Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers & Discussion v6] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Yesterday was a weird day. Went out for a walk in the rain and was slagging off the Roman pillars on someone's house (obviously a northsider come into some cash was my reasoning) only to find out an hour later that said house belonged to "Light me up like a Christmas Tree" herself. Knew she lived somewhere around but this made me laugh - she's bringing Carrigstown to Meath :-)

Then went for a pint (well several) and who rocks in to sip a bottle of Coors light but auld Bunions Kelly!! I'd seen him before (All Ireland Final day last year) but assumed he was just passing through but I can now explain Bunions accent changes - he's swapped McCoys for Meath

Bunions.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 New Delly

Caoimhe to Damo - "anyone who cheated before will do it again" If thats the case, what is she doing with him? He was jumping her bones while he was with the virgin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

New Delly wrote: »
    Caoimhe to Damo - "anyone who cheated before will do it again" If thats the case, what is she doing with him? He was jumping her bones while he was with the virgin.

Ya I was thinking the same :):) Don't like Caoimhe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭MelanieC

New Delly wrote: »

Yes,I thought the exact same thing! Have Caoimhe,Damien,Ama and all the FC writers and producers just all simultaneously forgotten this??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

MelanieC wrote: »
    Yes,I thought the exact same thing! Have Caoimhe,Damien,Ama and all the FC writers and producers just all simultaneously forgotten this??!!

Ama really takes the saying keep your friends close and your enemies closer literally with her apparent bestie caoimhe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

coolhull wrote: »
    Judging by the antics of Ellie tonight, how long will it be before she starts breaking up tablets and putting them in Renee's cornflakes?

*can't come soon enough for me*

She is a great little actress, well able to convince as the daughter of Heather! I have a feeling the whole Heather story is in fact far from over and the writers are saving the best until last..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,366 ✭✭✭✭walshb

She is a great little actress, well able to convince as the daughter of Heather! I have a feeling the whole Heather story is in fact far from over and the writers are saving the best until last..

She is a good actress, but by god that scene they had her forcing yesterday when she ranted at whispering Bob and Renee was so unrealistic. Not her acting, the scene snd the lines she was given

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

walshb wrote: »
    She is a good actress, but by god that scene they had her forcing yesterday when she ranted at whispering Bob and Renee was so unrealistic. Not her acting, the scene snd the lines she was given

There's no way she'd have used the line "you're angry with mummy for sleeping with Max".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭SB_Part2

Is it sad that I'm actually really looking forward to tonights episode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

SB_Part2 wrote: »

Yes, yes it is!!

Incredibly sad - especially on a champions league night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

No, it's perfectly normal.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I look forward to all the soaps in the Evening because I have nothing better to do.

I think its stretching it to call her "great" or even "good" - she's about the level of most FC actors - amateur at best.

I know we go easy on her as she's only a kid but does anybody here really think she'd have a snowballs chance in hell of getting on a UK soap for example? The 5/6 year old in Emerdale has better delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

The 5/6yr old in Emmerdale is amazing. I fine Ellie very babyish, she behaves like a 6yr old, whether its the script or acting I dont know, but I have to agree.
    I have to say that the charlit/oisin pairing was not believeable in the slightest and I have switched off lately becoz of it (amongst other story lines!)but love catching up here!

Fittle wrote: »
    The 5/6yr old in Emmerdale is amazing. I fine Ellie very babyish, she behaves like a 6yr old, whether its the script or acting I dont know, but I have to agree.

I'd love to say it's the Pyschological affect of being mothered by Heather but would fair city be the insightful?

How ridiculous is it that renee and bob are covering for Heather? You'd especially think they'd own up now. Or are they afraid they'll end up in the bold boys dock with Eoin??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Coat22 wrote: »
    I think its stretching it to call her "great" or even "good" - she's about the level of most FC actors - amateur at best.

I know we go easy on her as she's only a kid but does anybody here really think she'd have a snowballs chance in hell of getting on a UK soap for example? The 5/6 year old in Emerdale has better delivery.

Funny enough..............she has got a large starring part on a show in the BBC.............. She also was awarded an international accolade by the Performance Arts Hollywood (not Hollywood, Co Wicklow!!), does Disney voiceovers and has done a good bit of theatre..........so "perhaps" she does have a snowballs chance.

Bloody Keith Duffy, Anthony Cotton, Kym Marsh and countless others have got jobs on British soaps! In fact I doubt a soap project would be the limit of her ambitions going by her cv at 11 or 12!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Incredibly sad - especially on a champions league night

Ah feck, that's me confined to the little tv upstairs !

Funny enough..............she has got a large starring part on a show in the BBC.............. She also was awarded an international accolade by the Performance Arts Hollywood (not Hollywood, Co Wicklow!!), does Disney voiceovers and has done a good bit of theatre..........so "perhaps" she does have a snowballs chance.

Bloody Keith Duffy, Anthony Cotton, Kym Marsh and countless others have got jobs on British soaps! In fact I doubt a soap project would be the limit of her ambitions going by her cv at 11 or 12!

Yes but just because she can do voiceovers doesn't make her a decent soap actor.

I can't really see how anyone can seriously say her portrayal of an 11/12 year old girl in FC is realistic in the slightest. Undoubtedly some of this is down to the writing and the direction but my 5 year old doesn't come across as childish as Ellie does.

Yes but just because she can do voiceovers doesn't make her a decent soap actor.

I can't really see how anyone can seriously say her portrayal of an 11/12 year old girl in FC is realistic in the slightest. Undoubtedly some of this is down to the writing and the direction but my 5 year old doesn't come across as childish as Ellie does.

you conveniently missed the rest of what she has achieved, acting wise then!! Voice acting is almost m0ore difficult than any other acting.

Clearly, going by her cv, you cant judge her by the script she is subject to on FC. She isnt acting ad lib! Most people can see she is a good actress, material aside.

you conveniently missed the rest of what she has achieved, acting wise then!! Voice acting is almost m0ore difficult than any other acting.

Clearly, going by her cv, you cant judge her by the script she is subject to on FC. She isnt acting ad lib! Most people can see she is a good actress, material aside.

Ah FFS I was trying to make a point without regurgitating your entire post. I knew having a pop at the blessed Ellie would land me in hot water here today but lets call it.

She may be Oscar material for all I know but from what I've seen of her on FC she's not playing a blinder in that role. Do FC cast actors or do they just google them and decide "this one. She could do an 11/12 year old troubled child"?

I don't judge her by any different standard I would any of the rest of them but sure who's to say that behind Sean/Leo/Oisin etc there's not the next colin farrel its just the material is rubbish.

Ah FFS I was trying to make a point without regurgitating your entire post. I knew having a pop at the blessed Ellie would land me in hot water here today but lets call it.

She may be Oscar material for all I know but from what I've seen of her on FC she's not playing a blinder in that role. Do FC cast actors or do they just google them and decide "this one. She could do an 11/12 year old troubled child"?

I don't judge her by any different standard I would any of the rest of them but sure who's to say that behind Sean/Leo/Oisin etc there's not the next colin farrel its just the material is rubbish.

ha! I amn't a fan of Colin Farrell actually!! Leos method hand acting is far more awe inspiring! :D

All i am saying was to counter your argument about her not being a good actress was giving some evidence that she clearly is considered above average. Nothing more! Wasn't having a pop mate!

Ellie CAN at times seem a bit a baby but that is down to how she is expected to act given her script - unsure but afraid around Heather, angry around Renee etc. Personally I think she pulls it off (despite the odd bad script) very well and definitely a lot better than Ben, who I thought was extremely baby-ish all of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Late start tonight - 8.30

Fair play to Dermot the gentleman. :D

Is there any point to Sash being in these scenes? Apart from saving RTE money, it would save us from that god awful howya accent!

watch the way she throws her head back and consistently sighs every time she speaks.........

#getmickhispint

hahahahhahahahah!!!!!

"She phoned in a bomb threat"!!!!!

She phoned in a bomb threat!! :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

So, when Charlotte is with Rachel's brother, she talks to her like she's dirt. When she's dumped, she's suddenly bffs with her again.
    I know what I'd be telling her..... :mad:

Jane..................looking well

Did Mick get his pint yet??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

The principal relaying her news to Renee through the local guard?!?

And what idiot decided that any self respecting school would say "a donation to the school building fund" would sort a child phoning in a bomb threat.

F*king transition year stuff.

F*ck sake is half time over in the Barca game yet?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Cormdogg

A bomb threat, a Hurley and crab meat in a pub smaller than the Dawson lounge! I've seen it all now

washiskin wrote: »
    So, when Charlotte is with Rachel's brother, she talks to her like she's dirt. When she's dumped, she's suddenly bffs with her again.
    I know what I'd be telling her..... :mad:

They're such good friends!

Some horrific acting tonight, Decco and Oisin the guiltiest

oh here we go.............Decco will begin questioning himself that he is transcending into Paddy Bishop for the next 3 months. Great.

Why didn't Oisin hide the Hurley in his pocket?

The actress behind Charlotte is becoming very good in fairness. Sasha just turning up at every appropriate time.......... go away

Carrigstown is like something out of the Twilight Zone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

That Jane has some rack

Damien and Pete are arguing?? Where is this story going...........interesting plot twist

bazermc wrote: »
    That Jane has some rack

the Rack has jane more like it!!

Hughie is paying Heathers hospital fees????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

Why can't Hughie manage the pub himself he's doing nothing else !!

How much staff does a pub that size need? Such a stupid premise for a plot

Cormdogg wrote: »
    Hughie is paying Heathers hospital fees????????

In fairness we've seen hes a bit of a mug already. He pays Jane's full managerial wages and she is allowed take 9 months of holidays every year!

Charlotte to Decco when she found out he was looking at her phone: "you are such a creep!"
    What Charlotte SHOULD have said: "oh sweet Jesus you saw that picture of my breasts???? I'm going to die of embarrassment here never speak to me again".......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Maybe the pub's financial situation would be slightly better if Hughie wasn't throwing all his money into the hospital bills..........

Shakyfan wrote: »
    Maybe the pub's financial situation would be slightly better if Hughie wasn't throwing all his money into the hospital bills..........

Conveniently mentioned tonight.... To show us why Hughie broke and also why we can expect to see heather back any given day. Nice how Renee just dismissed Hughie trying to say he can't pay Heathers hospital fees forever...when she's meant to be there to help him with his finances.

Also, Renee will replace Jane as the manager, and Jane will be kept on, as an extra barmaid. Good man Hughie.