Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The G.A.A. - A Good or Bad thing?

• Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭DulchieLaois

GAA allows Ireland to be normal - Players remain grounded as they are amateurs who dedicate their time to a sport that they love and not for the money.

GAA brings the self being of a community to a level not seen in other countries...it allow families to integrate themselves into an area through volunteering and build up friendships.

GAA allows players to make friends through the country which is always key to social interaction throughout the world.

One final point, GAA is played all over the world, it allows many other nationalities to involve themselves into exercise, by playing GAA and building strong friendships as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,694 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Its sports are ok. Hurling is decent, gaelic football isn't my thing.

As a part of the community it does good work.

As a self-appointed keeper of the cultural flame it is embarrassing, and when this manifests itself by its incredibly petty, small-minded attempts to sabotage other sports/teams, it can f**k right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

How can it be a bad thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

osarusan wrote: »
    As a self-appointed keeper of the cultural flame it is embarrassing, and when this manifests itself by its incredibly petty, small-minded attempts to sabotage other sports/teams, it can f**k right off.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

GAA allows Ireland to be normal - Players remain grounded as they are amateurs who dedicate their time to a sport that they love and not for the money.

GAA brings the self being of a community to a level not seen in other countries...it allow families to integrate themselves into an area through volunteering and build up friendships.

GAA allows players to make friends through the country which is always key to social interaction throughout the world.

One final point, GAA is played all over the world, it allows many other nationalities to involve themselves into exercise, by playing GAA and building strong friendships as a result.

There's hundreds of thousands of people in Ireland that play amateur sports (of every code) every week. In fact, 'soccer' at all levels is actually the largest participation sport in the country

It's a GAA confection to continually compare the sons of the soil with the English premiership and leave it there for propaganda purposes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Is there any other sporting organisation that has tried to dominate communities?
    Is there any other sporting organisation that has banned people?
    Is there any other sporting organisation that have questioned people's "Irishness"?
    Is there any other sporting organisation that would not allow players wear clothing and footwear that was not Irish manufactured?

The GAA belongs to the era of De Valera, Fianna Fail, the GAA.

Hurling is a good game, skilfull and unique. I like it a lot.
    Gaelic football is about throwing the ball around, off the ball ambushing, getting suspended, and getting the suspension lifted on the morning of the next match.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

The county side of things are mostly positive but I stay away from the club side of things.

One thing that irritates me is how people try to link it with history, e.g. by giving teams nicknames like Rebels and Royals plus I dislike how specific counties try to gain ownership of being "the royals" or whatever even though High Kings came from all over Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

diomed wrote: »
    Is there any other sporting organisation that has tried to dominate communities?
    Is there any other sporting organisation that has banned people?
    Is there any other sporting organisation that have questioned people's "Irishness"?
    Is there any other sporting organisation that would not allow players wear clothing and footwear that was not Irish manufactured?

The GAA belongs to the era of De Valera, Fianna Fail, the GAA.

Hurling is a good game, skilfull and unique. I like it a lot.
    Gaelic football is about throwing the ball around, off the ball ambushing, getting suspended, and getting the suspension lifted on the morning of the next match.

What communities has the GAA actively sought to dominate? Communities adopt sports, not the other way round.

Are you referring to bans like the FA in England banned womens soccer until the 70s? How Derry were effectively forced out of the Northern Irish league?

In any case the GAA ban on other sports is gone for nearly 50 years now. Several generations of players have grown up not being affected by it, it's not relevant in modern discussions about the GAA.

I don't see how supporting Irish jobs and industry is wrong. Should we be more like UEFA and shamelessly let money govern everything? Prevent stadia like the Aviva from using their own names because they havent paid UEFA enough money? Start utilising multi billion euro giants like Adidas and Puma to enrich themselves even more off the backs of sweatshop workers?

If the GAA is such a bastion of FF and the church, why has it thrived in the North, where neither of those things ever held total sway?

What communities has the GAA actively sought to dominate? Communities adopt sports, not the other way round.

Are you referring to bans like the FA in England banned womens soccer until the 70s? How Derry were effectively forced out of the Northern Irish league?

In any case the GAA ban on other sports is gone for nearly 50 years now. Several generations of players have grown up not being affected by it, it's not relevant in modern discussions about the GAA.

I don't see how supporting Irish jobs and industry is wrong. Should we be more like UEFA and shamelessly let money govern everything? Prevent stadia like the Aviva from using their own names because they havent paid UEFA enough money? Start utilising multi billion euro giants like Adidas and Puma to enrich themselves even more off the backs of sweatshop workers?

If the GAA is such a bastion of FF and the church, why has it thrived in the North, where neither of those things ever held total sway?
    The GAA banned people who played non-GAA sports. They might not like to hear that now, but that is what they did.

You say supporting Irish jobs and industry. I say banning foreign manufactured sports equipment from the GAA.

I didn't say anything about the church. Thanks for refuting my argument about the church. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

I've never heard of a soccer team tell - a child - that they will not be picked for the team if they continue with their other activities but I know for a fact that this happens on a daily basis in GAA circles.

My view is that kids should be encouraged by all sports to play all sports - plenty of time to 'specialise' or choose themselves later. It's a view not shared by the GAA.

As someone with 10 years of coaching kids for hurling I can tell you that many times soccer and Rugby coaches have told lads not to play hurling match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,768 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Where else other than a hurling match can you go out and knock seven shades of sh1te out of someone with a stick and face no repercussions? I think there is a ball involved too but I think that is only incidental to the knocking the sh1te out of each other.

Great stuff altogether.

Ice hockey says hello

The GAA banned people who played non-GAA sports. They might not like to hear that now, but that is what they did.

You say supporting Irish jobs and industry. I say banning foreign manufactured sports equipment from the GAA.

I didn't say anything about the church. Thanks for refuting my argument about the church. :pac:

The ban ended in 1971. What relevance is it today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I think its a great game,The hurling as well as the football,I don't live in Ireland but we all had great craic last season following and watching all the games, Brilliant.

The rule ended but if you read this 2013 letter you will see there is still a ban in force. Read the third last paragraph.
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/letters/rule-42-still-in-gaa-rules-29637619.html

I see in that letter the ban by the GAA on soccer playing was not effective in Dublin as the GAA would have lost most of their players. GAA bans only work when you can intimidate.

Does the GAA still ban the use of GAA grounds by other sports.
    Is there still a ban on Northern Ireland police from playing GAA?.

My father was banned by the GAA. He had been a county player. He also played rugby and soccer.
    A happy outcome was he was one of a half dozen men that set up a soccer club in the town.
    That club is thriving today, new ground, new premises, a large number of teams in a number of leagues.

You ask "What relevance has the ban today?"
    It showed the public that the GAA then was an organisation that tried to intimidate. They might try to say it is no longer relevant. Their actions differ.

Why does GAA literature still say 32 county Ireland? Ireland is 26 counties. Northern Ireland is 6 counties.
    Do the GAA not recognise this state? Are they an organisation that is subversive to this state? Is the GAA a political organisation or is it a sports organisation?

To be fair, aren't foreign sports still explicitly banned from grounds? This is despite them getting a fair amount of public funding, often the lion's share of same seemingly in order to build as many grounds as possible even if many are chronically underused.

Croke Park was obviously a temporary voted measure which was too financially lucrative - and of top much priceless propaganda value - to pass up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,155 ✭✭✭OldRio

The rule ended but if you read this 2013 letter you will see there is still a ban in force. Read the third last paragraph.
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/letters/rule-42-still-in-gaa-rules-29637619.html

I see in that letter the ban by the GAA on soccer playing was not effective in Dublin as the GAA would have lost most of their players. GAA bans only work when you can intimidate.

Does the GAA still ban the use of GAA grounds by other sports.
    Is there still a ban on Northern Ireland police from playing GAA?.

My father was banned by the GAA. He had been a county player. He also played rugby and soccer.
    A happy outcome was he was one of a half dozen men that set up a soccer club in the town.
    That club is thriving today, new ground, new premises, a large number of teams in a number of leagues.

It showed the public that the GAA then was an organisation that tried to intimidate. They might try to say it is no longer relevant. Their actions differ.

Why does GAA literature still say 32 county Ireland? Ireland is 26 counties. Northern Ireland is 6 counties.
    Do the GAA not recognise this state? Are they an organisation that is subversive to this state? Is the GAA a political organisation or is it a sports organisation?

I see you keep your finger on the pulse.

There's no "ban" on the use of grounds for other sports. A county has to get permission from central council to use their grounds for other sport, though its rarely given. Even then a lot of people in the GAA wouldn't mind grounds being leased for other games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Played by culchies or in the case of Dublin clubs children of culchies

Don't know any true blue Dub who really follows that sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    It has been a very powerful pathological manipulation tool for politics in that it destroys a sense of national identity and replaces it with a county colours mindset. This is one of the reasons we are doomed as a nation as we are a collection of 32 little ****hole rivalries and not a nation of Irish people. Every culchie puts his parish ahead of his nation. Jackeens tend to be the only group in Ireland who are actually aware of what nation they are citizens of.

But that is really more about politicians using the GAA rather than the sport itself.
    Oh piss off

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭yupya1

That'd be the Heroin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I enjoyed playing hurling very much when I was younger and continue to enjoy watching it. There was always a great sense of community and comeradery.

The only thing I disliked was some fanatical Gaelgeori types who had an intolerant attitude to non Gaelic sports and activities who set a poor example to young kids.

The ban was easily flaunted and manys a GAA man played other sports on the sly when even the dogs in the street knew.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Ice hockey says hello

There are claims ice hockey originated from Irish emigrants playing hurling on ice.

What relevance has the ban now? Absolutely zilch.

The bit in bold barely merits a response.

I suppose you'll be lobbying the FAI and IRFU to withdraw players from NI on their teams, since you're such a stickler for the partition of this country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 RadiationKing

You mean why has a highly insular organisation that makes a big stink about Irishness thrived in a part of the island where a highly insular subset of the populace make a big stink about their Irishness?

It's a real mystery alright! :pac:

You mean why has a highly insular organisation that makes a big stink about Irishness thrived in a part of the island where a highly insular subset of the populace make a big stink about their Irishness?

It's a real mystery alright! :pac:
    That the same GAA that actively out reaches to Unionists in NI? And has a presence in most of western Europe? The GAA is primarily about promoting football and hurling. Yes there's the cultural aspect; and you know what, big ****ing wow - nationalistic organisation in promoting country's native culture shock! Whatever next!

Oh well if they're in other parts of Europe that must mean they're not the same backwards, parochial GAA that operates here! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

I'm not sure if this is just our local club or nationwide, but I don't like the way kids have to play both sports, in order to play one. I'm not sure at what level it branches off into either football or hurling, but my 7 year old plays GAA, and loves football but hates hurling. In order to play football he has to also do hurling. He is very sporty and also does rugby and soccer, but he's being put off GAA, despite loving football and being good at it, because of the hurling. Is this the way it is everywhere or have we struck it unlucky with our local club? They are two quite distinctly different sports. It's kind of like having to play hockey as well in order to play rugby. Makes no sense to me!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

I think a lot of the people who don't like the GAA in this thread don't really know what it's like nowadays. It's much more unremarkable than they seem to think, no more zealots than you have in other organisation.
    Being from a rural area I find the argument this whole thread deals with bizarre. Around here many people are involved in GAA as well as Soccer/Rugby/Athletics. Those who are only involved in only GAA don't dedicate their energies to doing down other games. The GAA would t exist at all if it was as negative as some people think.

armaghlad wrote: »
    What relevance has the ban now? Absolutely zilch.

The bit in bold barely merits a response.

I suppose you'll be lobbying the FAI and IRFU to withdraw players from NI on their teams, since you're such a stickler for the partition of this country?
    Do you recognise the country of Ireland ruled by the government of Ireland, Dail Éireann?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

the new style of 'blanket defence' has made football unwatchable..

and I know Donegal were pioneers of this style of playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Like any organisation it has a lot of positives but there are also a lot of negatives.

I loved playing hurling.

The big negative for me at the moment is they brainwash small kids 6yrs and up that the GAA is the only sport(s) they should play. There is a shocking attitude shown towards soccer, rugby, golf etc (and many other activities).

God forbid that little Johnny would turn into a star golfer instead of being a shoo in for taking his fathers spot at corner back in the local village Junior B team when he turns 17.

Kids should be encouraged to take part in as many sports / activities as possible.

Yeah. That's not really true though.

Little Shane Lowry ended up doing just that despite his father and 2 uncles having all Ireland medals.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Only two months till the Championship starts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The ban on PSNI playing it is gone a good few years.

A lot of the jealousy from soccer heads seems to stem from how poorly soccer was organised back in the day. Donegal didn't have a soccer league until 1971 and that is in a county with a soccer tradition. GAA was late starting here, not much tradition at all,1920's on any organised level.

So the question for me would be why was soccer so badly run thus letting the GAA steal a march on it?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Just...Me

Well, I am a Dub, So don't see your point here at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    I'm not sure if this is just our local club or nationwide, but I don't like the way kids have to play both sports, in order to play one. I'm not sure at what level it branches off into either football or hurling, but my 7 year old plays GAA, and loves football but hates hurling. In order to play football he has to also do hurling. He is very sporty and also does rugby and soccer, but he's being put off GAA, despite loving football and being good at it, because of the hurling. Is this the way it is everywhere or have we struck it unlucky with our local club? They are two quite distinctly different sports. It's kind of like having to play hockey as well in order to play rugby. Makes no sense to me!

This is quite bizarre and definitely not the norm in any club that I'm aware of.
    Maybe some rural clubs are short on playing numbers and pressurise kids into playing both in order to field teams, but I've honestly not come across this before.
    It's always far easier to field a football team than a hurling one, as hurling requires far more skills coaching than football.

washman3 wrote: »
    This is quite bizarre and definitely not the norm in any club that I'm aware of.
    Maybe some rural clubs are short on playing numbers and pressurise kids into playing both in order to field teams, but I've honestly not come across this before.
    It's always far easier to field a football team than a hurling one, as hurling requires far more skills coaching than football.

Thanks that's good to know. It is rural club, so maybe what you said is correct. I haven't really looked into it, last year it was clear that he preferred the football, but he put up with the hurling without too much complaint. This year though he's only been back for 4 weeks and he moans and doesn't want to go when it's hurling training, and can't wait to get out the door for football training. He thought it would be football last week, as had been hurling the week before, then when we turned up and found out it was hurling he was quite upset. They seem to do hurling more than football as well. We've had 3 weeks of hurling training so far and 1 of football. I think if he is going to stick at it, we need to find a way to loose the hurling. The clubs around here seem to be quite insistant on your address being in the area of club too, so unsure what the scope for changing is. Maybe I can discuss only attending when football training and matches are on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I think its good if you're into it. However I think in some communities it has an unhealthy presence.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Hurling > All other sports > Gaelic Football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

have young children playing Gaa and we are Dubs. They love it, they are their favourite, football or hurl. Even if you are rubbish at it, two left feet, all children will still get a go in a game. My lad has an issue with co-ordination and it dreadful, balls go all over him or straight to his face, but he gets to play and the coach always roars well done lad. That really warmed me to the game. There are children with Down's, and other conditions, and they get the jersey and the feel of playing in a team. My son played in Croke Park when he was 8 ( will never do when he is older but a proud moment for me)

They have this knack of making you do things for them, the dads get trained up and the mammies make the tea.

There's no "ban" on the use of grounds for other sports. A county has to get permission from central council to use their grounds for other sport, though its rarely given..

So it's not 'banned' but HQ 'rarely give' permission (unless, one suspects, that you have the FAI over a barrel for a million a game).

Thanks for clearing that up.

Several times when our local rugby club has hosted teams from another area, the adjoining GAA grounds have been used. I haven't seen any evidence of a ban on other sports using GAA grounds. I've heard stories about, when OH was a child, the GAA having issue with players also playing 'foreign sports' but this doesn't seem to be the case now. I've never been asked at the GAA if my son plays any other sport and several of the kids in his team are also in his rugby team, including the child of one of the GAA coaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,913 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Plenty of crap and anti Irish loathing in this thread which is what you would expect.
    The GAA is an integral part of Irish life, as noted above it shares some of the failings, but also represents what is good about the country. It has harnessed tremendous community spirit throughout the country.
    Every sport encourages its own interests and shows less concern for the interests of other ones.
    Soccer routinely bribes players not to play GAA and gets them to sign contracts to that effect, not much mention of that here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

As always happens in these threads, Hurling gets a great rep but football is slated. Yet Football gets higher attendances, viewers, participants and media coverage than Hurling. Strange that. Its a bit like soccer and rugby, the bigger more established sport will get all the bad press while the other gets lavished with praise, yet they will always stay in the same pecking order of popularity. Ive played both and follow both heavily, the above just annoys me a bit

Do you recognise the country of Ireland ruled by the government of Ireland, Dail Éireann?
    In sporting terms I recognise I R E L A N D.

All 32 counties.

Oh well if they're in other parts of Europe that must mean they're not the same backwards, parochial GAA that operates here! :pac:
    So the people spreading gaelic football and hurling in France, Spain, Netherlands, Germany are insular, backwards and parochial individuals? That's essentially what you're saying you wally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭rodneyTrotter.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    its amazing to think lads playing in front of 80000 in croke park on a weekend will be getting up the next morning or 2 days after etc and going to work. some players train before and after work too

while messi, rooney and terry etc are about 180000 a week and have the whole day to do what they want when there training is done

Yes, and they play in the biggest sport in the world played by pretty much every country in the world and top of their game . A sport played by millions

The gaa lads are good at what they do but big fish in a small pond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I'm from Kerry and never really had any interest in football so was deemed "uncool" in school. That's my only experience of it really. Saying that I could easily sit through a match these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭Arkady

The GAA, like any national Irish institution, reflects both the good and bad in Ireland.
    No more, no less.

armaghlad wrote: »
    So the people spreading gaelic football and hurling in France, Spain, Netherlands, Germany are insular, backwards and parochial individuals? That's essentially what you're saying you wally.

Okay, whatever you think yourself there. :pac: