Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Masters 2016 Official Thread *READ OP BEFORE POSTING*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Danny's brother playing an absolute blinder:

https://twitter.com/p_j_willett

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Congrats to Danny Willet. Has always been talented and has really come on the last 2 years.

Great to see a European major winner again at Augusta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Confirmed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

How uncomfortable was it to watch Danny trying to FaceTime his Mrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Give the lad some privacy FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

I feel for Spieth, in the sense that, can you imagine having to present the winner with the jacket after that collapse.

He'll just want to curl up in his bed. Poor lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Delighted. He looks delighted to win it as well. Speith last year didn't look too fussed I thought

Glad it's a European winner and 4 English in the top 10.

Pity the Irish couldn't join the party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Danny seems like hes great craic in fairness!! Never sen him off course before, proper down to earth (from first impression, mind you!")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

SlickRic wrote: »
    I feel for Spieth, in the sense that, can you imagine having to present the winner with the jacket after that collapse.

He'll just want to curl up in his bed. Poor lad.

You're right. He'll win again I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Strange Masters to say the least.
    Fair play to Willett.

You do sort of feel the law of averages gods bit back at Spieth. Played some terrible stuff off the tee but was a terminator on the greens, unbelievabley so.

Or maybe not. It was a collapse really. 3 shots thrown away on the last 2 holes last night and then that capitulation earlier.

Delighted for Willet. I know Im being petty but I really didn't want to see Spieth win it for his slow ponderous play alone.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Genuinely delighted for Willet. Great to see a new winner o f such a fantastic event.

Drexel wrote: »
    Delighted. He looks delighted to win it as well. Speith last year didn't look too fussed I thought

surprising,that!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Delighted for him. The European jinx is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

On his way to the jacks behind 16 not knowing the leaderboard :-)

Missed that???
    razorblunt wrote: »
    Danny's brother playing an absolute blinder:

https://twitter.com/p_j_willett

Just class.

Danny seems like hes great craic in fairness!! Never sen him off course before, proper down to earth (from first impression, mind you!")

Very sound guy, I'd say. Saw/read somwhere that his dad was a church of England cleric, and Danny was very chuffed to be able to buy him a little farm in Wales for his retirement.....apparently the dad had always wanted to keep animals etc.

Anyway, delighted for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

It didn't help speith playing with Kaufman. His +9, today

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Hard to believe Spieth is still only 22, many more majors will have his name on it.

Willet be his first major I wonder?

Willet had 13 birdie's all week compared to the 16 and 1 eagle Rory had.

Says all we need to know about Rory, he has scar tissue from 2011 still floating between his ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

vienne86 wrote: »
    Very sound guy, I'd say. Saw/read somwhere that his dad was a church of England cleric, and Danny was very chuffed to be able to buy him a little farm in Wales for his retirement.....apparently the dad had always wanted to keep animals etc.

Anyway, delighted for him.

He could probably afford to buy him half of Snowdonia, what with the size of the pay check he is about to get. Massive fair fcuks to the lad !

Danny Willet Wallet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Willet be his first major I wonder?

Hopefully he goes on now to win a speith of them.

glasso wrote: »
    Danny Willet Wallet
    Well earned!

Poor Spieth. Head is gone.

Yorkshire pudding will be on the menu at next years champions dinner anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,295 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Spieth will be wishing he could have a mulligan on 12 .
    When you throw water into the mix on a hole it can be devastating .

Wow! 3 shot win.....that's what I expected Spieth to have.

Those golf cap no-tan white spots look ridiculous

Few more quid for Westwood there.

McIlroy has a lot of work to do.
    Very disappointing from a guy with such talent

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Give the lad some privacy FFS

doubt he cares!!! Hes in a bubble of his own! Price you pay for being a champ!

Speith with more crap there at the cameras. I'm sorry but there is something unlikeable about him

How many times has the commentator said "Danny Boy" now........... very original!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

His body language all week was terrible. Seems to carry some negativity around with him or something

Seve OB wrote: »
    Speith with more crap there at the cameras. I'm sorry but there is something unlikeable about him

Hes like Tiger with more emotions!!

doubt he cares!!! Hes in a bubble of his own! Price you pay for being a champ!

Nah not having it. Calling his wife on a video call has zero place in the coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Delighted for Danny Willett.

See you at the next major!

Would you like the camera stuck in your face if you had just thrown away the tournament. I certainly would be asking them to leave me alone anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Not playing anywhere near his best and still finished 10th. Yes he needs to work on putting but negative comments a bit OTT. No surprise if he wins a Major this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

adox wrote: »
    Nah not having it. Calling his wife on a video call has zero place in the coverage.

He should have been left alone for that tbf, its her birthday, they just had a baby, it was going to be a personal call.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭daithi7

Yup, his putting particularly is nowhere near where it needs to be to be the player he can be. his chipping wasn't good enough either and on top of that he made a number of mental errors on the course.

But really his putting is way below the level of Spieth, Willet, and all the top guys and that has been a consistentl weakness for him.

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    Not playing anywhere near his best and still finished 10th. Yes he needs to work on putting but negative comments a bit OTT. No surprise if he wins a Major this year.

He said his game was great coming into this tournament IIRC.

Would you like the camera stuck in your face if you had just thrown away the tournament. I certainly would be asking them to leave me alone anyway

He just comes across as a moany git when things aren't going his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Exactly. For a tournament that loves to promote itself as being the epitome of ye olde worlde manners and all things classy, that was a very tacky piece of overly intrusive, tabloid journalism.

missed that bit, sorry. Just saw the general banter in the room

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

mansize wrote: »
    He should have been left alone for that tbf, its her birthday, they just had a baby, it was going to be a personal call.

Must be a hard enough call to make. Balancing trying to make her feel like it's hehr special day when you've just won the masters and you have a baby you've not met yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

He just comes across as a moany git when things aren't going his way.

For me it was when he started beating the fairway after a bad shot in 2014 on the Sunday last round

If Rory wanted his putting to bail him out, he would have wanted his driving to be better, finding the bunker off the tee on the 8 for the first 3 days wasn't cutting the mustard. The weekend on the 11th was the killer.