Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Remind me never to have children

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Hey Hammer89 - remember not to have children mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

If I've taken anything from this thread, it's headphones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Because nursing a hangover every Sunday is a much better way of living your life than raising kids.

I'd rather have a hangover once a week than a child 24/7. Incredibly easy choice. At least with the hangover you wake up the next day and it's gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

The League Cup is a "massive" game of football now?

Conclavs wrote: »
    I think monogomy in general kills peoples souls, you can see the twinkle in their eyes slowly fade as the years go by. We aren't supposed to be monogomous, it really isn't good for people spiritually and mentally.

That's why swingers have happier relationships.

Conclavs wrote: »
    I think monogomy in general kills peoples souls, you can see the twinkle in their eyes slowly fade as the years go by. We aren't supposed to be monogomous, it really isn't good for people spiritually and mentally.

I agree. Mahogany just isn't right for everyone. A lot of people get board with it. They pine for other people. I guess yew could say that man is just not supposed to be Mahogamous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd rather have a hangover once a week than a child 24/7. Incredibly easy choice. At least with the hangover you wake up the next day and it's gone.

It's not something you aspire to though is it?

You don't wake up in the morning with a clear head and think, Jesus I wish I was in bits right now so I can have the banter with me mates about how large I was giving it last night, innit? Boing boing, blindo!!!

I think anybody in their thirties with that type of attitude is maybe just a wee bit sad.

Dying of a hangover on a Sunday is grand at 25, at 35 it's a bit sad. You don't need to have kids to be an adult- but you do need to move past that stage.

Are you serious? Dying of a hangover at 35 is a bit sad? An incredibly judgemental statement.

You don't wake up in the morning with a clear head and think, Jesus I wish I was in bits right now so I can have the banter with me mates about how large I was giving it last night, innit? Boing boing, blindo!!!

I think anybody in their thirties with that type of attitude is maybe just a wee bit sad.

It's 'bantz', granddad.

Are you serious? Dying of a hangover at 35 is a bit sad? An incredibly judgemental statement.

Lads stop fighting.

It's possible to be both bored by your own children in the pub on a Sunday afternoon AND be dying of a hangover at the same time!

It's 'bantz', granddad.

Yeah, worse again! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

It's 'bantz', granddad.

he's your granddad too? welcome my backward brother.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=93929767&postcount=4

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    It's possible to be both bored by your own children in the pub on a Sunday afternoon AND be dying of a hangover at the same time!

And especially as it was a woman slash master of multitasking.

Robsweezie wrote: »
    he's your granddad too? welcome my backward brother.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=93929767&postcount=4

My grandbrother from another grandmother.

*Hugs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭hurleronditch

As a young single childless person, the only people I actually feel sorry for are the parents involved, for they had to share a public house with a grown adult who thinks wearing a football jersey socially is an acceptable thing to do.

Did he have his favourite players name and number on the back?

Maybe his mammy ironed the premier league badges on the sleeves for him too?

Lads stop fighting.

I'm not fighting. My response is perfectly valid.

And especially as it was a woman slash master of multitasking.

To be fair. I know a lot of Dads who are experts at the being hungover/being bored on a Sunday trick.

The trick is you have to put in the prep on Saturday night when the kids go to sleep. I know it seems silly but preparation on Saturday night will really make your Sunday so it will. First off get the cheapest crate of beer Tesco has on offer. It doesn't really matter what swill it is after the first five cans you won't notice.
    Then get a few large bags of crisps (if you eat a meal it'll really diminish the Sunday experience, so try to stick to snacks only).

As the night wears on you might be tempted to stop drinking and go to bed at a reasonable hour. DO NOT DO THIS. Even if there's nothing on TV and no good films to watch you must keep drinking. A good tip is to watch footage of children falling over on Youtube to amuse yourself. After Can Number 8 anything involving a small child being lightly injured will seem hilarious to you.

Around two or three your choices are twofold, either stumble upstairs, check on the kids (farting horribly in their room as you do) and then collapse into bed beside your (hopefully similarly drunk partner) or (and this is my favourite) simply pass out on the couch with your hand down the front of your pants, mid-scratch.

In the morning it'll all be worth it, trust me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭thattequilagirl

Ice Maiden wrote: »
    No it isn't if it's not too frequent. Particularly when a person is more likely to get hangovers at 35 than at 25!

The judgmentalness on this thread!

Fair enough- but Hammer89s proposition that we all spend our Sundays hungover and never have children sounds woefully sad to me. Yeah, if it's an occasional thing, grand, but not every weekend. By the way, did you not find the original post pretty judgemental of parents?

I'm not fighting. My response is perfectly valid.

Alright, but use your indoor voice or Uncle AnonoBoy will have to send you to bed early, ok?

Fair enough- but Hammer89s proposition that we all spend our Sundays hungover and never have children sounds woefully sad to me. Yeah, if it's an occasional thing, grand, but not every weekend. By the way, did you not find the original post pretty judgemental of parents?

Never having children sounds woefully sad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Emmadilema123

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Before today, I was quite keen on fatherhood. I loved the idea of being a dad, but all that changed this afternoon.

I'm in the pub watching the football. This isn't a particularly sporty pub; my mate was the only one wearing a football jersey, while most of the people around us seemed far too interested in their carveries to notice that a massive football match was taking place on the telly.

I had to keep my cuss words to a minimum because the place was full of more nuclear families than Pripyat. I was interested in the match, but I was a lot more interested in observing how miserable the mothers looked. We're talking middle-class young mothers, say late 20s or early 30s, and they looked heart-breakingly fed up with life.

They'd sit lazily with their elbow on the table, the palm of their hand pressed against the side of their head, like a teenage girl in Geography class, just waiting to die more or less. It looked as if they had realised their life was basically over. They're slowly but surely getting old.

They used to spend their Sundays nursing hangovers and discussing the wild and hilarious stories from the night before. Now they're the types who go for Sunday lunches with their older husbands and think: 'if only I made him wear a johnny'. I wanted to hug them. Seriously.

Never have children. They might seem like a good idea, but they're expensive and sooner or later you'll think 'actually, this is a bit sh*t'. I'd liken them to Beats by Dre. Just don't bother.

The biggest problem here is they have taken their children to a pub! Pub is no fun with children! I would rather chew on glass for the afternoon than take my kids to the pub! Id sit there watching everyone else enjoying their liquid lunches wishing I was doing the same!
    -
    I like to take my children for dinner in more family friendly places like tgis! I love seeing them engaging with the staff, being excited about their smiley face potatoes, bit of colouring and a baloon!

They key to enjoying children is providing days out that are suitable and then enjoying their enjoyment! Disneyland is a blast with kids! :-)

Never having children sounds woefully sad?

These threads are great. They always descend into:

"Well I don't want kids so why would anyone else want them? They're IDIOTS!!!"

.... "WHAT? I have kids so I don't understand why anyone wouldn't want them. They're IDIOTS!!!!"

Lovely stuff.

To be fair. I know a lot of Dads who are experts at the being hungover/being bored on a Sunday trick.

The trick is you have to put in the prep on Saturday night when the kids go to sleep. I know it seems silly but preparation on Saturday night will really make your Sunday so it will. First off get the cheapest crate of beer Tesco has on offer. It doesn't really matter what swill it is after the first five cans you won't notice.
    Then get a few large bags of crisps (if you eat a meal it'll really diminish the Sunday experience, so try to stick to snacks only).

As the night wears on you might be tempted to stop drinking and go to bed at a reasonable hour. DO NO DO THIS. Even if there's nothing on TV and no good films to watch you must keep drinking. A good tip is to watch footage of children falling over on Youtube to amuse yourself. After Can Number 8 anything involving a small child being lightly injured will seem hilarious to you.

Around two or three your choices are twofold, either stumble upstairs, check on the kids (farting horribly in their room as you do)
    and then collapse into bed beside your (hopefully similarly drunk partner) or (and this is my favourite) simply pass out on the couch with your hand down the front of your pants, mid-scratch.

In the morning it'll all be worth it, trust me!

The bits in bold probably go hand in hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

By the way, did you not find the original post pretty judgemental of parents?
    Yes I did, and I said it to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Ibtl here tbh

No of course if I wake up hangover-free, I don't wish I was hungover :confused: Who does???

But I'm not going to give up my nights out and the resulting hangovers just because I'm in my 30s. I'm childless, in a relationship (with someone who doesn't want children either), and I have a great social life. I am hungover a few times a month, but so? I have great nights to show for them, and I don't consider my life unfulfilling because that's how I choose to spend some of my weekends. I value regular lie-ins, freedom, independence, frequent sex, lazy Sundays, spontaneity and all the other things that being childless has to offer.

That doesn't mean that I think I'm happier than people with children. I know that most parents find having children very fulfilling despite the hardships that come with it.

There are times that I look at friends/family members with children and think that they're lucky. And I know there are times they look at my life and think that I'm lucky. But I've made my decision and I'm happy with it. Everyone's different, so just live and let live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Ah yer1 is just doing it all wrong.
    Doubt it's the kid(s) that's the issue anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

No of course if I wake up hangover-free, I don't wish I was hungover :confused: Who does???

But I'm not going to give up my nights out and the resulting hangovers just because I'm in my 30s. I'm childless, in a relationship (with someone who doesn't want children either), and I have a great social life. I am hungover a few times a month, but so? I have great nights to show for them, and I don't consider my life unfulfilling because that's how I choose to spend some of my weekends. I value regular lie-ins, freedom, independence, frequent sex, lazy Sundays, spontaneity and all the other things that being childless has to offer.

That doesn't mean that I think I'm happier than people with children. I know that most parents find having children very fulfilling despite the hardships that come with it.

There are times that I look at friends/family members with children and think that they're lucky. And I know there are times they look at my life and think that I'm lucky. But I've made my decision and I'm happy with it. Everyone's different, so just live and let live.

The parents in this thread are coming across a bit spiteful imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Asmooh

I'm in the pub watching the football.
    I hate football

We're talking middle-class young mothers, say late 20s or early 30s, and they looked heart-breakingly fed up with life.
    Thats a good age to have kids

They used to spend their Sundays nursing hangovers
    This is their main issue.

The way I saw the original post was a bit of humour around what the OP observes in a pub on a Sunday afternoon. I took it with a box of salt. Also I really don't think he meant that he enjoys being hungover, rather the freedom he has to get to that place and then spend the Sunday looking after said hangover as he pleases.

Your comment regarding people who are hungover at 35 didn't strike me at all as being funny. Have a few pints. Let yourself go. Who knows you might relax a bit and enjoy yourself.

Alright, but use your indoor voice or Uncle AnonoBoy will have to send you to bed early, ok?

I DON'T WANT TO GO TO BED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*kicks Uncle Anono in the shins*

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

I have two kids who will grow up, take my house and dump me in some sh1tty home for the bewildered.
    I have experienced love for my wife, parents, siblings and a number of close friends but all of that pales into insignificance compared to the love I feel for my children. I also saw the match yesterday and am hungover today. Life takes different paths for different people. Live it and enjoy.

I must say I did fight the giving up the nights out thing, even a few months after my daughter was born I was doing one night a week on the tear, 4 or 5am stuff, saying fatherhood wouldn't change me. But it has, that stuff just became...less important. But hate parents who prescribe the wonders of parenthood to others and preach about lifestyles, it's a personal thing, it's of little interest to those others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Some people want to have kids.

Some people don't want to have kids.

There, that's all quite easy to grasp now, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

So if it was not a "foreign" sport?
    What have you got against sport anyway?

It was in this case so my opinion remains valid.

Absolutely nothing against sport, partake in many different sports myself. I however, do not go to the pub to watch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Emmadilema123

I must say I did fight the giving up the nights out thing, even a few months after my daughter was born I was doing one night a week on the tear, 4 or 5am stuff, saying fatherhood wouldn't change me. But it has, that stuff just became...less important. But hate parents who prescribe the wonders of parenthood to others and preach about lifestyles, it's a personal thing, it's of little interest to those others.

My husband is still fighting it and im very close to having our 3rd lol truth is you don't have to give any of that up entirely if a couple can compromise!

My husband is off to Belgium in a few weeks with his friends! Ill have a hard weekend with recovering from childbirth with 3 small children but its important to him and ill stick that in the bank for when I really want to do something lol

ill stick that in the bank for when I really want to do something lol

And tell him to stop sticking it in the bank :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭deadybai

I'd much rather have a carvery than to be nursing a hangover

The way I saw the original post was a bit of humour around what the OP observes in a pub on a Sunday afternoon. I took it with a box of salt. Also I really don't think he meant that he enjoys being hungover, rather the freedom he has to get to that place and then spend the Sunday looking after said hangover as he pleases.

Your comment regarding people who are hungover at 35 didn't strike me at all as being funny. Have a few pints. Let yourself go. Who knows you might relax a bit and enjoy yourself.

The perception that I don't let go or enjoy myself because I don't drink genuinely pisses me off. I go on two luxury holidays a year with the money others choose to spend in pubs, regular weekends away. When I'm not away I spend my weekends with my extended family, meet friends for lunch, stroll around town and do a bit of shopping. It's a quiet but contented life. I did enough of the out til 5am, crazy stories stuff in college and my early 20s. It doesn't interest me now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The perception that I don't let go or enjoy myself because I don't drink genuinely pisses me off. I go on two luxury holidays a year with the money others choose to spend in pubs, regular weekends away. When I'm not away I spend my weekends with my extended family, meet friends for lunch, stroll around town and do a bit of shopping. It's a quiet but contented life. I did enough of the out til 5am, crazy stories stuff in college and my early 20s. It doesn't interest me now.

And that's good for you, fair play to you. A lot of us go out once a week or so, enjoy ourselves, get a bit drunk, come home and either wake up sick or right as rain. No big deal, no life being ruined, no harm to themselves or other people.
    Just because some people might be a recovering alcoholic, and drank to excess to deal with other issues in their life doesn't mean all people are like that. And preaching to people about what you percieve to be right or wrong is really just your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Different strokes for different folks

I drove my kids to the beach yesterday to look for starfish and crabs in the rock pools.

On the drive there, I laughed and smiled the whole way as my 4 and 2 year old girls headbanged to System of a down and The Music on the car stereo

Kids are a lot of work, they do limit your life choices, but raising a child is also incredibly rewarding

My 6 year old son just lost his first baby tooth and he was so proud that he's growing up. Having children is like experiencing life from a completely different perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

Absolutely. Your life sounds great and a person certainly does not need alcohol to enjoy their life. I don't drink much anymore and enjoy feeling fresh on a Sunday morning. But really, saying it's "sad" (incidentally the people who keep passive aggressively saying "it's a bit sad" in relation to any lifestyle choice - so spiteful!) to have a hangover in your 30s - how were you ok with saying that when you don't like people judging you?!

The parents in this thread are coming across a bit spiteful imo

I'm not a parent and I've no intention of ever becoming one, but I find the connotation in the OP that most parents regret having kids because they can no longer go on the lash to be a bit inflammatory. It's all grand claiming it was all in jest when the backlash came, but it seems he's highlighted an attitude that many seem to share

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Just reminding you OP don't have kids!?

I know you don't want to end up a bored 30 year old mother in a pub sitting with your family when you should be off drinking !

And that's good for you, fair play to you. A lot of us go out once a week or so, enjoy ourselves, get a bit drunk, come home and either wake up sick or right as rain. No big deal, no life being ruined, no harm to themselves or other people.
    Just because some people might be a recovering alcoholic, and drank to excess to deal with other issues in their life doesn't mean all people are like that. And preaching to people about what you percieve to be right or wrong is really just your opinion.

It's 100% opinion, I'm not trying to present it as anything else. In fact, every reply on here is just someone's opinion, including your own.

I have many friends that go out every week or two and get drunk (I often join them as I love live music and dancing) and even they often say what a waste of a day a hangover is. There's nothing wrong with doing it every now and then, but it's nothing to aspire to either.

I dare say your own opinion on it will be fairly different five years from now.

It doesn't interest you, but it interests other people. Calling other people sad because they don't do the things you do and then getting annoyed when someone gives you similar treatment is hypocritical.

I go on luxury holidays too, I meet friends for lunch, I spend time with people I love, I have a fantastic family and amazing friends. Sometimes I give up drink for a month or two. I also run, I lift weights, I did my first marathon last year (and so gave up getting drunk for a good chunk of the year) and will hopefully do another one this year as well as my first triathlon and my first adventure race. I plan on doing a half ironman next year. I have had children, and I've lost two kids in a car accident, so I know just how precious they are, but that certainly doesn't mean that I think it's in any way pathetic not to have them. Nor do I think that it's acceptable to look down my nose on people who have different joys and interests to me. If sitting in a pub on a Sunday afternoon watching a match is what makes you happy, then why wouldn't you do it?

It's possible to do all of those things btw, you don't have to choose, I sat Saturday afternoon and watched the rugby, I was also a little hungover - shock horror. You could have sat back and judged me if you had seen me giggling out of the pub on Saturday afternoon, and how wrong you would have been with your judgement.

At least the OP was being lighthearted and admitted later he didn't mean it in any way to offend, he also even apologised for anyone he had upset!

Subsequent posts though, have been awfully nasty and judgmental.

Look there is absolutely nothing wrong with that whatsoever. My last comment was provocative and for that I apologise. I was simply trying to get you to see that some people do indeed enjoy nights out regardless of them being 35 or 45 or whatever. Every person is different and different things make them happy. Age shouldn't be an issue when it comes to enjoying your life how you see fit. If a 50 year old wants to go to nightclubs every weekend fair play to them. If a 50 year old wants to go to a Michelin starred restaurant every weekend fair play to them.

Your choice of not drinking and living your life the way you see fit is nobody's concern. Hell I'd be taking two luxury holidays a year myself If I could. Unfortunately I'd probably have to give up eating to do it never mind a few nights out. The problem I had with your original post was that it was very presumptive of people who are a certain age.

So just because having a few nights out doesn't interest you please be aware that you are one person and have no authority to say what is or isn't the right thing for another person to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I dare say your own opinion on it will be fairly different five years from now.

Please don't patronise me. There is nothing wrong with my opinion as is.

Ice Maiden wrote: »
    Absolutely. Your life sounds great and a person certainly does not need alcohol to enjoy their life. I don't drink much anymore and enjoy feeling fresh on a Sunday morning. But really, saying it's "sad" (incidentally the people who keep passive aggressively saying "it's a bit sad" in relation to any lifestyle choice - so spiteful!) to have a hangover in your 30s - how were you ok with saying that when you don't like people judging you?!

Hands up then, I'll just have to admit I am a bit judgemental when someone's biggest hobby is drinking. As I've said, I think there's absolutely no harm in it every now and then, but as a lifestyle choice, I consider it to be a poor one.

So just because having a few nights out doesn't interest you please be aware that you are one person and have no authority to say what is or isn't the right thing for another person to do.

Where did I try to assert authority over anyone?

I expressed an opinion that's different from yours, that's all.