Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What Whisky/Whiskey are we drinking this month?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭2011abc

Just sipping on 33 euro Sexton from Tesco Celbridge (sorry ,last bottle...) was debating between it and their Tesco Finest which is ,eh,fine !Never seen it cheaper and its a grand drop at the price in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Leinster90

Amazon Prime Day is 13-14 October this year.

Can anyone recall some of the good discounts from recent years? I have relatives in the North who I could use as a shipping address, so that’s not an issue for me.

I’m particularly interested in Irish whiskey, but open to others if the price is right.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,811 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Leinster90 wrote: »
    Amazon Prime Day is 13-14 October this year.

Can anyone recall some of the good discounts from recent years? I have relatives in the North who I could use as a shipping address, so that’s not an issue for me.

I’m particularly interested in Irish whiskey, but open to others if the price is right.

I remember there was plenty of decent Scotch at good prices, think there was a few Jameson and things like Sexton at good prices too. But they tend to pop up on sale on Amazon throughout the year as well anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

I think Prime day is primarily to shift their own devices and discounted prime subscription. I've never been overly impressed with it to be honest and as Irish_goat says the discounts are often available year round. I don't ever recall any particularly amazing deals on Irish Whiskey that I saw and thought I was missing out, they do have some great deals on scotch though.

That said I'd recommend signing up to Hot UK Deals and turning on an alert for these tags; https://www.hotukdeals.com/tag/whisky and https://www.hotukdeals.com/tag/irish-whisky

That way you won't miss out and if you have relatives in the north you'll be able to avail of all of the other deals as well, not limited to Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Delivery arrived from CWS with a bottle of Stiùireadair instead of the 18 year old. Now mistakes happen but that's a pretty big one. When I contacted them they were more concerned with how I'd return the Stiùireadair than with how they'd get the 18yo to me. Very unimpressed.

To follow up on this - sent a fairly strongly worded email expressing my dissatisfaction. A bit of grovelling ensued. Correct whisky arrived Monday, wrong bottle collected by UPS. Got a couple of samples of Bunnahabhain 25yo this morning as an apology for the f*** up. Fair enough I think.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,955 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Cazale wrote: »
    For this rare Teeling Tasting we will be using the last of our remaining bottles of Teeling 24 Year Old Single Malt (voted Best Single Malt in the world 2019), the 2020 release of the Teeling 28 Year Old Single Malt (best irish single malt released in 2020, in our opinion!), the brand new Teeling Renaissance Series II 18 Year Old (one of the best value malts on the market) and a very special SNEAK PREVIEW of a NEW 29 Year Old Teeling Single Cask soon to be released exclusively for Celtic Whiskey. The night will be hosted by Alex Chasko, Master Distiller/Blender at Teeling Distillery. As the first employee of Teeling, Alex has been involved in developing the whiskey and the distillery from the very beginning. Previously he was the Innovation Manager at the Cooley Distillery and began his career at Bridge Port Brewery in Portland Oregon.

Zoom tasting will take place on Thursday October 22st, at 8pm with Alex and co hosted by our whiskey specialists Luke and Alan from the Celtic Whiskey Bar.

€60.00

https://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/Irish-Whiskey-Tastings/Teeling-Tasting-Pack-Including-Delivery

Feck, waited too long to sign up, all sold out now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭ciaran76

You've literally just reminded me that I haven't received my Japanese whiskey set from CWS. Completely forgot about that.

Still didnt get mine either.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭picachu

Hi guys, im looking at a RB 15 or an M&M Acacia. Anyone tried the M&M?
    I got the Hungarian Oak but havent opened it yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

ciaran76 wrote: »
    Still didnt get mine either.

It landed yesterday. I had gotten on to CWS and they packed and sent all of them on Tuesday. Being sent from Killarney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Felexicon

picachu wrote: »
    Hi guys, im looking at a RB 15 or an M&M Acacia. Anyone tried the M&M?
    I got the Hungarian Oak but havent opened it yet

Sell me your Hungarian Oak. Its rank stuff. Would hate to see you turned off whiskey by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cazale

Did the three drams tasting tonight. Launching proper on the 1st of November it looks like it'll be an interesting monthly service and I'll be signing up. Going to be Irish focused with limited editions, cask strengths etc. Of tonights samples the Clonakilty cask strength cognac finish was the nicest for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Has anyone bought and received their Dingle Sherry Cask Tasting Packs from Celtic Whiskey Shop? I ordered mine on Sept 18 and still nothing.

LINK TO CWS

Hogzy wrote:
    Has anyone bought and received their Dingle Sherry Cask Tasting Packs from Celtic Whiskey Shop? I ordered mine on Sept 18 and still nothing.

Got this email the other day.

Thank you very much for your order with the Celtic Whiskey Shop.

Please note that our Tasting Packs are processed separately and will
    take an extra while to reach their destination. These orders are
    processed down at our bar in Killarney by the team there. If you have
    ordered a pack on top of a bottle or gift, these may be shipped
    separately as the rest of our orders are processed from our warehouses
    in Dublin.

Your tasting packs are expected to arrive at the start of the week of
    the tasting, and the Zoom link will then be sent on the morning of the
    tasting itself. Our automatic order confirmation email would say 1-2
    days but please be patient as it will take a little longer than this to
    get out to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭arodabomb

Hogzy wrote: »

LINK TO CWS

Mine arrived yesterday, not quite as well packed as the L mulligan ones, just kind of loosely put in a padded envelope. No spills but you could smell the package a mile away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,232 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

hi lads really gotten in to whiskey this year

Currently open bottles
    powers three swallows (delicious)
    method and madness single grain (wow)
    jameson crested (delicious)
    bushmills black bush (nice but not amazing)

Do like sherry cask finishes aswell

any bargains to be had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,295 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

hi lads really gotten in to whiskey this year
    Currently open bottles
    powers three swallows (delicious)
    method and madness single grain (wow)
    jameson crested (delicious)
    bushmills black bush (nice but not amazing)
    Do like sherry cask finishes aswell
    any bargains to be had?

Sexton is down to €33 in Tesco, that's a sherry finish from Bushmills.
    Bushmills 10 year old is €40.
    Am hoping to pick up a bottle of the Sexton myself this weekend and am a big fan also of Crested, and Method and Madness SG and Black Bush.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Our next tasting pack from Celtic Whiskey — bespoke, virtual tastings which will be available over zoom/packaged at the Celtic Whiskey Bar & Larder.

Hows it works? Buy > pack gets delivered > join us for a zoom tasting!

What's in the pack? 5 x 30ml

Dalmore is situated north of Inverness in Alness overlooking the Black Isle. It was founded 1839 by Alexander Matheson and has gone on to become a large and highly regarded distillery creating some of the most premium standard of Scotch whisky on the market. This tasting includes samples of the Dalmore 15 & 18 Year Olds, the Cigar Malt, the very special King Alexander III expression as well as a sample of the 25 Year Old Single Malt (worth approximately €1000 a bottle!)

Zoom tasting will take place on Wednesday November 4th, at 8pm with Dalmore Brand Ambassador and co hosted by our whiskey specialists Luke and Alan from the Celtic Whiskey Bar.

€45

https://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/Dalmore-Tasting-Pack-Including-Delivery?search=Tasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭Wailin

That's one I'd definitely be interested in but working :(

Wailin wrote:
    That's one I'd definitely be interested in but working

They upload it to YouTube to rewatch. I've got one for the craic ðŸ˜

arodabomb wrote: »
    Mine arrived yesterday, not quite as well packed as the L mulligan ones, just kind of loosely put in a padded envelope. No spills but you could smell the package a mile away.

Mine was the same. I wasn't too chuffed with the presentation.

Our next tasting pack from Celtic Whiskey — bespoke, virtual tastings which will be available over zoom/packaged at the Celtic Whiskey Bar & Larder.

Hows it works? Buy > pack gets delivered > join us for a zoom tasting!

What's in the pack? 5 x 30ml

Dalmore is situated north of Inverness in Alness overlooking the Black Isle. It was founded 1839 by Alexander Matheson and has gone on to become a large and highly regarded distillery creating some of the most premium standard of Scotch whisky on the market. This tasting includes samples of the Dalmore 15 & 18 Year Olds, the Cigar Malt, the very special King Alexander III expression as well as a sample of the 25 Year Old Single Malt (worth approximately €1000 a bottle!)

Zoom tasting will take place on Wednesday November 4th, at 8pm with Dalmore Brand Ambassador and co hosted by our whiskey specialists Luke and Alan from the Celtic Whiskey Bar.

€45

https://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/Dalmore-Tasting-Pack-Including-Delivery?search=Tasting

I like the sound of that one.

Mine was the same. I wasn't too chuffed with the presentation.

Yeah to be fair I did a sample swap with a fella off twitter the other day and his samples were packed better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

They upload it to YouTube to rewatch. I've got one for the craic ðŸ˜

Me too. I’m a big Dalmore fan. Always have a bottle of 12 on the go, sometimes 15. Have never tried the others, so really looking forward to this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Colking

Has it ended ? The link isn't working

Picked up a bottle of Method and Madness last Sunday on impulse. Had a glass tonight and really liked it, tasty stuff. Not sure its worth the normal asking price but at €40 its good stuff. Did well out of the O'Briens sale actually, Knappogue 14, Brabazon 1 and Method and Madness.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Is that the single grain M&M? I've had one of the Single Pot Still versions and thought it was excellent.

adrian522 wrote: »
    Is that the single grain M&M? I've had one of the Single Pot Still versions and thought it was excellent.

Yeah the single grain one.

Had some nice samples from Highland Park last night. Won some whiskey too which was a wee bonus.

I was out last night so I've saved that for tomorrow.

Colking wrote: »
    Has it ended ? The link isn't working

I'd say given the content that sold out in no time.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

Cracked open my bottle of Compass Box The Spice Tree last night.

It won Scottish vatted malt of the year in Jim Murray's 2021 Whisky bible and has picked up a few other awards here and there over the years.

Tasting notes, came across to me as a very vinous - does that have to do with the maturation in French oak ends?

A lot of big, bold flavours here, it's an impressive blend with a long finish.

I gather most of the whisky used in it is from Clynelish, not a distillery I'm familiar with at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,586 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Will probably my pick up the M&M and Roe & Co. Anything else worth looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,295 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Will probably my pick up the M&M and Roe & Co. Anything else worth looking at?

M&M is probably the best of the bunch.

Am a fan of both of the above, think you'd like The Sexton at €33.
    Some discussions on it earlier on the thread, it's from Bushmills, sherry cask, possibly Bushmills stock intended for travel retail.

* Don't pickup The Sexton with hand sanitiser on your hand, the brown paint comes right off!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Teeling Blackpitts is available for pre-order below. It's Teelings much anticipated peated whiskey. I tried it in the summer and it's not bad. Not going to challenge any of the big Scottish whiskeys just yet but great to see more Irish peat.

https://ie.irishmalts.com/single-malt/teeling-blackpitts-peated-single-malt-pre-order

Drinking a bottle of founders KBS which is aged in bourbon barrels. I've been aging it myself for the past five years and it's savage stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭tscul32

Sipping a glass of Method and Madness single grain at the moment thanks to this thread. Got a bottle in O'Briens last week for the hubby's birthday today. Have to say it's very drinkable. Roe & Co would be one of our favourites too, but last couple of bottles were under £20 in Sainsbury's in August so even €35 is hard to hand over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭Wailin

Having an ardbeg night tonight with the 10 and corryvreckan. Looking forward to comparing them.

Drinking a bottle of founders KBS which is aged in bourbon barrels. I've been aging it myself for the past five years and it's savage stuff.

You've just reminded me that I stashed a bottle of that at the back of a cupboard!

Had some Ballyhoo whiskey tonight. A 4 year old grain whiskey finished in port casks. A very inoffensive and slight whiskey. Not much to it. Probably needed more time in the port casks.

The next Celtic Whiskey Shop tasting not surprisingly sold out straight away. €60 another bargain for what you get. I was too late myself.

What's in the pack? 5 x 30ml 
    The Buffalo Trace Antique Collection virtual tasting is a sure sell out! With limited number of spaces available this tasting will feature samples of the highly sought after and collectible George T. Stagg, Sazerac Rye 18 Year Old, Eagle Rare 17 Year Old, Thomas H. Handy and William Larue Weller whiskies from the Buffalo Trace Distillery.

Received my Japanese whiskey set from CWS , looking forward as never tasted a Japanese whiskey before.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭1901Rory

Teeling Blackpitts is available for pre-order below. It's Teelings much anticipated peated whiskey. I tried it in the summer and it's not bad. Not going to challenge any of the big Scottish whiskeys just yet but great to see more Irish peat.

Not to go all terroir on it, but any idea whether the Teelings Blackpitts actually uses Irish peat in the process? I know Connemare used to (and maybe still does) use Scottish peated malt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭actuar90

ciaran76 wrote: »
    Received my Japanese whiskey set from CWS , looking forward as never tasted a Japanese whiskey before.

Got mine too but no link, have the dial in details been sent out yet?

1901Rory wrote: »
    Not to go all terroir on it, but any idea whether the Teelings Blackpitts actually uses Irish peat in the process? I know Connemare used to (and maybe still does) use Scottish peated malt.

Teelings use malt from Scotland too. They say they couldn't source enough of it here. (I asked on the distillery tour).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

Finished a West Cork malt the other day (not enamored). (lidl 29.99), opened Roe & Co tonight (€30 obriens sale last week)

The Roe & Co is just such a smooth easy sup and at €30/€35 (frequently on offer) is unbeatable as an everyday tipple.

I think it was mainly Scottish based on comments on a previous Zoom tasting session I did with Teelings.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,811 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I'm not sure if any of the Irish maltings make peated malt.

My O'Brien's Method and Madness tasting set is on the DPD can as we speak.

Very interested to see this now.

Update at 1pm ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Anyone have any idea as to why THIS went for almost £1,500 at whisky auctioneer when a similar one of the same era went for £150 in the same auction.

Granted the boxes are different in both but I dont get why one is 10 times the price of the other.

actuar90 wrote: »
    Got mine too but no link, have the dial in details been sent out yet?

No just checked my email there.