Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016, Mod Warning in OP, 10/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Mignolet is a problem. He isn't the only problem but yes, he is literally a problem that needs addressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,930 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Klopp's first three signing are CB,CM & Gk I think he sees the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,503 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Happy Istanbul day saps!

1f97911b6d244c3e9ab90c4c5583b3ce.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Anything is possible, boys.

48525.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,199 ✭✭✭Talisman

astonaidan wrote: »
    Put Benteke, Skrtel and Moreno in that Besiktas team and they win the turkish league easily
    Benteke isn't at the required level of crazy to make an impact in Turkey, Balotelli on the other hand would take the craziness to a stratospheric level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,199 ✭✭✭Talisman

Grayditch wrote: »
    Mignolet is a problem. He isn't the only problem but yes, he is literally a problem that needs addressing.
    I think signing Karius is a step in the right direction. His stats suggest that he is at the required level for competing for a Champions League place. Meanwhile Mignolet wouldn't look out of place in a team fighting relegation, which is where he was when we signed him from Sunderland.

Karius vs our main rivals for the top 4:
    Karius-vs-8ce5.jpg

Mignolet vs the relegation fodder:
    Mignolet-vdbbf.jpg

Mignolet for England!
    Mignolet-vc6c5.jpg

Stats courtesy of the Squawka Comparison Matrix

Anything is possible, boys.

48525.jpg

Jimmy Traore - more champions league medals than Arsenal FC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

"Istanbul Day"?

lol

"Istanbul Day"?

lol

Lol
    Rofl
    Omg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Lol
    Rofl
    Omg

LSHMAFO :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

"Istanbul Day"?

lol

Imagine if the Manchester Utd thread had a culture of its own with affectionate and humorous references......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

I would have liked a bigger goalie, to be honest. He's 6'2", that's the same as me. Makes it difficult to challenge for crosses when strikers have 3/4 inches on you, even if you can use your hands!

But I guess De Gea is only 2 inches taller, but he makes himself seem much bigger. Same height as Migs, but you would swear DDG was 6 inches taller...

Anyway, unlike shamrock I am not judging him yet, let's see how he goes in pre-season. I think he'll be our #1 though, Migs will get cup games and 'fight for his place' before leaving next summer...

LSHMAFO :)

You lost me at L

Too old for this stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

You lost me at L

Too old for this stuff!

Laughed so hard my ass fell off.. Made it up on the fly!

Migs faults just never went away and obviously never will. Can make incredible saves but always liable to a clanger.

De Gea wins Utd a lot of games. Having a keeper of that standard could have a big swing of points over a league season. Enough to make a difference on success and failure.

No way Klopp wasn't going to see through players like Mig

Chris Bascombe in the Telegraph reports the Ibe is offski - "the club shall listen to offers".

He had a great chance to stake a claim this season gone, but alas couldn't beat the first man. Ojo will be quietly happy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Marc Bartra links re-emerging as he says he will leave Barca.

Marc Bartra (25), whose contract expires in 2017, has told his teammates that he has decided to leave to have more playing time.

https://twitter.com/barcastuff/status/735105860624605184

And an espn link on his current situation at Barca.

http://www.espnfc.com/club/barcelona/83/blog/post/2838308/liverpool-target-marc-bartra-could-move-on-from-barcelona

Yeah Ibe never kicked on unfortunately

Griezmann had Marc Bartra on toast recently didn't he?

Liverpool close in on Yacine Brahimi, Porto left winger maybe
    Brahimi near Liverpool , Gold can be enhanced

08:44 - 25-05-2016

The final of the Cup of Portugal may have been the last game of Brahimi with FC Porto. News BALL Wednesday that the Algerian end is very close to signing for Liverpool.

The English club , moreover , seems willing to proceed with close numbers from 60 million euros of the player's release clause 26, whose pass is held by 50 percent by SAD FC Porto .

The Path of the Dragon may be Henry Gold, leading Brazilian spear represented on loan Vitória in the season that just ended .

Deco , former player of blue and white , is the representative of the advanced.

http://www.abola.pt/nnh/ver.aspx?id=613718

:D Sounds exiting. Like 1970s Kung Fu epic.

Stats FC Porto games 91 Goals 23 Assists 21

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Liverpool paying €60m for someone?

I think that story might have been plucked from the "created using rumour generator" pile methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,664 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Dickerty wrote: »
    I would have liked a bigger goalie, to be honest. He's 6'2", that's the same as me. Makes it difficult to challenge for crosses when strikers have 3/4 inches on you, even if you can use your hands!

But I guess De Gea is only 2 inches taller, but he makes himself seem much bigger. Same height as Migs, but you would swear DDG was 6 inches taller...

Anyway, unlike shamrock I am not judging him yet, let's see how he goes in pre-season. I think he'll be our #1 though, Migs will get cup games and 'fight for his place' before leaving next summer...

Ah , i think 6'2" is tall enough. What impresses me about degea is his positioning. How many times have we seen plyers shoot straight at him . In otherwords hes positioned himself in the right spot . Its something i hope this karius fella has cos mig doesnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Great,another bang average goalkeeper,will we ever ****ing learn

You obviously know nothing about him :rolleyes:

Here is a good article on why he is an upgrade on Mignolet.

https://www.umaxit.com/index.php/columns/experts-view-why-loris-karius-is-an-upgrade-on-simon-mignolet-for-liverpool

wrote:

Expert’s View: Why Loris Karius Is An Upgrade on Simon Mignolet For Liverpool

By David Preece

Loris Karius has been a long-standing target of Jurgen Klopp’s and despite the assurance given to Simon Mignolet in the form of a new five-year deal, his arrival will give the Liverpool No. 1 serious cause for concern about his future at the club. To Mignolet’s credit, he has responded well since signing his contract and has played his part in Liverpool’s Europa League success, but it could be said what he didn’t need was to have the dark cloud of stiff opposition for his place hanging over him the day before a game which could be the club’s gateway to the Champions League. Ill-timed and possibly unsettling at a crucial time, not just in the season but in the club’s history.

Prematurely recalled from an impressive loan spell at Aberdeen, Danny Ward is developing into a confident ‘keeper, proving already that he is more than capable of coping at Premier League level. His next step up in his progression is likely to be another loan deal, but this time at Championship level, to be given a season to gain more experience, rather than risk stunting his development by leaving him a mere spectator from the bench. Huddersfield Town and David Wagner may accommodate him and Klopp’s wishes there.

Providing Mignolet stays, Liverpool will have two genuine competitors for the No. 1 spot. Time will tell whether Klopp sees Karius as a replacement or a competitor but if it is to be the former, what is it in Karius that Klopp sees as an upgrade? Well, there have been two main areas of concern with regards to Mignolet’s play: his ability with the ball at his feet and dealing with crosses. Let’s begin with the first of those.

It’s clear that Karius is more comfortable in possession of the ball. His short to mid-range passing is excellent. He has a calmness when picking passes under pressure, either short to central defenders and midfielders coming deep to receive the ball or with 30-40 yard passes out to full-backs over the head of opposition players.

Over longer distances his striking isn’t so clean, especially from first-time hit back passes. Karius tends to cut under the ball, which gives the kick plenty of height but not a great deal of distance, barely landing into the opponents half. Not such a huge problem on the whole, but if a team presses him and his colleagues aggressively, these kinds of kicks will tend to come straight back and increase the pressure on you.

The second question mark over Mignolet—his ability to deal with crosses—stems from his conservatively deep position he takes up as the ball is about to come into the box, which often gives himself too much to do in situations when a yard further forward could make so much difference. In this respect, Karius is similar, almost in his six yard box as long balls are played forward or on his line when the ball is in wide areas, but there is a marked difference between the two ‘keepers. Karius’s speed and aggressiveness makes up for his deep positions and often makes good early decisions when coming, be it to clear with his fist and fists or claiming with both hands.

This extra-forceful assertiveness may give him the edge over Mignolet, but because of Klopp’s heavy emphasis on pressing higher up the pitch, it will mean an adjustment in the young German’s starting points and his positions will have to be much more positive—especially when up against teams taking a more direct approach such as the likes of Leicester and West Bromwich Albion.

As a shot-stopper, Karius has a strong, forward balance which makes him difficult to beat from an angle. As simplistic as it may seem, this balance gives him good coverage, keeping him square-on to his opponent, meaning he gets himself in way of the ball. There are times when he gets a little too keen in one-on-one situations and comes too far down the line to the striker when there is no pressure on the ball from a defender, but generally he is strong in these duels. If there is one slight chink in his technical armour, it’s his overly wide stance.

As shots are hit, he jumps into his set position and spreads his legs wider than necessary. This has a positive and negative effect. Any low shots close to him make this stance is favourable for blocking the ball with his feet or for comfortable mid-height shots, but when the ball is low in the bottom corners it makes it difficult to get in enough steps in to get across to the ball. What generally happens is he will end up diving earlier than necessary and having to arc his dive over his hip like a rainbow, rather than get an extra one of two steps across and down quicker to the ball. What also occurs due to this exaggerated stance is that simple shots come away from him or the saves look far more difficult than they should be and the ball gets pushed into dangerous areas.

Looking back at him as a 17-year-old, you can see his stance was very narrow and that is something he has clearly over-corrected that, but at 22 that, and his starting positions, are something that can be worked on and developed over a short space of time. Those apart, he has developed from a rangy, stiff teenager into a more powerful, aggressive and agile keeper and is very much in line with the style of modern goalkeepers Germany are producing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

5starpool wrote: »
    Liverpool paying €60m for someone?

I think that story might have been plucked from the "created using rumour generator" pile methinks.

asked a Benfica fan in work about him, he's a mediocre player apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

How much would we get for Ibe 10m possibly?
    A shame how he has stagnated. Has some great talent but a move is probably best. If we are smart we should include a buy back clause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

MD1990 wrote: »
    How much would we get for Ibe 10m possibly?
    A shame how he has stagnated. Has some great talent but a move is probably best. If we are smart we should include a buy back clause.

Maybe even less. He's English and homegrown which will add to his price a little, but we are clearly in a weaker negotiating position because there are about a dozen players we have to sell.

If the club are pushing him towards the door, it'll knock a few million off his price. His return of goals and assists is quite low too so that might make people wary.

Thing is, I wouldn't be entirely surprised to see him do well at a PL side if he gets a consistent run in the team. The issue for Ibe is that he's a confidence player - get a run, score a goal or two and he'll get more. In and out of the team, or play when the chips are down, he won't contribute much.

I can see Watford, West Brom or someone like Sunderland making a move for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,489 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

http://www.thisisanfield.com/2016/05/rumour-mill-liverpool-close-signing-45-million-porto-midfielder-yacine-brahimi/

Porto’s star winger Yacine Brahimi on his way to Liverpool this summer, in a deal worth around £45 million. Done deal !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Chris Bascombe in the Telegraph reports the Ibe is offski - "the club shall listen to offers".

He had a great chance to stake a claim this season gone, but alas couldn't beat the first man. Ojo will be quietly happy!

Send him on loan to us The Villa next season, some time in the championship might do him the world of good, or a team in the lower half of the preier league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,207 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Lol
    Rofl
    Omg

memes-what-you-said-what-you-did.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

asked a Benfica fan in work about him, he's a mediocre player apparently.

Thats kinda like asking a Liverpool fan about a United player :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,930 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Rafa staying at Newcastle fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,294 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Rafa staying at Newcastle fair play to him.

I'm not a bit surprised the man is pure class, never afraid of a challenge. If he can get them back up this season he can really go on and build up Newcastle to a consistent top 8 team in the PL.

Not sure Shelvey is too thrilled. #ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Marc Bartra links re-emerging as he says he will leave Barca.

Marc Bartra (25), whose contract expires in 2017, has told his teammates that he has decided to leave to have more playing time.

https://twitter.com/barcastuff/status/735105860624605184

And an espn link on his current situation at Barca.

http://www.espnfc.com/club/barcelona/83/blog/post/2838308/liverpool-target-marc-bartra-could-move-on-from-barcelona

Very average player. Would be a downgrade on anyone in our starting 11.

Not sure Shelvey is too thrilled. #ironic.

80k per week for that bum on a 5 year contract they gave him and he doesn't have any wage reduction clause with relegation. Shows everything wrong with the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,182 ✭✭✭Sappy404

Joachim Low apparently now reported as saying he thinks Gotze made the right decision.

With the usual heads being briefed about him being a target, you'd have to wonder what made some at the club so confident of getting him. Was it a case of keeping us in the headlines with a European final coming up? Perhaps his old agency misled us as to his interest? Or is it simply a case of us missing out on him because we don't have Champions League football?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,548 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Sappy404 wrote: »
    Joachim Low apparently now reported as saying he thinks Gotze made the right decision.

With the usual heads being briefed about him being a target, you'd have to wonder what made some at the club so confident of getting him. Was it a case of keeping us in the headlines with a European final coming up? Perhaps his old agency misled us as to his interest? Or is it simply a case of us missing out on him because we don't have Champions League football?

Where have you heard officialy that the club was confident of getting him?

Why is there always a conspiracy behind these things?

A transfer may or may not go through, simple as that happens all the time. No need to look for anyting else in it.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Where have you heard offiialy that the club was confident of getting him?

Why is there always a conspiracy behind these things?

A transfer may or may not go through, simple as that happens all the time. No need to look for anyting else in it.

Paul Joyce:

CeqdufhWQAAPjsQ.jpg

Chris Bascombe:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2016/05/12/liverpool-transfer-news-reds-confident-of-signing-mario-gotze-as/

Simon Jones:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3513158/Liverpool-confident-signing-Mario-Gotze-cut-price-20million-deal-summer.html

Dave Maddock:

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/liverpool-confident-transfer-swoops-mario-7643991

... and so on. It was widely reported that the club were confident. It's not something that half a dozen respected journalists will just make up.

All that you quote is media speculation and is nothing official from the club. The word confident is coming from these 'respected' journalists.

All that you quote is media speculation and is nothing official from the club. The word confident is coming form these 'respected' journalists.

Paul Joyce would have very strong ties to the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

rob316 wrote: »
    80k per week for that bum on a 5 year contract they gave him and he doesn't have any wage reduction clause with relegation. Shows everything wrong with the game.

Shelvey is a good player. Why is he a bum? I say fair fcks to him - he could have stayed on as a squad player with an improved contract but he wanted to play first team football.

I wouldnt think many Newcastle players have reduced wages re: relegation as it wasnt something they previously envisaged.

All that you quote is media speculation and is nothing official from the club. The word confident is coming form these 'respected' journalists.

I'm taking it for granted that when 6 respected journalists separately report the club's confidence in signing a player, that it came from the club in some respect. If you don't want to think that, feel free to ignore my post.

So what if they said they felt confident? Maybe they did. That's life, people change their minds and circumstances change.

Just because it now appears to have fallen through, does not mean it was just a ruse to generate media attention like you are implying.

Even if they were 5 mins from an official confirmation with everything signed, no one at the club would say they were confident of signing anyone, it would be madness. Those journalists (as opposed to journalists in general) would usually have good sources.

I would imagine it is partly down to not having CL, and just partly down to him having more options for more money probably in 12 months if he doesn't sign a new contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,510 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Not sure these reports are separate.

Hard to believe they don't Bandwagon.

So what if they said they felt confident? Maybe they did. That's life, people change their minds and circumstances change.

Just because it now appears to have fallen through, does not mean it was just a ruse to generate media attention like you are implying.

I wasn't implying it, just suggesting it as one possible reason for the club to apparently disclose its confidence. That Ken Early article explains a lot. I've often wondered what clubs had to gain from leaking links. The Teixeira stuff in January was another example.

To my mind the more likely scenario is that his last agent agreed a deal with Liverpool and he didn't want to take it after we failed to get CL. I won't put much stock in this 'convo with Ancelotti' stuff until he signs a new deal. I reckon he'll leave, but probably to a decent CL team with an eye for a bargain; Atletico if I had to guess. Maybe Juve.

Jaysus, Sturridge injured it seems. Fúck off Hodgson.

http://www.thisisanfield.com/2016/05/hodgson-effect-daniel-sturridge-injured-england-duty/

Probably not serious, but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,394 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

5starpool wrote: »
    Jaysus, Sturridge injured it seems. Fúck off Hodgson.

http://www.thisisanfield.com/2016/05/hodgson-effect-daniel-sturridge-injured-england-duty/

Probably not serious, but still.

Klopp had done very well to get him fit and not have him break down. Two days with England and he's ****ed again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Unbelievable.

rob316 wrote: »
    I'm not a bit surprised the man is pure class, never afraid of a challenge. If he can get them back up this season he can really go on and build up Newcastle to a consistent top 8 team in the PL.

I'd like to see him not spend the next 3+ years there, bigger and better for Rafa.

The Newcastle job is a head wreck behind the scenes I reckon.