Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weeknight Late Date

When was the last time Fiachna actually presented the show two weekends in a row? Seriously they should just give Lillian the two weekend shows and get it over and done with.
    That's a bit unfair on Fiachna. Unless you know exactly what happened Lillian, it's unfair to blame him.

Alf McCarthy came in for similar criticism and he even had to point out on air that he had nothing to do with it. I sem to remember he was quite emotional about that. There seems to have been a back-story, but I don't think anyone on this thread knows it.

I love when Lilian comes back though. She's perfect for this slot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Euphoria Intensifies

That's a bit unfair on Fiachna. Unless you know exactly what happened Lillian, it's unfair to blame him.

You're right. I actually don't mind Fiachna - he plays some great stuff and has a good voice for radio. But I'd just prefer if there was a bit of continuity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Dont think anyone's blaming Fiachna for the sidelining of Alf and Lillian or truly knows what was going on behind the scenes in Montrose around that time.

What seems odd to me is that you'd give the weekend role to a guy who is a jobbing musician and obviously not going to be available at all times during the year, taking it from someone who was not just hugely popular - probably one of the most liked and respected presenters at the entire station - but is so available that she appears to be ready to fill in on a number of different slots, often at very short notice. A bit demeaning if you ask me.

Would make more sense to me for Fiachna to be the one doing the filling in, or at least paying his dues before he landed the regular gig. Jim Lockhart, another musician, did this for years and did it very well. I quite miss him now that he appears to be off the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Lillian possibly has the weekend mornings as a regular gig now. When Carol was signing off on Sunday she said something to the effect of "My year here is finished. Thanks for your support etc."
    She must have only had a years contract. Another very underrated broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Agreed.

Great if Lilian gets a permanent slot but Carol is probably my favourite over the past year or so. When you think of some of the dross that is put out her programmes were really a breath of fresh air.

It must be so difficult to get a permanent slot. She should do what Tubridy was up to and try and get into BBC Radio 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,425 ✭✭✭Trebor176

Cathal is going to be off from Sunday to Tuesday, which means that there are going to be three guest presenters presenting. Sunday night will be Joseph O'Connor (author), Monday night will be Lisa McInerney (author) and Tuesday will be Robert Mizzell (country music singer).

Nope, I haven't heard of any of these either!

O'Connor might be decent enough perhaps, not his biggest fan but he's alright sometimes. Will play a bit of Dylan, Clash, Bruce, Van etc not so much recent stuff.

Lisa McInerney, early 30s probably...Cork native and author of well received if overrated novel, was on the Tommy Tiernan show recently, wasn't the worst. Probably be listenable at worst.

Robert Mizzawhat?? You got to be having a laugh surely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭The Parish Priest.

At this rate I expect the Donnybrook Postman will end up hosting late date for an night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

At this rate I expect the Donnybrook Postman will end up hosting late date for an night

sadly it's only a matter of time before the RTE Gold relay kicks in at 11pm each night.

Like what happened at BBC Radio 2:
    https://radiotoday.co.uk/2017/01/bbc-radio-2-cuts-live-overnight-presenters/

Joseph O'Connor was pretty good last night I thought. Not too much chat and played some good stuff. No sign of anything by the sister though 😂

This presenter has written a novel, every song she plays relates to her novel in some way.

She has written a novel. She is going to talk about it. A lot.

This presenter has written a novel, every song she plays relates to her novel in some way.

Has Joe Duffy started a training school?

I caught the last hour of her show. Did nothing for me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭serfboard

Holy God - sounds desperate.

And there ye were all complaining about Fiachna and the odd plugeen! :P

serfboard wrote: »
    Holy God - sounds desperate.

And there ye were all complaining about Fiachna and the odd plugeen! :P

Twas't so bad in the end, a bit like the buses, she mentioned it twice, or maybe three times, in the space of a few songs, then mercifully spared us for the rest of the show. That's about the best I can say for it. It was ok. But I still wasn't sure why I should be listening to this presenter or taking much interest in her personal stories.

Robert Mizzell just finished there. Now I'm a fan of that cheesy country music (I have strange taste in music) so I was expecting to like it, but he actually played a pretty decent selection of tracks from various genres. Main thing is that he played Wichita Lineman, so i was definitely happy out!

The first song he played was "We are the world", the US Live-Aid song. An unusual choice and not a song you hear outside the LiveAid anniversary.

serfboard wrote: »
    The first song he played was "We are the world", the US Live-Aid song. An unusual choice and not a song you hear outside the LiveAid anniversary.

Thought the same. And the fact that he described it as a really great song, to me it was just one of those slightly cheesy charity songs, like its UK counterpart Do They Know...?, more memorable for the assembled cast than for the quality of the song.

I think his second song was Will Smith! An eclectic mix anyway....I'll say that much for him ;)

Thought the same. And the fact that he described it as a really great song, to me it was just one of those slightly cheesy charity songs, like its UK counterpart Do They Know...?, more memorable for the assembled cast than for the quality of the song.

I think his second song was Will Smith! An eclectic mix anyway....I'll say that much for him ;)

It's a great song, written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie, would be even better if it was perhaps a duo between the two artists.

I presume all these late date takeovers are pre recorded ?

Well they're finished now, but I'd imagine they are. I've no problem with that for a short period.

In other news, Lilians playing some great stuff on John Creedon's show these days.

Cathal is off again tonight, and will be off tomorrow night as well. Ruth Smith of The Evertides is filling in for him tonight and tomorrow night. I've never heard of her before, being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Trebor176 wrote: »
    Cathal is off again tonight, and will be off tomorrow night as well. Ruth Smith of The Evertides is filling in for him tonight and tomorrow night. I've never heard of her before, being honest.

I'm enjoying her stuff. Nick Drake, Crosby, Stills and Nash, and Pink Floyd ain't bad for Sunday night.

What is the obsession of putting musicians hosting late date ??? Why not get an old radio pro to host late date e.g. Jim O`Neil, Mike Maloney, Micky Mac, Jason Maine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,260 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

What is the obsession of putting musicians hosting late date ??? Why not get an old radio pro to host late date e.g. Jim O`Neil, Mike Maloney, Micky Mac, Jason Maine

Jim O'Neill and Mike Moloney work elsewhere so they may be tied. Jase the Ace, well he has he issues with him, ahem, his reliability. Beyond that, well I am sure that there's plenty who'd jump at the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

The lovely Lilian Smith is standing in for Ronan Collins all this week.

It's great to see that she's getting regular work again. I would prefer if it was on Late Date but I'm happy for her, she deserves to be on the airwaves as she's passionate about the shows she presents as she puts great thought and effort into them. John Creedon is the same.

It's great to see that she's getting regular work again. I would prefer if it was on Late Date but I'm happy for her, she deserves to be on the airwaves as she's passionate about the shows she presents and she puts thought and effort into them. John Creedon is the same.

I wish he'd play the proper Paul Simon version of American Tune. This one isn't great. Lilian wouldn't make the same mistake...

I find Cathal's shows a bit hit and miss, they can be good or all over the place. Maybe it's just me Harry :o Lilian's shows always seem to have a nice flow to them.

Maybe he's reading this thread?? Two proper Paul Simon songs after that lamentable cover of American Tune! :eek:

Sorry, I should have said, I've emailed Cathal, Fiachna & Lilian to request particular tunes and out of all of them Cathal goes out of his way to play the request. He always replies with friendly/helpful responses, he seems like a nice guy.

Edit: I emailed him there and got a reply back within a few minutes, he's sound out.

He's now playing a murderous version of a Smokey Robinson classic :mad:

It's great to see that she's getting regular work again. I would prefer if it was on Late Date but I'm happy for her, she deserves to be on the airwaves as she's passionate about the shows she presents as she puts great thought and effort into them. John Creedon is the same.

She used to be his regular stand in about 15 years ago. This must be the first time since Creedons afternoon show got axed that the cork studio has been used for a daytime show ?

Aonghus McAnally is standing in for Fiachna tonight.... we all know how brilliant Fiachna is at plugging Hotflower gigs, playing their music and plugging his wife's chocolate shop .....but tonight Aonghus is at the same craic, he has been plugging his own show (The Christy Hennessy Tribute Show) and giving out tour dates.

Why do RTÉ allow their presenters to shamelessly plug their gigs and play their own tunes (yet they can't get around to playing some of the tunes requested by listeners)? Aonghus is starting his new Christy show in October so we can expect another 15 - 20 minutes promo slot on Liveline or the Ray D'arcy Show pretty soon (just like last year) :rolleyes:

Aonghus McAnally is standing in for Fiachna tonight.... we all know how brilliant Fiachna is at plugging Hotflower gigs, playing their music and plugging his wife's chocolate shop .....but tonight Aonghus is at the same craic, he has been plugging his own show (The Christy Hennessy Tribute Show) and giving out tour dates.

Why do RTÉ allow their presenters to shamelessly plug their gigs and play their own tunes (yet they can't get around to playing some of the tunes requested by listeners)? Aonghus is starting his new Christy show in October so we can expect another 15 - 20 minutes promo slot on Liveline or the Ray D'arcy Show pretty soon (just like last year) :rolleyes:

What really pissed me off about that was that somebody texted him asking him in asking for a Christy song to be played in memory of his brother who died last Monday.
    Aonghus turned it into a shameless self plug for his show. I don't think he even commiserated with the texter.
    I've lost any respect I had for him after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭bobbyss

She used to be his regular stand in about 15 years ago. This must be the first time since Creedons afternoon show got axed that the cork studio has been used for a daytime show ?

But what does it matter if it's coming from Cork? Does it make a difference?

I'm waiting to hear who is presenting tonight but judging by the opening tracks, I'm expecting Aonghus.

Fiachna. More bearable than Aonghus and his obsession with his balding hair and Christy Hennessy.

Did you hear him on the Sean O'Rourke Show during the week plugging his nationwide tour? RTÉ staff plugging their own business ventures or gigs drives me NUTS!!! I really believe it shouldn't be allowed unless there is a charity element.

I have nothing against Aonghus on a personal level, I'm sure he is a nice man but dear God, I HATE when he tries to sing Christy Hennessey's songs, the mimicry is awful.

Did you hear him on the Sean O'Rourke Show during the week plugging his nationwide tour? RTÉ staff plugging their own business ventures or gigs drives me NUTS!!! I really believe it shouldn't be allowed unless there is a charity element.

I have nothing against Aonghus on a personal level, I'm sure he is a nice man but dear God, I HATE when he tries to sing Christy Hennessey's songs, the mimicry is awful.

It actually sounds offensive to poor Christy. It's like a very poor caricature of him. God knows how his family gave him permission.

Well somethings never fcuking change.... Fiachna is back playing his own tunes.

Lisa Lambe, Martin Brunsden & the bould Fiachna are on the wireless. I presume 'Tom' requested it :rolleyes:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQmMBbNh8sXLTJq3lnaFsKEtuNmGSeuwOr5aXL_9AqtfsFc7Cqa

Sheesh, had no idea Aonghus, with his bland insipid voice, was actually singing the Christy Hennessy songs himself. Takes some level of chutzpah to think you can get away with that. But then, isn't this the same guy they used to wheel out annually as RTE's resident snooker expert because he'd once shot a 20 break on the table in the Montrose canteen? Or something like that.

Ah Jim Lockhart playing a stormer on Late Date tonight and then he goes and plays a request for ......Elbow One day Like this...ugh!!
    But seriously, good to hear him again, dont think he's been on for a while or else I've missed it. Always does a solid job and I've yet to hear him give a shameless plug for his own band who actually deserve a ton more airplay than they get nowadays.

I've had to turn off Late Date, it's shockingly bad tonight :(

What did i miss? Hot House Flowers tribute night perchance?

The chances of the wooly jumper onslaught is nigh in the short term. Lilian has been tied up at the other end of the day. She was on Rising Time this weekend and mentioned that she'll be on the weekday show for a week of October. If RTE could archive some of the old Val Joyce shows for us, it would go a long way to ease the pain :)

Or bring back Carol.

The chances of the wooly jumper onslaught is nigh in the short term. Lilian has been tied up at the other end of the day. She was on Rising Time this weekend and mentioned that she'll be on the weekday show for a week of October. If RTE could archive some of the old Val Joyce shows for us, it would go a long way to ease the pain :)

Lillian has been doing The Weekend On One for a number of months now, allowing for some breaks in between. I don't think we're going to be hearing her on Late Date for the foreseeable, sadly. I'm not really listening to Late Date as much as I used to now. I'd love to hear Alf back on the show as well. However, Cathal and Fiachna have both been doing a grand job.

There's a real blast from the past on LD tonight....The Passions I'm in Love with a German film star. The perfect pop song, must be 30 years since i last heard it. Black mark for Cathal for failing to mention (or not knowing) that the bands lead singer (Claire Gogan?) was the niece, or some relation anyway, of one Larry Gogan.

John Creedon actually played it two weeks ago :)

Cathal "I'm mates with Cillian Murphy" Murray...lol

Can we start counting how many times late date, john creedon et all plays John Martyn "Sweet Little Mystery" or "May you never"?