Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fair City [News, Spoilers & Discussion v6] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

That fella outside the pub smoking? That's who Hayley and Eskimo Boy is doing business with? FFS, Fair City writers/producers must actually dream in cliches. The casting office must have gone to a lot of trouble selecting a character for the five-second role,
    'Dodgy-looking bloke?'
    Check.
    'Give him a beard?'
    Check. Better make it a scruffy beard.
    'Woolly hat?'
    Of course.
    'Wild hair?'
    Well, duh. Obviously.
    'And a fag?'
    Yeah, everyone knows all criminals smoke like chimneys.
    'Outside the back door of a pub?'
    Naturally. Crims never, ever sit on a barstool.
    'And have him dressed like a tramp?'
    Goes without saying.
    'But, Boss, sometimes dodgy fellas wear fancy suits'
    That's nonsense
    'But what about David Dr..mm? Or Charlie Hau.....?'' Or Mr Fitzp.....?
    Listen, just do as you're told. This is RTE. We'll have none of that socialist talk here. :eek:

What has Hayley done to her hair ??? It's blonde ends but horrible brassy yellow roots . She must have taken the bleach off too soon ...

Dermot is an angry nut !!

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Dermot is an angry nut !!

But if it was me, I'd turn on Charlie too. Nosey, interfering ould b*llix :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,696 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Even though I'm still watching I find I am beginning to drift off at times these days - a few things snap be back; mostly irritating!

Dermish (Just Dermot again now) stop shouting in every scene you're in - I know your wife has left you in what is the most ludicrous exit story ever but calm down you know that lady Deirdre she's Ben's birth mother, if you and her worked together and sought joint custody - you could actually bring him home -

Now I'm not sure anyone really wants that but still...

Hayley and Wombles (new name for Mumbles bro cos I can't remember it) why don't you two head off for a couple of months, lots of the other folks in Carraigstown do it!

And Bob just because Rennie is renting a room it doesn't mean you have to be a foster-step-ex-grandad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Anytime I go to post on this thread, it's already been said.. Ah well, saves me fingers.. :)

Rachel is still available to baby - sit even though she has a business to run. .. Oh God!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

I don't know how anyone can 'mute' or "tune out" scenes while watching FC, I could never do that, I'd be afraid I'd miss something... I'm a sad sack. Ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭youwould

Pretzill wrote: »
    Dermish (Just Dermot again now) stop shouting in every scene you're in

I wanted to punch the head off him tonight. I don't like ~angry Dermish~. Stop shouting and accusing everyone of looking at you funny. No one cares.
    Rachel is still available to baby - sit even though she has a business to run. .. Oh God!

Rachel, who goes to college full-time and runs her own full-time business, can't find the time to mind little Ruthie - her own sister. But when it comes to her step-mams cousins son, she'll clear her schedule?

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭hungrypig

Emmit was named jumbles by coolhull because he looks like he shops in a jumble sale ( and presumably because it rhymes with mumbles )
    The storylines in faircity about people starting up crappy businesses and flogging tat is terrible. Mondo, hayleigh, jumbles, charlotte, cas. A crate of energy drinks, tatty flowers........and if I hear the word 'pitch' one more time......

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

hungrypig wrote: »
    Emmit was named jumbles by coolhull because he looks like he shops in a jumble sale ( and presumably because it rhymes with mumbles )
    The storylines in faircity about people starting up crappy businesses and flogging tat is terrible. Mondo, hayleigh, jumbles, charlotte, cas. A crate of energy drinks, tatty flowers........and if I hear the word 'pitch' one more time......

Fair city love giving people little wheeler dealer jobs for some reason. The floggers. A load of little Del Boys. There's way too many of them at it...

Jumbles is good but Wombles is catchy, the guy looks like he hails from wombleton after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,456 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I like Emkimo as a name for Emmet for his Eskimo look :p

Juice drinks on Tuesday
    Smart Watches on Wednesday

whats Emmett gonna pull out of his jumper tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,614 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Juice drinks on Tuesday

It's comedy gold with this character. And none of the scenes make any logical sense with him. He just ponces around pulling sh1t out of his 40 coats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,144 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Juice drinks on Tuesday

If he's such a shrewd entrepreneur and salesman, how come he isn't in business on his own? He shouldn't need someone like Hayley.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

walshb wrote: »
    It's comedy gold with this character. And none of the scenes make any logical sense with him. He just ponces around pulling sh1t out of his 40 coats.

I agree - but I think he's a good actor! Particularly compared to most of the rest of the cast - anyone agree?

Hayley - her of the monotone 4 word sentences ('what do you mean', 'and I'm grateful?' etc etc ) , with an 'edge' - drives me to distraction.

Emmet, on the other hand, is a good actor - with a dreadful storyline and script.

Is Hayley's stuff stolen from her infamous 'contacts' or is it legit? Yer man, her 'seller' with the ridiculous clothes...it would have made more sense if they were both heading into a doorway, with no-one there (and the rest left to our imaginations), than that eejit with the hat.
    Having said all of the above, I love to watch it - my english husband on the other hand thinks Shortland Street is better and tends to retire upstairs at 8pm most evenings.....:p:p:p

Edit: He would never watch Shortland Street either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Juice drinks on Tuesday

A decent FC script?

Because THAT I would pay money for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,456 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Has Emmet and Jane met yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

I found Cathal!!!

Someone tell Deegan!

https://twitter.com/ericlalor/status/719805481515094016

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Has Emmet and Jane met yet?

Not sure, but it might pay out like Mumbles and Jane, where he had met all the other women and not Jane, and when they eventually did meet, after a few scenes she was being lit up like the proverbial Christmas tree.

BTW, will Dermish's scenes from now on be him pretending to be on the blower to Jo and her hanging up? How long can the team get out of that one?

Coat22 wrote: »
    I found Cathal!!!

Someone tell Deegan!

https://twitter.com/ericlalor/status/719805481515094016

Are you for real? He's still trying to clear Ellie's school from the bomb scare threat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Not sure, but it might pay out like Mumbles and Jane, where he had met all the other women and not Jane, and when they eventually did meet, after a few scenes she was being lit up like the proverbial Christmas tree.

BTW, will Dermish's scenes from now on be him pretending to be on the blower to Jo and her hanging up? How long can the team get out of that one?

It's unbelievable he hasn't even contacted a solicitor yet what Jo has done is essentially kidnapping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭dee_mc

fin12 wrote: »
    It's unbelievable he hasn't even contacted a solicitor yet what Jo has done is essentially kidnapping.

He was on the phone to his solicitor in last night's episode, usual angry act and he said he'd be getting a second opinion from a new solicitor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

fin12 wrote: »

Well its not kidnapping by law? Moral kidnapping perhaps.
    Ben is getting treatment in the US. Dermot can't leave the country due to his parole but still knows her whereabouts. She just isn't talking to him! (which is the most ridiculous element of the story, that she has lost all interest in Zoe for the sake of a sh@g. ) As well as keeping Dermish in the dark regarding Ben's condition. (

Or is Ben suddenly fully cured??

Also the fact that they are depicting her as too cowardly to explain herself is sooo out of character. Most confident, brass, outspoken woman in the show suddenly is a weak mess.

A monkey could have written a better exit storyline. Kill her off maybe? Or have Ben's condition to get worse to the point he is there for a longer period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I would be all for killing her off and now that she's gone it would be great if Dermot followed her there's just no place on the show for him now that she is gone.

I don't understand how Tom Hopkins was let go but more importantly I don't understand what grounds he could sue RTE for killing off his character! It must be due to the fact RTE applies normal employment contracts to FC actors as opposed to a contract which has terms that the character can be, for example, killed off.
    That is probably the reasoning behind characters like Dermot staying on despite him being a loose character at this stage and the actress that plays Jo moaning when she was dropped. The actors seem to consider it a job for life which it seems to be for many of them who lack the ambition to move on. Surely an actress like the girl who plays Caoimhe would want to test herself somewhere else for example rather than hanging out of McClean Burke for the next few years.

Is Charlie an alcoholic now?? Just sits all day at the bar with Cas

Wayne really is a simpleton!!!

I love him!!!

What a miserable cnut that Jane is!

I've just figured out where she was for the last 8 months...........in hospital getting a personality transplant.....

Maybe thats where all the characters go on their three month saabaticals.

10827.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

I don't understand how Tom Hopkins was let go but more importantly I don't understand what grounds he could sue RTE for killing off his character! It must be due to the fact RTE applies normal employment contracts to FC actors as opposed to a contract which has terms that the character can be, for example, killed off.
    That is probably the reasoning behind characters like Dermot staying on despite him being a loose character at this stage and the actress that plays Jo moaning when she was dropped. The actors seem to consider it a job for life which it seems to be for many of them who lack the ambition to move on. Surely an actress like the girl who plays Caoimhe would want to test herself somewhere else for example rather than hanging out of McClean Burke for the next few years.

Just enjoy Fair City for what it is, you analyse it like an Emmy award winning drama on these boards. Everyone knows Fair City's strengths and weaknesses enjoy it for what it is!!:D