Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016, Mod Warning in OP, 10/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

as an aside, rumour has it that Brendan Rodgers is Celtic's number 1 choice for manager.

it would be a smashing move for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

I can't think of a single manager who has benefited from managing at Celtic in terms of their career afterwards. Easy job, almost nailed on for a league champ every other year but never going to do much in Europe due to lack of resources.

Death knell for your career, Rodgers knows it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

yep, it'd be a very poor move for rodgers. Would be better off holding out for Watford/Villa or someone like Middlesboro if they do get rid of Karanka in the summer. Everton would have been perfect for him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Don't see how managing Villa is any more attractive than Celtic, tbh, and I'm not exactly Celtic's, or Scottish Football's, biggest fan.

Also, he'd actually get some European experience there, and have some of the pressure that comes with the expectations of title win. It would be a grand move for him, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Yeah, personally think Celtic is a better move than Watford, Boro, random Prem job X tbh. Delia did a very poor job there - the possibility exists that you can go there and use the platform of league wins to progress in European competition. You do two years there, win some silverware and (assuming you manage it) progress past a CL group stage and I think it sets your profile and future prospects up an awful lot better than any midtable stint in the Prem can.

The other possibility is that he or his agent believe his 2014 2nd place can be enough to secure a higher tier job. In which case wait it out?

Knex. wrote: »
    Don't see how managing Villa is any more attractive than Celtic, tbh, and I'm not exactly Celtic's, or Scottish Football's, biggest fan.

Also, he'd actually get some European experience there, and have some of the pressure that comes with the expectations of title win. It would be a grand move for him, tbh.

The chance to revive Villa and get them promoted whilst playing in a more competitive league would imo be a much more appealing job than thrashing nearly every team you play and getting dumped out in the CL qualifiers. Cant think of a celtic manager that left the club and went on to bigger and better things tbh. It's be a step backwards for his career i think.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Yeah, personally think Celtic is a better move than Watford, Boro, random Prem job X tbh. Delia did a very poor job there - the possibility exists that you can go there and use the platform of league wins to progress in European competition. You do two years there, win some silverware and (assuming you manage it) progress past a CL group stage and I think it sets your profile and future prospects up an awful lot better than any midtable stint in the Prem can.

The other possibility is that he or his agent believe his 2014 2nd place can be enough to secure a higher tier job. In which case wait it out?

Just goes to show what a rubbish job it is then. You can be poor at your job and still walk the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Celtic is a far better job for Rodgers at this moment in his career than heading to Watford or Boro or Villa. They're dangerous if you're trying to make a name again. Watford could have 2nd season syndrome, Boro will likely be in dire straits if they sack Karanka, and you just don't know if Villa will make it back up again any time soon with how badly they're run.

At Celtic, you have a free ride of sorts. He wants to rebuild his reputation as someone who can manage a 'big' club. We all know the league is a farce, but Celtic still has 50,000 supporters a week and has a huge following.

He'll win the League, and no matter what he does his stock likely won't fall as a result.

O'Neill's stock rose after it. He went to Villa, and had them as a top 6 club.
    Strachan's arguably done ok after it. He's now managing Scotland.

It's a perfect, safe move for him to put him in the window, still earn a few bob, while getting that 'winning' feeling.

Plus, if he can make them any way competitive in Europe, he'll have done a good job in a lot of people's eyes.

A great job for him right now.

Tony Mowbray now managing Coventry, Neil Lennon sacked at Bolton, Ronnie Delia on his way back to Norway .... the outlook isnt great. Its a nothing league really. Dont see how Rodgers himself as a coach would improve. He needs to test himself against a higher level than the likes of Ross County and Hamilton Academical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

These days the SPL can be considered either as a first step up or rest-room. Nothing in between.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

To steal a line from Paul Little on Twitter...

Celtic don't even need a manager to win that league.

I really don't see how it benefits Rodgers. As has been pointed out above, the recent trends for Celtic managers has been pointedly downward after they left Scotland.

Martin O'Neill was the last to do well really.

Since - Strachan, left Middlesbrough in 20th with two-and-a-half-years to go on his contract, arguably then threw away 3rd place in the Euros group by losing to Georgia.

Mowbray - sacked by Middlesbrough (why Middlesbrough!?) and took Coventry to the lofty heights of 8th in League One.

Lennon - sacked by Bolton after a dire season that included a run of 1 win in 18 games

Delia - off to Norway again after particularly poor European displays.

I think Rodgers would be better served going to Spain, Italy, Germany or France and testing himself there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

I think it would be a terrible move for Rodgers. He will get no credit for winning the league & at us he was very poor in Europe. Can't see achieving anything with Celtic in Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

Spanish are very bad for travelling. I remember Jesus Navas being one who had bad home sickness .. I remember stories of him walking out of Spanish training sessions, happening in Spain, as they were too far from Seville.. Obviously he's over it now, but just an example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

The prospect of Old Firm derbies makes Celtic a bit more enticing again but I would agree that he can do better.

Best move for him is back to Watford or Swansea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭atilladehun

You don't develop your skills as a manager at celtic. You could send a badly prepared team to most games and they'd win. Better off in Championship with tough games every week instead of max 8 a year.

It's like playing U14's in an u12's league with 6 games in the U16's cup. Useless.

Go to a lower prem or championship team and make them better than they are. He's done that before. Or go to Celtic, stay there forever and get paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

This is a good appointment for Celtic and Rodgers. Celtic are getting a Premier League manager who has good European experience. I think Rodgers is about the best manager that Celtic could realistically get who could potentially get group stage Champions League football. Rodgers on the other hand will have a walkover season in the league, while I am sure he'll have one eye on Champions League qualification. It wouldn't surprise me Rodgers might be considering the Celtic job a stepping stone to a continental team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Presser starts about 2 mins in.

Klopp with Henderson & Milner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Villa would be a nightmare job, Newcastle is much more attractive and they've Ashley. Championship managers last about a year on average so don't bring Villa up and you are gone.

Moyes would seem a better fit for Celtic to me.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭mada999

Can anyone recommend good pubs in Dublin for watching the match tomorrow night ? Thinking of heading up and watching it with a mate... i know Sinnotts etc... anywhere else with big screen and good smoking section for my nerves ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

mada999 wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend good pubs in Dublin for watching the match tomorrow night ? Thinking of heading up and watching it with a mate... i know Sinnotts etc... anywhere else with big screen and good smoking section for my nerves ??

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057588528/150/#post99659645

Smoking section at Beckys is just outside and tellys aren't huge but craic is mighty, not overcrowded, good liverpool crowd and cheap drink! Best in Dublin for Liverpool

Excitement building!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Divock Origi has been passed fit for the Europa League final against Sevilla. #lfc (James Pearce)

https://twitter.com/AnfieldHQ/status/732323916119740420

Daniel Sturridge will lead the line tomorrow with Philippe Coutinho, Roberto Firmino and Adam Lallana behind him. [James Pearce]

https://twitter.com/anfieldleak/status/732518615581331456

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,038 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

8-10 wrote: »
    What's going on with Sevilla supporters? They get allocated 10,000 tickets same as us, they have a 42,500 seater home stadium similar enough to us, they are a similar distance away from Basel flight-wise.....yet they return 2,000 of their allocation because they can't sell them??

Why aren't they traveling to support their team?
    Spanish supporters only leave home with their mother's but they'd prefer to stay at home.

I was living in Austria when the 2008 Euro's were on. My nearest city was Innsbruck, where Spain, Russia and Sweden had games.

For the first game of the group, Spain were playing Russia - I popped down to the stadium just before kickoff and the area was weirdly quiet, everyone was already inside, not much in the way of atmosphere on the street. Got a ticket from a tout for face value. I was delighted with myself, thinking this was great, I could get to each of the games played there.

Went back down for the next Innsbruck game - Spain V Sweden - armed with my cash for another face value ticket. Same time, about 20 minutes before the match. But now there was a sea of yellow shirts bidding crazy amounts for any ticket they could get their hands on. Thousands of them flocking around! Still hardly a Spain shirt to be seen around outside though.

No chance of a ticket, so went up to a ski jump stadium nearby where they had a cinema screen set up in the centre so you could watch, buy booze etc. Unreal atmosphere there - again a sea of yellow jerseys, about 95% Swedish to 5% Spanish. Really nuts, especially since Spain's training camp was only a half hour away.

So yeah, seems the Spaniards really don't travel anywhere near as much as other nations.

<Edit> Interesting side note - Most of the touts were brits. Caught me a bit by surprise. Maybe had something to do with them not qualifying...

Daniel Sturridge will lead the line tomorrow with Philippe Coutinho, Roberto Firmino and Adam Lallana behind him. [James Pearce]........

Top class if true.

Milner & Can probably behind them, the other 5 shouldn't contain too much surprise.

We have a decent mix of experience in the first 11, Milner and Toure have won loads, Sturridge & Coutinho (and Mignolet to be fair) have the 2013/2014 title challenge under their belts.

Lallana & Clyne have plenty of games and are seasoned PL performers but this is arguably the biggest club game either of them have played.

I really expect a great LFC performance and a win in 90 mins. Getting to here though is a brilliant feat in itself and not to be forgotten however tomorrow night goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    <Edit> Interesting side note - Most of the touts were brits. Caught me a bit by surprise. Maybe had something to do with them not qualifying...

I was in Atlanta in '96 for a couple of days for the Olympics, the first 3 touts I talked to about tickets were Dubs. I recognised one guy from Croker earlier in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

I'd give a bollock for the sort of performance we had against Arsenal in February '14, when we just torn them so many new arseholes in the first 20 minutes, a proctologist couldn't have identified the original with any degree of confidence, and we spent the whole 2nd half laughing at Wilshere's risible Billy Big-Balls capering. No tension at all, just sheer, blissful mastery.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,503 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

corwill wrote: »
    I'd give a bollock for the sort of performance we had against Arsenal in February '14, when we just torn them so many new arseholes in the first 20 minutes, a proctologist couldn't have identified the original with any degree of confidence, and we spent the whole 2nd half laughing at Wilshere's risible Billy Big-Balls capering. No tension at all, just sheer, blissful mastery.

All I remember about that the game is the penalty Gerrard gave away. Ruined it for me so it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,389 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

gafferino wrote: »

I think I speak for all of us here when I say 'You Jammy Bastard' :D

You over there??

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

emmetkenny wrote: »
    I think I speak for all of us here when I say 'You Jammy Bastard' :D

Taken from twitter I'd imagine.

Jose Enrique new job is as Adam Sandler's stunt double.

OGcfW12.jpg?1

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    You over there??

Ha ha I wish!

Twitter :(

Can you post pics from your phone that aren't just links?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

17 different goal scorers in the league this season, equals the 1911/12 season which harry vaguely remembers.

Also 33 players used in the league and 38 in all competitions, both records.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭dogbert27

K-9 wrote: »
    17 different goal scorers in the league this season, equals the 1911/12 season which harry vaguely remembers.

Also 33 players used in the league and 38 in all competitions, both records.

Plus 19 debutants, another club record!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭dogbert27

West Ham aren't wasting time, have bid on Wilson and Ritchie from Bournemouth and also had a 31 million pound offer rejected for Lacazette!!

dogbert27 wrote: »
    West Ham aren't wasting time, have bid on Wilson and Ritchie from Bournemouth and also had a 31 million pound offer rejected for Lacazette!!

Can see them being one of the biggest spenders. Clubs are gonna go nuts this summer.

Really hope we get our business wrapped up early

Just saw Can was named in provisional Euro squad as a defender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,295 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Yep he has been playing defender for Germany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,038 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

The Germans have been playing him at right back for the most part thus far.

Not the ideal position for him, but given the quality of the first team, it's great for him to just be involved in it really.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    The Germans have been playing him at right back for the most part thus far.

Not the ideal position for him, but given the quality of the first team, it's great for him to just be involved in it really.

Yeah I knew he had been playing there just surprised he's officially listed as a defender. Great he's involved.

He can have a word with Mario and Marco for us

Can we do a 2 for 1 sale buy Benteke and we will throw Mario in for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,489 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

We have a great chance for victory, one need only look at Seville and why they ended up in Europa League to come to this conclusion.
    They will score though, we might need 3 .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

Can we do a 2 for 1 sale buy Benteke and we will throw Mario in for free.

I reckon its China or bust for Super Mario.

Or, knowing how mental English football has gotten, he'll sign for Leicester and score 20 as they retain their title and go on to the Champions League final.

Meanwhile, €200m spending West Ham will slink down the table eventhough Benteke hits 30 goals. Sadly for them, its the only 30 they score all season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Just saw one of the West Ham porn barons being interviewed on Sky saying that they bid 31M for a striker from abroad today (Lacazette) and would be bidding 21M for a striker based in England sometime this week. Benteke?

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭john why

Happy European final day lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,389 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

john why wrote: »
    Happy European final day lads.

Don't you mean Happy Johnstone Paint Trophy of Europe Day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Talisman

Just saw one of the West Ham porn barons being interviewed on Sky saying that they bid 31M for a striker from abroad today (Lacazette) and would be bidding 21M for a striker based in England sometime this week. Benteke?
    I'm surprised they haven't tried to activate Vardy's £25M release clause.