Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

That girl from Limerick made awful deal about her date forgetting her name. Make a quick joke about it with him and move on ffs. Her dwelling on it changed the tone of the date after. It had seemed to be going ok before it. He was sweating bricks the poor lad. If it was their 10th date and he forgot her name I'd maybe worry then!

He had only met her, she ruined his night and thought it was funny, I was surprised he said he would meet her again, that conversation was all about hr, and her name, I felt sorry for him, and he kept his composer,

Wonder how many times she dropped the word FRIEND in there lol

I loved those two, both needing someone to go places with, both been through the mill, he losing his young wife, and raising his 5 yr old all by himself, he did say his first wife, did he have a second wife, she with helping her family through tough times, her son in law in a wheelchair since a car accident and her daughter with a long term illness, her husband walking out and breaking her heart, they both deserve a bit of socialising, as they said , one cannot go alone to some places, they are right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    And the botox and lip fillers. How on earth is she only 30?! I'm 35 and I would have guessed she's about 40.

Ah fcuk she didn’t look 40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Staff are headwrecked.

Imo the blond waitress is hotter than any of the contestants ever on the show tho so ill give her a pass.

Barman wrecks my head.

Staff are headwrecked.

Imo the blond waitress is hotter than any of the contestants ever on the show tho so ill give her a pass.

Barman wrecks my head.

I think the bar and restaurant staff are great, they are trying to put some real nervous people at ease, and help to get the couples speaking, they are brilliant at their jov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭dee_mc

goat2 wrote: »
    I loved those two, both needing someone to go places with, both been through the mill, he losing his young wife, and raising his 5 yr old all by himself, he did say his first wife, did he have a second wife, she with helping her family through tough times, her son in law in a wheelchair since a car accident and her daughter with a long term illness, her husband walking out and breaking her heart, they both deserve a bit of socialising, as they said , one cannot go alone to some places, they are right

He said he'd been married twice but didn't say how his second marriage ended.
    They were both really nice people, and well matched. I hope it works out for them, whether they end up as friends or as partners.
    I thought she was quite clear about what she wanted when she said she was after "a male friend" - I took it that she was looking for companionship, someone to enjoy some of her weekends with, but not a husband or live-in partner as she already has a full life and is quite tied to Kerry because of her family situation.
    In general the older people on this show are cool and very enjoyable to watch because they tend to know just what they want and aren't afraid to say so - some of the younger people would make you cringe when they say stuff like "I want someone with tattoos" or "ideally he should have a beard" or the waiter last night "in my drawing of my ideal woman she's holding a cocktail because she's fun and outgoing" - kind of sad!

I think the bar and restaurant staff are great, they are trying to put some real nervous people at ease, and help to get the couples speaking, they are brilliant at their jov

Here we go again, they are ACTORS.

None of the couples last night hit it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    None of the couples last night hit it off.

The 2 lads did

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

dee_mc wrote: »
    He said he'd been married twice but didn't say how his second marriage ended.

Where do you think the name Harry & The Escorts came from? ;)

The 2 lads did

Post show clip said they weren't a match so I'd say it was a quick bang and goodbye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭jos28

Fred in the UK version, and all his nonsensical ramblings and musings about love drive me up the wall.

I happily endure Fred's ramblings and musings ;)

Screen-Shot-2018-04-07-at-183007.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

Imo the blond waitress is hotter than any of the contestants ever on the show tho

agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I can understand the complaints about the scenes with the restaurant staff, this is clearly trying to emulate the UK version. But honestly it doesn't bother me too much on the Irish one for some reason, in general the emphasis is much more on the actual dates themselves. Fred in the UK version, and all his nonsensical ramblings and musings about love drive me up the wall, I hope they never do that crap on our version.

Is Fred the main French guy on the UK show?

Possibly thee most charismatic dude on TV

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

She made most of the date about guessing her name and trying to portrait she was annoyed about it , its a first date for f*ck sake,

Some of the daters get very confused about their date not remembering their name.

It’s like they think they’ve just woke up with someone next to them in a bed who doesn’t even know their name.

Eh no you just briefly exchanged names , ONCE, whilst nervous as hell surrounded by cameras!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Ah fcuk she didn’t look 40.

Agreed she’s a fabulous looking girl. I’d love to see some of those slagging her off here and see how pic perfect they are.

It must be old people saying she's really hot, just like the french one. They're clearly plastered with makeup. Their skin did not look good at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,840 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Pussyhands wrote: »
    It must be old people saying she's really hot, just like the french one. They're clearly plastered with makeup. Their skin did not look good at all!

Just had a look. She easily looks 40+

The 2 lads did
    Not for long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭badtoro

Yer man Carlton Obama brought a bit on himself as well. Fair enough he's not responsible for her natural knob-e-ness. At first I was thinking cultural difference, high 5 etc, so grand cut him a bit of slack. As the disaster date moved on though he didn't seem to have very much respect for himself. Overly deferential (going to the bathroom ffs), overly apologetic, trying too hard off the scale on top of it. Just when I thought he was to be put out of his misery - he'd like to see Rosalyn again .....

The A-Team couldn't help that lad.

The French one was not plastered with makeup the on last night was way overdone though and her lips pumped up didn't do her any favours.
    Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Just had a look. She easily looks 40+

Hardly, maybe it was her enhanced lips made her appear older but she definitely looked nowhere near 40.

The French one was not plastered with makeup the on last night was way overdone though and her lips pumped up didn't do her any favours.

Hardly, maybe it was her enhanced lips made her appear older but she definitely looked nowhere near 40.

Matter of opinion I suppose. Each to their own. In my opinion, in her quest to look youthful, she’s aged herself by 10 years, looks artificial, and to me, that’s not hot. To others, it is

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Matter of opinion I suppose. Each to their own. In my opinion, in her quest to look youthful, she’s aged herself by 10 years, looks artificial, and to me, that’s not hot. To others, it is
    Agreed, can't see why a 30 year old would need to enhance their face, she'll look like Joan Rivers by the time she's 50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭Infonovice

I thought that girl from Cork was a little bit self conscious so it's not fair to slag her off really.
    Even at the end she was a little bit shy, and maybe a bit surprised with the 'would you date again' question/answer.
    They actually looked like they would be nice couple too.
    He seems like a lovely fella to me

Agreed, can't see why a 30 year old would need to enhance their face, she'll look like Joan Rivers by the time she's 50.

Minus the Botox, excess makeup and tan, she’d be ok looking

French girl though, I'll slag and say she looked like a slob to me

Infonovice wrote: »
    French girl though, I'll slag and say she looked like a slob to me
    She have a long face but I'd say men hound her for sex because of her curves and she's probably frustrated by it as she don't know whether they want her for sex or love.

well I don't mean to be so harsh on the girl, but she just looked like a pure slob and I didn't really see any appeal there at all

Her personality horrible but she definitely was no slob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,977 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Could you not just leave it at "She wouldn't be my type" if you truly didn't mean to be harsh?

FFS, I know she chose to go on television but there's probably a fair chance she'll have glanced at this thread to see the reaction, or someone she knows will have.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Jane_Dough

Some of these comments are genuinely disgusting. Is this thread not moderated?

Jane_Dough wrote: »

Couldn’t agree more. I bet the the people writing these comments are no oil paintings .
    I admire anyone who goes on a dating show on national TV . I’d love to do it but wouldn’t have the guts. No wonder so many women go all out on hair and makeup, it’s a front for so many women who don’t always have huge confidence.

Would any of us who sit at home commenting be that confident on First Dates? Wouldn’t we all put huge thought and effort into hair , makeup, dress, shoes when its not just for the date, but for National TV?

The French girl had a beautiful face and tons of confidence and wanted the same in a man. She had the confidence to dress as she did. She didn’t look like your average French woman and her look wouldn’t be everyone’s cup of tea .....but why would anyone call her a slob?

The blonde girl from Cork was beautiful and was a lovely person. Hard to believe she was lacking in confidence but she was. Same as her date but men can’t put on makeup to give themselves a boost !
    In her interview clips she looked more natural, most people do, it’s called putting on the war paint for a big date ! Thankfully Down man saw the sincerity and beauty of the girl and they hit it off. Pity it didn’t work out for either of them .

My definition of a slob is,
    a person looking unkept, untidy
    Sloppy eater
    no table manners.

But I did not see that, she looked well dressed, and groomed
    But she did not have much of a personality, a bit of all about me sort of thing, which really annoys me

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

We don't monitor and read every thread in minutae and ask users to report any problem posts.

As for this thread, will only repeat what had been said before. Keep the personal digs about peoples appearance to a minimum. If you wouldn't say it to their face it's probably not something to share here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,326 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

That American guy who forgot his dates name...she took it too far he was sweating buckets bless him.

Ok is it boiling in there, your man Matthew was sweating buckets too!

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Sandz066

gmisk wrote: »
    That American guy who forgot his dates name...she took it too far he was sweating buckets bless him.

Ok is it boiling in there, your man Matthew was sweating buckets too!

It was filmed in the height of summer , one of the best summers on record. Add to that first dates nerves = perspiration.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,539 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Still not as bad as last week when we had "chemically imbalanced" and "mentally ill" thrown about at the gay couple who dated, yet no posts were deleted and the posters are still free to post on the thread ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

She have a long face but I'd say men hound her for sex because of her curves and she's probably frustrated by it as she don't know whether they want her for sex or love.

She's a bit fat, not curvy. But lads would defo get up on her when she has the tights, mini skirt etc.

She was eager to know if yer man was nervous because of the whole situation or because of her, this was after she had said no. Sounded like she got off on intimidating men. Nothing intimidating about her tbh, white knights putting her on a pedestal though would give her that idea. Obama Jr. would have been sweating buckets just talking to her and she'd have loved it.

"I want someone more confident" - like it's a first date ffs. It's not a "buy now or never buy" thing....you could go on a few dates to see if he loosens up.

pixelburp wrote: »
    We don't monitor and read every thread in minutae and ask users to report any problem posts.

As for this thread, will only repeat what had been said before. Keep the personal digs about peoples appearance to a minimum. If you wouldn't say it to their face it's probably not something to share here

And what if you would say it to their face but others wouldn't?

Could you not just leave it at "She wouldn't be my type" if you truly didn't mean to be harsh?

FFS, I know she chose to go on television but there's probably a fair chance she'll have glanced at this thread to see the reaction, or someone she knows will have.

Boards is a tiny little section of the internet.

Who moderates twitter or facebook? Go onto twitter while the show is on and people are mocked and lambasted for their appearance and personality 100 times worse than here.

So it should be acceptable then should it?
    If your sister was on and people were describing her as that would you say that it was ok?

I know what Twitter/FB are like etc but the annoying thing about that particular post was the "I don't want to be too harsh" bit. If you're going to be a d*ck, own it.

Couldn’t agree more. I bet the the people writing these comments are no oil paintings .
    I admire anyone who goes on a dating show on national TV . I’d love to do it but wouldn’t have the guts. No wonder so many women go all out on hair and makeup, it’s a front for so many women who don’t always have huge confidence.

Why does it matter if someone is an oil painting or not? Maybe the reason people from here wouldn't go on is because they know these types of comments about appearance and personality are fair game and they don't want to subjected to it?

Doesn't mean the peope who do go on the show don't get judged, no matter how harsh it is!!!

Of course it's only when the women get judged for their appearance you're all up in arms. I didn't see anyone complaining when Daniel the farmer from Tipp was judged to have brain damage.

I wasn't on the thread that time the guy and girl got on great and the guy let her go first and she said yes and he said no. He was getting dogs abuse everywhere else so I'm sure people were calling him a prick here too. And how about Philly? I bet people wouldn't say anything about Philly to his face either.

So it should be acceptable then should it?
    If your sister was on and people were describing her as that would you say that it was ok?

I know what Twitter/FB are like etc but the annoying thing about that particular post was the "I don't want to be too harsh" bit. If you're going to be a d*ck, own it.

Of course it should be acceptable. You're willingly putting yourself on national television to be judged.

Is it acceptable for compliments then? Why are positive judgements supposed to be allowed but negative ones aren't?

It would be like someone going on operation transformation and then not expecting anyone to say they're fat.

Of course it should be acceptable. You're willingly putting yourself on national television to be judged.

Is it acceptable for compliments then? Why are positive judgements supposed to be allowed but negative ones aren't?

It would be like someone going on operation transformation and then not expecting anyone to say they're fat.

Purely, because as a society, we should aim to be more supportive than negative or hurtful.

I'm not foolish enough to suggest the fate of the human race depends on how comments are worded on Boards but what appears here is indicative of the culture we live in. I would rather see that being a more positive culture than negative.

Why? Because, if we suggest negativity should be allowed in equal measure then it will lead to increased mental health issues, more animosity and ultimately physical violence as each of these impacts spread and deepen.

And that would start to impact on society as a whole.

(And this isn't about allowed/not allowed, I'm no judge of that, but what I personally think should be acceptable/unacceptable) I'm no shrinking violet but I have no intention to potentially cause hurt to someone just because they put themselves on television.

Purely, because as a society, we should aim to be more supportive than negative or hurtful.

I'm not foolish enough to suggest the fate of the human race depends on how comments are worded on Boards but what appears here is indicative of the culture we live in. I would rather see that being a more positive culture than negative.

Why? Because, if we suggest negativity should be allowed in equal measure then it will lead to increased mental health issues, more animosity and ultimately physical violence as each of these impacts spread and deepen.

And that would start to impact on society as a whole.

(And this isn't about allowed/not allowed, I'm no judge of that, but what I personally think should be acceptable/unacceptable) I'm no shrinking violet but I have no intention to potentially cause hurt to someone just because they put themselves on television.

Maybe if there was more honesty you'd have less people going on these shows saying "I don't know why I'm single and can't meet someone". This whole show as a program is about thoughts and opinions and if those opinions are negative it shouldn't be a problem.

If I went on the show I honestly wouldn't have any problems with people saying I have a massive nose or anything.

Why does it matter if someone is an oil painting or not? Maybe the reason people from here wouldn't go on is because they know these types of comments about appearance and personality are fair game and they don't want to subjected to it?

Doesn't mean the peope who do go on the show don't get judged, no matter how harsh it is!!!

Of course it's only when the women get judged for their appearance you're all up in arms. I didn't see anyone complaining when Daniel the farmer from Tipp was judged to have brain damage.

I wasn't on the thread that time the guy and girl got on great and the guy let her go first and she said yes and he said no. He was getting dogs abuse everywhere else so I'm sure people were calling him a prick here too. And how about Philly? I bet people wouldn't say anything about Philly to his face either.

You’re wrong. I myself thought the French girl wasn’t very feminine. But I have a problem with anyone, male or female, being judged purely on looks or called a slob. In the last day there were an awful lot of unwarranted nasty comments about the appearance of the women. If it was about the men I would feel the same. People are human, they have feelings. Yes they go on these shows , for a date , not for their looks, it’s not Miss World or Mr Universe. They put themselves out there which most of us wouldn’t . They’re ordinary people, not celebrities (who use media to their advantage).

I’d rather their manners and attitude towards their date was up for discussion and criticized, rather than their looks ! I’ve no problem with people discussing who pays, how to act, when to say “there was no spark” , table manners etc etc. I feel it’s too easy to be really nasty , I’m sure these participants or their families read these comments at times. That makes me uncomfortable

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,523 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

And what if you would say it to their face but others wouldn't?

1) Stop arguing with a mod's note. 2) As to your actual point, look up Wheaton's law - don't be a dick. This applies to boards as a whole.

We try to have some standards here. See above. Back on topic, please

The gays and trans are over represented on the show too. 4% of the population is gay yet they have gay couples on every night, so probably about 10-15% of people are gay, increase that figure for trans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,781 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Adds a different variety to the show in fairness since it's usually a different type of date, if it was done strictly on quotas then we'd be seeing the same straight dates over and over again between 20 somethings, 30 somethings and older couples

she wouldn't be my type, but I also thought she looked like a slob
    I bet the the people writing these comments are no oil paintings .
    but why would anyone call her a slob?

A:I'm quite happy with my own appearance actually.
    B: because that's what I thought of her
    My definition of a slob is,
    a person looking unkept, untidy
    Sloppy eater
    no table manners.

she looked well dressed, and groomed

A: I agree
    B: disagree
    pixelburp wrote: »

It was a harsh thing to say probably, and I'd explain my reason's for feeling that way but I'll listen and not say anything else that might seem too offensive