Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When to upgrade GPU.

Options
  • 14-04-2016 9:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭

Hi Everyone,

I built my 1st PC in December and used an i5 4460 and GTX 950.Im planning on upgrading the GPU soon enough but im not too sure if I should buy now or hold out a few months until new cards come out.

As im still new to gaming PCs im not too sure if its worth waiting around for.Is there much of an improvement that it is worth waiting for I. Or should I wait and hope that I can pick up a GTX 980 at a much lower price when the new cards come out?

I have a corsair 450W PSU and my budget is around €400.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭Xenoronin

Sit on that wallet for a bit. The 950 is grand for 1080p in most games medium/high (with lower settings on the latest games). The performance jump should be pretty big this time so give it a few months. We are still waiting on real info on both AMD and nVidia so we can't link anything more than leaks and rumors. The performance upgrade will come from the pretty dramatic die strink from the 28nm node all the way down to the 16 and 14nm node. To put that simply, you can fit more transistors into the same space. There are additional difficulities with die shrinking so it isn't simply double the number but it's pretty close.

AMD seem set to take a lead this time around if they get things right, but nVidia are being pretty close lipped about things so it's hard to tell.