Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

dont forget we have to listen to the
    repeat ..... what about the Stadium
    repeat ..... Wengers hands are tied
    repeat ..... lets celebrate 4th place (we just set the record for successive last 16 exits)
    repeat ..... cant compete with the oil money
    repeat ..... Wenger knows how to spot players what about Henry (that was 17 years ago)
    repeat ..... the players (he bought) let him down
    repeat ..... it was very cold
    repeat ..... too much pressure
    repeat ..... the fans let us down
    repeat ..... injurys arent the fault of the backroom staff
    repeat ..... Wengers a financial wizard (just a mean **** who wont spend the 200 million in the bank, 15 million spent in the last 8 transfer windows)
    repeat ..... we won nothing before Wenger arrived
    repeat ..... The Invincibles (that was 13 years ago)
    repeat ..... Wenger invented total football (RIP JC)
    repeat ..... Wengers a tactical genius feared by the the might of Europe
    repeat ..... you cant slag off Wenger
    repeat ..... give him another year
    repeat ..... theres no manager out there to replace him
    repeat ..... theres no player available worth his place in the Arsenal squad
    repeat ..... Giroud is a world class striker (Wenger compares him to Benzema and Lewandovski)
    repeat ..... Coquelin is the best DM in the PL (yep Real and Barca are banging he door down for him)
    repeat ..... if you knock the teams performance your a moaner (Watford, Shef Wed, 2 points clear of Leicester in Jan, CL spanking)
    repeat ..... bollix bollix bollix

But how do you really feel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Any Arsenal fan that wants Spurs to win the league over Leicester can.. Well I'll not say cause I don't want a ban.

The thought of them winning the league would makes me vomit.

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    Any Arsenal fan that wants Spurs to win the league over Leicester can.. Well I'll not say cause I don't want a ban.

The thought of them winning the league would makes me vomit.

Try motilium

2-0 good

I hate Stoke- they're odious. Especially their fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,408 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The feckers are 3 up now and playing with an energy we used to have.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭emmetlego

repeat ..... lets celebrate 4th place (we just set the record for successive last 16 exits)
    repeat ..... Wenger knows how to spot players what about Henry (that was 17 years ago)
    repeat ..... Wengers a financial wizard (just a mean **** who wont spend the 200 million in the bank, 15 million spent in the last 8 transfer windows)
    repeat ..... Giroud is a world class striker (Wenger compares him to Benzema and Lewandovski)
    repeat ..... Coquelin is the best DM in the PL (yep Real and Barca are banging he door down for him)
    repeat ..... if you knock the teams performance your a moaner (Watford, Shef Wed, 2 points clear of Leicester in Jan, CL spanking)

Alright already. Jesus H you are f****ng relentless!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭omega man

3 now. They'll go on and win the league now, I've no doubt.

Finishing above them for the last million years will mean fcuk all when they win. No amount of FA cup trophies or top 4 finishes will matter a damn. They'll finally be the pride of north London and that is vomit inducing.

I agree with many that I hate pool fans more but any Arsenal fan outside of England worth their salt must surely buy into the NL rivalry. Please god Leicester don't screw this up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Quotes please or GTFO

I take it its 4 now?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

mansize wrote: »
    But how do you really feel?
    oh yeah I forgot that one ..
    repeat .... tell us how you really feel. (to the man whos upset about another end of season collapse)

why dont you tell us how you feel?

spurs are 3 zip up
    on their way to the PL potentially
    no St Totteringham day
    Kane on his way to the PL top scorer
    Aresnal were top by 2 points in January ..

Go on tell us how you feel ? You and the rest of the posters who do nothing but make smart comments and clcik a like button at what they think is funny.

Id genuinely be interested, just how passionate are you about soccer ?
    Id genuinely be interested, just how passionate are you about this club ?

So go on tell us how YOU really feel?
    Its impossible to tell . most of you post nothing but little thanks

Ive put my marker down loud and clear.. so lets hear it from the rest of you smart alecs.

Seriously how any life long, long serving Arsenal fan can be anything but totally outraged , is genuinely beyond me.
    I guess football and this club doesnt mean as much to alot of Arsenal fans.

I mean seriously
    spurs are 3 zip up
    no St Totteringham day
    Arsenal were top by 2 points in January ..

and the best you can come up with is
    gosplan wrote: »
    Quotes please or GTFO
    Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Good lord. ColonialBoy accusing someone else of being repetive. Ain't that some sh*t.
    emmetlego wrote: »
    Alright already. Jesus H you are f****ng relentless!

Quote from Diego Simeone from 2 yr ago

“It’s hard for me to interact with players who don’t give themselves completely. The weak don’t interest me.”

Guess that rules him out so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,676 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Good lord. ColonialBoy accusing someone else of being repetive. Ain't that some sh*t.

No way we'd go to stoke in a title race run in and win 4 nil.

No amount of players will fix that. Only one solution.

oh yeah I forgot that one ..
    repeat .... tell us how you really feel. (to the man whos upset about another end of season collapse)

why dont you tell us how you feel?

spurs are 3 zip up
    no St Totteringham day
    Aresnal were top by 2 points in January ..

Go on tell us how you feel ? You and the rest of the posters who do nothing but make smart comments and clcik a like button at what they think is funny.

Id genuinely be interested, just how passionate are you about soccer ?
    Id genuinely be interested, just how passionate are you about this club ?

So go on tell us how YOU really feel?
    Its impossible to tell . most of you post nothing but little thanks

Ive put my marker down loud and clear.. so lets hear it from the rest of you smart alecs.

Seriously how any life long, long serving Arsenal fan can be anything but totally outraged , is genuinely beyond me.
    I guess football and this club doesnt mean as much to alot of Arsenal fans.

Its just a game, that we are spectators of. Far more important things in life.

I'm happy when I go to the Emirates and Arsenal score. I'm happy when Arsenal win.

Football is good smalltalk with work colleagues/pals etc a good icebreaker.

But its not the be all and end all of my life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

mansize wrote: »
    Its just a game, that we are spectators of. Far more important things in life.

I'm happy when I go to the Emirates and Arsenal score. I'm happy when Arsenal win.

Football is good smalltalk with work colleagues/pals etc a good icebreaker.

But its not the be all and end all of my life.

great so your not really that much of a fan.. sort of a hobby fan so ..
    ok .. I guess that explains your lack of passion.

and I guss that explains the lack of passion of alot of posters here, cos your sentiment seems to reflect their sentiment.

Sorry i genuinely thought I was in a Arsenal forum for hard core fans .
    my bad, now i understand the confusion .

Ye cant understand my passion and I cant understand ye're lack of passion.
    fair enough the worlds big enough for everyone.
    Mystery solved .. .

and I guss that explains the lack of passion of alot of posters here, cos your sentiment seems to reflect their sentiment.

Mystery solved .. .

I've only been to the Emirates 4 times this season so I wouldn't be a hard core fan. I enjoy football, but I enjoy people that can keep it in context of what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Mystery solved .. .

Mate grow up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Barlett

Without the sour the sweet ain't so sweet

My point is, we know how you feel Colonialboy. Your relentless going on about it, reminding us of how **** we've been, you're constant negativity makes it worse. So PLEASE, just Shut The F*** Up!

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,662 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Quote from Diego Simeone from 2 yr ago

“It’s hard for me to interact with players who don’t give themselves completely. The weak don’t interest me.”

Guess that rules him out so :D

Could you imagine his reaction if one of his players was knocked off the ball as easily as Walcott was yesterday?

Barlett wrote: »
    Without the sour the sweet ain't so sweet

Sport in a nutshell. It's the years like the last 10 or so, that make the success so sweet!

By the way, the Arsecast this week is worth a depressing listen!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Mystery solved .. .

Your relentless posts aren't showing passion its just idiocy which would be better placed on AFTV with those 2 clowns Claude and Ty

omega man wrote: »

That's spin I'll bet. They've seen the apathy shown during this league campaign, with thousands of empty seats, though already paid for, in the last few league games. This smacks of fear of empty seats! I'm delighted!!!

FixitFelix wrote: »
    Your relentless posts aren't showing passion its just idiocy which would be better placed on AFTV with those 2 clowns Claude and Ty

Those 2 "clowns" are season ticket holders, who attend all away matches, aren't they?

I'm no fan of Arsenal Fans TV but slagging them off on the Internet, in an Arsenal forum, is dumb.

Mystery solved .. .

Passion. Yes, that's it.

You've just more passion than us.

Passion? That's where you just have a huge meltdown and pick rows with everyone, right?

Very good.....

phil . i . am ‏@AngryOfN5
    If any Arsenal players were ineligible or failed drugs tests after our matches against Leicester now would be a really good time to own up.

Spurs may offer Arteta coaching role. That would be the icing on this sh1t cake of a season.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2016/04/18/tottenham-want-arsenal-captain-mikel-arteta-to-join-coaching-sta/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭the untitled user

FWIW (somewhat related to the comments about AFTV) the atmosphere at the Emirates these days is a real problem and has a noticable impact on the time. I'm just as frustrated coming away from it as anyone else but the constant negativity around the stadium does no one any favours.

Having been at the Emirates for the win against Bayern and still having seen fans having a go at the team, you really come away thinking what's the point. The negativity on the likes of AFTV does no one any good, it just compounds the bad mood all around. Without belief the club will just stagnate regardless of whatever personnel changes occur.

FWIW (somewhat related to the comments about AFTV) the atmosphere at the Emirates these days is a real problem and has a noticable impact on the time. I'm just as frustrated coming away from it as anyone else but the constant negativity around the stadium does no one any favours.

Having been at the Emirates for the win against Bayern and still having seen fans having a go at the team, you really come away thinking what's the point. The negativity on the likes of AFTV does no one any good, it just compounds the bad mood all around. Without belief the club will just stagnate regardless of whatever personnel changes occur.

That's all down to the manager in my view.
    He's over-stayed his usefulness.
    We badly need a change of manager and some new personnel.
    We can't afford to wait another year. It needs to be done now.
    BUT it won't be done.

Fans are pretty fickle to be honest.

The team needs to give us something to be positive about.

That's all down to the manager in my view.
    He's over-stayed his usefulness.
    We badly need a change of manager and some new personnel.
    We can't afford to wait another year. It needs to be done now.
    BUT it won't be done.

Agree.

And we should be getting a bloody good manager too.

Great stadium, good budget, CL, good squad, great pay.

We should really be approaching the best managers around.

Fans are pretty fickle to be honest.

Perhaps. But having gone down to my local LOI team when home fairly regularly over the last few years (well, the ones they were operational) I can state unquivocally that Arsenal fans are completely and utterly deluded when it comes to their sense of entitlement.

Regardless of who's responsiblity it is to act first, the negativity around the club at the moment is only making things far more difficult for the club to progress. You cannot deny that surely?

edit: Not to pick on you in particular gosplan, or indeed to label anyone else here, I just don't these conversations defending right of others to main this negativity is in any way logical or helpful.

Agree.

And we should be getting a bloody good manager too.

Great stadium, good budget, CL, good squad, great pay.

We should really be approaching the best managers around.

And I really don't want to sound like ColonialBoy, but Jesus, do you really see that happening?? I know I don't! As much as I'd love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,178 ✭✭✭beer enigma

Surely you don't expect us supporters in the ground to be unnaffected by current results and board management ? I saw my first match at highbury in 1971, I was a club steward for 12 years, I love/live the club and have been a season ticket holder since 1984 and travel for most home matches from Cork these days. I don't comment much on this forum because I take the club and it's values for what they are, BUT I expect Arsenal to fight, to play to win, and I don't see that at the moment.

We're in danger of no champions league when the title was open for grabs, I don't accept that as an Arsenal supporter or 30+ years

Perhaps. But having gone down to my local LOI team when home fairly regularly over the last few years (well, the ones they were operational) I can state unquivocally that Arsenal fans are completely and utterly deluded when it comes to their sense of entitlement.

Regardless of who's responsiblity it is to act first, the negativity around the club at the moment is only making things far more difficult for the club to progress. You cannot deny that surely?

Oh no, it completely is. The irrationality really annoys me. Like Arsenal should be wining every single game.

But I think that's built up over time. Arsenal have had a lot of leeway from the fans when it came to results.

The patience has run out thiugh.

Andip wrote: »
    Surely you don't expect us supporters in the ground to be affected by current results and board management ? I saw my first match at highbury in 1971, I was a club steward for 12 years, I love/live the club and have been a season ticket holder since 1984 and travel for most home matches, I don't comment much on this forum because I take the club and it's values for what they are, BUT I expect Arsenal to fight, to play to win, and I don't see that at the moment.

We're in danger of no champions league when the title was open for grabs, I don't accept that as an Arsenal supporter or 30+ years

For me, this is post of the year! This person nails it, fairdinkum!

Surely you don't expect us supporters in the ground to be affected by current results and board management ? I saw my first match at highbury in 1971, I was a club steward for 12 years, I love/live the club and have been a season ticket holder since 1984 and travel for most home matches, I don't comment much on this forum because I take the club and it's values for what they are, BUT I expect Arsenal to fight, to play to win, and I don't see that at the moment.

Well, let's put it in context. You're a fan of one of the wealthiest clubs in the world, one of the best stadiums in the world with one of the best managers in the world with one of the best squads in the world, no dodgy owners saddling the club with debt or using the club as their personal play thing...

What right have you to expect anything more than that? Most fans would bite your hand off if you offered their club that kind of status.

I share the frustration at watching them coast to under achievement yet again but c'mon... almost half of your life of supporting Arsenal they weren't even in the European Cup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Well, let's put it in context. You're a fan of one of the wealthiest clubs in the world, one of the best stadiums in the world with one of the best managers in the world with one of the best squads in the world, no dodgy owners saddling the club with debt or using the club as their personal play thing...

What right have you to expect anything more than that? Most fans would bite your hand off if you offered their club that kind of status.

I share the frustration at watching them coast to under achievement yet again but c'mon... almost half of your life of supporting Arsenal they weren't even in the European Cup!

We expect ambition. Wenger is out of excuses. It's not the end of the world and it's not an unreasonable request. He has to go. That's all there is to it.

I'm not interested in money or stadium, we had a great stadium in Highbury and some brilliant times. The current owners are very happy with huge season ticket prices and constant top four finishes as it provides THEM a huge return on investment. But this is football, not finance - We as Supporters deserve more.

How many matches have you been to, maybe I'm being disengenuous, but for me current performance is not good enough for what we are paying as season ticket holders.

I'm sorry but that bit in bold is just wrong now. Had you used the word "was" i'd have let it go. The man is holding the club back nowadays.

How many matches have you been to

Heh, fair point. Three this season. Enough though considering the dull atmosphere, I got more satisfaction seeing the local LOI team when I was home over Easter than I did at any game in the Emirates, at least the fans back home don't try to belittle you for expressing an opinion...

Andip,

I probably attended the same match as you were at in 1971. That's the year i moved to London for work. Went to all home games and some aways too. I was in WHL on the Mon night we won the league when Ray Kennedy scored. We won the Cup 5 days later but i couldn't get a ticket. Watched it in the Archway Tavern.

Wouldn't say we have one of the best squads in the world either, there's a lot of rubbish there.

Heh, fair point. Three this season. Enough though considering the dull atmosphere, I got more satisfaction seeing the local LOI team when I was home over Easter than I did at any game in the Emirates, at least the fans back home don't try to belittle you for expressing an opinion...

I wasn't trying to belittle at all, sorry if I implied that.

By your own admission, you got more from LOI which is great, I take my young fella to Cork City for most matches, imagine the frustration from us long term Arsenal season ticket holders.

I'm sorry but that bit in bold is just wrong now. Had you used the word "was" i'd have let it go. The man is holding the club back nowadays.
    Wouldn't say we have one of the best squads in the world either, there's a lot of rubbish there.

Again, put things in context, Fifpro presents over 65,000 players and there are at least 3000 holders of the UEFA Pro licence alone... what fraction of them do you think are better than their equivalent at the club currently?
    I wasn't trying to belittle at all, sorry if I implied that.

Actually I wasn't referring to you specifically, I was thinking about fans I encountered at the stadium.

Andip,

I probably attended the same match as you were at in 1971. That's the year i moved to London for work. Went to all home games and some aways too. I was in WHL on the Mon night we won the league when Ray Kennedy scored. We won the Cup 5 days later but i couldn't get a ticket. Watched it in the Archway Tavern.

Very possibly Tayto, as long as you weren't the guy that spilled my pint after, if so you owe me one lol, I was also an Archway regular.

Again, put things in context, Fifpro presents over 65,000 players and there are at least 3000 holders of the UEFA Pro licence alone... what fraction of them do you think are better than their equivalent at the club currently?

Fifpro doesn't come into it at all. The club are going backwards under Wenger. The fans are very frustrated and angry with him and his decisions, lack of motivational skills, favouritism etc. He can't turn this around. No way. It's time he did the decent thing and packed it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Very tough to be positive really. As long as Wenger is in charge we will continue on a downward spiral. He can spend hundred of millions but he will still get caught out with his out of date tactics and loyalty to average talent. His comments over the last few weeks have shown a disrespect to the fans that is unforgiveable. His supporters on here can try to cover up for him but he's a man who lost the players and the fans. He looks beaten down.

Anyway want to get this season over with and see what the future brings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Would bloody love Kane right now