 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Cork Lass wrote: »
    [MM]I'll say it again one more time:

I. don't. vote. because. I. don't. think. anything. will. change. even. if. I. do.

You want to vote? Fair play, knock yourself out. I'm only sorry I couldn't sell mine to someone that is of such a view.[/MM

That's. Because. People. Like. You. Don't. Vote.

Change can't happen unless we make it happen

But you and I 'can't 'make it happen.' Our voting system does not amount to democracy. It's little more than a binary choice and those elected can and do renege on their supposed promises and policies regularly. The Swiss have democracy, just look what it can do - the defeat of political correctness and no mosques with minarets. If you want to talk about mirroring that political system then I would get all revved up.

Given modern security technologies, we could have true democracy via the internet. Can you imagine how much money that would save? On big issues we, like the Swiss, could force a plebiscite and the politicians would be actually beholden to the will of the people rather than making themselves look good to their eurocracy peers. Just look at water charges - how'd 'making it happen' work out there?

Do you remember the utter fiasco for democracy that was the Lisbon treaty? We rejected it and were then dragged back to the polls again to get it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,239 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

carzony wrote: »
    Time for a 50 euro fine for anyone who does not vote without a valid reason. Having only a 60% voting turnout is disgraceful. They should also extend the voting period for atleast over the weekend so everyone has a good chance to get there.

Then you just have to pay the counters extra to handle the 45% of spoiled votes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    For 13 hours straight, without a break?

I hope I never see any of the usernames here who admitted not caring enough to vote complaining about the state of the country/government/politicians for however long the next administration lasts.

(FWIW, I think it won't even get off the ground, we'll be back here within the next six months!)

Seriously, get off your high horse. You think voting for any of the crap parties is going to mean a happy ending? Get real.

We are all entitled to feel let down and disillusioned.

If people don't want to vote, it's their choice. You may not like it, but it's a fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I didn't vote because I live abroad and I don't have the money to come home to commit electoral fraud.
    I can only vote for local elections here so I've decided to apply for French citizenship in order to vote. I pay tax, government decisions affect me, and I feel a bit silly complaining about a government that I had nothing to do with electing or not.