Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

gosplan wrote: »
    Pointless arguments aside, all I'm saying is that I have an issue with Arsenal signing someone who would racially abuse someone.

I'd also have an issue with them signing people like Terry and Benzema and a few others.

I gather many think it's only about winning but for some reason I want decent guys lifting the trophies that we win, not scumbags who are decent footballers.

My point is that 'success is all' is a fairly hollow philosophy that embraces drugs, diving, cheating, whatever ... including switching club.

Arsenal for me is a great club run in a good way. I have a major beef with Kronke and that spoils it for me. I also have an issue with stuff Wenger has done in this regard. I think the Suarez bid was just being an asshole. Plus some of the 'I didn't see it' stuff is a bit too much.

But there's a type of person I'd rather now have at the club. Racists, people who blackmail teammates, people who sleep with teammates' wives and so on.

In short, I am up my own hole.

Arsenal, like nearly every club, has a long history of divers playing for the club. The current team is not exactly devoid of cheats. Thats modern football. It's not nice, and i rally against it, but its the reality of the situation.

And regarding your "character" thoughts.......Adebayor and RVP were by all accounts quite unpleasant people but nobody cared when they were banging in goals. The morale high ground is a shaky place to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

smilerf wrote: »
    Hardly racist in my view it's a short version of Japanese.

Apparently it is racist as it has something to do with the treatment of Japanese prisoners back in the war. I wouldnt consider it racist myself and wouldnt have known it is considered so until after a google search. My point is that if Vardy is now cast as a racist for what is a fairly tame slur but there are far more horrible things you could say about an asian person if you wanted.
    Would anyone here be offended if you were called a paddy? Just another example of the world gone pc mad. Im sure there are a million more incidents every year, its just that everyone has a camera ready to record these days fishing for likes on social media

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Kirby wrote: »
    Arsenal, like nearly every club, has a long history of divers playing for the club. The current team is not exactly devoid of cheats. Thats modern football. It's not nice, and i rally against it, but its the reality of the situation.

And regarding your "character" thoughts.......Adebayor and RVP were by all accounts quite unpleasant people but nobody cared when they were banging in goals. The morale high ground is a shaky place to be honest.

It is but that doesn't mean you just abandon it.

I'd have no problem with some stuff. Ibra for example is an arsehole but that doesn't bother me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

This false idea that all Arsenal players should be like boy scouts is a load of waffle

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,410 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Here's a real zinger I came out with two and a half years ago regarding Jose (think it was after the specialist in failure comments):
    I've always had a soft spot for Mourinho to be honest. He knows exactly what he's saying and doing and knows the reaction it will get and I think he's hilarious. Also, Wenger knew full well he'd get a reaction like this when he said what he said too imo.

Regarding Vardy v Jose, well this time two years ago (hell probably one year ago) hardly anyone on this thread knew or cared who Vardy was whereas Jose has been a hate figure for Arsenal fans for about a decade now if i'm not mistaken. If you want to equate either of them joining Arsenal as the same thing in terms of how the fans should react that's your business.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

wonga77 wrote: »
    Apparently it is racist as it has something to do with the treatment of Japanese prisoners back in the war. I wouldnt consider it racist myself and wouldnt have known it is considered so until after a google search. My point is that if Vardy is now cast as a racist for what is a fairly tame slur but there are far more horrible things you could say about an asian person if you wanted.
    Would anyone here be offended if you were called a paddy? Just another example of the world gone pc mad. Im sure there are a million more incidents every year, its just that everyone has a camera ready to record these days fishing for likes on social media

No one said Vardy is a racist, said Vardy used racial slur and was recorded saying that.

Also good to see excuses are started already like how people won't be offended for using paddy and all that.

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    No one said Vardy is a racist, said Vardy used racial slur and was recorded saying that.

Also good to see excuses are started already like how people won't be offended for using paddy and all that.

If someone said 'hey paddy, walk on' I'd be pretty fcuking pissed off tbh.

I mean why does race come into an argument unless either someone thinks it's

A: relevant. Then they're a racist.

B: a good way to piss someone off. Then it's just the racial slur thing.

But it's not like he was trying to say 'excuse me, yes the Asian fellow'. Jap is slang for Japanese like '******' is slang for negro.

Meh, used to it by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Vardy to dive and win a penalty at OT next season is needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,677 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Pointless arguments aside, all I'm saying is that I have an issue with Arsenal signing someone who would racially abuse someone.

I'd also have an issue with them signing people like Terry and Benzema and a few others.

I gather many think it's only about winning but for some reason I want decent guys lifting the trophies that we win, not scumbags who are decent footballers.

My point is that 'success is all' is a fairly hollow philosophy that embraces drugs, diving, cheating, whatever ... including switching club.

Arsenal for me is a great club run in a good way. I have a major beef with Kronke and that spoils it for me. I also have an issue with stuff Wenger has done in this regard. I think the Suarez bid was just being an asshole. Plus some of the 'I didn't see it' stuff is a bit too much.

But there's a type of person I'd rather now have at the club. Racists, people who blackmail teammates, people who sleep with teammates' wives and so on.

In short, I am up my own hole.

In short, that's a great post.

After sleeping on it, I'm not really comfortable signing Vardy.

Fortunately, it's a potential Arsenal transfer, which means even now it probably won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Just thinking about it a bit more, Wellbeck is going to be out for a while. Vardy would be an ideal cover for him, and I would imagine that would be the thinking behind such a move. He would just take over Wellbeck's role as cover for Giroud.

We would still need a top class striker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,161 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Vardy makes some sense when you consider the money you'd pay for the likes of Morata who is just as likely to flop. Also it's not like Giroud will be moved on, or even dropped. I would imagine they'll both get similar game time and 20 goals in all comps from each would equal the 40 goal a season striker the club so desperately needs.

If he flops the media and opposition fans will be falling over themselves to stick the knife in but I think he is worth a punt at that price. If it doesn't work so be it, it's not like wenger passed on the chance of signing aguero because of this.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

If someone said 'hey paddy, walk on' I'd be pretty fcuking pissed off tbh.

I mean why does race come into an argument unless either someone thinks it's

A: relevant. Then they're a racist.

B: a good way to piss someone off. Then it's just the racial slur thing.

But it's not like he was trying to say 'excuse me, yes the Asian fellow'. Jap is slang for Japanese like '******' is slang for negro.

I don't know whether you are defending or saying what Vardy said was racial slur.

Anyways I'm out. Nothing against Vardy, like him as a player and what he did was incredible. From non league to premier league winner is a massive achievement and he deserves everything he gets.

All this talk of class is nothing but gas. I have plenty of examples too but that would just adds to unnecessary arguments.

Good luck for next season. Hopefully finish below ManUtd but above other "big" clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Supposedly Arsenal trying to wrap it up in next 24hrs, would much rather him than a 40 year old Ibra on a 1 year contract with his ego.

I don't know whether you are defending or saying what Vardy said was racial slur.

Anyways I'm out. Nothing against Vardy, like him as a player and what he did was incredible. From non league to premier league winner is a massive achievement and he deserves everything he gets.

All this talk of class is nothing but gas. I have plenty of examples too but that would just adds to unnecessary arguments.

Good luck for next season. Hopefully finish below ManUtd but above other "big" clubs.

Class is a weird thing to call it.

Also it's obvious we've had questionable characters and moments at Arsenal.

That doesn't mean I can't have a problem with them and with certain players.

But you're right, this is all being overdone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭smilerf

I read somewhere we are called paddy because the English police van back in day was full of Irish hence the term paddy wagon.

I've been called a paddy lots. I don't take offence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,515 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Vardy is the kind of nastiness we need. He's not quite Diego Costa nasty but nasty enough to antagonise and hassle defenders. Just what we need imo...pace and that edge. I love the idea of having vardy tbh, throw Leicester Walcott as p/x deal. Two problems solved at once.

Oh and 29...meh. What age was RVP when we sold him to United that time? Vardy could well do a job for us for a year or two. Imagine oZil and Sanchez sending through balls to someone who can actually run onto a ball and finish. Jesus that would be fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭sonic85

I'd like to see us go for Leon Bailey. He's looked good anytime I've seen him play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Do people in this forum have very short memories or something ? The 1st Arsenal team I remember was captained by an Alcoholic , Our flair player was addicted to gambling and a bit of a coke head and our manager was done for taking bribes.....but we're now worried about someone who said Jap to a japanese man ok fair enough

Arsenal haven't had a spicey character in a while all our players are like emotionless robots that don't give a toss half the time and the ones that do are more interested in posting selfies on social media , Vardy if he signs will be a breath of fresh air I don't think we can afford to turn our noses (as fans) up at someone who has just won the premier league and finished 2nd top scorer the season just gone

Especially when the alternative is a more expensive Spanish version of Giroud who can't get in the Juventus team

I see Koeman, who alot of people fancied to take over from Wenger is the hot fave to get the job at everton. Bit of a sideways step no? Bigger club in terms of fanbase but lacking any top quality, especially if they lose Lukaku.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Do people in this forum have very short memories or something ? The 1st Arsenal team I remember was captained by an Alcoholic , Our flair player was addicted to gambling and a bit of a coke head and our manager was done for taking bribes.....but we're now worried about someone who said Jap to a japanese man ok fair enough

Arsenal haven't had a spicey character in a while all our players are like emotionless robots that don't give a toss half the time and the ones that do are more interested in posting selfies on social media , Vardy if he signs will be a breath of fresh air I don't think we can afford to turn our noses (as fans) up at someone who has just won the premier league and finished 2nd top scorer the season just gone

Especially when the alternative is a more expensive Spanish version of Giroud who can't get in the Juventus team

On the head. We've had our fair share.

This class thing is a kop out for me it's a distraction for some to refer to for our lack of success

When we had our best years our team had a number of dislikable characters, and there the lads we loved the most

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Vardy is the kind of nastiness we need. He's not quite Diego Costa nasty but nasty enough to antagonise and hassle defenders. Just what we need imo...pace and that edge. I love the idea of having vardy tbh, throw Leicester Walcott as p/x deal. Two problems solved at once.

A double onslaught of Sanchez and Vardy would drive defenders to distraction. I'm pretty excited about the possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Don't be chatting **** about Vardy lads.
    Cause you know what'll happen.

Jap isn't racist when used as an abbreviation mostly. But I think a good measure is that if the person saying it is angry at the time then it probably is. :p

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    Don't be chatting **** about Vardy lads.
    Cause you know what'll happen.

It's getting closer. Check out twitter. Numerous reports that it's all done bar the shouting.

Jap = racist
    Paki = racist
    Aussie = ?

Basil3 wrote: »
    Jap = racist
    Paki = racist
    Aussie = ?

Koala Bear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

Jap isn't racist when used as an abbreviation mostly. But I think a good measure is that if the person saying it is angry at the time then it probably is. :p

Jap is racist when the man your calling Jap isnt Japanese ;)

Japanese people are Asian but all Asian people are not Japanese :D

Mr.H wrote: »
    Jap is racist when the man your calling Jap isnt Japanese ;)

That's another exception :p

Basil3 wrote: »
    Jap = racist
    Paki = racist
    Aussie = ?

Thats actually an interesting point. Perception seems to be king in these matters.

Regardless, lets keep it to football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Calling a kiwi an Aussie might be

Not it wouldnt be. Like when people refer to us as part of the UK. It's ignorance...it's not racism. Lets cop on a bit please.

People's need to be overly PC on the Internet is embarrassing imo.

Having thought about it some more, it was 100% a foul by Monreal on Vardy. Penalty everyday and a stupid challenge by Monreal.
    Good thing we're signing that Rodriguez fella...

Reports that if Rodriguez is brought in that Gibbs is off to Liverpool. How many homegrown players do we need?

I say jap all the time. Am I a racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,276 ✭✭✭batistuta9

Reports that if Rodriguez is brought in that Gibbs is off to Liverpool. How many homegrown players do we need?

you don't need any really, the stipulation isn't that you need a certain number of home grown, it's that there's a maximum number of foreigners you can have, 17.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I think Liverpool have been linked to every left back there is so I dunno how much stock to put in the Gibbs link.

Grad but being a racist, rapist or general scumbag is very different from having addiction issues.

Like I said, I'm sure he'll be fine. It's just if I saw somebody do that I'd think 'what a total fcuking scumbag'.

Rather than being the PC brigade, I think it's just shallow to accept it as OK because he might score goals for a football team I like.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Grad but being a racist, rapist or general scumbag is very different from having addiction issues.

Like I said, I'm sure he'll be fine. It's just if I saw somebody do that I'd think 'what a total fcuking scumbag'.

Rather than being the PC brigade, I think it's just shallow to accept it as OK because he might score goals for a football team I like.

First of all, it happened once. Do you not think he deserves a second chance or should he be banned for life for uttering a word that some deem offensive? A word that a lot of people aren't aware is offensive. He's aware he can't say it now and has apologised.

The internet wasn't around back then. If you don't think those players wouldn't have been getting up to no good and said a few things they shouldn't have you've got your head in the sand.

How many people here would have been okay with Suarez joining that time ?

PC is gone shockingly mad you can't fart in the wrong direction without upsetting someone these days

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Very surprised that Wenger is in for him but I'm not complaining. Pretty excited to see what Vardy can do. I do rather like the idea of Vardy and Sanchez harassing the opposition defenders all game long. Hopefully having Vardy, Elneny and Xhaka will see us become a much more aggressive and hard working team.

How many people here would have been okay with Suarez joining that time ?

PC is gone shockingly mad you can't fart in the wrong direction without upsetting someone these days

True, no farting in my direction though - cheers!

First of all, it happened once. Do you not think he deserves a second chance or should he be banned for life for uttering a word that some deem offensive? A word that a lot of people aren't aware is offensive. He's aware he can't say it now and has apologised.

The internet wasn't around back then. If you don't think those players wouldn't have been getting up to no good and said a few things they shouldn't have you've got your head in the sand.

If you think he didn't know it was offensive, you've got your head in the sand.

Late night row in a casino. Guy shouts at someone. Calls him a jap repeatedly as he's leaving.

Like I said, If I saw someone do that in a casino, I'd think 'what a ****ing scumbag'.

Like everyone else in here would say 'oh it's probably the first time he's done it' or 'oh, he probably didn't know it was racist'

But you wouldn't. If that happened on Talbot St and was some randomer with a strong Northside accent, most here would quickly voice the same opinion as me.

He's just forgiven instantly because he's a professional footballer and you now have a vested interest.

Sorry folks, he did a scummy thing and I think less of him for it.

And fcuk your Internet PC brigade comments. (Not you redemption, just that general tone) That's Wilshire smoking and saying '****' in front of a parade crowd.

Racism is quite different.

So you don't think he should be allowed to be forgiven?

Did Vardy apologise/explain for what happened that night?

greendom wrote: »

http://m.bbc.com/sport/football/33842311

I mean obviously the lawyers are going to write his apology, that's the way the world is now but yes he has acknowledged it. In the video it looks like a drunken row where the Japanese guy is getting a few words in himself. Not like Vardy entered the room, identified the Japanese person and popped on his KKK hat. Bit of a nothing incident imo, though that could be because I'm used to drunken spats where people act like a gob****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

greendom wrote: »

Think he personally apologised to the victim as well as a public apology and one to Japanese team-mate Okazaki.

He spend the entire season playing up top with Shinji Okasaki , do you honestly think Okazaki would have been okay with playing with him and hmmmm lets see assisting each other, scoring , celebrating together, **** it even over at his house when they were watching the spurs-chelsea game ......would any of this happen if Vardy was a horrible racist ?