Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things That Annoy You — Rules in Post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

a petty one that didn't bother me that much, but i ordered a dominoes the other week and the guy taking the order was talking too fast, like he was rushing me along to reach a target for quick service (which makes sense)......flustered me.

my nails get dirty a lot, and then I give myself spots from touching my face. bought one of those nail scrubbers to sort it out.

when you enter details incorrectly several times online and dont spot your mistake :0

• Registered Users Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I hate when I have put my shopping on the belt at the checkout and go to stack my basket at the till but the last person has left their basket back with one of the handles flapped over. I can't just slot mine in easily but have to be faffing around with the top baskets handles.
    Not bothering to look at the guide yoke in with a box of chocolates and nearly breaking my teeth on a hard toffee one assuming it is going to be soft.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Rasher2903

why on earth does an item on Children doing mindfulness in a school in limerick make it on to the nine o clock "news.' How is this news and who gives a fiddlers

Ta at big dumbing down in the media in recent years not to mention that late late show
    Cos it's in Moyross in Limerick, that's why....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Met Éireann tweet:
    SWerly winds.Cold.Clear spells & scattered heavy shrws,some tundry,esp in W&SW,wintry on higher ground later.

Tundry.

Their tweets are full of annoying txtspk, but I think tundry is a new low.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

maudgonner wrote: »
    Met Éireann tweet:

Tundry.

Their tweets are full of annoying txtspk, but I think tundry is a new low.

Is there a translate option :D

Mad for tea and biscuits, but have to fast for having bloods done in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

madmaggie wrote: »
    Is there a translate option :D

No, but it's inspired me to write it in poem form:

It's a cold, clear night. Tell all and sundry!
    Scattered heavy showers, some of them tundry.

They should give me a job instead of that eejit :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Bet Ms Cusack wrote that. If you read it out loud, there's a bang of Laois off it.

TA - needing to pee each time I lie down

• Registered Users Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭misstearheus

It always takes about 3 goes to embed a Youtube video right. :mad:

Chatting to nice boy on Tinder. Same age, only 20kms away from me. What's the catch?!? He's moving to fcuking Cannes in 3 weeks! :rolleyes::mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Got a new car last week.
    Went to fill it this morning and the garage was quite busy so got a pump at the end, it was a prepay pump. FFS. I went in and said I'd like to fill my car, he said how much, I said I don't know, it's a new car and I've never filled it, he said pick a number so. FFS

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

ILikeBoats wrote: »
    Got a new car last week.
    Went to fill it this morning and the garage was quite busy so got a pump at the end, it was a prepay pump. FFS. I went in and said I'd like to fill my car, he said how much, I said I don't know, it's a new car and I've never filled it, he said pick a number so. FFS

I'd say you TAd him.How would he know how much you wanted?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Colser wrote: »
    I'd say you TAd him.How would he know how much you wanted?

Haha true! In my defence, I thought they'd just have an open ended transaction or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Wife borrowed my car for the day.

What got messed up:

ALL mirrors
    Seat height
    Seat angle
    Seat length
    Steering wheel height
    Heat settings
    Air vent directions
    Radio presets

AND she cleaned it out.I WANTED my man crap. Now I don't know what was in it.

TA'd that your wife didnt borrow my car

• Registered Users Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I had no time at all to eat this morning, had to bring one child to appointments, back to school and then shopping. I was actually fit to murder with the hunger and couldn't wait to get home to eat. Seconds into eating my sense of taste completely disappears. Damn you to hell and back, headcold :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Insurance companies and their 500 bloody questions :mad:

Taking a day off work to help someone else and being told 15 minutes before I'm due to meet them that it's been cancelled and can I do tomorrow instead?

Sciatica. My back twisted this morning while I was cleaning my teeth. I could barely stand and shovelled two solphodine and a difene into my face. I'm wearing the flattest pair of high heels I own but am naturally walking to the side, and I look like I can't manage a flat pair of high heels. People who wear heels and can't walk in them anger me so today I'm angering myself.

I've been letting my brows grow out since September to go at them and completely reshape them and move my arch. Today I realised it's at stage where I can't even fill them in to give them any sort of shape anymore but they haven't grown enough to be able to move the arch.
    GrouchoMarxOnRale is what I'll have to change my name to.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

People calling Solpadene solphadene.

Sorry Lexie.

I'm from Offaly. Correct pronouncation a words mane natin ta me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    People calling Solpadene solphadene.

Sorry Lexie.

Solpadeine. TA at having to take it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Dry cold day so I took the car to be washed and driving home the heavens open..ffs.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I'm eating a bag of M&M's one by one.
    I despise myself for not shovelling them all into my fat face at once.

One by one. Why am I even doing this?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,870 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Couriers.

You give them detailed indications on how to get to your place. You tell them what to input on their GPS because 99.9% of the time they input something slightly different and end up in a boreen in the middle of fields, and you explain this to them. You see them driving by without stopping, and you wave at them to signal them to stop.

Guess what happens next.

And then they have the gall to complain about the fact that they couldn't find you, and ended up miles along a boreen despite having input the 'correct' address into their GPS. :mad:

Last year I had a huge fight with one of the only people that's been my friend when I've been both okay and absolutely nuttier than a box of Squirrelsh1t.
    It was Valentine's Day and I was still stocious drunk from going for "one drink" the night before. We were both horrible and I told him I never ever would speak to him again. Now, I'm fiery. I'll go mad for about 10 minutes, pure fury, but then it's over and done with and i snap back to myself. And any other time I told him go **** himself, I'd give in after a few months and email him to see how he was. "Are you still alive? Just so you know this email wasn't sent with love" kinda thing but it would break the ice.

This time though, i stuck to my guns and I never gave in once. You'd be blue in the face waiting for an apology from him though so I had understood that we would never ever speak again, and i was okay with that.

Anyway, Checked my email there now. Who's mailed me? Him.
    No apology but "it's been almost a year. I probably won't hear back from you but it's been almost a year since we chatted. How are you? I'm taking a middle of the night, half sleeping dump and you popped into my head. I hope you're alright".

Now for the TAs.
    1. Do you think I could play it cool? Nope. I emailed him back as soon as I read it.
    2. Do you think i could be a normal person? Nope. First line was "so it took you a whole year to take your head out of your ass??"
    3. I'm thrilled and keep telling myself to stop being happy I've nothing to be happy about, he has no right to decide we can be friends again and me there like a little lap dog delighted with myself.

A whole year of progress of not missing my friend and he's gone and ruined it and I couldn't even be civil

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

You're eating something new / yummy, and someone with you goes 'oh, is that nice?'

Of course it is!! Look at me eating it!! I like it!! nyom nyom!
    Is it nice to you? Well, that's subjective and you'll only know by trying some... and by asking 'is that nice?' you clearly want me to offer you some without you coming out straight with 'oh, gimme a bit!'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Eircode. Am I the only fecking eejit in the country who uses it when ordering stuff. Of course it's ignored, and the delivery person still phones me.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

New Home wrote:
    Couriers.

TA I believed for years that they deliver curry

• Registered Users Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭misstearheus

I got a papercut when I scrunched up a sheet. :(:( Reason for scrunching up said sheet in such in-considerate haste is due to people not getting back to me. :rolleyes: Another t.a.

I reckon a papercut is up there with the best, toothache and childbirth. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

TA'd that I appear to have accidentally rang my dentist at almost midnight last night , not once but TWICE! Worse is , she seems to have answered both times and I'm morto to think what I was doing or saying at the time ! I thought about texting her this morn to explain but I'm more of the ignore ignore ignore / pretend it didn't happen kinda person.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭ Zechariah Gifted Scholar

Retail one

some people try to bring their dog (not a guide dog) or bike into the store, I tell them they can lock them on the bike stand outside provided for them and they get the hump when theyre told to put them outside

• Registered Users Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭Feisar

Having a headcold during my mocks :( My body has betrayed me

Ah to be back there again. Make sure and have a Sugary drink on hand, non fizzy in case it lands all over your paper during the real thing. Massive boost I found during the 3:20 English or Geography exam. Also wear a watch, eyes get blurry focusing for so long on the paper inches from your face. No point in looking at the clock at the top of the room.

On that point this really annoyed me, the LC is marked on a curve so so many A's, B's etc, more time only means the "standard" gets pushed up. It doesn't give the B student more time to get an A as the A's are writing more and so on down the line.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

TA that I read the above as
    "wear an eye patch"

and it wasn't the case.