Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭akelly02

hi barry john

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

shutup wrote: »
    What was the problem with Barry John exactly? It seems doesn’t take anything seriously and was just on to have a laugh. Certainly a bit of a mad man and his jokes a bad but that’s not a reason for all the attacks on here.
    Regarding the constant fake laugh. I think that was because your ones **** jokes. “What time you on till. Now we can’t have fun”, “ I can just go back to my ex”. If you didn’t fake laugh along it would be too awkward.
    The stone mason seemed like a great lad and Slyvester is strangely familiar. Any ideas if he was on TV before?

Referring to tits as whippies, should be punishable by death. His head was also so far up his own hole that he formed a perfect circle. The fake laugh thing, yeah you should laugh along at attempts at humour but he was laughing all the fecking time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,521 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

What was the problem with Barry John exactly? It seems doesn’t take anything seriously and was just on to have a laugh. Certainly a bit of a mad man and his jokes a bad but that’s not a reason for all the attacks on here.

Nobody is attacking him, but people are allowed to criticise him. He's appeared on numerous TV dating shows so he's put himself out there to be judged.

The problem (for me) is that he's your typical sleazy meathead. He's gone on hundreds or thousands of dates. He said the lowest age of a girl he'd date is 21 (for PC purposes, nudge nudge). The way he went on on Blind Date in the UK was appalling. He calls girls breasts "whippies" to their faces. He references his name being BJ for short - oi, oi, wink wink, nudge nudge. He said himself at the end that he was texting another girl whilst on the date. Not hard to see why he got stick.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Referring to tits as whippies, should be punishable by death. His head was also so far up his own hole that he formed a perfect circle. The fake laugh thing, yeah you should laugh along at attempts at humour but he was laughing all the fecking time.

Not to mention the fairly predatory remark when asked what age of woman he’s interested in and the unpleasant assumption straight out the gap that his date’s last relationship ended because she cheated on him. Maybe both were intended as jokes but they fell very flat and made him come across as a misogynist prick. When he spoke about his speech impediment and subsequent admission of being a bully I’m guessing his self confidence is actually piss-poor and all that posturing is because he’s so insecure. Doesn’t excuse any of it though, he made my skin crawl watching him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭shutup

Ok whippies is pretty pathetic.
    Didn’t see blind date or any of his other tv appearances but going to look for it online.
    I have no prob with him Texting someone else while she was in toilet. He could have been rejected so why not keep his options open at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

When his date said she didn't want to see him again, his automatic response was to attempt to demean & disrespect her by saying he had spent the date texting another woman anyway.
    He was basically saying "I didn't like you anyway", when in reality it was clear as day that he would have been up for another date had she been agreeable. He clearly can't cope with rejection, he didn't come across as one bit decent or respectful & that had nothing to do with having a playful personality.

Sylvester seemed like he had the kind of personality that would grate on me, a bit too intense. But definitely a nice genuine guy who would probably be a great partner to the right woman.
    The other two lads seemed like absolute gentlemen, particularly the guy on the date with the other twin.

But "BJ"? A crass knobhead with the maturity of your average 5 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Ok whippies is pretty pathetic.
    Didn’t see blind date or any of his other tv appearances but going to look for it online.
    I have no prob with him Texting someone else while she was in toilet. He could have been rejected so why not keep his options open at that time.

No issue with him keeping his options open, that's only common sense. The issue is he threw it back in her face when she said she wasn't interested, because he was on the defensive.
    He didn't need to say it to her. What person wants to hear that their date spent their evening together texting other people? It just smacks of pettiness, it was really quite pathetic and showed him in a very negative light.

If he had just said no worries and wished her well, it would have been no issue. But no, he had to stick the knife in and get one up on her for having the cheek to reject him.

Yeah fair enough. Some good points. However, I wouldn’t hold the comments about texting someone else against him. The girl flirted with him, was touching his arms and was making it look like she was interested. Did she set that up just to get him interested and then be the one to say no to another date?
    What really annoys me is those who don’t want a second date but don’t say so first. Such a dick move to get the other to talk first when all along you are not interested.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    No issue with him keeping his options open, that's only common sense. The issue is he threw it back in her face when she said she wasn't interested, because he was on the defensive.
    He didn't need to say it to her. What person wants to hear that their date spent their evening together texting other people? It just smacks of pettiness, it was really quite pathetic and showed him in a very negative light.

I think anyone who rushes onto boards.ie to slag loud big personalities or confident people is the type who wouldn’t take a public rejection well.
    Although it is a much better trait to wish someone well and move on I think 90% of people would go on the defensive.
    Unfortunately I have quite a few loser friends who are bitter about rejection and it’s always the same people who can’t handle other people’s success and can’t stand confidence.
    * I’m only talking about those who were quick in to slag him. Not the more recent comments who were only answering my question and to be fair raised some valid points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,159 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I think anyone who rushes onto boards.ie to slag loud big personalities or confident people is the type who wouldn’t take a public rejection well.
    Although it is a much better trait to wish someone well and move on I think 90% of people would go on the defensive.
    Unfortunately I have quite a few loser friends who are bitter about rejection and it’s always the same people who can’t handle other people’s success and can’t stand confidence.
    * I’m only talking about those who were quick in to slag him. Not the more recent comments who were only answering my question and to be fair raised some valid points.

Are you kidding ? Right from the get go he was a pain in the arse . He needs someone to tell him to tone himself down and treat people with respect .He might then get some respect back .If he were my son I would take him aside and tell him a few home truths .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,341 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

hi Barry John

I think anyone who rushes onto boards.ie to slag loud big personalities or confident people is the type who..

Ah, what else are we supposed to do?..

hi Barry John

Hi second person to make that joke.
    Anyway I’m not him. Think that’s pretty obvious from my writing style.
    My own opinion is he’s alright. Way ott. Terrible inappropriate jokes. But alright. I’d love to see him on TV again.
    Anyway I asked a question and got a few answers. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,090 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

My own opinion is he’s alright. Way ott. Terrible inappropriate jokes. But alright. I’d love to see him on TV again.

I can't remember Barry John giving any examples of his writing style last night on First Dates! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,922 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

You can subscribe to the podcast he's apparently starting so.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    You can subscribe to the podcast he's apparently starting so.

Cheers. Should be a bit of craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭granturismo

The woman shooting down poor Sylvester was a bit unfortunate as he seemed like he'd look after, although I'd say he's a bit intense & annoying but maybe thats just not what she's looking for!

She said she would like to see him again midway through the episode when she went to the toilets with her sister. Her face dropped later on when he was talking about poker and gambling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Not to mention the fairly predatory remark when asked what age of woman he’s interested in and the unpleasant assumption straight out the gap that his date’s last relationship ended because she cheated on him. Maybe both were intended as jokes but they fell very flat and made him come across as a misogynist prick. When he spoke about his speech impediment and subsequent admission of being a bully I’m guessing his self confidence is actually piss-poor and all that posturing is because he’s so insecure. Doesn’t excuse any of it though, he made my skin crawl watching him.

Yeah but sure he’s a bit of ‘mad man’ and great craic.
    That excuses everything

• Registered Users Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Barry John is either on the sneachta, heavily, or a complete and utter imbecile

I think he's someone who is looking for bigger things such as Love Island or something like that, he seems to be someone who's looking to make a living off reality TV. Quite possibly paid to go on through an agent.

Came across as a bit of a tosser tbh.
    She said she would like to see him again midway through the episode when she went to the toilets with her sister. Her face dropped later on when he was talking about poker and gambling.

Yeah, thought that he face changed when she heard that, could be history there with someone close to her. I liked her. And her sister. Thought the sculptor was a class guy as well.

I liked the last pair, her from Donegal and the Limerick lad, very surprised they didn't meet up again, but it's a 4-5 hour drive.

Next week looks bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Still Ill

KevRossi wrote: »
    I liked the last pair, her from Donegal and the Limerick lad, very surprised they didn't meet up again, but it's a 4-5 hour drive.

Next week looks bad.

Sounds like they were hinting he may have gotten lucky that night. The 'he missed the last bus home' bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Yeah think he missed the bus home meant he got lucky.
    First Dates is great craic, its easy entertainment and its a long way ahead of the misery guts that modern TV is! If it wasn't for it I'd hardly watch any terrestrial TV!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭GeneralC

Hi Barry John,

Your punctuation is awful. Just an observation from your writing style.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I thought that, there’s a big difference between a fella playing in big tournaments and a lad spending all his wages in the casino on the way home, pity she didn't realise seems to have made a nice few quid at it from a quick google

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Yeah, didn't she mention that she works in some sort of social services and homelessness etc. She's probably seen way too many cases of the negative impact gambling can have. I think he was in with a chance until then.

I thought her sister and her date were lovely, I was hoping he was matched with her at the start.

I'll be tuning in next week with the main purpose of finding out how you lose your virginity to a feckin ghost!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,481 ✭✭✭pgj2015

im getting weird vibes from him with the menacing laugh. i wouldnt want anyone i know going on any dates with him. needs to shave the head as well.

What a weird bastard..

From the highlights of next week, the other night was the relatively normal, I think next week is the freak show!

monkey9 wrote: »

What a creepy f*cker, jeez this is real black mirror stuff.

Also how would you knock a podcast series out of your experience on first dates?
    This lad is worrying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Cocaine is one helluva drug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭martyoo

Loved when your man was telling his date about his video rental business and the lad opposite remembered him from delivering the videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,326 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Only watching it now that Barry John fella....what a tosser...total tart...and er not that fit..34 he might need to grow up.
    Also why is he walking like he has crapped his pants?!

He really has the "I'm going to leave your dismembered body in the Wicklow mountains" approach perfected
    That twitter post is astounding

gmisk wrote: »
    Also why is he walking like he has crapped his pants?!

Probably residual pain from being up his own arse the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,330 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

That was on ok show. The latvian girl was lovely and deserves far better than someone who call your breast's whippies. What an idiot. I find the twins boring. The last couple were certainly the best match and both seemed lovely. That Barry Jon fella I can see being single for a very long time if he keeps going on like that and does not change is atitude to Women. Have some respect you moron.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,341 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

He would have scored her no bother if he hadn't said he cheated on a girlfriend. It's a ****ty thing to do and any girl worth her salt should have enough sense to stay clear.
    He's on also on Tinder I only missed it by a few years but thankfully so as the whole lot of them seem to have the clap or worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Your man Barry John seems a touch psychopathic. Whatever about lads coming on looking to be famous after Love Island didn’t reply to their applications, you get that in spades on this show, but something about his mannerisms is extremely unsettling. Like you can see him immediately pushing boundaries to see what he can/can’t get away with, which is textbook red flag behaviour. It restored my faith in humanity a bit when yer wan saw through him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Still Ill

AMKC wrote: »
    That was on ok show. The latvian girl was lovely and deserves far better than someone who call your breast's whippies. What an idiot. I find the twins boring. The last couple were certainly the best match and both seemed lovely. That Barry Jon fella I can see being single for a very long time if he keeps going on like that and does not change is atitude to Women. Have some respect you moron.

Thought she was a bit of a sap myself. The whole attention seeking flirting with the waitress would be a turn off for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Barry John was a complete d**khead. The other three lads were all nice. I was surprised when Mary said she didn't want to see Sylvester again particularly when she had said earlier that if he asked to see her again she definitely would. I think it was when he was talking about casinos etc, I could see her face change then. Pity though, he seemed like a nice guy. Her sister and the other guy seemed to get on well anyway. He was nice too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

It seems that the attitude to splitting the bill in 2019 is the same as it was in 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

It seems that the attitude to splitting the bill in 2019 is the same as it was in 2018.

Fair enough the expectation is on the lad to pay, the easiest way to come out good is to say I pay for this one and you get the next one

The "are you sure" response from the lady is expected also, that's fine

There was one before maybe last season who was annoyed when he "let" her pay half, when she "insisted" on paying her half, now that's bs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,090 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

• Registered Users Posts: 47 thenumber3

While I’m kinda loath to give this BJ eejit the hits, this has to be heard to be believed.

https://open.spotify.com/show/5xOmCFrsg6mJfXlMniWzJ0?si=_wiH9717TWGeMd0lzWU-kg

thenumber3 wrote: »
    While I’m kinda loath to give this BJ eejit the hits, this has to be heard to be believed.

https://open.spotify.com/show/5xOmCFrsg6mJfXlMniWzJ0?si=_wiH9717TWGeMd0lzWU-kg

Sweet jesus. The creepy laugh is the freakiest part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭mistersifter

No doubt a slot on the Late Late Valentines special awaits that disturbing creep
    Barry John.

What the f*ck kind of double barrel name is that anyway? I'd say he uses it just for the innuendo possibilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭joeguevara

No doubt a slot on the Late Late Valentines special awaits that disturbing creep
    Barry John.

What the f*ck kind of double barrel name is that anyway? I'd say he uses it just for the innuendo possibilities.

There was a famous Rugby player whose full name was Barry John. A lot of people were named after him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭mistersifter

joeguevara wrote: »
    There was a famous Rugby player whose full name was Barry John. A lot of people were named after him.

I see!!

Said he was from "South Dublin" too, which I presume is closer to D4 than D24. Maybe its a popular name out his way then. If so, hopefully they're not all as creepy as him :D

joeguevara wrote: »

Are you not thinking of Willie John (McBride?)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,801 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

The Barry John played for Wales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭joeguevara

No Barry John, the Welsh wizard. A lot of 35-45 year olds, even in Ireland, have his moniker.