Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show - 23rd. April 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Anybody watching Happy Valley. Where do I know yer man from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

Skid X wrote: »
    I am a bit worried Bonnie, Lottie, Rex, Shortie and Mortie and all the other Ryans will decide that family performing groups are the future :(

One at a time is hard enough going.

Ah jeez, i just came across "he's dead 6yrs" on +1 & see awkward faces in the studio & i assume all told to smile for camera, instead all of them look flushed & shocked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

If anyone is wondering the black beer from Lidl has a weird cough bottle-y after taste.

I'm sticking to the cheap stuff from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I must develop an app for TV and movies like Shazam where it tells you who the actor or actress is, and make my millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭sudzs

Sorry, no, my punishment for watching Ray is The Transporter... :rolleyes:

I'm not sure how happy this valley actually is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

This him?

tinpib wrote: »
    Yep, sincerity is everything, once you fake that you have it made.
    i wonder would that be the same thing if someone slipped him the wrong cards, since he's emotionless, as an emoji would say more than him :p

RobertKK wrote: »
    I must develop an app for TV and movies like Shazam where it tells you who the actor or actress is, and make my millions.

Well the one for sarcasm hasnt been invented yet maybe you should follow your talents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

'Miss Bikini Ireland' on Irish TV (Sky Channel 191) at 11.30pm.

Just sayin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    If anyone is wondering the black beer from Lidl has a weird cough bottle-y after taste.

No, I like it. In fact, I just found a half a can leftover from last night beside my chair.

"winning"!

Nos da everyone. Missed Shane Ross, and Bonnie singing, I mean, miming. I think. it has to be said. Then bits of the rest, including Brenda, which is a pity. She's a hoot.

sudzs wrote: »
    Sorry, no, my punishment for watching Ray is The Transporter... :rolleyes:

Afaik, The Punisher is on somewhere, can't remember what channel it is, but it's got John Travolta, how punishing is that :rolleyes:

I'm not sure how happy this valley actually is.

Agreed. Doesn't seem very happy :(

Just sayin'

In this weather!, that's putting on a brave front, just saying ;)

Especially, since someone told me, it may snow on Tuesday!!

Jaysus, lads. But of Glór Tíre on TG4.

It really is a thing of wonder. Seems to be on most nights. Mental.

In this weather!, that's putting on a brave front, just saying ;)

Especially, since someone told me, it may snow on Tuesday!!

Who told you that? Who's got the inside track?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,063 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Pretty compelling game of Snooker on now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

yeah, cold from Tuesday onwards. I work outdoors for part of the day...always keeping an eye on the weather.

Was at my neice's play last nite & some aul fella told my mum & she told me, "I said thanks, after teh warm day we had" :rolleyes::p

& top it off, i saw Weather-Doom herself, just showed us the forecast herself for the coming week!!

Glor Tire is amazing.

I'm new to it, but it seems to be you take any aul generic Country & Western chord progression, add a place name from Ireland and something about a lovely girl, and get a bunch of applause.

This year has the highest standard ever, one of the inevitable three judges just inevitably said.

Ha, it's in the Louis Fitzgerald hotel! I was sure it was in some pub in Donegal.

Who's in it? Phil The Power Taylor?

*hits recline button on chair*

Btw: That reminds me, i seen it recently the host Aoife Ni Thuarisg, i nearly couldn't recognise her, as she lost a lot of weight, as i think the last time i seen her was when Ray or was it Jenny done the irish week trying to learn Irish in a big brother type of house, many moons ago on TG4.

Ad on with Conor McGregor there.

That public fall out he had with Vince McMahon was all very unseemly during the week. I hope all the extra publicity it generated doesn't affect their incomes too negatively.

Just sayin'

Ah ffs, the one damned weekend I injure my hand. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭tinpib

Yep, brilliant last frame. Gripping stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

That's Jagermeister. It's not actually a beer.

tinpib wrote: »
    Yep, brilliant last frame. Gripping stuff.

Ah, but u miss the gravel-voiced commentators talking thru the frames & taking a breath for a sip of a pint ;):D

sligojoek wrote: »
    That's Jagermeister. It's not actually a beer.

Makes sense. I'm pretty f*cked right now.

Sack me? I MADE THE BBC!

*jumps out window*

Skid X wrote: »

Food for thought for Messers Darcy and Tubridy, perhaps.

They sure are messers!

AmIrite? Eh? Eh?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

Emmerdale Farm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Makes sense. I'm pretty f*cked right now.

Sack me? I MADE THE BBC!

*jumps out window*
    Seriously though. What's that stuff called? I might try some next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Just watching back now...how was Bonnie allowed on to just end up doing a mime of her song? Surely if your being handed this opportunity to accelerate your music career the least you can do is show you can actually sing your own song, bloody disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

''It's hard to believe YUR DAA is six years dead.''

JESUS. WEPT.

Nearly as good as Pat Kenny talking to the weeping woman who had survived the Indonesian tsunami, and was very upset in the Late Late audience talking about it. Pat "You haven't seen your family since the tsunami.....and you PROBABLY NEVER WILL AGAIN". Cue even more tears....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭morebarn2

Do you mean the childs father ? The young guy in prison ?

sligojoek wrote: »
    Seriously though. What's that stuff called? I might try some next weekend.

Really, it's called Black Lager.

Brewed from the finest ingredients, it says on the can.

I'll probably try it again next week too.

Surely if your being handed this opportunity to accelerate your music career the least you can do is show you can actually sing your own song, bloody disgrace.

yeah, agreed again. I was just thinking about this and I think the ultimate insult is to not actually sing the damned song live. I mean what is the process for getting on to one of these shows if you are a band/artist with a new single. She must have jumped hundreds of acts to get that spot.

For anybody who wants to exercise along with it again, here it is again from the official channel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

I think the ultimate insult is to not actually sing the damned song live.

That would be impossible. She would need at least basic level of talent to do it. RTE truly is a fermenting cesspit, plenty of genuinely talented people out there but she gets the spotlight purely because of who her daddy was.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

jesus, I didn't watch the thing, I thought ye were on about Bonnie Tyler, and I was thinking 'shur wasn't she on a couple weeks ago? well she doesn't have the voice she used to, what harm?'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

yeah, agreed again. I was just thinking about this and I think the ultimate insult is to not actually sing the damned song live. I mean what is the process for getting on to one of these shows if you are a band/artist with a new single. She must have jumped hundreds of acts to get that spot.

For anybody who wants to exercise along with it again, here it is again from the official channel

So 3 young wans flouncing around in gymwear mouthing words to a backing track is what passes for entertainment now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

The most sad thing is someone behind the scenes is encouraging her to do it. Louis Walsh is involved btw.
    My 11 year old niece can do a dance routine more complex than that with a full 10 kid crew (obviosly without the permiscuity element). Yet even she would tell you you can learn it with a few days practice. Imagine thinking this is a carreer venture for her? Its not as if she is a young kid, she is 22 or 23 (i think)) so surely she has matured out of that. Although she sounded like a 12 year old with some of the interview.

The lip synching she done is not even worth mentioning/slagging. There are no words for it really. Only thing I will say is that id find it harder to lip syn h for 3 minutes rather than actually make noise.

Why spend half the interview asking her obvious questions about her father like do you miss him or was he proud of you? What was she going to say?? No, i dont miss him and no he wasnt a fan.

The fact she got an interview to be allocated the time to sh7te on about this "venture" proves once and for all how nepotism works in RTE. I guess whe as viewers deserved an explanation for her awful performance and a warning not to buy her cr%p , thats all i can think of.

Sorry, some people on twitter were saying stuff like stop insulting her, shes only a kid. Eh no since when does a girl in their twenties pass for a kid. She deserves slagging for that..............not that id stoop so low to be the one giving it ........ ������

Holy cr@p. Just realised its the exact same verse and chorus and dance routine just repeated on loop for 3 minutes or so!! Forget the teeny boppers. Her target market should be guantanamo officers or torture groups like ISIS. They would buy a truckload of her cds just to torment prisinors!

Louis Walsh is involved btw.

Oh yes. She has been "tipped for success" by X Factor judge Louis Walsh. This being the same Louis Walsh that told Brian Ormond that he would sell a million records.

BONNIE Ryan, daughter of Gerry Ryan, has been tipped for success by X Factor judge Louis Walsh.

I was just looking to see if there were any reviews in this morning (none in yet btw) and I found this picture of the three daughters. that's the third daughter Babette, on the right. She certainly inherited her mother's fresh faced beauty.

IN%20BreastCancer3.jpg

Oh and just on the interview after the song. I think Bonnie got a bit snotty with D'Arcy speaking about Gerry Ryan, as if she was confused why D'Arcy wasnt focusing on her music career. But what did she expect? I mean people know nothing about this girl other than who her father was, so what else was he gonna ask her about? I would have thought that she would have been so grateful to get her song on the national TV that she would have answered ANYTHING they asked.

There really was no need for an interview anyway. Ray should have just asked her "when is the song out" and said goodbye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

There really was no need for an interview anyway. Ray should have just asked her "when is the song out" and said goodbye.

^ That would have been better. Having her on really shows how stuck fir guests they are with the two talk shows at the weekend.

Alternative to the second D'Arcy show?

Well start off with showing a season of Irish films, we've made some great ones over the years, it's cheaper and better than watching that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭SouthernBelle

She was totally out of breath after the interview. In fairness, the choreography wasn't very complicated... she wouldn't last 10 minutes in my zumba class!

The choreography was terrible. About three rounds of 40 second sequences repeated 3 or 4 times!! As I said earlier, ignoring the permiscuity it was the type of sequence a dance class of 11 year olds would devise!
    Also I see its the exact same routine in the video, same dancers etc!!

The whole thing, the lyrics, dance sequence and voice production could have been completed in a week or less!! "music career" my £rse!

The Britney Spears genre of pop is well over!

I really wish she did "go out with her girls last night" as she was promising us and allowed us to enjoy some talented musician.

I'll be honest, I'd say its the sort of thing her da would rip the p!ss out of on the contrary!

The backlash is about to start.

Gerry Ryan's daughter Bonnie releases risqué music video for debut single

The comments section at the bottom should be interesting.

Did anybody watch the video :eek::eek:

bonnie.jpg

ardal.jpg
    Ted, those women weren't wearing any clothes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 214 ✭✭edbrez

Did anybody watch the video :eek::eek:
    Reminds me of another classy Irish act called Fab!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,697 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

She was basically a non-entity of a guest with next to no talent.

But then again, it was the Ray D'arcy Show, its like that 95% of the time (inc the presenter, who is probably the least talented of anyone who appears on it).