Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Stage 3 2016/2017

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

On the form B I don't currently have written references, just wondering if their contact details are sufficient and if anyone else is just doing the same??

I've been in contact with my referees and have them briefed that they may receive a call seeking a references?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭DooraGirl

MrBlack93 wrote: »
    On the form B I don't currently have written references, just wondering if their contact details are sufficient and if anyone else is just doing the same??

I've been in contact with my referees and have them briefed that they may receive a call seeking a references?

Hi.. it's up to yourself, but I'd get the written ones if you could. My sergeant asked to see them and I reckon it would speed things up on the vetting front for you. They seem to want everything on paper and on file for you. That's just my two cents and I'm open to correction :)

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭vardy98

Guys how do you write your answers for the competences in the form of STAR, can all answers for all competences be created using this, thanks.

vardy98 wrote: »
    Guys how do you write your answers for the competences in the form of STAR, can all answers for all competences be created using this, thanks.

Situation: Clearly state the background to the incident/story that your using to support your competency.

Task: What was required of you in order to rectify the situation.

Action: What actions to took to rectify the situation.

Result: What was the positive outcome the actions which you took?

The following video is in relation to Uk police forces although there is relevant info that may be helpful for you;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogXYsPCMemE

• Registered Users Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Lads, whats the format when you do the interview? I know its different for everybody but is it along the lines of;

Talk about yourself
    Education
    What made you want to become a Guard?
    The 5 competencies

Anything else that should be somewhat prepared for?

Just seeing if anyone has used P O'Toole in Sligo in order to prepare for the interview?
    If so could you recommend him highly?

I've currently booked him

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Vitaliy

Hi, what do people suggest to do for interview preparation? Career services as a group or one on one with someone who is specialised in Garda interview preparation?
    There are benefits to both, one on one attention, or possible ideas from the group?

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Kilrodane boy

FORM B hi guys is it vital that aunts and uncles and grand parents date of births are put down on form b

• Registered Users Posts: 23 arc2017

Hi guys..

I got my stage 2 results on the 14th December and just wondering does anyone have an idea of when the interview might be? I did the career services course on Saturday!!

arc2017 wrote:
    I got my stage 2 results on the 14th December and just wondering does anyone have an idea of when the interview might be? I did the career services course on Saturday!!

Your interview date is based on the oom you received after stage 2; not on the date you did stage 2

FORM B hi guys is it vital that aunts and uncles and grand parents date of births are put down on form b

Yes its vital.

arc2017 wrote: »
    Hi guys..

What number were you given with your results? I'm 627, still waiting on the interview date.

Vitaliy wrote: »
    What number were you given with your results? I'm 627, still waiting on the interview date.

I am placed 948. Hoping to know soon!! Thanks for getting back to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭diddlybo

For college results, will bringing your degree and a photcopy of it do, or will I have to get a copy of my final results from the college?

Are people handing in copies of the copy of the birth certificate or what's the craic? Seemingly they don't actually hand out the original document anymore, they just send a photocopy?

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Cohaw

Any one do a course for the interview. Thinking of doing Garda ip . Is ita worth the money

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭AiB123

diddlybo wrote: »

For college results, will bringing your degree and a photcopy of it do, or will I have to get a copy of my final results from the college?

They don't look for your college results, just your leaving certificate or the minimum requirement you plan to use! I think they just take your word! Presumably they'll just look for verification if we're successful and looking for the increments!

• Registered Users Posts: 10 tearing123

Lads. Clean shaven for interview, yay or nay? Haven't been clean shaven in a few years was wondering is now the time with interview next week :)

• Registered Users Posts: 22 jay days

Hi, I see lots of people in the same boat as myself and waiting for word on their interview, i'm in the 800's, just wondering how much notice we will get before it.
    Also probably a stupid question but is the medical or fitness test first?? I'm under pressure to lose weight if I get pass the interview so I'm thinking positive and trying to get the lb's off and get fit!! But I need as much time as I can possibly get..... so I suppose I'm just trying to get some sort of time frame in my head!I had a baby 10 months ago and had pretty much let my fitness totally go!

tearing123 wrote: »
    Lads. Clean shaven for interview, yay or nay? Haven't been clean shaven in a few years was wondering is now the time with interview next week :)

Hi, just wondering, what number are you that you have interview next week.
    Just to have a rough idea when I'll be called, I'm 627.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Wexfordgal0987

Hi. I'm in mid 600's too. I was told we should be called In first few weeks of February

Thanks grand, at least I know rough idea, have some time to prepair

• Registered Users Posts: 10 tearing123

Early 300s :)

For those who've done the interview already, did ye hand in written references as well as filling in the section in the vetting form?

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Madgek85

jay days wrote: »
    Hi, I see lots of people in the same boat as myself and waiting for word on their interview, i'm in the 800's, just wondering how much notice we will get before it.
    Also probably a stupid question but is the medical or fitness test first?? I'm under pressure to lose weight if I get pass the interview so I'm thinking positive and trying to get the lb's off and get fit!! But I need as much time as I can possibly get..... so I suppose I'm just trying to get some sort of time frame in my head!I had a baby 10 months ago and had pretty much let my fitness totally go!

Fair play too you, medical is first you need to pass this to be let do the physical, keep up the fitness as it's not easy especially the bleep test, if they are on top of the pile you could have medical a couple of weeks after interview and fitness 3 plus weeks after that. Best of luck with it

Hi again guys!! Any more updates on interview dates? Really need to know soon..trying to plan something for the week of the 11th-16th February.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭wlynch1984

Hi again guys!! Any more updates on interview dates? Really need to know soon..trying to plan something for the week of the 11th-16th February.

What was your oom??

Im up next week for interviews and Im mid 300's so that might give ya an idea of when you might be up. Think this batch started this week but Im open to correction on that one.

wlynch1984 wrote: »
    What was your oom??

I am 948!!

madcabbage wrote: »
    Im up next week for interviews and Im mid 300's so that might give ya an idea of when you might be up. Think this batch started this week but Im open to correction on that one.

OK cool..I am 948 so will be another while I am guessing!!!