Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things That Annoy You — Rules in Post #1

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Hamadeusentman

Vel wrote: »
    We all know those type of parents, the ones so chuffed to have reproduced that they think, we the general public can't get enough of their kids 'delightful' antics. They'll be gurning around trying to catch the eye of anyone close by so we can all acknowledge together just how great their child is, and therefore how great they are because they created it!

Or those who like to remind us that they and their child are more important than anyone else by motoring around with their 'Sean on Board' sticker on their car, because you know, we must all take heed that King Sean is out and about and adjust our driving habits accordingly.

I thought the above two examples were bad until I sat across from a pregnant lady with a t-shirt which said' Baby on Board' and underneath 'Be Careful' and then two little baby feet at the very bottom. Thank god she was wearing it or I might have randomly clotheslined her, or tripped her up for fun otherwise.

SIGH

Yeah that's very annoying alright. Although I have heard that those stickers on cars can help emergency services to ascertain whether there has been a child in the car accident.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Yeah that's very annoying alright. Although I have heard that those stickers on cars can help emergency services to ascertain whether there has been a child in the car accident.

Its actually a time waster if you have the sign up and no baby with you.
    Should be taken down/put up as required to be of any use.

http://www.madeformums.com/news-and-gossip/real-reason-for-baby-on-board-sign---that-99-of-parents-dont-know/37552.html

TA I missed lunch today.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I had just managed to drift back to sleep this morning after the OH's alarm went off at 5.30, when I was woken by the neighbours animated conversation over the wall to each other at 7. Someone was banging something, and one of their dogs set off barking. I'm pure murderous all day. If our dog ever barks, she is brought straight in, whatever time of day. Total inconsideration :(
    If one more person tells my sister, who is expecting her first baby in a few weeks, that she "will definitely have a section", as she is small, I'm going to fcukin kill them. Who the hell does that ? Assholes:(

• Registered Users Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

When you see someone from the radio, and they look nothing like you thought they would

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭scream

73Cat wrote: »
    I had just managed to drift back to sleep this morning after the OH's alarm went off at 5.30, when I was woken by the neighbours animated conversation over the wall to each other at 7. Someone was banging something, and one of their dogs set off barking. I'm pure murderous all day. If our dog ever barks, she is brought straight in, whatever time of day. Total inconsideration :(
    If one more person tells my sister, who is expecting her first baby in a few weeks, that she "will definitely have a section", as she is small, I'm going to fcukin kill them. Who the hell does that ? Assholes:(

There are 8 dogs in various gardens near us, when 1 barks they all bark and it stops and starts for hours. At this rate I'm gonna develop a twitch.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

scream wrote: »
    There are 8 dogs in various gardens near us, when 1 barks they all bark and it stops and starts for hours. At this rate I'm gonna develop a twitch.

I read that "when I bark", and thought WTF?? I was imagining you barking out of your window, and wondering was it worth a shot:). My TA, nearly choking on my drink reading that !

• Registered Users Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

TA'd that I ordered an item which had a projected delivery date in the middle of July. I knew I was taking a couple of weeks away in June. Was no sooner left home when I get a cheery 'It's on its way' email - fecks sake. It's now with our ever helpful friends UPS. It is rather large and heavy so I can't really expect a neighbour to take it in - besides I'd like to inspect for shipping damage too.

I would have waited 'til I got back but the delivery times seemed to be getting longer by the day.

I can sense I going to have fun with this one :mad:

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

had a berocca for energy and it made me feel no better, in fact yesterday I was the most knackered id been in a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

When all of the chocolate falls off Magnums as soon as you take a bite.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

KatW4 wrote: »
    When all of the chocolate falls off Magnums as soon as you take a bite.

I've posted before but it's an even bigger TA when a sneaky bit of chocolate falls off unnoticed and melts on your clean clothes

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

People standing at the top or bottom of escalators. Just standing there in the way

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

I suppose it's not so much of an annoyance per se, but that momentary episode of paralysing terror when you make it to the jacks, bladder like a zeppelin, seconds to spare, wrench down fly as you're snarling with panic through your nose....and after a panic-stricken fumble realise your boxers are on backwards and there's no emergency exit where there should be.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

I've posted before but it's an even bigger TA when a sneaky bit of chocolate falls off unnoticed and melts on your clean clothes

Nothing worse!!

Another TA occurred while I was looking for melted chocolate on my clothes. We were painting in school today and the yellow pain splattered everywhere. I thought I got it all when I cleaned my glasses, my hair and my face but I just found yellow paint on my brand new cream top. I should know better than to wear new clothes to school.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

A stick of garlic butter jumped out of my shopping bag while it was in the car yesterday. Today my car is a gloopy buttery mess and everything I own smells of garlic. Very TA'd...

TA that I have a 24hr ECG on me and the main battery bit is huge.
    How the hell do I sleep with this yoke on me?! :(
    If I move the wrong way in my sleep I will likely pull on the wires and wake myself up in pain.

Edit:
    TA I can't drink for the foreseeable next few months until medical tests are back as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Especially if you've been sitting on it and are now adorned with a brown stain on your bum. :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Midge bites. Arrrghh...need to scratch.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,679 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

when you make toast, but it's not toasted enough - so you pop it back down again. however you've left it too long so now the toast when it pops up again tastes like stale bread toasted :-/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

When the sink is stacked with dishes so there's no room to properly fill the kettle.

I bought 10 items in not-so-Super Valu this morning. I was overcharged for two of them : €2.79 instead of 99cent for vine tomatoes, and €2.30 instead of €1.50 for wholemeal tortilla wraps. I'm very price sensitive so always keep an eye on being overcharged.

I have to say though that between Tesco, Super Valu, Aldi and Lidl, Super Valu is in my experience the worst repeat offender. But for their bakery being top class (even if expensive) I would have abandoned them years ago, and I certainly avoid doing my main shopping there. The mark-ups they have compared to the others really are utterly astounding, worthy of a specialised blog.

TA I was just in a charity shop looking at the books when some guy hears my accent and starts going on and on about the troubles, not maliciously towards me or anything but just talking some right old uninformed ****e.
    Glad to get out!

I'm awful broody today. Wtf is that all about :(
    I keep imagining a little Persepoly running about the place with a little curly head. I can even see her bright yellow dress and little converse shoes.
    She's really huggy and wants to know everything about the world around her.

Now I am sad because I'm 34 and there is no Mr Persepoly so no baby :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I'm awful broody today. Wtf is that all about :(
    I keep imagining a little Persepoly running about the place with a little curly head. I can even see her bright yellow dress and little converse shoes.
    She's really huggy and wants to know everything about the world around her.

Now I am sad because I'm 34 and there is no Mr Persepoly so no baby :(

You can rent mine for a few days. He is a boy, but will probably wear a dress if you gift him some lego and jelly bellies.

Winterlong wrote: »
    You can rent mine for a few days. He is a boy, but will probably wear a dress if you gift him some lego and jelly bellies.

I'll take him and he doesn't even need to wear a dress. Unless he wants to of course :p

We will go to the Natural History Museum and then to the sea where we can run around and make sand castles and get our feet wet. Then we can get in my little car and never return!!
    I mean then I will drop him home.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    The pleb standing right beside me smoking at the bus stop this morning. It's not like it was raining, he didn't have to stand under the shelter. He could have stood anywhere else. Fúck off away from me now with your smelly cancer stick.

He probably didn't realize that you were glued to the spot, unable to move.
    Turtyturd wrote: »
    Parents letting their kids use express self service checkouts....you're nullifying their purpose when your child takes between 5-10 attempts to scan each item.

Shame on those trying to teach their children new things.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

:mad: Do I need to tap the Rules Sign again? :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

I hate that I have to install like 6 different instant messaging/call apps on my phone cos there can't be a consensus to just use one!

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    :mad: Do I need to tap the Rules Sign again? :mad:

Ah Booms Baps!! :(

TA'd that you are TA'd. Don't be angry. I'll be good. Promise.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,350 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

In the breakfast room yesterday morning in a hotel in Cork,
    I went and filled 2 glasses of orange juice and left them on the table I had chose to sit at, then proceeded to go up and assemble my breakfast.
    Upon returning to my table, someone had left their laptop on the table "claiming it" for themselves, which was fine initially, so I took my 2 glasses of orange juice and went to another table, sat down and started having my breakfast. the laptop guy then came back to his (my original) table and proceeded to give me the dirtiest of dirty looks for what he must have thought "stealing his 2 glasses of orange juice".

TA'd that because I was at the hotel in a professional capacity, and there could potentially have been fellow employee's of my company present (extremely large multinational, so always hard to know), I couldn't get up and rip the absolute f**k out of yer man for sitting at my table.

Inside I was screaming.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Was shopping earlier in Lidl. Encountered 2 TAs. Couple in front of me at checkout didnt use the plastic "stopper" and waited till there was at least 3ft of empty conveyor before putting their purchases on the belt. The empty 3ft was never filled and they just waited till the belt moved and filled the newly available space at the back of the conveyor. Meanwhile my hand is being dragged off me holding a basket with a few items that would fit easily in the said 3ft if they had the cop on to push forward. Had to reach past them to get the plastic stopper then put up my items right behind theirs.
    Some other tool had discarded his basket at the checkout without stacking it correctly and i had to stack his before stacking my own. Man behind me had to move back while i carried out this operation so I became a TA to him.