Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Stag Party over 40's

• 10-03-2016 4:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭

Can anyone recommend somewhere for about eight late 40's blokes to go for a stag, don't want night clubs or anything like that, but somewhere with a few pubs, maybe music and something to do during the day, but not Golf.
    Anywhere outside Dublin really.

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,470 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Get a boat or two and go on the shannon? Good view, great selection of pubs/restaurants on the way and its a good way for a bunch of lads to get to know one another. Did it with my Dad and a couple of his friends a few years ago and even in my 20s I thought it was a brilliant experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭AlanG

Dingle or Carlingford and do sea fishing or do a driving experience or karting at one of many sites around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Might look into the Shannon thing, sound decent thanks

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I dont know about locations outside Dublin but I'd recommend having a go at some airsoft. My Dad loves it and it's great craic. Definitely second the boat idea, it's brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Galway could be a good bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Stealthfins

Lahinch is your spot,great food,surf lessons all year round.
    They'll provide warm winter wetsuits with hoods and gloves.
    Check out Ben's surf school,he also provides other outdoor activities.

The pubs are fairly good there too and you're not far from the Clliffs of Moher and Doolin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

The surf school is a good idea. The problem with sea-fishing is hangovers+diesel fumes+swell= full irish breakfast coming out your nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Lahinch is your spot,great food,surf lessons all year round.
    They'll provide warm winter wetsuits with hoods and gloves.
    Check out Ben's surf school,he also provides other outdoor activities.

The pubs are fairly good there too and you're not far from the Clliffs of Moher and Doolin.

Thanks, but I doubt if anyone could manage to identify a surf board let alone ride one

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭AlmostCared

What about somewhere like Killarney? Wide range of nightlife and plenty of things to do other than drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

I second the boat on the Shannon.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭CarefulNow!

We are doing galway and kayaking, never kayaked before but we're looking forward to it. Out for dinner and pints after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Head for Westport.
    Plenty of great hotels, Pubs & Restaurants for the evening activities.

Day time activities could include;
    Climb Croagh Patrick - this is not an easy option but there is a great sense of achievement having completed it. Also there is a lovely pub right at the bottom to have a few well earned pints and get the evening off to a good start.!

Cycle the western greenway - http://www.electricescapes.ie/#!about-us/zzxcl
    http://www.westportcycletours.com/
    http://www.greenway.ie/Tours-01.html

Adventure Islands - http://www.theadventureislands.com/

Chartered Fishing Trip
    - There are a number of guys offering this. The following link is a local pub that serve great food that also offer chartered fishing day trips. http://www.thehelm.ie/clew-bay-westport-boat-charter

If ye are based in Dublin, take the train to Westport. Saves any lads having to drive back hungover and its a great service. It's a 3 hour trip that can be made bearable with a few bottles of beer.!