Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2016: Round 2 - Bahrain Grand Prix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Ah balls, not Seb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Kevski

bnt wrote: »
    He does that to annoy people, and it's working! ;)

Interrupting the drivers' race preparations for a national anthem, on the other hand - that can't be helping. Half of them had their earplugs in already.

I was more referring to the fact that he's wearing it with what is traditionally an Islamic form of dress.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,641 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

Feck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭Harika

too bad, some tension already gone but proofs the rumour that Ferrari had engine reliability issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Vettel's engine bombed on the parade lap? Some mechanic is in for the high jump.

Hamilton damaged on the first corner, contact with Bottas. "Something wrong with the rear", he says? Loadsa Sparks.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭neris

whats the story wit the sparks coming out the back of the cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Jaysus, race totally changed in the space of 2 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Kevski

neris wrote: »

They have titanium skid plates to make sparks when they touch the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Sparks and carbon fibre everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Well they are doing their best to try and have a demolition derby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,477 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Wonder what damage Hamilton has

neris wrote: »

Most of it is normal, some parts have to be metal so they spark for the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

That first couple of laps was like a stock-car race! Drivers just bumping each other out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Kevski wrote: »
    They have titanium skid plates to make sparks when they touch the ground.

And at the start of the race the cars are holding 100kg of fuel. This makes them "bottom out" quite a bit early in the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Williams and haas nailed the start. Crazy couple of laps there

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Amateur hour from Bottas, was a mile back before trying that move. Still, might give us a better race! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

will lewis get a drive threw for that crash

No as Bottas error.

For being crashed into? :pac:

Nicely done Kimi.

Come on Kimi!!!

Will Vandorne or Wehrlein score points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Harika wrote: »
    No as Bottas error.

Not Bottas's error - Hamilton shouldn't have close the door like that on the apex.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

Andrew76 wrote: »
    For being crashed into? :pac:

Nicely done Kimi.

for me lewis didn't leave enough room. bottas was perfectly entitled to take the racing line and overtake

astrofluff wrote: »
    Not Bottas's error - Hamilton shouldn't have close the door like that on the apex.

Drive through for him. Deserved imo.

Nah, no way deserved - agree to disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

Penalty for Bottas, pathetic nonsense.

Drive through for him. Deserved imo.

Yea I think so too. There was no gap there for Bottas.

Drive through is a very harsh penalty though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Bottas gets a drive-thru. Partly his fault but also thought Lewis was silly for closing the door on the apex of the corner knowing that someone was coming up the inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,477 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Seems harsh on Bottas to get penalty, very rarely get penalties for first lap incidents, thought Lewis could have been a bit more aware of risk not leaving bit of space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

No, because it wasn't his fault. Bottas has the penalty. Lewis' car is shedding some carbon fibre as it is. If he can extend his run on these tyres, could he be looking at a 1-stop strategy?

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

Absolute ****ing joke. Firstly Bottas has the apex, complete bull**** penalty.

Meanwhile Hamilton drives around with a piece hanging off, no flag. Then a piece falls off and bounces around before hitting another car at full tilt. **** off with your halos, apply the ****ing rules and show some sense.

astrofluff wrote: »
    Nah, no way deserved - agree to disagree.

Agreed on the latter. :)

Let's hope Kimi and/or Lewis can keep Rosberg honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,414 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Nice work from Vandoorne

This too shall pass.

flazio wrote: »
    Nice work from Vandoorne

Very nice. Would be great if he could nick a few points today.

Alonso, you're sacked.

This too shall pass.

Great driving from Vandoorne.

Very nice. Would be great if he could nick a few points today.

Alonso & button should be worried

disgraceful penalty for bottas. this is why this sport is decling . how do you overtake without trying to get past your opponent.
    bottas take the overtaking line through the corner and lewis cut across him causing the crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Vandoorne, holy shmokes!

The head on Alonso when Button pulled over. :p

has are looking good

Haas overtaking the Williams? Fair play to them.

Max is looking good. Wonder if Williams are regretting sticking with Massa.

This too shall pass.

flazio wrote: »
    Alonso, you're sacked.

Is that you Johnny?

Grosjean looks like he's really loving his new environment. Having another strong race.

Nice move from verstappen on massa. What has happened to the force indias, they're having a stinker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Couldn't help myself

11vwu6.jpg

Haas passing a Red Bull. Lol what?! :D

Nice racing by Grosjean - Haas have a great car.

Grojean now just one place short of the podium.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Great stuff from Grosjean. Just hope the strategy doesn't screw him.