Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Does this work??

• 31-03-2016 12:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭

Does this yoke work??

My neighbour's new dog keeps running around my back garden, at first i found it amusing but now its getting annoying, i don't talk to my neighbour..so thats out the window. :(

so will the repellant work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Without knowing exactly how it works, it doesn't look like something that would respect the neighbours boundary, i.e. it would annoy the dog even when he's on his own side of the divide.

Do you have a fence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Alcoheda

I don't think that would be very humane.
    What if the dog can hear it from your neighbor's house also?
    I'd try shooing or scolding the dog when it comes into your garden.
    Talking to the neighbor would also help, if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

theres a vacant field between us so it shouldn't be an issue
    Talking to the neighbor would also help, if possible.

no it isn't i'm afraid

fryup wrote: »
    theres a vacant field between us so it shouldn't be an issue

no it isn't i'm afraid

Yeah but it seems like a nasty thing to install anyway.
    It will affect all animals in the vicinity, you'll driving out a lot more than the dog.

Maybe try something less drastic first.

Super Soaker? 18vrycf66bhunjpg.jpg

Could be a bit of craic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

no it isn't i'm afraid

Why not? Not to be rude but surely just talking to the owner is far more sensible than spending money on something that will cause more harm than good?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Alcoheda wrote: »
    Yeah but it seems like a nasty thing to install anyway.
    It will affect all animals in the vicinity, you'll driving out a lot more than the dog.

Maybe try something less drastic first.

Super Soaker? 18vrycf66bhunjpg.jpg

Could be a bit of craic :)

Please make yourself aware of the charter, and indeed the "ethos" of the forum before you post.
    Using a super soaker to deter a neighbour's dog is inching up to the line of what's ethically acceptable in this forum.
    Suggesting that it "could be a bit of craic" gallops across that line.
    Please take care to post in line with the charter.
    Do not reply to this post on thread.
    Thanks.
    DBB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Why don't you call the dog warden? The dog is technically roaming, particularly if there's a field between your houses. If you don't talk to your neighbour anyway then there's no issue with falling out.

Also, the fact that there's a field between you would indicate a rural/semi rural location and it's lambing season. You'd be doing all the farmers in your locality a favour and also the owner - because if he's caught worrying livestock a farmer has every right to shoot the dog. By worrying he doesn't have to be attacking livestock, just running around a field with a flock of sheep is enough to get ewes to abort in distress :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

people, i just want to know has anyone out there have any experience of using these repellents??

do they work or are they a gimmick?? thats all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

people, i just want to know has anyone out there have any experience of using these repellents??

do they work or are they a gimmick?? thats all

Well put it this way. My dad had a load of the rodent repeller ones that work the same way in his house in the countryside to get rid of mice.

I had to move home with my pet hamster.

She didn't seem even remotely bothered by them at all, and I saw about 3 mice in the house anyway.

So no. I don't think they do work.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

OP, from what I've seen, there's a reasonable chance it'll work at first, but dogs seem to tend to become somewhat immune to the noise after a while, especially if they're motivated/determined to access the place where the repellent is set up.
    I've also seen dogs standing looking at them, as if to day "pfffft" :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

Maybe (pure guessing!) dogs are like people and it depends on the dog?

I was at a house viewing with my friend a few weeks ago and there was one of those rodent deterrents plugged in. The high-pitched buzzing drove me and my friend mental in that specific room, but the guy showing the house couldn't hear it at all.

Essentally, I'd imagine there's a possibility that you could spend your money and not bother the dog at all.

DBB wrote: »
    Please make yourself aware of the charter, and indeed the "ethos" of the forum before you post.
    Using a super soaker to deter a neighbour's dog is inching up to the line of what's ethically acceptable in this forum.
    Suggesting that it "could be a bit of craic" gallops across that line.
    Please take care to post in line with the charter.
    Do not reply to this post on thread.
    Thanks.
    DBB

I asked you not to reply. And you did.
    Sorry... You lose the right to reply in the way you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I recommend a fence.

kylith wrote: »
    I recommend a fence.

The Frost approach.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

^^^^^^^

who's frost ??

philstar wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^

who's frost ??

He was a block layer of some note
    Mending Wall

Something there is that doesn't love a wall,
    That sends the frozen-ground-swell under it,
    And spills the upper boulders in the sun;
    And makes gaps even two can pass abreast.
    The work of hunters is another thing:
    I have come after them and made repair
    Where they have left not one stone on a stone,
    But they would have the rabbit out of hiding,
    To please the yelping dogs. The gaps I mean,
    No one has seen them made or heard them made,
    But at spring mending-time we find them there.
    I let my neighbour know beyond the hill;
    And on a day we meet to walk the line
    And set the wall between us once again.
    We keep the wall between us as we go.
    To each the boulders that have fallen to each.
    And some are loaves and some so nearly balls
    We have to use a spell to make them balance:
    "Stay where you are until our backs are turned!"
    We wear our fingers rough with handling them.
    Oh, just another kind of out-door game,
    One on a side. It comes to little more:
    There where it is we do not need the wall:
    He is all pine and I am apple orchard.
    My apple trees will never get across
    And eat the cones under his pines, I tell him.
    He only says, "Good fences make good neighbours."
    Spring is the mischief in me, and I wonder
    If I could put a notion in his head:
    "Why do they make good neighbours? Isn't it
    Where there are cows? But here there are no cows.
    Before I built a wall I'd ask to know
    What I was walling in or walling out,
    And to whom I was like to give offence.
    Something there is that doesn't love a wall,
    That wants it down." I could say "Elves" to him,
    But it's not elves exactly, and I'd rather
    He said it for himself. I see him there
    Bringing a stone grasped firmly by the top
    In each hand, like an old-stone savage armed.
    He moves in darkness as it seems to me,
    Not of woods only and the shade of trees.
    He will not go behind his father's saying,
    And he likes having thought of it so well
    He says again, "Good fences make good neighbours."