Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers & Discussion v6] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

The Dermishhhhhhhhhhhhhh story is ridiculous!! Instead of going down the route of empathy and a sad plot, we are being treated to him clowning about and trying to get into silly, typical FC (never going to work!) schemes. Not only that, but noone actually seems that bothered with him dying! Robbie basically got so sick listening to him he handed him a wad of money and told him to f off out his way for a while, whilst Caddle told him to cop himself on and get another opinion!

The one person he should be telling is after abandoning two kids she fought a decade to get control of.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Rose16

flippyfloppy ; I for one think legally in real time gripey should not go down for this

What makes me laugh is this KT storyline is missing the beginning and has started in the middle ...

writer for this storyline be like ..." Hey guys ..watch me do a Picasso on this and go down in history for abstract confusing stuff" audience WTF

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I absolutely forget Sasha and Laura were together, it's been that long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Charleygal wrote: »
    For a dying man, I have to say Dermot looks well. I doubt that a person with ''a few months to live'' would have the energy to do all that multitasking, i.e. working in a launderette, doing accounts (your head would be mashed from the amount of strong painkillers) you wouldn't be able to concentrate on sweet F A. Yet within a day or two of chemo (I think it was a few weeks ago) he was able to tear around the park playing with the kids! :D

We have only seen Dermot talking to a woman in the hospital and never seen him getting treatment or in the hospital like we did say Dolores. There is no evidence to say he is even getting chemo or anything. He could be bribing some specialist and setting up the paper work and meetings to make it look real.

Just look at the Floyd storyline. He got worse and worse as time went along. Unless Dermot starts collapsing and feeling very tired in the next episodes, then it is something along the lines of the above and a fake diagnosis to get Jo onside. Dermot must have been a devious sort as he was a politician. The innocent facade may not be all it seems.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,192 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Maybe she smelt something "fishy"

Oh, and KT has makeup artist and hairstylist, sure he throws a bit of perfume in as well

She keeps the eyebrows in great shape too. Maybe she could use the tweezers to try and pick the door lock

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

What made me laugh was the character reference from your neighbour that was left potless after a cab investigation

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Back to EyeSpy's novel theory that Michael is not dead at all. Usually when a character has been through a post-mortem, a wake, a funeral ceremony, an internment and an inquest, it's not unreasonable to assume that the said individual has in fact kicked the bucket.
    . But bearing in mind that we're talking Fair City here, who knows?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Cormdogg

If we're doing polls. Will Dermot actually die? No chance! I expect a miraculous recovery, he is a FC lifer! If Delores can beat the big C, Derms can. Wonder what Howdy Hayley will do with big bursary? If she's so money hungry why doesn't she extort The Don?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Niamh becoming more and more pathetic

Was Cathal never arrested for his part in the kidnapping of Stripey? It's madness that they didn't simply call the Garda after the multiple times he harassed the family afterwards, even tricking his way into their house?

Fair City by and large has steered clear of the supernatural/reimagination via dreaming and in general, Irish series have steered clear of that approach. The closest FC got to this was the Turlough episodes where Turlough tried to contact Floyd. But it was very common in the 1980s in American dramas. Here are 3 examples:

Miami Vice: mostly a cops v drug dealers (usually cocaine dealers) series but one episode called Missing Hours was very weird. It was all about aliens, time travel and aliens appearing as some Michael Jackson-type singer. No drug dealers, no shootouts, no undercover work and more Twin Peaks or X Files than Miami Vice.

McGyver: I recall one episode decided to transport 1980s secret agent McGyver, the title character, to the Wild West. How was it done? McGyver had a dream! Weirder still is something a character handed him in the dream appeared beside him when he woke up!

And of course ................ Dallas: Bobby appears in the shower, Pam's dream! Don't have to explain any more.

Could we see all this Katy and this Dermot fake illness stuff become the first Irish venture into this. If so, could Love/Hate series 6 bring back Robert Sheehan as Darren and Tom Vaughn Lawlor as Nidge assuming the latter is dead!

Lol I had to find the Michael death scene!! How could Gripey be done for manslaughter? Is the Rams tape going to be used in evidence? Also I came across about 3 separate scene of Stripey berating mumbles for getting involved with a married woman! https://youtu.be/FPGHfdfgcxY

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭Eyespy

coolhull wrote: »
    Back to EyeSpy's novel theory that Michael is not dead at all. Usually when a character has been through a post-mortem, a wake, a funeral ceremony, an internment and an inquest, it's not unreasonable to assume that the said individual has in fact kicked the bucket.
    . But bearing in mind that we're talking Fair City here, who knows?

Ah I know, but it's after distracting me great from some paperwork that I really should be doing this evening. As I mentioned earlier, I would love if there was a big reveal, not necessarily as big as my theory but something that will give most people a oooh moment. Sadly I suspect it will be another siege moment as mentioned by someone else earlier, over in 15 minutes with no real sense of danger or drama or anything else. As you've correctly said, it is Fair City :)

Cormdogg wrote: »
    Was Cathal never arrested for his part in the kidnapping of Stripey? It's madness that they didn't simply call the Garda after the multiple times he harassed the family afterwards, even tricking his way into their house?

he ran away before any police. A criminal on the run and the chief witnesses think its a good call to walk home in the pitch dark at 3 in the morning through an empty park when the car was at the hotel and Mumbles stuck in a wheelchair! For all we know Cathal could have came up behind Mumbles and smacked him before he died!

Watch that a few times, it's funnier every time! Why was Mumbles in a wheelchair? He broke his foot on a Stag? In Galway of course! A wheelchair is a bit OTT, would crutches not do? And he was in the chair weeks if I remember! Surely Cathal would be equally culpable for Mumbles death. The videos is hilarious, his head went nowhere near the desk. Also....Gripey didn't know how Mumbles died??? Why didn't they just pin it in Cathal after all the crap he put the OBriens and the Ram through?

• Registered Users Posts: 56,300 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Someone died!!!!!!

Mumbles died!

• Registered Users Posts: 56,300 ✭✭✭✭walshb

As fooked up and unbelievable as this KT story is it's in the halfpenny place compared to Gripey's manslaughter charge for killing Mumbles!

FFS, weeks of end this Stripey or I'll tell Gripey. A rejig of where's me money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Ah I miss mumbles and the big gorgeous head on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

And why is Dermot so worried about leaving the kids something in his will?? Like hello, Jo just ran off with a rich doctor, over yonder in America! Thank God says you! They'll be sorted for life!! Shouldn't he be sorting out their future in America???

I wonder if Dermot will find out on his death bed about Tommy and Stripey??? His last words will be 'I knew it!' Hopefully he'll be wearing his inspector gadget ensemble!

• Registered Users Posts: 840 ✭✭✭laylag

I wonder if Dermot will find out on his death bed about Tommy and Stripey??? His last words will be 'I knew it!' Hopefully he'll be wearing his inspector gadget ensemble!

Brilliant!! That would be hilarious!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,098 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I'm pretty sure that Michael dying of an brain aneurysm a few hours after he bumped his head, due to being saved by Eoghon from Cathal, would be just the kind of exceptional circumstance that Solicitor No 2 referred to.

That's what I was thinking. You can't get much more exceptional than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,065 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

if she's so money hungry why doesn't she extort The Don?

She will over the next 18 years or so when the latest The Don jnr arrives.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Jesus that Debbie is some cow she literally couldn't care less that her daughter could be dead somewhere, all she wants is to get off with that man slut she's an awful mother, I doubt she even cares if Katy is dead or alive at this stage..

Had to laugh at that reveal. How did Debbie not know her mother in law was in the same house when she rang for Tommy?? Isn't that rule number one for affairs, to scan the house for witnesses. And memo to Rose: when a doorbell rings you need to physically answer it and not just look briefly confused before completing ignoring it!

Great Laura is back, so another month of Dean and Dan discussing her sex life.

Katy content with fish and chips for a while, maybe she will act up again around Christmas. Some tease though I still haven't a clue who it is. Just DONT be Tommy, far too predictable.

Great Laura is back, so another month of Dean and Dan discussing her sex life.

Dan really gives me the heeby jeebys regarding Laura!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

He only appears when she appears. And his interest in her sex life is just weird. Dean is heading towards Sean territory for least screen time, he's hardly ever in it these days.

He only appears when she appears. And his interest in her sex life is just weird. Dan is heading towards Sean territory for least screen time, he's hardly ever in it these days.

They really (wheely...) shouldn't have made his paralysis long term. His character is completely destroyed since.

love triangle/squares, sulking for 4 months, wheelchair basketball, Rocco, fake banter on the street with Neckless Halpin and Guiness Head, shouting and fighting over a few flyers for weeks with Lycra, charging people for telling them to do a few stretches in the middle of the park! And sipping pints every night despite the fact his job is based on fitness and indulging into Lycras love life.
    That's literally all he has offered in a couple of years, now!

I mean imagine, you pay for a fitness course, turn up and its your man, the fella with the dullest personality going, that sits in the local beer garden every night who hasn't walked in years there to motivate you with a few stretches in a field!

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

God, that Hughie is one nosey bollix. Tonight he left his own pub, which seems to serve mostly coffee and the odd 'pint' to go next door to the Spar coffee machine, as you do He spies Niamh and straightaway wants to know the details of her private married life. Niamh should have told him he'd be better employed trying to find out where the hell his own staff are hiding.

And you'd think after all the close shaves she's had, Stripey would remember to at least close over the door before leppin' onTommy. Is it some sort of fetish with them? The only thing they haven't tried yet is dogging.

But the funniest part was GlenRose in the pub snarling at Stripey and Tommo: " By God, I have a lot of things I could say to you two but I won't say anything because we're in a public place"
    For fcuks sake, Rose, this is Fair City. The only place you're to shout out your most intimate, angry thoughts are in full view and earshot of everyone
    If you haven't learned that yet, there's no place for you in Carringstown.....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

****, we were all on tenderhooks, (cliffhanger) last episode when we taught Katy reconsider her kidnapper, This Katy kidnapping story line is going to turn into a Stockholm syndrome thing and could go on for years and years....... The writers, the 630 hundreds of them need to work together as a 'team' ha!

Or FC need to be aware that "too many cooks spoil the broth"

If we're doing polls. Will Dermot actually die? No chance! I expect a miraculous recovery, he is a FC lifer! If Delores can beat the big C, Derms can. Wonder what Howdy Hayley will do with big bursary? If she's so money hungry why doesn't she extort The Don?

I have not heard that the actor who plays Dermot is leaving it. It is a totally different treatment of story to the Dolores one or the Floyd one. I didn't see poker and the like coming into their storylines!

The Dolores and Floyd stories were well thought out and planned in advance for the characters and we had no doubt they were very ill. I feel that in the sudden departure of the Jo character they don't really know what to do with the Dermot character. First they had him grumpy and taking his personal problems out on everyone and then this 'diagnosis' and now he seems to be acting as he always has balancing work with his children.

With hindsight they could have made him more interesting by making him the accountant for the Cathal-controlled Ballantine and its clients and getting into trouble with dangerous criminals. Maybe that will still be the get out clause for his 'diagnosis' and that it was a bought and paid for fake and a stunt to buy Jo back and bankrolled by a dangerous criminal client.

The only other possibility is to do a Bobby Ewing on it. That Dermot is depressed and has imagined all this as real. Unfortunately since Robbie was there as well and he has been shown to know in subsequent episodes, confining this imagination to JUST DERMOT is not possible. Perhaps, Dermot snaps out of his depression and just after this, we see some Sunday a certain Katy O'Brien coming into her mother's kitchen for breakfast all smiles!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Why can't the children, Ben and his sister look at the DVD without Derms, really? are they 5?.....Jesus, it's no big deal if he's not there watching it with them, they're old enough to not want their parent's around when watching a DVD, unless it's PG... ;)