Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aintree Grand National

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

The winner of the Albert Bartlett Uknowhatimeanharry will find it tough to win too i reckon,think that race was run to suit him and he might have been flattered,i think Champers on ice and Barters hill will ikely prove the best 2 from that race,if Champers on ice runs this week i'll likely back him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Wicklow Brave

Lads which one of the Cheltenham winners do you think will run a stinker at Aintree?

Master Minded and Voy Por Ustedes in 2008 is always in the back of my mind for this meeting. I'd be stunned if Thistlecrack is beat. I wouldn't be suprised if any of Mullins get beat though, being a meeting he's never targeted before but they'll win in all likelihood. Mullins going for the UK Trainers Title is an interesting subplot. Overall it looks like odds on shots in small fields and nothing really that appealing from a punting POV. Why they feel the need to have *three* Novice Hurdles and *three* novice chases is beyond me, all grade ones aswell. They should scrap those 3 mile races too, the Bowl and the Liverpool Hurdle. We could have had Thistlecrack v Annie Power over 2m4f in the Aintree Hurdle like. The racing will be good don't get me wrong but it could be so much better. Anyone know the story with the ground for the three days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Wicklow Brave

The winner of the Albert Bartlett Uknowhatimeanharry will find it tough to win too i reckon,think that race was run to suit him and he might have been flattered,i think Champers on ice and Barters hill will ikely prove the best 2 from that race,if Champers on ice runs this week i'll likely back him.

None of the three you mention entered this week. Looks like it's Fagan, Gangster and whoever Ruby rides: Bellshill, Balko des Flos, Thomas Hobson or Bello Conti. Ballydine looks a good bet and I think he's a definite runner. Dreadful race though.

Hadn't even checked the entries but surprised at that although when i think about it a grueling 3 mile Novice hurdle followed by another 3 weeks later probably is quite an ask of any Novice. Gangster was a massive talking horse prior to Cheltenham but flopped,be interesting to see if he runs a better race or if it was all just hype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Bello Conti will go well in that 3mile novice race, needs 3m and ran well in 4th when outpaced in the Neptune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭slimshady007

How is siviniaco Conti 2nd fav? He shouldnt even be considered for the GN. He didn't stay the gold cup distance so no chance of staying in the GN. Seems to be desperation as he's no longer good enough for the top 3 mile races. Has to be a massive place lay imo. Blatant non stayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

How is siviniaco Conti 2nd fav? He shouldnt even be considered for the GN. He didn't stay the gold cup distance so no chance of staying in the GN. Seems to be desperation as he's no longer good enough for the top 3 mile races. Has to be a massive place lay imo. Blatant non stayer.

Because he is at least the 2nd best chance of winning. I wouldn't be calling him a non stayer, he is just much better on a flat track. He he stays up in this there is no chance hell be far away. I'm not sure 12/1 is value but his record outside of cheltenham is steller to say the least.

I mean he only has to give Wonderful Charm 5 lbs that is mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Something I've noticed is that backing at or near the bottom of the handicap tends to yield a return

In the last decade

Alvarado Paul Moloney 33/1 10-02 (placed)

Auroras Encore Ryan Mania 66/1 10-3 (win)

In Compliance Niall Madden 100/1 10–00 (placed)

Hello Bud Sam Twiston-Davies 20/1 10-06 (placed)

Cerium Keith Mercer 100/1 10-5 (placed)

Silver Birch Robbie Power 33/1 10-6 (win)/Philson Run Daryl Jacob 10-06 100/1 (placed)/Liberthine Sam Waley-Cohen 10-06 40/1 (2007 a good year for lightweights!)

Risk Accessor Noel Fehily 10-06 66/1 (placed)

Obviously still plenty of picking still to do but if one concentrates on the last half a dozen horses in the list it might get you something on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,041 ✭✭✭kksaints

Two horses for me this year each way are Saint Are and Onenightinvienna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I thought Nina was free to ride On The Fringe after Sam Waley-Cohen found that technicality to enable him to ride in the National?

Or is she just free to ride in The National too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭knighted

Free to ride the national as its not a race restricted to amateurs only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

knighted wrote: »
    Free to ride the national as its not a race restricted to amateurs only

No, it's because of the wording for the riders in the race afterwards, not the National

Either way, free to ride on National day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭lorenzo87

Bet365 are giving half your stake back for all EW bets on the Grand National.

Max Refund £125 for ALL punters!

Cracking offer this lads! This is the link if anyone is interested ▶ http://bit.ly/1WMgmIt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Lads, is it just me or is O'Faolains Boy a stonking ew bet at 33/1 (6 places) with BetVictor?

He's a Gr1 winner from 2014 RSA, and although he was off the track for a year, he still travelled well up with the fine 1st and 2nd in Gold Cup until weakening four out. He's a scopey horse so National fences should be ok and I wouldn't be worried about him getting the trip at the slower pace. Trainer has had a 3rd place finisher in recent years with Teafortree and is in fine form at moment.

Although it may be doubtful he's the same horse he was as a novice (trainer thinks he is) when he beat Saturday's fav Many Clouds, but getting 9lbs from him now, I've had a good ew bet to find out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Texas Jack

Kruzhlinin and Triolo Dalene E.W @ 33's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Good price for Kruzhlinin.

20 with Paddy, 25 with Spoilsports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

going with

Saint Are 16s (2nd last year)
    Boston Bob 33s
    Unioniste 33s
    Bishops Road 20s (if one of the above drops out)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

cson wrote: »
    If it comes up soft-ish I'd fancy Morning Assembly to place.

Looking like it will, so shall have a crack off this today on BetVictor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

looking as its softish It might go against some of those carrying heavier weights but the field is so compact maybe not

Who will definitely not like it soft, i'm thinking holywell and wonderful charm at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Don't know that Saint Are will like the softer ground, tbh. Many Clouds should still do fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,099 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

I really like Goonyella, Classy horse will stay the trip goes on any ground decent jumper and looks to have been trained for this. I'm on at 20/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

I really like Goonyella, Classy horse will stay the trip goes on any ground decent jumper and looks to have been trained for this. I'm on at 20/1

All true, but dont think he's coped well with the size of the fences when over them before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Would anyone give Home Farm an each way squeak on soft ground? 3rd in an Irish National on soft ground and 100/1 looks a big price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭mulbot

sonnky wrote: »
    Would anyone give Home Farm an each way squeak on soft ground? 3rd in an Irish National on soft ground and 100/1 looks a big price.

Have backed him at that,he's 80/1 now so will do another bet later-would like him to have had a few more recent chase runs on his belt though.

Also really fancy The Druid's nephew for this race,to win and have him backed also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Definately not a 100/1 chance.. USe bet 365 and the place part is free. i.e. 10ew costs 20 and then get 10 back 30 mins later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,018 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Can't really go wrong at 100/1 as an e/w I guess, but the field is so strong these days, I can't see a horse with such mediocre form and lack of proven stamina winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

There's too many for me to have multiple bets. I'm tempted by

Rule The world
    Many Clouds
    O'Faolains Boy
    Triolo D'Alene
    Morning Assembly
    Le Reve
    And a few more

I've backed Rule The World so far.
    I think I'll back O'Faolains Boy as well and leave it at that.

Maybe the forecast as well 😂

My dart as fallen on The Druids Nephew at 16/1, although I hope I am a bit more informed than that. Looked like it would be a contender last year when it fell close to home. Apparently the National wasn't even a target then, so you'd have to think with the benefit of a run and some experience, that it'll go close again. A lad I know who has some sort of connection told me to back this for the Ultima at Cheltenham where it won last year. Same fella has said don't go anywhere near it this year until the National. Have had it at 20/1 for weeks now.

Also like Goonyella, Holywell, and Morning Assembly, but can't pick between any of them at the minute. If I get 20/1 on The Druids Nephew, I might just dip in and go all in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Gilgamboa at 50s for me. Also ofaolins and morning assembly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭alroley

My random pick for my main bet was Silviniaco Conti.

Also have these all e/w
    The Druids Nephew
    Saint Are
    Gallant Oscar
    Soll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,198 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

O'Faolains Boy and Gilgamboa for me

THE GOING on the Grand National course was soft, good to soft in places on Saturday morning following 7mm of rain overnight.

Not feeling so keen on Druid's with the easing of the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭mulbot

Not feeling so keen on Druid's with the easing of the ground.

He'll be fine,!;)

O'Faoilains Boy NR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Ouch ofaoilins out

I presume OFB didn't eat up or struck into himself or something this morning,surely they cant withdraw him on the ground,he should love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭DANNY2014

Ballnagour 66
    On his own 66
    Ballycasey 80
    Vioux lion rouge 80
    Hadrians approach 66

Hope one will place at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I presume OFB didn't eat up or struck into himself or something this morning,surely they cant withdraw him on the ground,he should love it.

Knocked himself overnight. Lame this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mattser

Saint Are. Giddy up.

Do you get money back then since he's a non runner?

PressRun wrote: »
    Do you get money back then since he's a non runner?

When did you back him?

Day before yesterday.

PressRun wrote: »
    Day before yesterday.

Yeah you should get refunded,think most were NRNB but someone like Willhill or Ladbrokes mightn't have been,i'm guessing you used PP or one of the other more popular bookies in Ireland? If so you'll be refunded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Prices are up for Faller Insurance, one less place (4pl) and about 20% less of a price.
    Considering around half didn't finish last year, worth consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

All my eggs are in the Gallant Oscar basket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,695 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Gallant Oscar each way is my punt, Donn McLean tips it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Clique

39 runners again. I would say Kerry Lee and the owners of Bishops Road will be doubly sick this morning seeing OFB come out and then the fall of yesterday at the first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

PC's list of No Chancers

The Last Samuri
    Holywell
    Silviniaco Conti
    Gallant Oscar
    SAINT ARE N.C NAP
    Sir Des Champs
    Ucello Conti
    Unioniste
    Kruzhlinin
    The Romford Pele NB