Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Act of kindness

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

maudgonner wrote: »
    That's not kind! :eek:

Well had to throw a machoizm in there. You know when you did good when other people are smiling at you helping someone.

I couldn't understand how other people had just ignored her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

My brother's friend walked past a homeless man begging at the door to a shop, he felt sorry for him so he got him a cookie and and an orange. Gave them to yer man and he said "Oh that's really sound man thanks, but actually I have no teeth so I can't eat them".

When you're getting food for junkies or alcoholics best to go with like, soup and petit filous and so on apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Funny enough story about a Random Act of Kindness that I was doing that went a bit arseways..

Basically it was last August, and as many a mayo man does in August, I along with my father was making the annual journey up to Croker. At the time I was reading a book by Shawn Achor called 'The Happiness Advantage' in which the author said one of his favorite acts of kindness to carry out was paying the price of the toll for the person in the car behind him.

So myself and my Dad were approaching the toll bridge on the M50 when I thought that this was my opportunity to put my good intentions into action. I told my dad and he got really into it. He couldn't wait to carry out this act and said no matter what the person looked like or what car they were driving we were going to pay their toll. He was literally buzzing with excitement.

We chose our lane for the toll then just as we got close we realised that the lane we chose only accepted card although we wanted to pay by cash. Thus dad swerved in order to change to a toll that suited our needs. As he swerved the car behind went ballistic, blowing the horn mad, throwing his hands in the air, all sorts. This led Dad to turn his head 180degrees around so that he to could shout expletives and give yer man the finger while also blowing his horn. Now at this point Dad was like not a hope in hell is this geezer getting his toll paid for. However I said to Dad that this was our chance to turn a bad situation into something brilliant. After a few seconds of convincing, Dad uneasily agreed.

We got to the toll collector, paid for our car plus the car of the man behind us and then proceeded to drive on, laughing historically as we could only imagine the mindf*ck that the man was going through! Like the earlier blast of the horns was so aggressive that this was literally the last thing that he would have ever expected.

After a few moments the driver managed to catch up with us. He blew the horn, gave us a big wave and a smile and then both our car and his drove alongside each other temporarily all the time laughing as he shook his head in awe. Each car gave a final blow of the horn, this time a blow of apology and admiration, and then he drove on never to be seen again.

For the price of €3.00 we were able to make a bad situation into something amazing, and a story which we still laugh at today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I have an annual pass to the zoo and we go regularly. Every time we try and find someone in the queue we can invite to join us so they get in for free. We don't expect them to stay with us, it just saves them a few bob and doesn't cost us anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭caille

I love trying to do things for people, I feel so good afterwards, I am not going to go into details and I don't go actively looking to do them, just when the occasion or person arises, just small things, I feel I gain so much from doing them. I used to be so eaten up with anger and bitterness about past hurts and pain in my life, I only started healing when I started helping other people. I love being kind to animals as well, they have given me so so much in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭bisounours

Standing in line for the Japanese gardens in Kildare - the couple behind us taps my partners arm and asks if we've "got this voucher" for a two for one ticket. (We didn't). They had two from Tescos and gave us one. Lovely lovely people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

eviltwin wrote: »
    I have an annual pass to the zoo and we go regularly. Every time we try and find someone in the queue we can invite to join us so they get in for free. We don't expect them to stay with us, it just saves them a few bob and doesn't cost us anything.

but are you then not depriving the Zoo of much-needed funds ??

The Zoo is a charity, don't forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Was in the local Texaco early one morning and there was a lorry driver at the till in front of me. Could hear Donegal accent so I assumed whether he was going to or coming from, he'd already had a pretty long journey.
    Anyway he got himself a cup of tea, breakfast roll, box of fags and newspaper... the usual. But when he handed over his bank card it was out of date and I could hear him saying that was the only one he had. (Has happened me before that new one comes in post and never think of switching for the old one.)
    Bitch behind counter (and I'm allowed to say that cos I was at school with her!) just shrugged shoulders and said you'll have to leave them back. -not much else I suppose she could do but she's still a hateful bitch!
    I offered to pay for his stuff and in fairness he didn't argue with me. Poor fella was obviously starving. Wanted my name and address but I just told him to enjoy it on me.
    Fortnight later I was in the shop and Bitchface handed me an envelope with €20 and a thank you card in it. Nice to be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭littlemouse22

Well, I was in the staff Canteen in work deciding what to have for breakfast, very tough decision mind you especially when they have no boiled eggs and their scrambled eggs are swimming in a pool of shoite.

So while waiting on my bread to toast I was faced with the tough decision as to what will I have with my toast? Will I have beans and be tooting my way to 5 o clock or will I treat myself and have a greasy sausy sambo? Decisions, decisions (first world problems, right?)

After much thought I said ah sure feck it, I’ll go with the sausys but just as I was fishing them out with the gripper thingy, I over hear a woman telling her friend "Oh im soooo excited for my sausage sambo", Whilst dishing out the sausys I realise there's only two left....

She came up beside me and went to look in the dish where the sausages were and her face just looked so sad :( - (que sob story) I thought to myself then that woman has probably been dreaming about these sausages for weeks, like these sausages could mean everything to her?

Soooo being the good Samaritan that I am I said 'Ah sure go on you take them' and I went with the beans...

Long story short she turned out to be top rank in my company who everyone’s **** scared of as she does the hiring/firing kind of suss and now I'm in her good books as the sound c*nt that shared her sausys.

^ There's 2 minutes of your life you won't get back , enjoy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Just gonna post this as well incase you guys didn't read it before:

Torie Keene was picking up some food at the Drive-thru in Lakeland, Florida, when she told the cashier, Marisabel Figueroa, she would like to pay for the next person’s meal as well – on the condition that Figueroa say ‘Merry Christmas’ to them rather than ‘happy holidays’. Of course the person who received this gift was so moved that they decided to pay for the next person’s meal as well.

Figueroa told ABC News: ‘It kept going and going. After the 15th car I started tally marking the number of people that were participating on a piece of paper.’

The chain continued for nearly all of Figueroa’s six hour shift, with 250 meals being paid for by the person before. One woman even paid for the meals of three people behind her!

‘I just kept giving everyone the same message, and they were all so stunned and so happy,’ Figueroa said.

After hearing about the incredible moment on the local radio, Torie Keene found Figeuroa on Facebook and revealed herself as the ‘mystery customer’ who started the chain.

Read more: http://metro.co.uk/2015/12/13/random-act-of-kindness-leads-to-250-people-paying-it-forward-at-mcdonalds-5563198/#ixzz41z09btRZ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭KingMonkey

im sure you are all enjoying these lies you are all coming up with to pretend to feel good about yourselves.there is not a single grain of truth in any of these stories

yaya i helped an old woman across the street and carried her shopping for her.then i gave her twenty quid as she was leaving...sure u did

you are all pathetic u make me fkn sick,assholes

im willing to bet none of u have ever done anything good for anyone ever

Mod: Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Had a really rough break up with a girl at the end of 2014, was pretty much over 2 things, one being the dealbreaker of her not wanting children one day any gave a number of perplexing reasons for her not wanting them which I'm not going to get into.

The second reason was she barely made time for us because she was constantly busy doing a phD, really didn't want to end it but felt like a the gun to my head so to speak and it generally isn't my style to break it off, I would take any other route but break it off but I had to do it, was very painful and I had to struggle with the torment of doing it for over a year and beating myself up and being angry at myself for doing it and being angry even at her for making me make that decision.

A little more than a year has gone by, I do still think about her every day, I have recently moved on and found someone else even though my guard is really up over it all and I'm afraid of getting invested in her, don't know it will last even because she is way different than the ex....anyway moving on from the story and onto the act of kindness which this is all about, the background story might be relevant I'll let you decide.

I spotted a post on my news feed on Facebook from my ex's cousin, it was about a fund my ex set up for a conference she want's to attend in Sicily, to show her research for her phD, she can't get the money together for her accommodation I believe it said, the limit was as far as €550. I didn't think twice and donated €50 even if I'm not flushed for cash. I was and still am quite sour over the break-up but I still helped her.

She private messaged me then saying "you're WAY too good" and she "beyond appreciated it"

That's my good deed anyway.

zcorpian88 wrote: »

That's my good deed anyway.

Am I completely losing the plot or did I not read that at 7am this morning?

I was online at around lunchtime today and saw it was missing and I had some on and off trouble logging in for most of last week, thought Boards was going through some maintenance or something so I re-posted later on today, you're not losing the plot whoopsadaisy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭IrishLoriii

I found a 100 euro and someones credit union pouch on the ground in
    tesco carpark the other night..brought it straight into tesco customer care..
    it astounded me the amount of people who thought I should have kept the money..
    it wasnt mine to keep!

I found a 100 euro and someones credit union pouch on the ground in
    tesco carpark the other night..brought it straight into tesco customer care..
    it astounded me the amount of people who thought I should have kept the money..
    it wasnt mine to keep!

With the whole tough climate out there, a lot of people lose their conscience, and take on the "survival of the fittest" mentality. Fairplay for handing it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'm not sure if that counts, but I'm doing a charity lunch club at work.
    I love cooking, and figured this would be one way I could make a bit of a difference. Each club member gets to nominate a charity, and once a month I'm bringing in lunch for all (I send and email the week before letting them know what I'll be bringing and asking them to let me know how many portions each they'd want). The proceeds will then go to charity, we rotate those each month to make sure they all get a fair share.

We raised near enough €120 this month, and I love knowing I get to actually help someone out there along a little bit at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Was in the shop buying a drink a few years back. I had headphones in.

Walked off after paying, not hearing my purse (with over €600 rent money in it) drop from my bag to the floor.

Rather than nick it, some bloke chased me down to hand it back to me, everything still inside. Wouldn't take €20 when I tried to offer it as a thank you.

Hope the man experienced some good luck for his kindness :)

Setting the bar fairly low for kindness there. Basically not being a thief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

robbiezero wrote: »
    Setting the bar fairly low for kindness there. Basically not being a thief.

'Not being a thief' would be simply ignoring it and carrying on about his business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

For the past year or so there's a homeless man who begs near where I work. I never give money but I'll always offer to buy tea or coffee if I have money. This guy is deadly, he's super friendly and over the course of time I've gotten to chat to him a little bit. He never remembers my name though so calls me princess.

So, at the weekend I was out. And I was pretty drunk. I have pretty bad eyesight at the best of times and need glasses for distance so imagine how terrible my vision was after an entire day drinking, it was blurry and seeing double.

Now i haven't seen this man in months, so as I'm rushing down the street, I hear someone shouting hello princess!! So I look, and there he is. I'm rushing for the last train home, I can't find my phone in my massive bag and I'm flustered as hell. He asks me what's wrong and I'm telling him - I need to get home, i am going to miss my train, I can't even see the freaking bus numbers, I can't find my phone and I'm going to cry. He asks me where I need to be, tells me not to be bothering with the bus as I won't make it and gets up and helps me get a taxi to get me to the train in time. He also found my phone in my bag.

I made the train home and there was no tears. He was very kind and patient, and practical. I'd have been totally lost only for him.