Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

She sounded remarkably like her as well. Could she be a younger sister maybe?

Deirdre o Kane isn't from Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Just watched it

The girl was pretty but a bit much. You could tell she was just there to have fun because she didn't feel attraction to the guy. She went overboard though; kinda disrespectful to "have the craic" and make jokes about the guy paying for women if you're not attracted to him. She said he held back; well making fun of his SMV wasnt gonna help. If I heard that on a date, I'd immediately think she didn't find me attractive and would close up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Just watched it

The girl was pretty but a bit much. You could tell she was just there to have fun because she didn't feel attraction to the guy. She went overboard though; kinda disrespectful to "have the craic" and make jokes about the guy paying for women if you're not attracted to him. She said he held back; well making fun of his SMV wasnt gonna help. If I heard that on a date, I'd immediately think she didn't find me attractive and would close up.

There’s a type of girl (and I think she’s one) were slagging is their way of flirting and if you give it back they love you, but if you close up like you say that’s that for them, you’re ‘weak’ or whatever. I definitely wouldn’t take it personally like she wasn’t attracted, quite the opposite (and she seemed to be vibing with this lad right up until she rejected him), but then again I grew up with that kinda humour as standard so I’d be used to it.

Having said that, in her case you’d probably be better off shutting down and being well rid because she seemed the type who revel in having a guy declare interest, paying for meals then getting an ego boost in shooting him down after all that. It’ll hopefully be a good learning experience for your man. She’s giving him plenty of warning signs to avoid in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Amy was a dose, why exactly was she on the Late Late?

It really must be reaching peak zero news if Ryan now has people from First Dates on!

She was a dose, talking about him paying for sex in Amsterdam and continuing the joke afterwards even though he made it clear he didn't do anything of the sort. Then let him pay, then let him go first and turned him down in an ego boosting move.

She'd wreck your head if you were going out with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    no harm in her at all , not like she was the first to ever say No , he answered Yes quite quick , he could have let her go first
    She had already made a point of wanting him to go first ("Ladies first", hilarious). And THEN she takes an age to give her own answer, which in the context of the extensive banter and not having given any obvious hints that they weren't compatible, is usually suggestive of a teasing "ha ha, yes of course I would" conclusion. I thought that seemed pretty mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,500 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Deirdre o Kane isn't from Dublin

Drogheda is only 25 years away from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,519 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

It really must be reaching peak zero news if Ryan now has people from First Dates on!

In fairness, its usually the bizarre Valentine's Day edition so was probably booked months ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭chosen1

jmlad2020 wrote: »
    Anyone else turn off when the same sex couples are on?

No, but a large number of them already know one another so makes it less interesting. Probably to do with the relatively small gay scene in Irish cities and they would tend to go hang around in a handful of bars.

There has been a few entertaining ones though.

Also don't know why there needs to a gay couple every week. Is there some quota to be filled?Wouldn't think there would be anything close to one in four people being gay in general population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,330 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Delighted for Shane and Avril. They both seemed so nice and genuine. They were made for each other.

Tracy and Rob seemed lovely too and hopefully they get together again.

No idea about the other two couples.

The gay lads did not work not a good match and what happened with the fourth couple?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

Drogheda is only 25 years away from Dublin.

Lol 25 years away from Dublin.

I think you mean 25 miles no.

I have met a few people from Drogheda both male and Female and they did not seem 25 years behind the times if that is what you mean

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,628 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

She was a dose, talking about him paying for sex in Amsterdam and continuing the joke afterwards even though he made it clear he didn't do anything of the sort. Then let him pay, then let him go first and turned him down in an ego boosting move.

She'd wreck your head if you were going out with her.

Her tangoed hands did my head in, awful tanning

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

She had already made a point of wanting him to go first ("Ladies first", hilarious). And THEN she takes an age to give her own answer, which in the context of the extensive banter and not having given any obvious hints that they weren't compatible, is usually suggestive of a teasing "ha ha, yes of course I would" conclusion. I thought that seemed pretty mean

Having read a few comments here before watching the episode, at first I didn't get the annoyance from some posters about her. But the date ended up with her interrogating/quizzing him, then focusing on the answers to make bizarre accusations against him. Not to forget the most hated, letting someone spend a large amount on your dinner when you know you're never going to see them again.

I punched the air like Ireland had just scored when they said that Shane and Avril were now dating.

They were so good together

I wanted to hug him

chosen1 wrote: »
    No, but a large number of them already know one another so makes it less interesting. Probably to do with the relatively small gay scene in Irish cities and they would tend to go hang around in a handful of bars.

There has been a few entertaining ones though.

Also don't know why there needs to a gay couple every week. Is there some quota to be filled?Wouldn't think there would be anything close to one in four people being gay in general population.

Are you suggesting that there is a quota to be filled for straight couples?

AMKC wrote: »
    Lol 25 years away from Dublin.

I think you mean 25 miles no.

I have met a few people from Drogheda both male and Female and they did not seem 25 years behind the times if that is what you mean

I stand by my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Are they doing this anymore, where u can apply to a background dater?

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Lmkrnr

Has there ever been two really hot looking lesbian's on it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Lmkrnr wrote: »

There were definitely 2 girls dating in the last series that actually looked remarkably alike from memory.

The debate on how attractive they were continues, in earnest.

From memory one of the girls fell for the other but it was unrequited, which I was surprised at because they appeared to be a having a blast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

The first episode was very boring, hope it improves.
    I saw from the preview that Hughie Maughan will be on it. So he has split up with his husband. Them two were a right pair together.
    For anyone who hasn’t seen it, you need to watch Hughie when he was on podge and rodge. It is maybe the funniest 10mins ever on Irish tv.

I saw from the preview that Hughie Maughan will be on it. So he has split up with his husband. Them two were a right pair together.
    For anyone who hasn’t seen it, you need to watch Hughie when he was on podge and rodge. It is maybe the funniest 10mins ever on Irish tv.

The funniest thing ever was when he had that meltdown in the diary room on Big Brother.

Was Hughie married, did he think Mateo was his date :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

I don't watch it but I saw an ad for it and a girl on a date is wearing a feckin mask during it :pac:

Why would you even go?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Did he not marry the fella he meet in Big Brother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Oh think your right. I don’t think they got married.

He was class on the Dancing with the Stars ..... The fake tan, I was on the floor in stitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

He's a tonic, that fella. He really doesn't give a damn. Trouble risers!

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    He was class on the Dancing with the Stars ..... The fake tan, I was on the floor in stitches.

He was the colour of varnish from the floor :D

Tango Man.

I am still laughing at the head of him, I don't even think he was dancing that night, his head just kept on popping out from the crowd of contestants. It was side splitting stuff.

He is great Telly

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Minime2.5

Lmkrnr wrote: »

No they only exist in the fantasy world of porn

• Registered Users Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭KevRossi

On again tonight. Will be hard to top these two...

https://twitter.com/RTE2/status/1359982086648717314

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,538 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Don't even need to watch tonight's show to know that the orange guy from Big Brother is gonna be a complete dope who's only on it to try and keep himself in the spotlight. The First Dates format works best when it's just normal people getting to know each other on a date, no need to have 'celebrity' clowns on it.

In fairness I have been excited about Tango man all week.

He is Television gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Yeah people who have featured on reality TV shows before should be exempt from First Dates.

Hughie isn't looking for love so much as hoping to give his "profile" a boost.

Ms

She looks like my neighbour. Oh I like her already.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

She is a case of tattoos making a woman look hotter.

I think she is gorgeous.

I've always wondered what does 'semi retired" actually mean???? I work a 3day week.....am I 'semi retired'???

I'd have thought a lesbian would love a fish supper :D

She needs to stop picking her nose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭4Ad

Girls in Dr Martins...that does it for me !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Lovely older people dates are the business.

What ?

Did I hear her correctly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,340 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Don't spit it out honey it's good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Try hard.

Does hughie need a date....seems to have enough in himself

I'd say there's been very few Travellers allowed in to that premises.

What an attention seeker though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,425 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Big brother - that was it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭4Ad

Piss off Hughie...ape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

if this show is a proper gauge of the overall population , 20% of the population minimum are gay

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

What an absolute g€€bag.

The kind of dzope who makes ya dislike flamboyant gheys and those who like to travel, all wrapped up in 1

He's being very rude interrupting their date.