Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things That Annoy You — Rules in Post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    I knew I wouldn't be interested in doing some this evening, so went out beforehand & now I am cream-crackered here. Very nearly had keyboard face at 4pm.

I have another hour and a half to sit around before I go out, fml

• Registered Users Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Hair twirlers! Was sitting behind a girl at a conference yesterday who kept playing with a strand of her hair, really irritating to have that in your field of vision

All this saturation sports hit a nadir today. For about 30 minutes @5pm this afternoon RTÉ Radio 1, RnaG, Today FM and Newstalk - i.e. all the state-wide news programmes - had nothing but Olympics. Nothing. With no news available I escaped to Lyric where they managed to have an ad for RTÉ's olympics coverage!

Perhaps instead of the BAI focusing on competition we could do with a Diversity Authority because competition is merely resulting in variants of sameness. News on at same time, sport on at same time each and every day. It really is infuriating that at the end of the day we have precisely the same choice now as we did before these private stations came into being in the early 90s: turn on the radio, or turn it off.

/end rant.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,643 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

This is not particularly aimed at the above poster but my TA is people who proclaim the end of the world is upon us when for 2 weeks every 4 years people get exposure to sports they wouldn't normally encounter.
    Lighten up, Kim and Kanye are still there and are still not doing anything interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

This is not particularly aimed at the above poster but my TA is people who proclaim the end of the world is upon us when for 2 weeks every 4 years people get exposure to sports they wouldn't normally encounter.
    Lighten up, Kim and Kanye are still there and are still not doing anything interesting.

Sports coverage is getting to a ridiculous level on radio in Ireland at the moment. Hours every day devoted to talking about people playing games on pretty much every station.

It should be like the US where they have dedicated sports radio for the mentally ill people who want to listen to this utter ****e ad infinitum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Sports coverage is getting to a ridiculous level on radio in Ireland at the moment. Hours every day devoted to talking about people playing games on pretty much every station.

It should be like the US where they have dedicated sports radio for the mentally ill people who want to listen to this utter ****e ad infinitum.

Ah now, just cause some people have a love of sports, does not make them mentally ill. What do you have a love of? Does it make you mentally ill for enjoying it loads? Of course not.

My TA for today, people who can't keep things business related and always have to resort to personal attacks.

And people on boards who will not admit they were wrong, or use the thats not exactly what I said excuse and try to be as condescending as possible. A plague on all your houses!

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭yellowcandle

when you say something and there is an awkward annie standing in the back ground going, I know what you said is right, but i'm going to be hard work and ask for specifics and then even when proved wrong, try talking around their original point to back track and not look SO STUPID

This is not particularly aimed at the earlier poster but it's not just the Olympics. Before this was soccer saturation with Euro something or other, golf something or other then it's rugby something or other, there must be some other saturation sports coverage around the corner. It's only in recent years that commercialised sports was given this much airtime. It's a big advert dressed up as sport. The reality tv crowd have not cannibalised our news coverage like this so there's no comparison at all. As I said RTÉ should set up a sports station and stop cannibalising news programmes with this overhyped shíte.

My ta: that Marty Whelan continues to destroy Lyric FM every morning by waffling and playing pop music and waffling. And waffling. Play quality music and whisht.

when you say something and there is an awkward annie standing in the back ground going, I know what you said is right, but i'm going to be hard work and ask for specifics and then even when proved wrong, try talking around their original point to back track and not look SO STUPID

TRIED to thank my own post but I was not allowed so I shall just quote it instead, thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Ca;t get that Everybody's got their reason song outta my head all evening. I don't even like the shaggin' thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I got into a lift today and was about to press the level I wanted but other people wanted to get in too, so I didn't press it; I let them get in first.
    But before I had the chance to press, the others pressed their choices first.
    Er, hang on. I didn't press my choice yet because if I had, the doors would have closed on you. You came in after me. You SAW this. Let me press first ffs!

Also TA'd that I have a million and one things to do tomorrow but a family member still wants me to drop in for a cuppa at some stage.
    I know this sounds terrible but I don't want to.
    I love my family, of course I do, but I've so much to do and they know this.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

Why do you need to press first? Does it make a difference? :blink:

My TA is that I've been very good and have hardly eaten all day because I'm going out for dinner, but now it's hometime and I'm STARVING so I'm going to have to sit at home for at least two hours and try not to eat crisps because I haven't even bread in the house to make a sandwich! First world problems :P

fussyonion wrote: »
    I got into a lift today and was about to press the level I wanted but other people wanted to get in too, so I didn't press it; I let them get in first.
    But before I had the chance to press, the others pressed their choices first.
    Er, hang on. I didn't press my choice yet because if I had, the doors would have closed on you. You came in after me. You SAW this. Let me press first ffs!

Also TA'd that I have a million and one things to do tomorrow but a family member still wants me to drop in for a cuppa at some stage.
    I know this sounds terrible but I don't want to.
    I love my family, of course I do, but I've so much to do and they know this.

When you get in a lift, and like 10 seconds there, waiting to go and some tw*t comes along, and pushes the button and the doors open and you have to stand there, looking at them, thinking to yourself, You horrible f***** bas**** I hate you

• Registered Users Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭fussyonion

When you get in a lift, and like 10 seconds there, waiting to go and some tw*t comes along, and pushes the button and the doors open and you have to stand there, looking at them, thinking to yourself, You horrible f***** bas**** I hate you

Hahaha yes!
    I also hate the awkward silences in lifts. Why do we find it so cringey?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

With all the Olympic coverage whether you like it or not, RTE 1 has something different to show you,
    Mrs Browns boys CHRISTMAS SPECIAL, for feck sake, seriously....like.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

selous wrote:
    With all the Olympic coverage whether you like it or not, RTE 1 has something different to show you, Mrs Browns boys CHRISTMAS SPECIAL, for feck sake, seriously....like.

Someone here is watching it...give me strength😠

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

The dog hates when there's sport on the telly, and likes to sit in the car until it's over.
    He's wrecking my head tonight asking to be let out :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

I was too, till I said to myself what the F am I doing, rugby 7s on other channel, phew..

• Registered Users Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Rogueish

Driving southbound on the M1 this evening between the Malahide estuary and the airport exit about 8 motorcycles bombed down the motorway on either side of me (I was in the middle lane). I was doing 120km/hr the motorcycles were going at such a speed that I was 'Sunday driving Ms Daisy' in comparison. I'd estimate that they were hitting 180+km/hr. If I or indeed any driver had changed lane with or without indicating the emergency services would have been scraping 'motorcyclist burger' off the road. As it was they gave me a fright as I had 3 sleeping children in the car with me.
    In summary my TA inconsiderate, stupid and wholesale dangerous speed merchants on the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Are I Mad

The bale wrapping has only just finally finished across the road great - only for now I have a really bad head ache. Seeing massive machines in tiny fields, one would think that with such big machines, the fields would be finished in no time but no.

Why is it that the only time work goes on the fields across the way only seems to happen during night-time, I have never seen them work in the field by day.

Rogueish wrote: »
    Driving southbound on the M1 this evening between the Malahide estuary and the airport exit about 8 motorcycles bombed down the motorway on either side of me (I was in the middle lane). I was doing 120km/hr the motorcycles were going at such a speed that I was 'Sunday driving Ms Daisy' in comparison. I'd estimate that they were hitting 180+km/hr. If I or indeed any driver had changed lane with or without indicating the emergency services would have been scraping 'motorcyclist burger' off the road. As it was they gave me a fright as I had 3 sleeping children in the car with me.
    In summary my TA inconsiderate, stupid and wholesale dangerous speed merchants on the road.

For next time it's well worth buying a dash cam, and paying a visit to An Garda.

My road-related ta: the eejit this afternoon in Blackrock on a big bike who looked like something from a Clint Eastwood film in the 1970s (the one with all the hairy bikers, obviously!), who had clearly just arrived off the boat in Dún Laoghaire, and who I could hear a good 300 metres behind me! Not mere headphones for this lad but an entire radio system broadcasting to all and sundry as he drove around the place.

Which brings me to my major ta: imposed noise pollution everywhere. From the waiting areas of doctors'/dentists' surgeries and of airports, buses, hospital wards, pubs and so many other places, I wish people would stop imposing their music and tv choices on the rest of us. In 2016, you can all put headphones on you and connect them to your phone or whatever without disturbing the rest of us. We can get news on our own devices, should we want to. There's no excuse for it. I'd like to sit in these places and read quietly or just do nothing and enjoy the silence. Turn it off, please.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Why every race, gender, culture, social divide etc can be discussed on boards without too much issue, but discussing Irish Travellers for some reason sends the place into lock down.

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭tringle

Are I Mad wrote: »
    The bale wrapping has only just finally finished across the road great - only for now I have a really bad head ache. Seeing massive machines in tiny fields, one would think that with such big machines, the fields would be finished in no time but no.

Why is it that the only time work goes on the fields across the way only seems to happen during night-time, I have never seen them work in the field by day.

I live on a very tiny rural road and very TAd that for over a week I have been trapped in my house by contractors booting it up and down the road. Its much too dangerous to bring the baby or dog out for a walk. Yesterday I drove to town and was doing no more than 35km when a contractor came charging around the bend, I stopped quickly but he couldn't and was still charging towards me. I am not exaggerating but my bonnet was under his when he managed to stop. I had two 6 year olds in the car who got a dreadful fright and a baby. And then I had to reverse over 400m back down the road as he had a trailer. Worst ever I saw was what looked like a 14 year old driving like mad around a bend ,while he was on the phone and had his arm around his girlfriend.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

tringle wrote: »
    I live on a very tiny rural road and very TAd that for over a week I have been trapped in my house by contractors booting it up and down the road. Its much too dangerous to bring the baby or dog out for a walk. Yesterday I drove to town and was doing no more than 35km when a contractor came charging around the bend, I stopped quickly but he couldn't and was still charging towards me. I am not exaggerating but my bonnet was under his when he managed to stop. I had two 6 year olds in the car who got a dreadful fright and a baby. And then I had to reverse over 400m back down the road as he had a trailer. Worst ever I saw was what looked like a 14 year old driving like mad around a bend ,while he was on the phone and had his arm around his girlfriend.

Please tell me you have reported this. That's disgraceful, irresponsible behaviour from all of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

tringle wrote:
    Worst ever I saw was what looked like a 14 year old driving like mad around a bend ,while he was on the phone and had his arm around his girlfriend.

How the hell was he steering?!

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭com1

"Flying H. Spaghetti Monster"! is it that fuppen difficult to stick your fuppen hand out to signal to the bus driver that you want that particular fuppen bus to stop and let you on!!!!!!

For fup sake you are NOT too cool for school by the way - you are getting a fuppen bus!!!

If I was driving the fuppen bus I wouldn't fuppen stop, you fuppen fuppers

I swear I got whiplash about 5 time on the fuppen bus this morning because you cant let the fuppen bus driver know you want to catch the fuppen bus in good time.

Oh 'flying Spaghetti Monster junior' I needed that... thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Comments under youtube videos. Nobody gives a flying fúck how you got here just shut up and listen to the song you moron.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭ahlookit

com1 wrote: »
    "Flying H. Spaghetti Monster"! is it that fuppen difficult to stick your fuppen hand out to signal to the bus driver that you want that particular fuppen bus to stop and let you on!!!!!!

For fup sake you are NOT too cool for school by the way - you are getting a fuppen bus!!!

If I was driving the fuppen bus I wouldn't fuppen stop, you fuppen fuppers

I swear I got whiplash about 5 time on the fuppen bus this morning because you cant let the fuppen bus driver know you want to catch the fuppen bus in good time.

Oh 'flying Spaghetti Monster junior' I needed that... thanks!

I feel your pain. But how much of that is down to the people waiting at the stop, and how much is down to agressive driving? Some days you have a nice gentle spin in and out of town, other days you get thrown all round the bus cos the driver is constantly accelerating and braking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

It's a two sided street: http://www.forum4farming.com/forum/index.php?threads/f-in-car-drivers.8699/
    My TA: People always complaining about farmers.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Are I Mad

A few days after I heard a young fella (a 17 year old) giving out about his uncle not buying a more powerful tractor, I happened to be driving behind him. He was on a tractor pulling an empty transporter, he was driving very fast pushing the tractor to it's limit and hit a pothole. The transporter bounced at an angle right across the road, luckily there was nobody coming the opposite direction.