Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

November 2016 Babies Club

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭Dizzy bee

Beanybabog, congrats :) think I'm 4 weeks! Shock is an understatement! There were lots of tears when it flashed up pregnant...can't believe it yet!
    Lainycool, I've no symptoms....in fact that's what made me test because I should have had raging pms for the last week and Nada! Hopefully I'll manage to avoid the morning sickness...fingers crossed. Also, since you've tons more experience than me, should I make app with my gp straight away or wait for a while? Don't have app with fertility specialist for another 2 months so fingers crossed, I'll be cancelling that one!

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭lainycool

Dizzy bee wrote: »
    Beanybabog, congrats :) think I'm 4 weeks! Shock is an understatement! There were lots of tears when it flashed up pregnant...can't believe it yet!
    Lainycool, I've no symptoms....in fact that's what made me test because I should have had raging pms for the last week and Nada! Hopefully I'll manage to avoid the morning sickness...fingers crossed. Also, since you've tons more experience than me, should I make app with my gp straight away or wait for a while? Don't have app with fertility specialist for another 2 months so fingers crossed, I'll be cancelling that one!

You can book an appointment with your gp whenever you like or you can print off the forms yourself from the maternity hospital and send them in yourself! I have my forms sent off so I should have my letter of appointment back sometime this week or early next week!

The last time I got my appointment was when I was 9 weeks so I didn't have long to wait although they did bring me back 2 weeks later as they couldn't date the pregnancy.

Wow you are super organised! I'll call my gp and make an app...think I need someone else to tell me as proof that it's not my imagination playing tricks on me! What hospital do you use? I'm guessing I'll be sent to wexford. I have so much to learn over the next few months! Have spent the last 8 years deliberately avoiding researching things like that and now that I need to know, I'm clueless!
    If I post any stupid questions, don't laugh too hard :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Beanybabog

I'm going to go to the doctor Friday, hopefully they'll give me some more info too! I also might get an early scan because I've pcos and have a higher rate of miscarriage, although this is my first month on metformin and I fell pregnant so I'll stay on it!

I am mega worried about morning sickness- I have issues with nausea and so I'm hoping to avoid it :-( Or at least have it mild

I also have cancel a follow up fertility appointment but I don't want to jump the gun.... I think I'll wait until my scan. It's in the NMH so I don't want to wait too long as someone will be looking the spot, but my next one if I didn't conceive was probably a referral for that tube blockage test- presumably if I'm pregnant and it's ok now my tubes can't be blocked?!! So maybe I should just cancel anyway.

When are ye planning on telling people?? Is it 10 12 or 13 weeks usually?

Oh you're in a similar situation to me then beanybabog? I was waiting on that test too...a hsg I think? Never been on metformin but if it works :) hopefully the morning sickness will pass you by...one of my friends was terrified of being sick so put off getting pregnant for years...got pregnant, not even a whisper of morning sickness for her! She claims it was sheer will power that kept it away :)
    Oh and I know I should wait til 12 weeks to tell anyone but I don't know if I'll be able to keep my mouth shut that long! Will see what the hubby wants and negotiate.

Well get me her tips!! I've already got sickness bags, wrist bands, sweets, snacks.., even though I'm eating like a horse and feeling perfectly fine!

I read that once a heartbeat is detected on a scan MC rate is like 5%.... I think the 12 week thing might be because people tend to have a scan then but I'm not sure.

How are you feeling? I'm grand, a bit crampy and sore boobs but nothing major- feels like I have pms that just won't leave!

I feel fine! No sore boobs, no nausea, nothing....I keep running to the loo every 5 minutes because I'm convinced af has arrived and the pregnancy test got it wrong! Only thing that's different for me is ive found it difficult to sleep the last few nights and that is not like me at all, normally out like a light! I'm actually a little worried about the complete lack of symptoms! Maybe it'd be more real if there was some sign of it. She said it was just pure will power, every time she felt even a tiny bit sick, she'd tell herself that she was imagining it and it wasn't real..mind over matter so to speak, that and she ate everything in front of her for months! She must have been one of the lucky ones...maybe we will be too

I was really tired the first couple of days and thought it was the "fatigue" kicking in- it wasn't. The shock and a few restless nights caused it, now I've come to terms with it and go to bed on time and sleep I'm fine.

It's bound to play in your mind at night even if you're a good sleeper but once you're not too anxious I reckon it'll wear off

Beanybabog wrote: »
    I was really tired the first couple of days and thought it was the "fatigue" kicking in- it wasn't. The shock and a few restless nights caused it, now I've come to terms with it and go to bed on time and sleep I'm fine.

It's bound to play in your mind at night even if you're a good sleeper but once you're not too anxious I reckon it'll wear off

I didn't even know then! In fact I had written this month off as a no hoper because I was convinced I hadn't even ovulated...then today when af was still not showing, I thought I better do a test to confirm I wasn't so I could get the doc to record an anovulatory cycle...imagine the pure shock when pregnant popped up on the screen :) best surprise ever! Have you told anyone yet? Or will you wait til after early scan? Just think, if all goes well (fingers crossed!) we could both have babas for Christmas!

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭sinead81

Dizzy bee wrote: »
    I didn't even know then! In fact I had written this month off as a no hoper because I was convinced I hadn't even ovulated...then today when af was still not showing, I thought I better do a test to confirm I wasn't so I could get the doc to record an anovulatory cycle...imagine the pure shock when pregnant popped up on the screen :) best surprise ever! Have you told anyone yet? Or will you wait til after early scan? Just think, if all goes well (fingers crossed!) we could both have babas for Christmas!

Girls seriously I cannot begin to imagine that I will have a baba for Christmas!!!! Please god obviously! I am 7 weeks this Saturday and thinking of telling our parents and my best friend. Finding it so hard to not tell them! Hoping to get my apt date from the Coombe this week to make it feel a bit more real

Sinead81, I don't know how I'm gonna keep it quiet at all....I'm literally going from staring at the tests in disbelief to bouncing off the walls in excitement! It's gonna be a long few weeks...how have you found the last few weeks? Any symptoms?

Hi dizzy bee..... Sore boobs has been my major symptom!!! I had to buy a bandeau top in Penneys today just to sleep in. The pain at night if I move around is unbearable! I went to the chemist today and asked was there anything I could take and she said no and it should pass at 12 weeks. I have booked an early scan for next week, I know I will only be 8 weeks but it's just for some sort of peace of mind. I'm also getting married in May so it's not ideal drink wise but we are delighted, an absolute blessing x

I told two friends- I figure i would tell them if something went wrong anyway. Holding off for the rest! I don't feel pregnant either.

I'm going to do the early scan too, can't wait!!

sinead81 wrote: »
    Hi dizzy bee..... Sore boobs has been my major symptom!!! I had to buy a bandeau top in Penneys today just to sleep in. The pain at night if I move around is unbearable! I went to the chemist today and asked was there anything I could take and she said no and it should pass at 12 weeks. I have booked an early scan for next week, I know I will only be 8 weeks but it's just for some sort of peace of mind. I'm also getting married in May so it's not ideal drink wise but we are delighted, an absolute blessing x

Aw double congrats are in order then! 2016 will be an amazing year for you then....and dont worry about the drink, no one will notice that you're not drinking and if they do you can say you want to remember every second of your big day without being tipsy

I told two friends- I figure i would tell them if something went wrong anyway. Holding off for the rest! I don't feel pregnant either.

I'm going to do the early scan too, can't wait!!

Did you book it? If you pay online you save a few bob! They won't accept you any earlier than 8 weeks because if I could I would've gone today! So exciting.

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Mindy76

Joining too! Very early days, I'm due on the 20th. This will be my second baby, my little baba here is 9 months. Very excited. No major symptoms yet, just very tired and some cramping. I had a very easy pregnancy last time so hoping for the same this time. Also on metformin for pcos.. Planning on having an early scan in a couple of weeks time, looking forward to that!

Mindy76 wrote: »
    Joining too! Very early days, I'm due on the 20th. This will be my second baby, my little baba here is 9 months. Very excited. No major symptoms yet, just very tired and some cramping. I had a very easy pregnancy last time so hoping for the same this time. Also on metformin for pcos.. Planning on having an early scan in a couple of weeks time, looking forward to that!

Congrats Mindy76! Fingers crossed the pregnancy is a breeze for you :) do you see much at an early scan?

I guess it depends on where you go and quality of the machine. At my early scan last time we got a definite outline of baba and seen the heartbeat! It was a transvaginal scan, you tend to get better view/images. The place we went to gave us two photos and a dvd too so we got to look at the heartbeat afterwards too.

Did you book it? If you pay online you save a few bob! They won't accept you any earlier than 8 weeks because if I could I would've gone today! So exciting.

Where's this? I went to a private scan clinic place (that's all they do) for my pcos scans and I'm sure it says online you can scan from 6 weeks??

Are any of you doing the harmony or panorama tests? Have you priced them? Have you picked your hospital??? Fingers crossed all goes well I'll go to holles street. Heard good and bad things about them all and everyone I know who had a baby recently thinks holles st/colbe/rotunda ie where ever they went is best!! So I'll just pick the handiest one for me I can walk to work from appointments

I don't know about the tests...that's something I'll have to discuss with the other half. Am leaning towards no tho. I'll probably end up going to wexford, it's the closest to me. have heard really great things about holles St lately...I've been seeing a gynae in the Rotunda and they've been fantastic.

What is the harmony and panorama test?

Where's this? I went to a private scan clinic place (that's all they do) for my pcos scans and I'm sure it says online you can scan from 6 weeks??

Babyscan in Rathgar and they wouldn't see me before the 8 week mark

What is the harmony and panorama test?

Non Invasive blood tests for various different disorders such as downs. I am not 100% sure of the difference between the two. They are private tests as far as I know and fairly pricey.

A number of years ago a friend of mine had a scan that suggested downs and they wanted to do the invasive test into amniotic fluid but she travelled to NI and got one of these tests. (all was fine). I assume they were not available here or common at the time but a few places do them

Babyscan in Rathgar and they wouldn't see me before the 8 week mark

Ultrasound clinic in Blackrock say they do them from 6 weeks. Merrion fetal health do too. I will check it out. Maybe 6 weeks only works for some

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭Zizigirl

Just had the worst flu ever for the past week! No fun without meds at all! Congratulations everybody, can't wait for scans to make it seem real!

Mindy76 wrote: »

Mindy did they keep you on the metformin?? I haven't been to doctor yet so I just had to google!! I'm still taking it as that seems best. Does it help with symptoms or make any worse?

In my last pregnancy the consultant told me to take it until 14 weeks at which point he wanted a glucose test done. If that was normal I was to discontinue taking it but if it was positive I'd have to attend the diabetic clinic. All my Gtt's were clear. I'll take it again this time and see what happens at my first visit.

Sorry for all the questions girls but I have one more!!! I haven't gone I doctor yet (booked Friday) but because of pcos and long irregular cycles will dating it be hard? I thought I ovulated on cd21 which would make me 5 weeks at the weekend, but last period date would make me 6 weeks at the weekend. I wouldn't have thought I could go by last period date due to long cycles but the day before my period was due I got 2-3 weeks on a clearblue. How accurate are they?

I suppose 5 or 6 weeks is much of a muchness but I'm eager to get the early scan as soon as I can without wasting money because I went too early

• Registered Users Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭catrionanic

It was so lovely to read all the happy news in this thread, especially from the girls who have been trying for a very long time to get pregnant!

Well done everyone, and congratulations! Enjoy every minute of it.