Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Online dating

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Ha! You must think me a fierce classy bird.

No, it's my Don't Care Bears t-shirt.

http://shirtoid.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/dont-care-bears.jpg

I f*cking love it.

I'll wear this one (albeit very faded) and we'll be the bee's knees!
    Boom_Bap wrote: »

Must. Own. One.

It's now I need a pint.

5pm Heuston Station. Hit me up.
    :p

In dating news I'm curious if any of you have joined one of those payed matchmaking dating services? You know the ones that are advertised on the radio. That kind of thing?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Have any of ye met in RL? Would you not consider a beers night? Maybe no romance involved, but a few might make some proper friendships that could develop.....I'm sorry if this has already been suggested or happened...I'm a newish follower :)

I would love to meet up if others want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭BlondeMoment

Frig it, throw my name down too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Frig it, throw my name down too!

Time and place dependant I might tag along too.

I'll send around a pm to interested people with potential dates and locations :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭BlondeMoment

In dating news I'm curious if any of you have joined one of those payed matchmaking dating services? You know the ones that are advertised on the radio. That kind of thing?

Thread is slightly old but its a resounding no from these users...

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057127965/1

Why not just organize a boards beers?

We'll see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

And this is where the clique comes to the surface. If you're having a private beers, discuss it in private, if its an open beers leave it open to everyone.

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    And this is where the clique comes to the surface. If you're having a private beers, discuss it in private, if its an open beers leave it open to everyone.

Yep. Which is why I responded with "we'll see what happens".

As far as I'm concerned if there is a beers whoever wants to come along can. I don't know what everyone else wants.

There's no clique occurring. Just sounding the whole thing out because I haven't a clue.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,829 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

If I was in the country (which I'm not) I'd be tempted by a "Boardsingles" night but wouldn't set foot outside the mammy's for an event with "beer" in the title. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

What happens at a boards beers

stays at a boards beers. :p

Nothing really. A group of people get together, have a few beers if they want, bit of craic and that's about it. I meet up regularly with boardsies from a private forum and we always have savage craic, would call them friends now so really its the same as going out with friends except with people you met on boards

But the first one? Is it like a first date? Do you arrive sober?
    Excuse me barman, can you tell me where I'd find boneyarsedbogman? Are they civilised affairs? Does anyone else drink wine from pint glasses?? It sounds a bit daunting!

I was definitely a little nervous :D but everyone was sound and very welcoming. Had lots of pints, went dancing, managed to get home, good night :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Does anyone else drink wine from pint glasses??

Only if they've run out of gin.

Aye, getting home is generally something most adults take for granted!! :D sounds like a laugh anyway. Coppers?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Didn't think my suggestion would take off so well.
    I don't think this group is cliquey, but it is quite a small group of posters, so if it was to happen, yes make it a broader grouping...keep all us muck savages interested :D

So how do we go about having a beers for all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

So how do we go about having a beers for all?

Arrange a date/venue and see who turns up??

Not every poster clicks in to this thread.

Well is it a regular beers or a singles night?

It's whatever people want it to be. A beers night that isn't a secret :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

It's whatever people want it to be. A beers night that isn't a secret :)

Get someone to start a thread/start one yourself of you'd deffo turn up

• Registered Users Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

As a huge believer in women's lib may I suggest a gender quota? Five women to a man? :)

Collie D wrote: »
    As a huge believer in women's lib may I suggest a gender quota? Five women to a man? :)

Feck off you. Definitely not invited :pac:

Can I organise the pre drinks?! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Feck off you. Definitely not invited :pac:

Yeah, we can definitely do without out that rubbish....it should be 10:1