Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Festival Day 3 - St.Patricks Day Thursday 17th March

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

evens freely available on Vautour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Just noticed the Ryanair is worth more prize money than the World Hurdle. Surpassed it in prize money last year apparently.

Pretty crazy considering the WH is supposed to be one of the big four.

Kings Palace at 12/1 must be one of the worst priced horses of the festival. The horse is as soft as shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Vautour to be the first Irish winner of the Ryanair? Fancy Taquin de Seuil at 20/1 instead ew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Vautour & Thistlecrsck double paying 7/2....

Keep the faith lads!!! All aboard. Don't let other results hinder your thoughts.

If you look through all the results , most horses were well fancied & market leaders last week..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Shane732 wrote: »
    Can't decided whether to go in big with Thistlecrack

No balls today.

In the same boat
    Was thinking of doing a lot less than planned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,092 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Just got a notification from Paddy Power saying that they're offering enhanced odds (4/1) on Vatour and Thistlecrack double..in my experience when PP offers enhanced specials like that it's basically a jinx..hope I'm wrong :(

Max 10.that will do me for today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Gonna take a flyer on Smashing in the Ryanair Each Way, he's thrown in against the big boys so its either sink or swim. 25/1 is a decent price I think and he could improve to get a place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Johner wrote: »
    Kings Palace at 12/1 must be one of the worst priced horses of the festival. The horse is as soft as shite.

Be careful. Un Temps pour tour had a similar rep prior to Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭uxiant

Un Temps Pour Tout was a Grade 1 winning hurdler laid out for the race. Kings Palace doesn't go in big fields and it's questionable if he's on a good mark anyway unlike Un Temps Pour Tout who was thrown in off his hurdles rating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Just got a notification from Paddy Power saying that they're offering enhanced odds (4/1) on Vatour and Thistlecrack double..in my experience when PP offers enhanced specials like that it's basically a jinx..hope I'm wrong :(
    eh i dunno wrote: »
    Max 10.that will do me for today
    Have you a link? Can't seem to find it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

Degag wrote: »
    Have you a link? Can't seem to find it.

It's on the app. €14 max bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

I'd wait for a while with that double. By the looks of it the bookies are looking to take Vautour on. Could end up bigger.

uxiant wrote: »
    Un Temps Pour Tout was a Grade 1 winning hurdler laid out for the race. Kings Palace doesn't go in big fields and it's questionable if he's on a good mark anyway unlike Un Temps Pour Tout who was thrown in off his hurdles rating.

Kings Palaces run in the Paddypower with 20 runners was interesting if you rewatch it,i'd still hold a slight question mark myself about him in big fields but that day Scudamore got the horn and went too early and emptied the horse but he was having no problems with the field size.

Talking about well handicapped, that's what this boy could well be, beat Sausalito Sunrise 7 lengths giving him 3lbs just over a year ago and he's now rated 163 whereas Kings Palace is 150 here.

With the rep the Pipes have and the chance he could be nicely handicapped and that first time cheekpieces are reached for it's no surprise he's 4th or 5th in the betting for me. I like Salubrious and Johns Spirit in the race(too short though) but might have a saver on KP. Wouldn't be surprised to see a big run.

1.30 Outlander 5/1.

Fences seem to have brought the best out of Outlander who's 3/3 and has won nicely on all three starts, will relish a battle and will take all the beating, his stable mate Black Hercules looks the danger.

2.05 Our Kaempfer 10/1

The strong pace and better ground look like it will be suit Our Kaempfer today, looks to be on a nice mark of 139. Finished 3rd in the Sefton at Aintree last year to Thistlecrack.

2.50 Vautour evens
    Smashing E/W 28/1

Vautour will surely be too classy for this field, Smashing is horse I really like jumps really nicely and will hopefully run into a place.

3.30 Thistlecrack 11/8

Looked a superstar in the making last season when hacking up at Aintree and being just touched off at Punchestown after. Backed that up this season winning all 3 starts impressively, looks a monster.

4.10 John's Spirit 13/2

I'm on at 10s and I know a lot of the forum are on at bigger prices, the current price is a bit skimpy but Jonjo sure knows how to get one ready for a big handicap at Cheltenham.

4.50 Smart Talk 7/1

Limini looks a bit of a machine but odds on on a mare who has had two starts over jumps and who has jumped pretty poorly at times is just too short for me. Smart Talk is a battle hardened novice and 7/1 is a nice price.

5.30 The Giant Bolster 12/1
    Silvergrove 14/1

TGB is on a nice mark and Silvergrove is a superb jumper who has impressed me this season.

Does anyone know if desoto county will get into the county hurdle tomorrow

Missed the cut.

Vautour is 5/4 on bet 365 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Vautour seems very weak in the betting but odds against is now starting to look very tempting. He'll have this lot for breakfast if he's anywhere near to his best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭itsnotmyfault

I was thinking that i'd get 6/4 Thistlecrack at some stage this morning. Not looking likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I was thinking that i'd get 6/4 Thistlecrack at some stage this morning. Not looking likely.

If he was trained by Willie Mullins, he'd be odds on. Anything close to odds against is a bonus.

I'd say we're all agreed that 5/4 will be taken but no harm sitting tight for another while to see if we might get 6/4,i was sure we would and was thinking hopefully more like 13/8 or 7/4. Not looking likely :(

seems the 5/4 on vautour all gone
    took 11/10..surely no way this goes off odds against

bristol du mai
    vautour
    thistle

singles
    trebles/acca with limini

I'd say we're all agreed that 5/4 will be taken but no harm sitting tight for another while to see if we might get 6/4,i was sure we would and was thinking hopefully more like 13/8 or 7/4. Not looking likely :(

365 went 6/4 for a bit and it didn't last, not sure he'll get bigger now he looks very strong whereas Vautour looks weak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Am I wrong in saying if Black Hercules hadn't have fallen last time out he'd go off fav here in the JLT? I think he's a cracking bet.

He looks a horse that needs everything to fall his way and in the hustle and bustle of a 23 runner handicap I just can't see it happening. When the pressure is applied he seems to be having none of it. Add to that 150 looks a big of a high mark to me. Was surprised to see him at 12/1.

Am I wrong in saying if Black Hercules hadn't have fallen last time out he'd go off fav here in the JLT? I think he's a cracking bet.

I'd imagine he'd be around an 11/4 3/1 fav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Has Lami Serge any chance or is his jumping not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭mountai

Leave at Dawn , Wouldn't be surprised to see this one win . Plot horse IMHO . Byrnes must be one of the best trainers for prepping horses for Cheltenham , doesn't have many runners but with Geraghty deciding to ride , will be watching the money on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Wicklow Brave

Cole Harden will go off like a scalded cat on the fastest ground they've ran on this year. Yes, Thistlecrack had the measure of Alpha des Obeaux at Aintree on good ground last year but it was a 7yo against a 5yo over 3 miles. I thought TC was an absolute moral until recently but Yanworth yday has left me with serious doubts. The Romford Pele was beaten off 140 aswell yesterday. I think Thistlecrack and Limini are getting beat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Be surprised if Limini gets around,one of the worst priced horses Ive seen in a long time at the festival a place lay,can win but quick 2m round there will have her jumping put under pressure.

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Has Lami Serge any chance or is his jumping not good enough.

I'd forgive his last run. Fox Norton came out and ran alright in the Arkle. Better ground, longer trip and a different jockey are all positives for his jumping. He's the best horse in the race imho. Ran no race in the Supreme last year and was still 4th.

Bookies have to take on either Vautour or Thistlecrack and it seems they've decided to take on Vautour, which is mental. This ''he's only 90%'' is absolute sh*te. Bookies are on the wrong one. Punish them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Garde la victoire
    Arpege dalene
    Johns spirit
    Cole harden

E/w L15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭uxiant

Cole Harden will go off like a scalded cat on the fastest ground they've ran on this year. Yes, Thistlecrack had the measure of Alpha des Obeaux at Aintree on good ground last year but it was a 7yo against a 5yo over 3 miles. I thought TC was an absolute moral until recently but Yanworth yday has left me with serious doubts. The Romford Pele was beaten off 140 aswell yesterday. I think Thistlecrack and Limini are getting beat.

You're a brave man to think Thistlecrack is getting beat. To be honest I think Yanworth just got beat by a cracking horse in Yorkhill over a trip further than ideal. He didn't get a nice run around either.

If you have any concerns about the form of Thistlecrack's last run (which I don't) watch his performance at Ascot when he hammered Reve De Sivola at his best track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Suprised so many posting what they're backing, because come 5:30 everybody will hate them if they win and moan.

Main bet is Vautour at 9/2 E/W Antepost.

Also did the Vautour/Thistle Enchanced 4/1

uxiant wrote: »

You're a brave man to think Thistlecrack is getting beat. To be honest I think Yanworth just got beat by a cracking horse in Yorkhill over a trip further than ideal. He didn't get a nice run around either.

If you have any concerns about the form of Thistlecrack's last run (which I don't) watch his performance at Ascot when he hammered Reve De Sivola at his best track.

Oh I could look like a total fool come 3:40 today. Yanworth's loss has left a mark on me lol. Tbf anything bigger than 5/4 is really good value but it's just the view I've taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭icanmunch

i have vautour, thistle and limini treble e/w and black hercules e/w

Black Hercules/Garde La Victoire/Bristol De Mai, any of them to win 5/6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭magherakid

Thistlecrack 13/8 now Betfred & Bet365 for anyone

Vautour being enchanced in everything, not a good sign :(

Vautour/Limini 3/1 Betfred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Vatour back to evens on PP

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

today is a tough one.

small e/w trixie on cole harden, black hercules, cause of causes
    vautour/thistlecrack enhanced from paddy power
    limini/thistlecrack/vautour/garde la victoire yankee
    small e/w accumulator on the bigger odds horses from rossom's picks

nothing too big, big day yesterday and no intention of giving it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭itsnotmyfault

magherakid wrote: »
    Thistlecrack 13/8 now Betfred & Bet365 for anyone

Had given up on this getting any bigger and took the 5/4 but went in again on the 13/8. Going to be very unhappy with myself if this gets beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭dave81

My advice is to stick to your guns and not change your mind. I've had some bad Cheltenham's made worse by changing my mind. Dug myself deeper in. I hate doubles and trebles, there is always one that loses. I don't think vatour is vulnerable, he never works great and he wouldn't be risked if not right. It's between limini and thistle crack. Probably limini. Just my opinion, could be mad wrong. I got stuck into Yorkhill yesterday as I though he would take Yanworth. Worked out for me. I certainly wouldn't put anybody off them as it's just an opinion.

I really l like our Kaempher today. I hit the post for a nice bet yesterday with long Hall house. His Aintree run was good over hurdles, in front of blackion who won yesterday and not too far behind thistlecrack. Spring ground might bring out his best. Dangers lurk everywhere.

I'm also on Johns Spirit as I got him at 14s, I just followed the gamble. Dangers lurk everywhere, especially fingal if he's in that race. Handicaps are due a massive winner.

Doctor Harper too. Again I followed the gamble. My better nature would say cause of causes who I backed the last two years.

I got a real sneak for black Hercules in the first. Not a superstar. Poor enough race and won't take much winning.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

somebody just put 10k on cole harding to win the 3.30 in the bookies at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

dave81 wrote: »
    My advice is to stick to your guns and not change your mind. I've had some bad Cheltenham's made worse by changing my mind. Dug myself deeper in. I hate doubles and trebles, there is always one that loses. I don't think vatour is vulnerable, he never works great and he wouldn't be risked if not right. It's between limini and thistle crack. Probably limini. Just my opinion, could be mad wrong. I got stuck into Yorkhill yesterday as I though he would take Yanworth. Worked out for me. I certainly wouldn't put anybody off them as it's just an opinion.

I really l like our Kaempher today. I hit the post for a nice bet yesterday with long Hall house. His Aintree run was good over hurdles, in front of blackion who won yesterday and not too far behind thistlecrack. Spring ground might bring out his best. Dangers lurk everywhere.

I'm also on Johns Spirit as I got him at 14s, I just followed the gamble. Dangers lurk everywhere, especially fingal if he's in that race. Handicaps are due a massive winner.

Doctor Harper too. Again I followed the gamble. My better nature would say cause of causes who I backed the last two years.

I got a real sneak for black Hercules in the first. Not a superstar. Poor enough race and won't take much winning.

Good luck.

I remortgagd the house and put it on Yorkhill. Was so glad I did. I also had Johns Spirit at 33/1 and have layed off to a huge profit and free bet. I have now retired from the day job after yesterday's huge win. Such a great feeling. Good luck today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,040 ✭✭✭kksaints

Have gone for Vibrato Valtat EW in the Ryanair and Fingal Bay EW in the 4 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

E/W Lucky 15 on...
    L'ami Serge
    All Hell Let Loose
    Taquin du Seuel
    Whisper

Also doing a large win single on If In Doubt to get Hobbs off the mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Why do RTE only cover up to the 3.30 race??