Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Cruellest put-down since a woman (who wasn't exactly a princess herself) told a man that he needed to get his teeth done.

She said it nicely and it was hardly news to him that his teeth needed attention.

The same man later came back on having had his teeth fixed and it was clear that the show was perhaps the final nudge he needed to get them sorted. I thought that was actually quite a nice story!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I don't think Marie was cruel, she was straight up about it, and more to the point, he agreed with her. I think he would have been happy to have had dinner with her and maybe go to the theatre, concerts etc. when COVID is over, but Marie might want more than that and as such she maybe didn't want to waste his time. I found it slightly strange that they didn't agree to just meet up as friends with no view to a relationship.

We saw less than 10 mins of them, I would think that they would have spent a lot of time talking about their deceased partners, so maybe she picked something up there and felt he might be rushing things. On the other hand he sounded lonely and time is against him at 79. What struck me most though, was that he agreed with her straight away that he might be rushing back in too soon.

I hope they soon find someone who suits each other. They were very nice people.

As an aside, did she ever say what she used to work at? She had a very 'RTE' voice. It sounded very familiar, very like Anne Doyle.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭VonLuck

They must have left out an awful lot about the old guy and his wife because he didn't seem hung up on the past at all. Was on par with anything she said about her husband I thought. He admitted that all he wanted was a bit of companionship and someone to go for a meal with. I got the feeling that she wasn't that interested and used his deceased wife as an excuse. She was a bit blunt with coming out with that.

Regarding Denis and Marie, I think they're just looking for different things.

Denis seemed more ready for a slower paced life, and as he said himself 'companionship', whereas Marie still seemed more full of beans and probably looking for a bit more 'zest'.

I don't doubt Marie enjoyed herself and quite likely did pick up on Denis still mourning his wife. What was it, 57 years or something...an exceptionally long time to be with someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,997 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

KevRossi wrote: »

As an aside, did she ever say what she used to work at? She had a very 'RTE' voice. It sounded very familiar, very like Anne Doyle.

I wondered this too, I thought she had a manner of someone used to listening to people like a GP or something.

She seemed very educated and well spoken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Marie wanted a fella who was more alpha male and could work the room better.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Every poxy week when a woman turns down a man for whatever legitimate reason as she sees fit, some dose rocks up with the hot take that she was looking for an alpha male. Give me a break!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭dobman88

Every poxy week when a woman turns down a man for whatever legitimate reason as she sees fit, some dose rocks up with the hot take that she was looking for an alpha male. Give me a break!

Turn on your sarcasm detector m8. And relax while you're at it. Getting worked up like that will do you no good.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭JoeExotic81

She wanted that big d!ck energy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Karl and his date seem sound enough.
    I think they'd make a good couple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,853 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'm fairly sure I saw Marie on a program before but I can't figure it out.

There's definitely something familiar about her.

A quick Google doesn't bring much up, if she'd been on something previous I'm sure it would have been referenced.

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭Clon63

There's definitely something familiar about her.

A quick Google doesn't bring much up, if she'd been on something previous I'm sure it would have been referenced.

I thouht she sermed familiar too. To me she had the presence/diction of an RTE Continuity Announcer from years ago or one of those older Aer Lingus cabin crew who would be in charge and probably working in Business Class on the transatlantic flights Lovely lady with something about her.

Clon63 wrote: »
    I thouht she sermed familiar too. To me she had the presence/diction of an RTE Continuity Announcer from years ago or one of those older Aer Lingus cabin crew who would be in charge and probably working in Business Class on the transatlantic flights Lovely lady with something about her.

I actually thought old school flight attendant too.

Initially I thought school teacher but no definitely someone who dealt with adults in a very confident way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭The Inbetween is mine

I actually thought old school flight attendant too.

Initially I thought school teacher but no definitely someone who dealt with adults in a very confident way.

Dominatrix?

Dominatrix?

That might be a touch too confident :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

My sources tell me that there is another Tipperary person on it tonight...

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭pleh

Yeah let the show begin ! Looking forward to this.

My sources tell me that there is another Tipperary person on it tonight...

Well, he/ she better be heterosexual or that poster , anon, will be whinging on here about how he can't tolerate anyone who doesn't conform to his views and why should he pay tv licence---- he prefers 1960's rte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

Ashley Coles model brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

would not have pegged either of these dudes as gay

They definitely picked their rigouts from the same wardrobe.

The ick lol

The ****ing state of the runners haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

He looks older than 37, but dresses younger.

And she definitely doesn't look 40 to be fair.

37 and still living at home........ blondy's alarm should go to defcon 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,988 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I have a funny thing for noses.

I think ur one is pretty hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

He looks older than 37, but dresses younger.

And she definitely doesn't look 40 to be fair.

looks more than forty to my eyes ?

16 years he’s single! I feel a lot better now :)

The reactions when kids are announced is always very telling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,340 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

ShagNastii wrote: »
    I have a funny thing for noses.

I think ur one is pretty hot.

Don't like her nose at all, kinda witchy looking..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

16 years he’s single! I feel a lot better now :)

He's probably been banging solid 8's for the past 16 years, living the bachelor lifestyle. Only thing stopping him from settling down is his ego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    would not have pegged either of these dudes as gay

lol, the use of the word pegged can mean something else:o

jmlad2020 wrote: »
    He's probably been banging solid 8's for the past 16 years, living the bachelor lifestyle. Only thing stopping him from settling down is his ego.

I laughed out loud at that one!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

The black fella is one serious dude, maybe it's the nerves but hes coming across as zero crack

Tipp guy seems lovely his nerves are adorable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭99nsr125

37 and still living at home........ blondy's alarm should go to defcon 5

Blondie is a complete nutbag

Buddy should run very fast and very far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭kravmaga

The black fella is one serious dude, maybe it's the nerves but hes coming across as zero crack

yeah, a bit intense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭4Ad

99nsr125 wrote: »

Bet you the sex would be great ..BUT would it be worth it ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭WildWater

kravmaga wrote: »
    yeah, a bit intense

He probably can’t get out of audit mode.

Mandy looks to be great Craic

I hope this is kinda car crash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

These 2 shy Dubs will definitely be a match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Flowers nice ,should stop lifting that bottle though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

SCOOP 64 wrote: »

use a straw?

SCOOP 64 wrote: »

I don’t think it’s nerves.

Ok the tax man is loosening up thank god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

ShagNastii wrote: »
    I don’t think it’s nerves.

A glass would be out of the question then

99nsr125 wrote: »

But that's my " type"........ Blondy nutbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭99nsr125

4Ad wrote: »
    Bet you the sex would be great ..BUT would it be worth it ??

Nope, normally the loud ones are all talk and no good.